0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Yamaha THR5 10-watt 2x3" Modeling Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha THR5 10-watt 2x3" Modeling Combo?

Questions about the Yamaha THR5 10-watt 2x3" Modeling Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Texas October 14, 2016

    Absolutely Amazing

    Never have I heard tone or just outright over sound quality like this in an amp with something smaller than a 12" speaker. All the practice amps I've tried over the years have sounded like tin cans to me. I have played 2X12 combos that were not nearly as full sounding. It's deep pool and just awesome. But the optional app for PC editor takes this amp from being great to downright amazing. Using the app via my Android my cell phone allows me to edit all the parameters I can control the treble middle and bass frequencies independently all of the parameters for the effects like modulation depth, rate, speed high cut low-cut level, a variety of Reverb types all of the parameters of the Reverb and delays. Including access to two different types of compressors A Noise Gate and a variety of cab emulation. I would actually put this amplifier in the top 5 sounding amplifiers I've purchased in over 35 years of playing, right up there with vintage Marshalls, Mesa Boogie, Matchless this thing is that good and that impressive. And to top it off it's completely portable runs on batteries even I was absolutely floored and Amazed by this amplifier. If you're even remotely hesitant don't be it's a fantastic sounding amp a great investment just all-around fun to use, I would even be more than willing to use this at live shows and mic it, I would be perfectly happy and content with his amplifier if I had to get rid of my main amps I could be just fine with this one.

  • from Juana Diaz, PR February 18, 2016

    So great, so useful!!

    I was looking for a good practice amp and was deciding between this and a Blackstar Fly. Didn't have the chance to test the Fly...but man this THR5 is so amazing! I'm still asking how i didn't buy this before!!

  • from Freehold NJ November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Practice Amp

    This amp is one quality piece of audio equipment. From recording to just sitting around playing at low volumes, the Yamaha gives like no other in it's class. Don't be fooled by it's small size, it can really get loud yet staying crystal clear!

  • from Scottsdale, AZ March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great portable amp

    This little amp is great, it's lite, can run on 8 AA batteries, and sounds wonderful. I haven't turned it all the way up because I live in an appartment , but on half the volume it is so clear and tube lke sounding (when set on tube) its unbelievable. You won't be disappointed if you buy this amp.

  • from northern New Hampshire January 24, 2014Music Background:
    gigging musician with 50 years of rock and roll history

    10 huge watts of fun!!!!

    This little practice amp is way bigger than its deceiving size and wattage rating. Luscious tones, intimate response, useful effects and convincing amp styles are all stuffed into the lunch box sized amp. I connect it to my computer to play with my backing tracks. They are delivered in stereo and my guitar stands out on top...Outstanding!

  • from Raleigh, NC USA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Part-time singer/songwriter; full-time dad and grandpa

    THR5 10-watt amp

    Right price. Right size and portable for practice OR when you want to to play a little soft, dreamy lullaby for your kids' bedtime(come on, you know you do)! Can also be played LOUD...

  • from Cols, OH August 26, 2012Music Background:
    40 yrs playing. Professional, Guitar, Bass, Drums. Recording Engineer, Producer

    THR 5

    Great tool. I have the POD 2.0 and I think this sounds and feels more Authentic. I have has this for one week and I think I am going to upgrade to the THR10 I am so happy with it. If you are looking for a great sounding desktop amp that sounds like the amps it models this is it. I am sure there will be much more downloads and sound samples in the future. This will be around for a while.

  • from NYC May 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Bedroom Amp

    This is an excellent choice for someone looking for a small, low-volume amp with great sounds to use at home. I don't play with high gain sounds, so i just use the Clean, Crunch, and Lead channels. You have much more control over the settings if you connect the unit to your computer and use the editor.
    I use this for just playing at low volumes, and recording simple tracks into Garageband- it couldn't be easier.
    It would be nice if there was a way to save at least a couple of presets like you can on the THR10, but other than that, i can't think of anything i would change about this unit.

  • from Seattle, WA April 4, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great sounding, easy to use living room amp

    Man, this thing sounds surprisingly good, and it can get surprisingly loud, too! I was even able to coax some feedback out of it on the crunch channel!

    The clean, crunch, and lead patches are wonderful to my ear. Think Blackface Fender Tremolux, Marshall 1974, and Marshall JTM45 and you get the general tonal picture for those patches. The Brit high gain sounds kind of like an Orange stack, and the American high gain sounds Peavey 5150ish to me, but I'm not much of a high gain player so I haven't tweaked and dabbled those as much. Those high gain patches would probably really come into their own using the USB patch cable to access the extra EQ knobs using the companion software.

    The controls are dead easy, gain, tone, master volume, but the effects knobs can be a little touchy. The useable range on the reverbs is pretty narrow in my opinion, they get grainy and muddy turned up very far. The tremolo, delay, and chorus sound just fantastic, and the phaser/flanger effects sounded fine too (I don't use phaser or flanger much, but that's me). Especially the tremolo. Wow, it has a nice tremolo.

    I really like being able to patch my phone in and play along with songs. Brilliant feature!

    As it is, this is a nice super-portable practice amp for lessons, living room, and bedroom. Although it is a solid 10 watts, its twin 3" speakers are just not quite loud enough to cope with a drummer. If only it had a TS speaker out! That feature would make this a five-star product.

  • from Kokomo, IN March 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Gear nut

    Sweet Little Amp

    Very nice amp for apartment dwellers or people who need a quieter amp to keep the rest of the family happy. The amp models are very useful. It's not really what I consider a set it and forget it amp when going from one model to another. Takes a bit of time to find the sweet spot for each model but well worth the effort to find the right setting of gain, master and tone for each. The effects are nicely done and it takes my Wampler Euphoria OD pedal nicely as well. The computer tweakability is a nice feature. The ability to save those tweaks without being plugged into the computer would be nice but you know you don't get that going in. I haven't used it for recording but the headphone output sounds really nice. If you feel like spending the extra $100 getting the ability to save presets and have separate volume control for your aux in is worth considering. Overall I'm very happy with this one, meets my needs well.
    Thanks to Randy Akins for his great service over the years, great guy and place to do business.

Questions about the Yamaha THR5 10-watt 2x3" Modeling Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway