0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Yamaha THR10X - 10-watt 2x3 Hi-Gain Modeling Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha THR10X - 10-watt 2x3 Hi-Gain Modeling Combo?

Questions about the Yamaha THR10X - 10-watt 2x3 Hi-Gain Modeling Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Mineola,TX November 11, 2016

    Simply amazing!

    First off let me start by praising Sweetwaters excellent staff and personal attention making sure everything is perfect before promptly shipping a well packed item!
    Now...to this little marvel of a practice amp and so much more.
    I needed a small combo amp with headphone jack due to apartment life and all the joys a musician experiences with neighbors on all sides separated by thin walls.lol
    Thanks to all the killer reviews on this site I narrowed it down to the perfect solution for me...the Yamaha THR 10X!
    All the different amp voices and built in effects will most likely be all I'll ever need in such a simple,compact unit that I can easily take anywhere and it runs on batteries so literally you can use it anywhere!
    Beautiful clean tones and brutal crunch at the twist of a knob.
    I've only played my newest guitar(ESP M-ii)through it but I'm looking forward to hearing how my '80 Strat sounds after I fix a broken cord jack.
    I'm not sure what else to say except buy this and you won't be sorry!... affordable,killer tones,compact size,battery or plug powered,headphone jack so you can melt your own face and not get evicted for complaints. Lol

  • from Rockford, IL October 11, 2016

    Nails great metal AND clean tones.

    I am a 50 year old who has been playing guitar for 34 years. I have had my share of great tube amps, and so I am going to admit to being a tube amp tone snob. Well, I am here to tell you that this amp does a GREAT job emulating overdriven tube sounds as well as giving you a wonderful clean channel.

    I wanted to be able to cover pretty much every sound I play in one device. This amp will be my daily practice buddy for years to come. I have only fiddled with the amp for about an hour so far, but this is my initial impression.

    CLEAN - I love the sound of a clean Stratocaster. On the clean setting with reverb, my Jim Hendrix Strat sings through the THR10X with the bell like quality you expect from a Fender amplifier. Little Wing, SRV, Yellow Ledbetter...those tones can be pulled from this amp. Do NOT be worried that this amplifier is strictly for the metal players out there, I am telling you to trust me when I tell you the clean channel is wonderful.

    POWER & BROWN settings - I plugged in my Les Paul for this evaluation and ran through the various amp models. I am delighted to report that I got a respectable Marshall overdriven sound at conversation levels. Toying with the gain itself, I can cover pretty much any of my favorite hard rock bands from Zeppelin to Van Halen to Randy Rhoads to Metallica.

    SOUTHERN HI - I played with this amp the least, but quickly determined that there is enough quality gain in this amp model to faithfully put you into Pantera territory.

    With that being said, I am comfortable that my tone needs are covered.

    I have read that the amp responds to pedals well, but have yet to test that out. I will be plugging my Xotic EP booster, wah pedal & univibe later today to see if I can pull out that Hendrix-like tone we all know on Voodoo Chile and Machine Gun.

    This amp is about the size of a loaf of bread. However, size doesn't always matter...at least when it comes to tone. The darn thing is cute...and I am not ashamed to say it! I can put this little amp just about anywhere. For portability, I bought the case that is available for the THR10X & it is well padded.

    I did a lot of research before pulling the trigger on this little amp, and I am glad I did! My research saved me a LOT of money and delivered the tones I want to hear.

    If you are seeking a practice amp, just buy a Yamaha THR that suits your musical style. This amplifier will cover the tones you are chasing while at a level that your kids and spouse can sleep through at night.

    Kudos as always to my Sales Engineer Brent. Sweetwater has, in my opinion, the best customer service I have ever experienced from an online business. I will ONLY buy my gear from Sweetwater.

  • from Salt Lake June 13, 2016

    Amazing

    No need to reiterate what everyone else is saying - only to say it's all true! If you're a bedroom/basement player, this (and its other versions) is (are) the only the amp(s) you need. The rest is just a waste of $ and space. For giggers, it's all the practice amp you'd ever need. A technological marvel, in it's analog-type sound & feel.

  • from April 7, 2016

    Insanity

    To start with let me just say that I bought this primarily for home jamming and maybe some recording but this little guy is so much more than that. I have it sitting on top of my bugera trirec and to be honest the tones that I get out of the thr10x rival the trirec if not surpass in some aspects. The built in effects are slim but everything you could possibly need for tone tuning. A little bit of delay, hall reverb and it's bone crushing with pinch harmonics for days. I'm still not sure of the speaker setup in it bit it appears to be two drivers with some sort of bass concentration system and it's ran stereo so the depth and clarity are insane. 100% recommend for metal heads/ blues lovers. You will not be disappointed

  • from March 19, 2016

    small amp big fun

    this is a really good sounding small amp. I have a lot of fun with it, I feel it is well worth the price, I may buy another model in this line.

  • from San Francisco Bay Area March 4, 2016

    Perfect Tool!

    I LOVE THIS LITTLE AMP!
    I purchased it so that I could work on my chops during my lunch time at work.
    Great tones and options to shape.
    Love the USB connection to my PC which allows me to play along with tracks I am learning.
    Perfect size, looks cool and solves all of my needs.
    I haven't played it much without headphones so I am skipping that for this review.
    If you like high-gain amps then this baby is for you.

  • from Cleveland Ohio January 28, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Yamaha THR10X 10 watt

    Amazeing amp!! This amp is perfect for what i need!! The gain on it is outstanding!! There is so much you can do to get the sounds your looking for!! If your a Van Halen fan like me and looking for a way to to get his sound in a small package look out because this amp will do just that!! But not only Van Halen it delivers so much more you can do just about any thing with it!! Its perfect for travel practice in the studio and i evean ran it through a good PA system and i was blown away!! You can feel and hear that stereo sound volume low or up its amazeing!! Thank you Sweetwater for your help once again!!

  • from Seattle December 13, 2015Music Background:
    Long Time Hobbiest

    Yamaha THR10x, a personal game changer

    This thing is great. I live in an apartment which leaves little inspiration when your used to blasting a half stack and now forced to put on headphones with cheap older gear. The Thr10x allows me to put on headphones but hear a full stack again. I don't know how they did it but props to the Yamaha guys. Finally you can have that beefy half stack / full stack sound but it's at a volume that everyone can enjoy, especially apartment neighbors. It's not perfect by any means but a huge leap in the right direction. I still don't get the pant blowing vibration I front of the 4x12 but hey at least I can hear it. Haha. The features are great. I just to get a computer and then I'll be pretty much set for e recording thanks to this thing. The effects sound pretty good, not the best, but still good to work with and have. I am absolutely pleased with this purchase and would buy it in a heart beat if anything were to happen to it. Give one a try!

  • from April 23, 2015

    Amazing

    The sound at all volumes is amazing .this amp makes practicing more rewarding & easier because of the sound quality and portability .would definitely recommend

  • from Ohio June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This is it!!!

    The next live gig I play, I will use this amp and mic it, or run the headphone output to the mixer. This amp has it all, classic rock, metal, country, jazz, tones that you can twist into your sound. I've got a thousand dollars worth of pedals that are going on the shelf because I got this thr10x.

  • from United States April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great buy

    I went 100 dollars over budget to buy this, but I'm totally glad I did because I'll be happy with this for quite a while. I got sick of my Line 6 Spider and wanted an upgrade, but not a 'bigger' amp, just a better one because I play at home and there's no need for bulk. I play some alternative and metal core, and this is the perfect amp for the metal core (it's no problem finding good amps for alternative). I don't feel like I totally depend on having an amazing distortion pedal; the amp is good enough to stand on it's own. Totally happy with it - the housing seems really well made and sturdy so hopefully the electronic inner-workings are too. So if you're looking for an amp for metal core and don't want to waste another 100 dollars on a distortion pedal, buy this amp!

  • from Walls, MS May 10, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Best of the Desk-top amps !!!!

    Just a wonderful product...eazy to use right out of the box--sounds great, but dive into the editor, unbelievable tones !!! love the design of this little beast--light and compact--well worth the price, if you are looking for a practice/bedroom amp, you can't find a better device !!! 5-star.....

  • from South Indy April 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Weekend jammer

    Awesome little practice/portable amp that rocks!

    I just bought the THR10X. I can't even begin to express with words how amazing this baby sounds.

    It's obviously not a 6505+/5150 or Mesa Triple Rec cranked to ear bleeding levels. It is exactly what it proclaims to be, the 3rd amp. That little amp you can set down next to you on the table or couch and practice with. Although the stereo imagine makes this thing sound 10x bigger than it is.

    I'm firmly rooted in 80s and 90s metal and hard rock, so these are the sounds I'm looking for.

    The VH brown sound is incredible. Every time I hit this patch, I can't help but play my favorite old VH tunes(VH, VHII, Diver Down, Women and Children first). It even pulls a pretty good 5150 sound on Summer nights.

    I've also got pretty good 90s Megadeth, early Metallica, Extreme, early Malmsteen, even Led Zepp's Wanton Song tone from this amp. The trick is to use the software (THR editor) that comes with it. You can dial in some pretty awesome sounds with the knobs straight out of the box, but the THR editor let's you really dig deep into the settings. It give you the ability to change cabinet models, tweak very specific parameters on all effects(delay, reverb, tremolo, flange, phase, chorus, noise gate, compressor) plus fine tune bass, mid, treble, gain, and master volume. settings can be saved in the editor and you can save 5 patches straight to the amp.

    The battery life is impressive too. I bought some new Energizer rechargables and have been running the amp on battery power as a test for a good solid 5 hours so far with no signs of weakness.

    Add in the fact that you can plug in your ipod or laptop/pc and jam along with your favorite songs/jamtracks/whatever.

    If you're young and broke, this may not seem to be the best use of 300 bucks, but as a 42 year old with 27 years of playing and a steady income, this thing seems like a steal. I have all the "big gun" and "garage jam" amps I need. This one fills that "piddle around on the couch" gap.

    I'm totally impressed and absolutely love this little amp!

  • from El Cajon, CA USA April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best Practice Amp out....Does It ALL!

    Not only can you get great high gain tones from this amp, but you also get some pretty good effects as well.

    But wait there is more. It comes with Cubase and also serves as a recording interface/studio monitor.

    There are too many features to list.
    I have been playing guitar for over 17 years and have had all kinds of amps from high end to the lowest of low. I can honestly say that for a practice/bedroom amp, this is very hard to beat!

  • from January 23, 2016

    Very pleased

    I can't believe how good this little amp sounds! As many have stated before, it may be replacing my older pedals and rack mounts.Hard rock to metal tones are very gratifying. Plenty loud for practicing and recording. 1/2 on volume is more than enough. Excited to use the editor and the free lite version of Cubase. $299, no tax, free shipping...seriously we musicians are used to getting ripped off. This is a deal! Only gripe...no MIDI controller pedal input.

  • from Topeka, KS February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Little Practice Amp

    Good stereo rich sound. Plenty of options to tweak via the editor. More than loud enough for practice or recording. Don't expect to play with a drummer and be heard though. Power 1,2 and Brown 1,2 with the presets are not very different as far as tone. Once you tweak via the editor it is much better. Overall a good value and better sound than the first generation Vypyr or Roland Cubes.

  • from Arkansas August 23, 2015

    Great sounding amp

    You will be amazed at the sound and volume that comes out of this amp. I use it for practice when i do not want to plug into my big rigs. You will not be disappointed!

  • from August 27, 2016

    Terrible!!!

    I am very surprised at all of the super positive reviews that I have read about this amp. Not to insult anyone, but have any of you ever played through a real amp? I bought this based on all of the reviews that I have read and just received it this morning. No lie, this is the worst piece of crap I have ever heard. It literally sounds worse than a POD. Flubby digital farty distortion. Do yourself a favor and buy the Vox Mini 3 at one third the price. I have one and it blows this away!!

Questions about the Yamaha THR10X - 10-watt 2x3 Hi-Gain Modeling Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway