0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Ibanez TS808HW Hand Wired Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Ibanez TS808HW Hand Wired Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Ibanez TS808HW Hand Wired Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Grabill, IN May 23, 2013Music Background:
    recording artist, songwriter, lead guitar player

    Top notch all the way.

    FIrst off, the vintage military style ammo box looks really rad. Even though this will likely stay on my pedal bored, you can tell by the heavy duty housing this pedal is legit.
    I'm playing a Les Paul Junior through an AC15 Custom (standard version).
    Now the most important part, the sound. I keep all the pedal knobs at 12 o clock and my amp just at the edge of breakup so if I really dig in you can just hear a tiny bit of drive. This thing sounds really rich. If you want is to get gnarly, it will do that too. Anywhere the settings land, you are getting a high fidelity sound. I have owned five or six well known overdrive or distortion pedals in the past year but this one is for sure my fave. Another fantastic feature is, it plays nice with my compressor. I do not use one often, but when I do its nice to know my rig isn't going to have a noisy freak out moment. This list goes on, it also plays nice with my Eventide Timefactor, and my TC Hall of Fame Reverb. It does such a good job at letting my other effects do what they are designed to do.
    I know this pedal costs more than you want to spend but if you want a top notch overdrive pedal and prefer not to spend the time and money searching for the right sound, this pedal is it.

  • from United States December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Lush!

    This pedal is so much better than I expected. I'm using it in front of my Roadster to tighten up the high gain channels and enhance the cleans. This pedal is so responsive and organic sounding. No regrets here. I'm glad I took the plunge. I did find it odd, however, that it did not come with a power source. Luckily I picked up an Eventide Powerfactor in the same order, but still the pedal required that I use the adaptor that came enclosed with the Tube Screamer.

  • from November 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    SWEET WARM OVERDRIVE

    Sweet, warm, overdrive, nothing is better then that in my book and if that's what your looking for then you should pick up this pedal while you still can. I already had the Maxon OD9 in my pedal board, which is in essence 'the original tube screamer' since Maxon was the OEM manufacturer for Ibanez from 1974 to 2002. Anyway, IMHO this pedal sounds very similar, but is still even warmer... Maybe it being hand wired has something to do with that. Also this pedal is very transparent, so if your just looking for a clean boost this would serve you well in that area too. Bottom line; this is a very versatile pedal with silky smooth, tube-like distortion that should please any player.

  • from South, East USA May 6, 2012Music Background:
    Professional

    Don't be skeptical--THIS one is worth it...

    I was skeptical about the expense of this pedal, but seeing that the circuitry and the components followed EXACTLY the original, I purchased one...and then....WOW---it blew me away! I've been trying to find the tone this thing brought me for years....finally---it's here. Pure sweetness and creamy distortion that is "just right"..

    I liked it so well that I bought a second to run in line. THAT is the perfect combo---Just nothing else is needed!

    If it sounds like I'm gushing, well, I am! THIS is THE overdrive pedal. The only one that comes close is the MXR O.D. Badass pedal, and it's OK...but this one is even better by a few shades!

  • from Bronx, New York April 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Lives up to the legend and better.

    I've never played through a Tube Screamer I didn't like and you could add this one to that list. Though I don't have an old Tube Screamer to A/B it against this hand wired version sounds incredible; so buttery. It works well on all 3 channels of my Mesa Mark 5 and makes my Marshall JCM 900 do back flips. I thought my DOD YJM308 was good; but my new Tube Screamer sounds much better for my ears and it's a little more versatile. If I can remember the sounds of the old Tube Screamers I've played through in the past I think this new hand wired one sounds a little warmer. You don't see too many things being made in Japan anymore but if you do see anything it's usually expensive and of the highest quality. The pedal comes in this military like grenade display case so carefully constructed. Open the battery compartment and you can see some of the beautiful hand wiring. I'd say it is worth the money. Metal shafted POTS would be an improvement though.

  • from Lombard, IL April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Screamer is a Screamin

    This thing boarders on being unbelievable. It is extremely smooth and just breaks up your sound either Clean or with Gain. Probably the best phrase to use is "enhancement". It doesn't really color yet it gives you that something extra that just sounds really great. I could tell it more with my Strat and the single coil pickups but, it added to the humbuckers on my Paul. Very quiet inbetween songs also. No hum or at least very little than without this pedal....I believe it is worth every penny, and as usual, Sweetwater standard ships and I get it next day from Fort Wayne.....WOW

  • from msp, mn. usa December 22, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Investment!

    Only distortion box I need! I run a Fender JA-90 "Seymour Duncan Vintage P-90s" Thru the One And Only Ibanez TS808HW Tube Screamer into a Blues Jr. The amp now sounds like a Deluxe {Super warm} bonus- This baby is only going up in value!
    Jam On Bros!

  • from Deer Lodge, Montana December 23, 2009

    Search no more

    Being a tube screamer player, this pedal will absolutely bring the best out in your playing. No boxey, lack of bottom end or shrill top end here!

    I run a 20th annv. PRS i to (ts808hw---TRex Replica---DrZ Maz-18 20th Annv. amp.) I'll put this setup against anything! I've owned and have various amps and setups and this simple compact setup will crush the best in a small combo package PERIOD!

    My Dr.Z amp swallows this pedal with delight and leaves me wanting to play more than ever. This pedal is for serious experienced players who crave natural tube bliss with dynamics galor. Thank You sweetwater and well done Ibanez.....

  • from Chicago, IL USA October 9, 2014

    Solved for 'X'.

    Exactly what I'd hoped for in this TS pedal. Pushes my tube amp right into its perfect tone.

  • from NYC May 12, 2012Music Background:
    30 plus years playing heavy rock, punk, blues

    Ibanez TS808HW review

    I play punk, metal, rock, blues and I have owned this hmm, about (2) years. It's the best overdrive I have ever had. Across the board.
    I use it with the Boss noise compressor and it gets nastier the longer it's on. I play a Gibson Les Paul trad. Pro through either a Marshall JMP or the AFD100. Everything usually is at 12:00 except I like my presence a little high. The beat thing is is price, BUT you could prob. Get away with an Epi or / with a Tube driven amp, I haven't tried my other stuff as, I really enjoy my equipment that took me so long to attain and enjoy.

  • from Marietta Georgia January 9, 2017

    Tube screamer

    Has a great soft creamy Overdrive and it is also a great boost to your distortion.. it adds to your tone I will probably keep it on 95% of the time

  • from Planet Earth January 15, 2015Music Background:
    Keep Forgetting

    Fairly decent for crunch

    Well I'm not as impressed as I thought I would be but hey its still a good pedal but if you plan on using this for hard rock/metal overdrive/distortion, then you're going for the wrong pedal. This is like a "trey anastasio sort of phish crunch sound" as i would call it for want of a better word - its basically pure crunch. Take note, that the amp is a 68 fender deluxe reverb which is pretty much clean all the way. I use a "love overdrive pedal" (yeah i know crazy name) but its a boutique pedal that can't be beat. However if you want good ole fashion crunch, then get this pedal. If your a death metal head....get a DS-1 and save money.

  • from Alvarado tx July 29, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist and collecter

    ibanez TS808hW

    super smooth warm, creamy overdrive nothing harsh or exstream just super prstine sustain incredalbe pedal very easy to find your tone and there's a lot of that. Built like a tank.I thank the profesinals at Sweetwater for the promotions they have to get such fantastic gear.Thanks

  • from Rhode Island July 30, 2009Music Background:
    Owner of the Armory Music Studio

    Vintage sound plastic parts

    I put the pedal through several amps mostly fender and Rivera cause thats what I use in my studio.Bypass is extremely clean and the pedal gave that vintage SRV Hendrix Tone.Only beef is it looks built like a tank the pot pins are plastic.The level knob broke off when my 5 year old dropped it from less than two feet to the floor.Safe to say not road worthy.

  • from atlanta, ga July 29, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician, engineer, sound man. i live music.

    nothing special except high price

    plastic shaft potentiometors, the foot switch is not so heavy duty, and quite frankly there is no real punch to this pedal. i have been playing for forty four years. it's not like i'm new to this. now, my white face rat - that's a killer pedal. maybe it's just my taste, but the rat blows the tube screamer away. grant you, one is a distortion pedal, the other an overdrive. i consider the tube screamer overdrive, the rat distortion. by the way, a rat 2 will do you fine. both new reissues are way too much $.

Questions about the Ibanez TS808HW Hand Wired Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway