0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Neumann TLM 102 - Matte Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Neumann TLM 102 - Matte Black?

Questions about the Neumann TLM 102 - Matte Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Stuart Niven

    Want the Neumann sound at a great price point? This is the mic. Born from the TLM103 (which is famous among rappers and voiceover artists alike), the Neumann TLM 102 MT delivers.

  • from November 27, 2016

    Great mic

    Neumann quality and sound in a compact housing. The rich, smooth tone of this mic has taken my vocal tracks to the next level.

  • from Bad Vibe Studios in Lytle, Tx May 6, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Engineer/Producer

    Just buy It

    The TLM 102 was the first microphone I had ever used for a professional recording, and 5 years later it is still my go-to mic for almost any situation. I now work in a professional studio handling up to 4 to 5 sessions a day and with all the mic options for the different artists that come in i still find that the TLM trumps them all in sound , and ability to manipulate the sound in post.

  • from Missouri April 8, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Voice Talent

    Love my new microphone AND my new go-to guy

    Beautiful-sounding mic sensitive to every nuance voiceover requires. Extremely pleasant experience working with Brad Thomsen too--nice to have his expert advice when selecting the right home studio equipment for my needs and budget.

  • from Katonah, NY November 26, 2015Music Background:
    performing musician, songwriter and home project studio enthusiast

    The Real Sound

    Finally my project studio has a pro sound all because of this little mic. It reproduces my Martin perfectly and then seems to give it a little edge although that could be the duet preamps. For my voice, it picks up every nuance of expression. Really an incredible mic. I guess all along I wanted that Neumann sound and didn't know it!

  • from Frederick, MD February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    Great Sound

    Makes my voice sound better than I really sound! What can I say...it's a Neumann.

  • from United States September 7, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Songwriter, Producer, etc.

    I'm starting to think these should be in everyone's locker

    I borrowed a pair from a friend of mine while I was wrangling up as many mics as I could for a shootout for a new Taylor 812e. I wasn't all that satisfied with my current offerings and knew there was a better fit out there, just didn't know what it was. This went up against 9 different mics, and it really blew the doors off most of them. All the pencils I had sounded OKAY but really lacked the midrange warmth. Almost scooped sounding in comparison the tlm102's. These mics were really well balanced, nothing was wonky, brittle, dull, edgy or boring. The small size makes them insanely easy to position. The super high SPL handling means I can put these up really close to the guitar, which is great so I can keep things nice and dry and up front. And the capsule responds very quickly, plenty of transient detail here. These may be the perfect acoustic guitar mic. I didn't get a chance to try them on anything else, my friend made sure to get them back in a timely manner. But you can bet I'll be picking up a pair of these real soon.

    Fun Fact: The headbasket screws off, allowing you to remove the internal foam pop filter. This will open up the mic so it has all the top end sparkle you'd need.

  • from United States December 16, 2013

    Perfect for me!

    This microphone really accomplishes what I need it to. It has a wonderful sound, and I like that it is tiny enough to fit anywhere I need it to, and it can handle ridiculous SPL. Perfect for me, and I would recommend it highly.

  • from Washington, DC October 9, 2013Music Background:
    creative production/voice over

    For me it's perfect!

    I love the fact that the 102 is an expensive sound for the common man dollar. You don't need a recording studio budget to get recording studio sound out of the 102. I use mine primarily for radio and tv voice over. It subtly beefs up and brings out the best in my reads. Once you dial it in with a mic pre you'll love it.

  • from Wellsville, Pa November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Contemporary solo pianist

    TLM 102

    This is a great sounding mic. Very smooth and silky. Jason recommended them for recording my piano. I was looking for a warm, smooth sound, and these mics have really delivered.

  • from United States March 30, 2012

    Neumann!!!

    Love it. It's so small, yet solid and sleek. The sound is brutally honest, and its size and decible tolerance is perfect for my "on the road studio."

  • from Michigan April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Worship Leader

    Sounds Amazing!

    Sounds great on everything I throw at it. As long as you're okay with not having a pad & hp filter built in, then you can't really go wrong with this mic. I use it for voice-overs, vocals, acoustic instruments and amps.

  • from Philadelpphia, PA June 16, 2011Music Background:
    Producer/Director

    TLM 102 a Nice Compromise

    Bottom line...it does sound like a Neumann (103ish) and it's at a great price point. And it's about the size of the lavs I used when I started in TV 30 years ago. Well, almost.

    I have only used it as an announcer mike, but it has done the job very well ...at a very good price. Most of us can't justify buying a mike that is worth more than our computers, so the more expensive Neumanns arn't likely to every find their way into our mike closets.

    But the 102 gives you the opportunity to experience and utilize that Neumann magic at a price that will only damage, not break, the bank.

    Shock mount or isolation very important for this mike. Ask you sales engineer for advice.

Questions about the Neumann TLM 102 - Matte Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway