0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews
Questions about the Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from March 15, 2017

    Awesome

    Great little pedal, very strong boost.

  • from Chile March 3, 2017Music Background:
    Music Producer

    It is a Tube Screamer. I works.

    I don´t have so much to say about this. Just plug it, spend some time looking for your sound and that´s all.

  • from January 15, 2017

    Ibanez TS9 Tubescreamer

    This is a great overdrive pedal. I use it to push my Vox ac4tv or my ac30 into higher gain, and it sounds fantastic! I highly recommend it.

  • from Florida January 4, 2017

    Iconic For a Reason!

    Decided to finally purchase this pedal after years of hearing about how much everyone loves it. I play an eight string through an Orange Micro Dark, so the lower register can get a bit muddy and dull. The tube screamer tightens that right up in a pinch: Drive at 0, level at 12 o'clock and tone set around 1 o'clock, combined with that mid hump boost, it really gives me a lot more clarity. Set the gain to zero on the amp and turn the drive up on the pedal and you've got a nice, natural crunch. Get a tube screamer, versatility is the game of this beast.

  • from New Franklin, OH November 27, 2016Music Background:
    semi-amature!

    Great Pedal!

    I can't believe I have waited this long to get this pedal.....works great as just an overdrive pedal, but also works as a boost pedal. The "bite" you can get out of this pedal is just amazing.. I gave it 5 stars because the build quality is awesome and the price is very reasonable.

  • from Hingham, Massachusetts August 15, 2016

    The essential Blues Effect

    On advice from my brother Jeff, a very accomplished player, I use only two stomps, I use a Holy Grail and the Ibanez Tube Screamer to my Sweetwater exclusive, 65 Fender Deluxe Reverb Amp and it is the perfect combination of effects and amp. ! I switch between a Fender American Special Strat and re-worked hot rod SG and it is beyond sensational !!!!!! Love it !!!!! The Journeyman case is the perfect protection for my Yamaha Dred. Acoustic, could not be more happy, Patrick Schaefer and Sweetwater are the BEST !! Thanks Guys

  • from Murfreesboro, TN May 28, 2016Music Background:
    Long and stretching back to mid 70's.

    Amazing

    I owned the original in the 80's and I didn't fully appreciate it. This is a fantastic pedal!!!!! I also bough the Behringer TO800 which I was fully satisfied with until this turned up. This sounds so professional and will blow your mind. I will keep the Behringer and my 2 , 3 channel amps because I can get about any rock, blues, heavy sound I want with this combination. The Ibanez is really amazing!! Even my wife likes it!!!

  • from Milford, CT January 29, 2016

    A must have overdrive pedal!

    Every electric guitarist should have this pedal! Whether you have a tube or a solid state amp, a Tube Screamer gives just the right amount of overdrive and midrange boost (I'm a big fan of midrange for electric guitar).

  • from Thornton, Co. January 14, 2016

    pedal

    completely satisfied in all ways

  • from Greenville, Pennsylvania January 4, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur blues/rock guitarist

    What can I say, it's THE classic!

    This pedal is just amazing, creamy, punchy, powerful, bluesy goodness. It's a Tube Screamer! I feel that the "DRIVE" knob is more sustain than drive once you get past about 1 o'clock or 1:30. That's fine with me because I leave the drive at 9 o'clock the tone at noon and the level at 3 o'clock to give me a nice high-mid boost. It's Stevie Ray Vaughan tone, man! If you're thinking of buying it, do it NOW! You WILL love this pedal.

  • from Columbus, Ohio April 26, 2015Music Background:
    Muddy and dirty blues/classic rock

    Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer rocks!!!

    I have wanted to own this pedal for years, and now I finally have one in my possession, and it rocks!!
    Just the right amount of overdrive to really make your leads sore and rhythm boost.
    I have 3 Boss brand pedals in my setup and on my pedalboard, this is the first Ibanez pedal I have owned, and I don't regret this purchase at all.
    Awesome pedal and awesome customer service at Sweetwater, you guys rock!!

  • from March 25, 2015

    Ibanez ts9 tube screamer

    The ts9 is a great pedal that delivers great tone. I like to use it with the drive turned all the way down and the volume all the way up. It gives the blues that crisp bright sound. Buying a tube screamer from Sweetwater is a no brainer! The customer service was excellent. The order was processed immediately and I was notified of every step in the shipping process. I will definitely use Sweetwater again in the future.

  • from Illinois March 24, 2015Music Background:
    Expierienced

    Sounds Great

    This pedal is just what I expected. I can get a light natural tube distortion to a heavier natural tube distortion that allows you to still clearly hear the notes. Very solid pedal.

  • from February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Musical hobbyist for 30 yrs

    It's a Screamer

    Lives up to it's reputation. Good distortion sound that can be adjusted to your tastes and good design.

  • from Mount Joy, PA July 21, 2014Music Background:
    recording/playing hobbyist

    crisp tube screamer!

    I tried the ts9dx and the ts9 in my opinion is better. It is more responsive and crisp. Get the Ibanez ts9 tube screamer because it is awesome!

  • from Duluth, GA March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Studio Musician.

    Awesome!

    Awesome! Crisp, clear and rich harmonics. Straight forward, easy controls make getting a great sound a breeze! Also, the usual amazing service from Sweetwater. Thanks everyone!

  • from New Jersey August 24, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    Just like the original

    My original started "fading" in when switched on as if it were a volume pedal but once fully on sounded fine. Of course that wouldn't work for playing live so I bought this reissue. SIde by side the reissue was practically identical. It's actually a little crisper! Love it...

  • from Fort Lauderdale January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It should be called the Awesome Screamer because its awesome

    It make you sound better. I use two of them at the same time because it makes me sound twice as good.

  • from Jersey Shore December 10, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    It's the original standard for a reason

    From someone who has tried just about anything within cost reason, I was surprised to find that this was the one that worked exactly the way a good overdrive should. Don't know why I was surprised as this was circuit was what most of the others were based on.

  • from Twin Cities, MN November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Classic Reissued

    I've been a huge Stevie Ray Vaughan fan for years, and started getting back into pedals recently, but never owned the iconic Tubescreamer that SRV made famous. Picked up this TS-9 reissue recently, and haven't been disappointed. By itself, it's a great smooth overdrive pedal that puts a mid-hump in your tone and can nail everything from blues to rock.

    But the true beauty of the TS-9 is how well it stacks with other pedals, and what it can do with a wide range of equipment. You can use it use it turned all the way up as a booster for solos. I find that it excels at "smoothing" out the rough edges of many other dirtboxes. You can use it some of the time or all the time, but you won't be disappointed you own one!

  • from Hammondsport, NY May 25, 2012

    Ibnez TS9

    The Ibanez TS9 works exactly as advertised. I found a wide range of useful overdriven tones when used with a Fender Deluxe Reverb amp. The TS9 is very easy to use and the knobs are straight forward.

  • from oakland,CA usa April 10, 2012Music Background:
    pro guitarist

    mod what?

    You don't need a mod on this pedal, you don't need another version, this sounds fantastic straight from the box. I dare you to put this pedal up against any other stock overdrive pedal. You can't beat the price, it's almost silly how easy it is to sound like a pro guitarist-and after 30 years, no less!!!

  • from Casper, WY March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Self taught musician, youtuber, guitar enthusiast, gear nut

    An Essential For Beginning Enthusiasts

    I love my TS9, it's always fired up and given my tone a nice crunch or tightened up the bottom end of an amp. It's an essential piece of any musicians tool chest but as you dig deeper into overdrive and guitar effects pedals, you'll find that the TS9 is a little light on the variety of tones. The tone knob adjusts presence nicely but the main use for this pedal is a slight boost.

  • from Santa Cruz, CA July 29, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Blues/rock tone for days!

    This pedal sounds amazing out of the box, when you get it dialed in it really brings a new level to your tone. I actually retired by blues driver when I purchased 2 of these!

    From Buddy Guy to Buckethead, this pedal can produce those tones!

    Chaining 2 or more of these is tricky, but once you get them dialed in, you will never want to turn them off.

    By itself, this pedal will not produce distortion as such, but it is not designed to. Running a Boss Metalzone into a TS9 to overdrive the signal sounds great! No need to crank the gain on either pedal, and I can achieve clear eloquent distortion.

    I took off a half star because these pedals are addictive! Once you kick one on, your tone can seem a bit dry without a TS9 in the mix.

  • from April 9, 2015

    Why bother with any other distortion pedal?

    Almost any professional fuzz tone can be made with this pedal.

  • from March 30, 2015

    Awesome boost for my 5150!

    I use this pedal as a boost for my Peavey 5150. It definitely really helps brighten up my tone and keep it from sounding too dry. This pedal definitely brings out a lot of Mid, almost a little too much though in my opinion. It's definitely a great pedal for anybody playing leads or soloing!

  • from sioux falls, sd December 9, 2013Music Background:
    22 years playing guitar

    works awesome to tighten up a tube amp

    I use one of these in front of many of my amps to tighten up my sound for metal. Gain on 0, level on 10, tone to taste. I use over a dozen od pedals for this purpose, but the ts9 is the only one that plays nice with every single amp I own. Also works well with other pedals and can definitely add tightness and definition to any pedal that you put this in front of. And yes, it can be used to push your clean channel just into breakup or as a solo boost to cut through very nicely as well. Couldn't give it 5 stars and say I was blown away- I now own 3 of them.

  • from Asheville, N.C. August 14, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist, jam bands

    Tube screamer overdrive pedal

    I was quite familiar with this pedal before buying it, so there were no surprises. It does exactly what I want from an overdrive pedal. It's got separate volume and gain controls, and seems to pass through with no added noise. I keep the volume setting at the top end, so I control the overall volume from my guitar. When I want gain (distortion) I set that prior to playing the song, and then simply step on the switch to activate the overdrive as needed.

  • from Boulder, CO July 7, 2011

    Classic Sound

    The TS9 and the TS808 have a place on just about every pedalboard. I regularly use three other "boutique" overdrives that cost several times as much as the TS9, and still I don't think I'll ever get rid of it.

    You should know the shortcomings of this pedal before you buy it, I suppose. It's not true bypass, it won't work as a clean boost, nor will it produce massive amounts of gain. It's also all midrange, and cuts out some of your guitar's highs and lows.

    But the sound of the pedal is just classic. The overdrive is extremely smooth and warm, and it's midrange presence makes it ideal for cutting through a mix. Plus, it works very well for goosing overdriven amps, and sounds great in conjunction with other drive pedals.
    Ultimately, if you're after something high-gain with a massive dynamic range, this probably isn't what you want. But if you're after the smooth sound of a classic overdrive, I highly recommend this pedal.

  • from March 18, 2017

    ts9

    I can only say great but want to say 5. the only reason is I have played with it for a while. I've seen many comparisons & I turn the vids off cause the ts9 is the best sounding grit, tone, blues sound out there. I built a mex strat frankenstine with blues pickups & many more extras. just haven't played in many many yrs. the vids of the dif gain & drive & tone settings have blown me away . Just got to get used to my guitar overdone mods.so in other words, buy this pedal...I give it a 5!!! Operator error. SRV is who I grew up with, with others of course but the demos make this one the best in my opinion, Just an older guy who has heard a lot. consider it DEFINATELY ! 5555555

  • from Sw fl September 7, 2015Music Background:
    Bar player

    Ibanez TS -9

    Sounds like true tube amp sound! Sounds like old Clapton and deffintly SRV sound! Almost got the boss blues driver ! Was looking for that nice bluesy sound !! Got it with the Ibanez TS 9 was just what I wanted!! Was in fence with the boss and TS 808 ! Not sorry I got the TS 9 sounds great and you can back the volume off and it is just like haveing a tube amp!!

  • from April 12, 2015

    TS9 Tube Screamer Nice So Far

    I really enjoyed the tone I got by playing my old Epiphone Les Paul with just a Tube Screamer thru a small boutique tube amp. Very simple but was able to dial up the tone I was looking for.

  • from Chattanooga Tennessee February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Avid Player for 19 years

    Must Own At Least Once

    I've owned many overdrives, but I had never owned a real Tube Screamer till now. When I opened the box and saw the iconic green paint, I knew that this was a good solid purchase. It's a Tube Screamer, plain and simple. There are thousands of clones, but it's cool to look at what exactly they were trying to replicate or to pay homage to. It's a classic; a must own.

  • from Fayetteville,NC March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Live bar band stuff and some recording

    Grows on you

    Well at first I didn't like it. I have a Clapton strat and I thought pushing the input with the midrange boost would be a good thing but it really didn't have a desirable effect. I have a zendrive that does well with it. But the more I played it the better it got. Nice natural crunch. Goes well with my Tele.

  • from Junction,Tx May 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal

    The pedal works great, however I'm an acoustic guitar player experimenting here. I'm really just using the boost it provides more than the distortion. I'm sure in time I'll come to love it. As usual, the Sweetwater staff is superb. First company I've ever dealt with that continues to follow up and check on you and they are so willing to provide you with answers. You won't be sorry when you do business with them. Thanks Adam.

Questions about the Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway