0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Wechter Guitars Triple O Select Rosewood Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from May 4, 2016

    Awesome Guitar

    Just a great guitar for the price. Played a used one back to back with a Martin OOO and the Wechter won me over, especially for the price difference. Great clarity with decent low end (for itsale size). If you can find one used you will not be disappointed.

  • from February 7, 2016

    Wechter T-8428

    Like this guitar so much figured I would post at Sweetwater as well as acoustic guitar forum. Good sounding triple O for the price point. Very articulate sound with solid mids and highs clarity, and sufficient tight lows (for the size of the guitar). Well balanced sound across the strings with distinct string/sound separation. Fast and smooth playing ebony neck (I prefer ebony so take that with a grain of salt). Also, aesthetically pleasing compared to TO-8418 which is quite plane/bland. The TO-8418 had slightly better bass response and projection (as expected with mahogany back/sides) but not enough so to sway my purchase choice since the TO-8428 trumped in mids, highs, and overall articulation. I did pay a little more for the "rosewood" Wechter but that is OK. Much better finger style guitar than my Alvarez Yairi DY74C due to increased neck width at the nut.

  • from Miramar Beach, FL / Florence, KY February 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fine, very affordable 12 fret!

    This is my third Wechter guitar, and once again I am extremely happy with my purchase. I played the Martin all mahogany 12 fret... This Wechter Triple O Select Rosewood is much more impressive in appearance, playability and, of course, the tone of the rosewood. This guitar is as impressive as my Gibson AJ and any of my Martins... And at a fraction of the price! Thank You, Charlie Davis!

  • from Eat coast December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A real gem

    The guitar is light as a feather but built like a tank. You can feel the quality just lifting it from the case. It's made for finger picking, which is why I bought it. It has a wide neck, almost like a classical, which allows for smooth precise pull offs and encourages better fingering. I haven't been a finger picker for years, but it was easy to adapt to this guitar. True to the descriptions I'd read, it has a "bell like" tone, which I'd call faintly dobro-like, particularly in the mids, although this is an exceptionally well-balanced guitar. The notes are incredibly loud and clear, it's a much simpler sound compared to my Taylor GS without all the overtones, but still rich, almost majestic in its clarity. I pick with the pads of my fingers (for now!) and I find it surprisingly responsive. It sounds amazing with a flat pick - crisp but with old-wood warmth and much more easy to control than dreds and jumbos. Woody, without being too boxy. Best for fingerpicking but could definitely hold its own in a string band, probably better than my taylor for projecting single notes. Great build, although there were some issues with the inlays that caused them to list it as b stock. Wechter's finishing standards are obviously high, because I wouldn't have noticed it.

  • from NW Indiana October 10, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Glad I bought this guitar

    I wanted to buy a 000 size guitar with a slotted headstock, rosewood was important and I didnt want anything less than this quality. I looked at a Stoneridge, they are imported through Canada, and of course the Martin. Then I stumbled upon the Wechter in the Sweetwater catalog. Of course Wechter is targeting the Martin with this guitar, but it is 1/3 the money. With the same tone woods. It is assembled in China, but with the CNC technology today the quality is there. It is set up in INDIANA and played GREAT right out of the box. I put a set of waverlys on it... just for guilty pleasure. I LOVE PLAYING THIS GUITAR.. The case is VERY nice.. The pickguard comes with.. I am finger picking so I left it off ( I like that we have a choice on that). For the MONEY I think this is a SMART buy. It plays GREAT.

  • from Chillicothe, Ohio, USA June 26, 2012Music Background:
    Part-time Musician

    Sweet, Sweet, Sweet!

    Picked up my Triple O at Gearfest. Anyone interested in adding a parlor style guitar to their arsenal needs to give this guitar some consideration. I was very pleased with the balanced tones. Not all mids and trebles like some parlors I've tried. It sounds great, plays great, looks great...5 stars!

  • from Westcoast Florida March 17, 2012Music Background:
    former Pro Musician and Music Educator

    Pure Acoustic Bliss

    All guitar players must have an acoustic guitar. You need to consider
    a guitar without the electronics and cutaway body. Look for a guitar
    that has traditional construction using the finest combination of woods
    for ideal tone,looks and durability. Look for value, this is an incredible
    value. If you believe what I am going to tell you,It will save you alot of
    time and Wechter/Sweetwater will save you alot of money.
    The guitar is perfectly built with balanced tone and wide dynamic range.
    Playing is Easy, on the left hand and finger picking or flatpicking on the right.Set-up was perfect,action,intonation right out of the case.The case is really nice. The guitar weighs as light as a feather and has amazing resonance. The guitar looks very classy and thoughtful of
    Wechter to give you the option of attaching the pickguard or not.
    Watch the video or Mr.Wechter stating his mission for us guitarist. Thanks to Sweetwater for having Wechter guitars and providing extra
    value of FREE shipping,tech support,2 year warranty,55 point evaluation. Believe me because I know, you don't have to spend
    two to three times the money.This is the acoustic guitar to own.
    Pure acoustic bliss.

  • from Yellowknife, NT, Canada October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Average guitarist

    Loved it so much I bought two!

    Bought the lower cost one first and loved it so much I bought a select too during the sellout of wechters. I love it's wider fretboard and the tone of each one - one softer and one brighter. I would do it again. And nice, helpful people at Sweeteater. Thanks guys!

  • from Wilmington, DE USA January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Berklee College of Music Alumni

    Wechter TO-8428 is Wonderful!

    In a word, the T0-8428 is exquisite. It is made exceptionally well, the sound is well balanced, and crisp. This was the first guitar, ever, I have bought that played well out of the box. Visually, it is stunning to see from the Herringbone trim, to the ebony neck, and well polished spruce top and rosewood sides/back. The Snow-Flake fret guides are very pretty, and a classy addition to the instrument. The mahogany neck is easily playable, however at 1 7/8 inches at the nut, it is a wide neck. As a comparison, the Martin Triple O is slightly smaller at 1.75 inches at the nut. Over-all the Wechter T0-8428 is worthy even if the price were twice the amount. The only thing I would change with this instrument is adding a strap peg at the neck, body joint., a personal preference which is easily accomplished. If you are interested in a visually beautiful, balanced sounding, highly playable guitar with the right appointments, you should consider this instrument. I also want to thank my friends, Marc Silver, and Mike Arango (ext 1334) at Sweetwater for the emails, and phone conversations we had about this instrument. Thanks Marc, and Mike!

  • from Riverside, CA September 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Why not leave all comments

    Have written a couple of reviews of this guitar and each time it is not posted for long. Appears that Sweetwater only leaves 5 star positive posts.

    My biggest complaint about this guitar was the abalone binding was chipping along the upper bout. The tone of the guitar is very good, but nowhere near a Martin 12 fret.

Questions about the Wechter Guitars Triple O Select Rosewood?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway