rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Neumann TLM 103 Anniversary Edition Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Neumann TLM 103 Anniversary Edition?

Questions about the Neumann TLM 103 Anniversary Edition?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Paul Allen

    I'm still amazed that a microphone of this quality and craftsmanship can be offered at this price. I've picked the 103 in almost every blind mic comparison shootout I've been a part of, whether it's been for vocals, acoustic guitar, and even as a supplement to piano mic’ing situations. Incredibly rich character, yet very clean.

  • from New Jersey February 8, 2017Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    Voice Over Beast

    This Neuman has extreme clarity, sensitivity and versatility. This is THE mic to get if you are doing voice over work, especially for males. The transparency gives you room to make whatever adjustments you need. Just be sure to use this in a very quite environment—it picks up everything! Some good plug-ins will help you get rid of unwanted noise. For the price range, nothing else can touch it. There are very few other mics I would consider, for any price.

  • from Tampa Florida January 16, 2017Music Background:
    Music producer

    Neuman TLM 103

    I'm super happy with this mic Neumann it's one of the best and with the right combination you can create great music with it...

  • from Orlando, Florida USA December 6, 2016

    The mic to beat

    Oh my God! it's the sweetness my studio needed. I have always used Sennhieser products however, as a voice actor, this is the Porsche in the driveway. About as close to live as you need to get. It won't give the response of the U87 but for what I am doing, it would be overkill. It's the mic to beat, except nothing does đź’–

  • from NYC NEW YORK March 26, 2015Music Background:
    recording engineer/ producer

    EXCELLENT SOUND QUALITY

    I really get a kick out of the idiots from Gearslutz, who continuously slam the TLM103 and all TLM mics. They think that they can turn people away from this fantastic mic with their lies- maybe because they don't want you to have something great that they use in the studio. It's so obvious that when you A/B this mic against other microphones like the Shure SM7B and Electrovoice RE20 (which are nice microphones), the TLM103 wins out hands down on everything from vocals to acoustic guitar ! I own 2 TLM103's and I own 2 Neumann U87's . There's NOT alot of difference in vocal recordings when running the U87's in cardiod mode ! I've been in the recording industry for 50 years and can tell you that what I say is true. The Neumann TLM series mics have a very low noise floor and GREAT dynamic range,especially for vocals! I would pair this mic with an Avalon VT737 for the best audio quality.

  • from Evans, Georgia January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Semi pro artist

    Neumann TLM 103

    Best mic ever

  • from maryland April 6, 2012Music Background:
    artist/producer/engineer

    a BIG step up

    With this you wont be needing to break the bank for those 3,000-4,000$ mics and still end up with quality that sounds like you may as well have paid that. I use this my self , plugged in to presonus channel strip pre amp , and i hear what is a world of difference compared to my previous setup!! the second i plugged it adjusted my eq and comp. etc etc. i knew the difference then my last mic which was mxl v69 mogami edition at the price range of 389$.......i been recording for 4 years now and ive tried a couple of others , but this one does sound better then any of the others. well worth it

  • from May 20, 2017Music Background:
    Music Teacher / Musican (Drums, Bass, Guitar, Keyboard)

    Great Mic

    This is my go-to mic ever since I first hit the record button with it. Teamed up with my CLA vocal plugin, it really brings out a shimmer and clarity that I love. I also own a AKG C414 XLII, but this mic seems to surpass it — not just for vocals, but also for acoustic guitar. I would definitely recommend it.

  • from Brunswick, Maine May 21, 2016Music Background:
    Commercial studio owner

    I reach for this mic all the time.

    Although I haven't conducted a survey, I certainly reach for the TLM 103 as much as any other mic in my studio. To folks who are shopping for an excellent LDC cardioid mic under $2,000, I'd say you really can't go wrong with the TLM 103. It's detailed, quiet and shines on almost any vocal style or range. If you're trying to get a "radio ready" pop vocal sound, this mic will make that job a lot easier. It's also quite a versatile mic, and with careful placement works well on horns, strings, guitars and just about anything else you throw at it. All in all, it's a versatile mic and a good value. My only complaints with the "Anniversary Edition" are that the shock mount is somewhat flimsy; and that a hard mount is not included, even though there's a special compartment for a hard mount in the case. That said, the flight case is quite robust and has room for another TLM 103, a second hard mount and a second shock mount.

  • from Los Angeles November 23, 2011Music Background:
    Producer Audiobooks

    Voice-Over Gold

    Beautiful V.O. mic. The best! I've tried them all and the 103 is sweet - crystal clear and warm.

  • from INDIA August 13, 2011Music Background:
    we are in music since 1986 to 1997----and are in recording studio since 1997

    BEST MIC ON VERY LOW PRICE

    This is a great MIC from Neumann. we are having two in our recording studio.

  • from Lexington, Ky February 28, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, pro musician, and Independant producer.

    Very nice addition to the mic locker

    The TLM 103 is a great overall mic. Use it on everything from vocals to acoustic to guitar cabs(But not too loud) The result is sweet and crisp with a smooth bottom end. HIghly recommended.

  • from Washington DC November 19, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    NEUMANN TLM103

    It's a solid mic that is good all around . Nothing bad about the sound other than a little nasal sounding mids on some vocals. Good on acoustic and electric guitars !

  • from February 1, 2005

    Nuemann TLM 103 Anniversary Edition

    This is an amazing mic. The dynamic range for vocals is superb. If you're setting up a home studio, I would highly recommend getting good microphones, and Nuemann is a great way to go.

Questions about the Neumann TLM 103 Anniversary Edition?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway