rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Yamaha THR5A 10-watt 2x3" Acoustic Modeling Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha THR5A 10-watt 2x3" Acoustic Modeling Combo?

Questions about the Yamaha THR5A 10-watt 2x3" Acoustic Modeling Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from kensington california April 11, 2017

    yamaha thr5a

    again thanks sweet water and alex super amazing product friendly and professional sales engineer.. this amp. is like a magic plug your guitar and it will give you that magic sounds..

  • from March 10, 2017

    Best $ I ever spent.

    I wanted a small sized amp for practice playing at home for my own pleasure and it has met or exceeded everything I expected from it. If you're looking for a small, easy to carry, great sounding, amplifier, look no further. It may seem expensive a $200 but once you start using it, you will not regret the price at all. In addition to great sounds, it is built very well, controls are all buttery smooth and fit and finish are perfect. Overall, I am delighted with it and give it my highest recommendation.

    It sounds great with both guitars and ukuleles too. Go for it!

  • from Tennessee September 22, 2016

    THR5A

    Super little practice amp. Really nice to plug up with nice sounds without lugging all the equipment out. This thing is quite surprising. For the money it is a good investment

  • from Houston June 6, 2016

    Another Winner From Yamaha!

    I purchased this little powerhouse, to amplify a classical guitar I'd recently purchased(also from Sweetwater), at Roots/Folk jam sessions.

    But once I started plugging guitars into it, and even though it is designated as an acoustic guitar amp, I have had great success running my 335 through it at church.

    Great clear tones & plenty of customization with effects. I also like the separate effects & reverb knobs.

    This unit is well worth the price.

  • from San Juan Bautista, CA February 19, 2016Music Background:
    After 40 yrs playing, still learning...

    Little Giant !!!

    I plugged my Taylor 214CE Deluxe into this little giant. From the reviews on the net I read I was expecting this to be a really good amp but honestly I wasn't to be impressed this much.
    Yes, it's not powerful enough to use it alone on a recital at a large hall, but when you're at home practicing or jamming with another friend (or even few friends) out in your backyard this gem puts out more than enough power for those occasions.

    When I bought my 214CE Dlx I was also thinking about a more expensive model Taylor like a 414CE. The difference in the tones between two guitars was subtle but there...
    The only question was, does that subtle difference in tone between two models justifies to spend all that extra money. After all 214CE Dlx had a beautiful tone too...

    Well, after plugging in to THR5A, I fell in love with my 214CE Dlx one more time and I that doubt disappeared in my mind.
    The quality sound coming out of this amp will make you feel the same about your guitar no matter what brand/model Electric/Acoustic you're plugging in it!

    It is so easy to move around the home, yard or RV with this amp. Plus at a price like $199 it is most affordable, yet quality amp out there as of today.

    If you're looking for a GREAT ACOUSTIC AMP and still on the fence about it, go ahead and jump on it!

    Trust me, you won't be sorry!

  • from GOOSE CREEK,SC February 11, 2016Music Background:
    FOLK ROCKER/ACOUSTIC 34YRS

    THR5A

    This amp is awesome! You can copy the exact sound of your Guitar,or you can model it with some of the best effects out there.The Condenser,Dynamic,and Tube settings all give pretty accurate modeling of those mics.The Chorus/Compressor and the Delay/Reverb settings are very nice,and will make your Guitar sound
    BIG! I go Busking with this amp,and as long as you use a wall or find a partially enclosed area,this amp more than keeps up with volume.I have played out in the open in Parks,etc. and it does this ok as well.The headphone jack will act as a line out to pa speakers and or bigger acoustic amps,so the volume thing some people dont like is solveable also.Personally I find it to be the best money I have spent on an amp in a long time,and I will be buying a second one.aI also highly recommend the Bag Yamaha has for these amps.Very nicely made and protects the amp when using it as I do.Well done Yamaha!

  • from Fort Collins, CO November 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Awesome little amp

    I have a vintage Guild D30 with an LR Baggs M80 magnetic pickup. I wasn't quite sure if I was going to like this amp when I bought it. I thought that it would be only decent. But after playing through it and hearing the sound, it's like my acoustic is the same sound as playing without being plugged in, but amplified. The effects are really well done as well. Couldn't be happier with this purchase, especially for the price.

  • from April 25, 2015Music Background:
    Praise and Worship

    Fantastic technical achievement

    The tonal range of this amp is fantastic. It sounds "big" for such a miniscule piece of gear. The output is perfect for playing in the living room / bedroom etc. The effects are studio quality. If you want off-the-wall Pink Floyd sounds, look elsewhere. If you want to dial in the tone of an acoustic guitar to fit any mood, this is exactly the amp for the job.

    I have been using it as a pre-amp for praise and worship. I take the output from the headphone jack and feed it to the PA and what I dialed in at home is exactly what I get out of the mains. I have also been using it for my electric guitar on the electric guitar setting. With the gain up, I get exactly the crunch I need for contemporary praise.

    The 'build the tone from the ground up using software' approach is an impressive technical achievement. Kudos to Yamaha for this one. My other acoustic amps are collecting dust at this point.

  • from San Diego March 27, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur-pro for 40 years

    Amazing Mini Acoustic Amp!

    Great things do come in small packages!
    For its size and what it's stocked with, THIS MINI AMP is a CHAMP!
    A great mini-amp for small gigs, busking (street venues), or
    just plain fun at home without pulling out all the heavy equipment.
    This THR5A (10-Watt) amp is great for acoustic guitars and instruments.
    All features considered, I'm very pleased with its price and performance!
    Sweetwater takes great care of its customers, over and beyond most of its competitors.

  • from dallas September 10, 2014Music Background:
    playing guitar 40 years

    acoustic and electric

    Amp works great with my Ibanez acoustic that has a magnetic pick up. I also sent my electric thru processor then amp with excellent results. Good battery life with rechargeables.

  • from Tucson, AZ April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Classical and Jazz Guitarist. Nylon strings only

    Yamaha THR5A Acoustic Amp

    Perfect with the Yamaha silent classical guitar. Once you get the sound right (I recommend reading the short manual that comes with it) it has a very good nylon string guitar sound with no harshness. This box is loud enough for a large room as a venue and certainly loud enough for practice. I have not tried any editing or recording. But just as an amp, this is an excellent buy for the price and so small and easy to move around.

  • from ozark mountians, arkansas March 21, 2017

    great tone

    would have given 5 stars but when you dial in mic setting it can overdrive it. use it with a traveler guitar. works great.

  • from April 14, 2014

    great practice amp

    If you're looking for a practice amp this is the best very handy consumes lrss space and beautiful sound, it would have been better if it had a di out to ise it as a monotor, but its really good for decent sized room.

  • from Fort Wayne In November 7, 2013Music Background:
    playing for 46 years

    solid performance

    This amp is perfect for the home or even small intimate venues
    much louder than anticipated compression works to smooth things out
    reverb and chorus just add to a great product as an owner of two other acoustic amps a trace Elliot ta 30 and ta 50r this will replace the ta 30 for small acoustic venues. as it is light and easy to travel with for small contemporary worship.

  • from Breckenridge, CO March 6, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great utility

    I've enjoyed this amp a lot. My acoustic isn't especially balanced so I like plugging in when possible. I use the compression feature and delay effects mostly and then also just run an iPod through with drum tracks. I use it with batteries most of the time and love the convenience.

  • from Ann Arbor MI February 1, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Really Versatile

    I've managed to use this with my Yamaha FSX acoustic/electric guitar and it sounds awesome. In most situations the volume is more than adequate. I also have used this amp with a vintage casio keyboard, as well as a vintage yamaha CP20 keyboard and it works well. The amp settings alter keyboard tones quite a bit. It's also a nice device for playing audio from a laptop. It's also nice that it comes with Cubase as well as the AMP editor. It's just a nice, small, fun amp. My first real guitar amp.

  • from Pgh.,Pa November 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro-Am Musician

    Can't Be Beat, for the Price

    Fantastic versatility and power for a desktop acoustic amp.
    Hard to believe sound from (2) 3.5 inch speakers
    Loads of fun, and recording software too.
    Recomended

  • from fpm19@att.net February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Long time hobbyist

    Nice acoustic amp

    This is a very good acoustic amp., which does not color the sound of an acoustic guitar, unless you want it to . Has an nice clean sound ,no feedback, and works well with an under the saddle pickup. Has mic. models,effects, and a nylon setting. Even has a setting for electric guitar which I have played a hollow body thru and it sounded decent. Very easy to move around and even works off batteries. Sound is good for its small size- but has limitations. Has USB for recording and editing. Great inside light when turned on. I use a Tak EG523SC mostly but other guitars sound good. My only kick -more volume, but we all want more. If you buy it ,I think you will enjoy it.

Questions about the Yamaha THR5A 10-watt 2x3" Acoustic Modeling Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway