rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Orange TH30H 30-watt 2-channel Tube Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Orange TH30H 30-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Questions about the Orange TH30H 30-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Partlow, VA November 18, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 50 years!!

    Tone and more tone

    From shimmering cleans to metal growls!! BTW 7 watts is loud!

  • from Cenral Illinois September 12, 2016Music Background:
    Former band member and guitar teacher.

    AWESOME!

    I started out with an Orange "Dark Terror" and graduated to the TH30. AWESOME! No buyers remorse here. Even better than expected. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATIONS!

  • from August 1, 2015Music Background:
    Former semi-professional musician; audio recording enthusiast/hobbyist

    Best money ever spent

    I purchased the TH30H (and the orange 2x12 open-back cab) a little over a year ago. I wanted to write a review only after I've had plenty of time to use it, learn it, understand it and get comfortable with it, which at this point I have.

    I am a guitar enthusiast, particularly for amps. There's something about a tube amps that make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I've owned or currently own a dozen different amps over the past 10 years, including several marshall JCMs and--what was until recently my all time favorite--mesa dual rectifier.

    Bottom line: The Orange TH30H is the best money I've ever spent. It still gives me chills every time I plug it in, warm up the tubes, plug my musicman 6-string directly into the TH30, switch to the crunch channel and play an open D chord. The tone is unreal, pure butter. But what gets me is the clarity--you can hear each string so clearly, so crisp. Do yourself a favor--you'll keep it for life.

  • from Kansas June 8, 2015

    TH30H

    If you want a two channel amp, this is it. The clean channel has lots of headroom and very clean and the dirty channel has all the gain you could ever want. From speed or death metal to hard rock, this amp covers it. I have 12 tube amp heads and 6 combos and this Orange amp brings allot to the table. all my other heads are 100 watt heads. If you are thinking this little 30 watt is not going to cut it, because it lacks in Db. This amp gets very loud. the amp has a tube effect loop is a must for me,I use my smart gate when I have the amp cranked. Gets rid of tube amp hiss when you run lots of gain. You can set this amp to 30 15 7 watts. And all sound great, It sounds good even down on the 7 watt setting. Check this bad boy out. I think you will be Blown away. This Thing Rocks!

  • from Eastern N.C. January 3, 2015

    What a beast!!

    Just loving every minute of playing this amp.The versatility is awesome!
    I was looking for a no nonsense straight forward amp and this really fills the bill!!

  • from Salt Lake City, Ut December 3, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    My Holy Grail for Monster TONE!

    Out of the box, the first time I plugged into this amp I discovered all that was missing in my quest for MY tone. It's got more than enough Gain. More than enough power and control. Everyone knows about the awesome tone from Orange amp valves on the dirty channel... but this thing has an incredible sparkling clean channel too! Exactly what I have been looking for. I am likely going to pull over $500 worth of pedals from my pedalboard. Overdrives/distortions...They're just not needed anymore. The Dirty channel sounds way better! I own/play several guitars.... LPs, SGs, Strats, lap steel, with a variety of pickups, humbuckers, singles, P90s and the TH30 makes them all scream. I played through one of these amps a few years ago and knew I found my Holy Grail amp. I should have made this purchase long ago. I had what I thought were decent tube amps in the past, including Fender's and Marshall's But the TH30 blows those out off the face of the planet. If you're looking to get one, don't wait. You'll regret it later. As for Sweetwater, as always the service was awesome! Thanks Marshall! Fast shipping, and I always enjoy the little bag of candy! Looked like the box took a pretty good shot during shipping, but the amp appears pristine and sounds incredible!

  • from Rhinelander, WI October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Fulltime Musician/Songwriter

    30 Watts of Awesome!

    Honestly, I was a bit hesitant to get a 30 watt amp, because I had only owned 100 watt heads; well I can tell you, THIS THING IS LOUD, and there's really no breakup at higher volumes. I used to swear by 100 watts, but unless you're playing an arena, you DON'T NEED that much power. My first observation: The cleans are just awesome. I had been playing through a Peavey 6505, and the cleans on this Orange kick the 6505's butt; and as far as the dirty channel goes, would I like to have more knobs for it? Yes, but with an amp like this, just get an OD or an EQ pedal and you're good to go. The dirty channel is also very versatile; I can go from playing some '70s rock and roll to the heaviest high gain metal with the turn of a couple knobs. I'm absolutely in love with this amp, I've heard people say "Once you go Orange, you never go back", and that's now true for me!

  • from Southbridge,Massachusetts July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Tonal bliss

    I have been using an Orange Dark Terror for a while now.I love that amp,but wanted something that would let me switch from clean to dirty sounds.This amp has nearly as much gain as the Dark Terror,which is a lot!The clean channel is stellar,very bright and warm sounding.I can get everything from sparkling cleans,Ac/Dc overdrive to Metallica palm muted chugging out of this amp.It sounds better the more you crank it,and 30 watts can get extremely loud.Don't be fooled by the wattage rating.It can easily drown out even the hardest hitting drummer if he's un-miked.Solid construction,sweet tones and the less is more factor makes this amp very attractive. Sweetwater salesman Chris Lewis was very helpful-their service is always a pleasant experience.36 month financing made this a very attractive offer.

  • from Santa Barbara, CA June 30, 2014Music Background:
    35 years playing guitar

    Orange TH30

    As someone who has owned over the years Marshall, Vox, Fenders, and Johnson Tube amps this one is the best overall..., period! I'm not a super heavy distortion guy though I do play some early Black Sabbath tunes on occasion. Between its GREAT clean channel and its equally GREAT dirty channel I can not find fault with it. With the ability to go from an extremely LOUD 30 watts down to 15 and finally to 7 watts it is a true bedroom to stage amp. The big surprise for me was that even on its dirty channel there is still a beautiful sweetness to the tone (think "I'm alright" by Neil Zaza). In my opinion this will be the last amp I will ever buy due to it's overall tone and wide range. As an FYI I play a PRS DGT guitar and it just sings with this amp.... A foot note should be added here that I'm running the head through a Vintage Celestion 30 speaker ( 65 watts rating) for reference.

  • from Buffalo,NY February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Active musician and song writter

    Love at first riff.

    Other than blowing up the preamp because of being gear obsessed, this is the best amp tone I have ever found. I use this to power a full stack and it sounds like a 100 watt amp. The thickness of both channels is the best I could ever ask for. I am officially an Orange player for life.

  • from Downers Grove Il. January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbiest.

    Orange TH30 Unreal!!!

    All I have to say is Wow! This is a keeper. A little noise but what do you expect from a high gain amp anyways. Throw a MXR Noise Clamp in the loop and your done. No need for anything else except a footswitch. The cleans chime and the dirty channel screams!

  • from Western Maryland August 1, 2012Music Background:
    Home Recording Engineer, Musician, Songwriter

    The TH 30 = Absolute Bliss

    I have been dreaming of owning an Orange amp for almost two decades now, and recently came into a situation where I could attain one utilizing Sweetwater's amazing finance program. This amplifier is absolutely pristine. The clean channel is so utterly beautiful and crystal clean; amazingly gorgeous and bright and full, and the dirty channel can go from great AC/DC-like gritty tones to full-on balls-to-the-wall HEFTY heavy metal sonic Valhalla. Also, this amp is very quiet when bypassed, or even by having your volume rolled back on your guitar; it simply leaves you with no unwanted hiss/60-cycle hum. I can not say nearly enough positively about the Orange TH 30. Long live Sweetwater, my customer service rep, Matt McKible, and the British lads/lasses from Orange! MUCH LOVE TO YOU ALL!

  • from Knoxville TN February 15, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Simple, but absolutely awesome

    This thing will cover any range of music that you wish to play. I was surprised by the gain on the nasty channel, but the bigger surprise is the clean channel-unbelievable sounds that you have never heard from your guitar before. Buy it-you will not be disappointed!

  • from Wyoming March 8, 2016

    Respectable tones and plenty of gain

    The amp is in the "higher-gain" Orange family, keeping company with the dark terror tone-wise. Plenty of two on tap on channel 1 and very respectable cleans on channel 2. Diming the treble and bass gives a very fenderesque to, and with a splash of reverb you have a fine clean tone. It doesn't break up too early so you can approach the more prestige sounds. The high gain is perfect and only limited by the shape control. I like the "squishy" nature of the gain...quite in contrast to the very dry tone of my Mark V. I use it with an Eminence Legend and it really cut down on the fizz and tightened up the bottom compared to a vintage 30. The head has a wide range of useful tones from AC/DC to modern. A dark amp with plenty of heft in the low mids. Also, Karl Long is an awesome sales rep and has singlehandedly made Sweetwater my first choice for gear. Kudos.

  • from chicago, IL November 9, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, songwriter, and former Sweetwater employee

    Gain monster with super clean tones

    I was worried this was going to have too much gain, and while it has a ton of gain in it, you can really dial it back to get some crunchy classic rock tones. The clean channel is way better than I thought it was going to be, and is everything you could ask for. Turn it up and it starts to break up on its own to give you that classic Brit Rock tone. Built like a tank, but I'd say if you're looking massive gain like Mesa Boogie tones you may want to look at some higher gain amps.

  • from July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Years

    Cool amp!

    Nice amp, completely usable, cleans pretty stellar! Distortion quite controllable. Easy amp to set up. Effects loop works really well. Build quality quite nice. Excellent choice in the 1200.00 dollar range. Find one used for 5 or 6 hundred. Good amp period!

  • from Burke, VA October 30, 2010Music Background:
    Recording engineer/hobbyist musician

    Stellar, easy to use amp.

    I ordered one of these from Orange before ever getting a chance to try one out. I liked that it had all the features I wanted without having too much stuff in the way of my playing, though I do wish it had a presence control.

    The effects loop is very transparent, which is nice. The amp seems a little more susceptible to hum from a dirty power source than other amps, so you may want to get a power conditioner. Otherwise, it's pretty quiet.

    The clean channel starts to break up around 10 o'clock, depending on your guitar, which means that you can only go that loud for totally clean sounds. A bit of a bummer, but not a huge deal. As I said, I wish it had a presence control--it's not a bright amp and the treble control doesn't seem to boost much (though it can cut a lot if you need it to). Might also have preferred an amp with separate mid and bass controls, but that would have cost a good deal more. You can always add an EQ pedal if you want more control or brightness. The amp is very punchy and just overall such high quality that I would much rather put an EQ pedal on it than have bought a Mesa that comes with all those knobs. Generally, though, two tone controls is enough for me.

    The dirty channel packs all the tone you need into one knob. It's pretty incredible. Probably not the most flexible amp, but you can get all the gain you'd ever need and it can be either scooped or relatively flat or all mids, so there isn't much need for another knob, in my opinion. I also like dialing back the volume on the guitar a bit while on the dirty channel--kind of a gritty, lo-fi sound that I really dig.

    Overall, it's a solid amp that sounds great. Not the most flexible, but if you're like me, the reason you like an amp like this is because it has so few knobs. The less you have to fuss with, the less you have to worry about. This amp is a keeper.

  • from Michigan December 12, 2015

    Pretty Good

    I really like the way the amp sounds with the ppc212 cab. I swapped the clean channel preamp tube with a jj 12ay7. I don't know why orange didn't do that in the first place...way better now. It brought the channel volume levels to about the same now, gave me more clean head room, and just sounds better all around. I had to send my first one back, one of the power tubes was red plating out of the box. Sweetwater was awesome and swapped it out for another one. I don't like the fact that my $1200 amp is made in China, but I'll survive. The tolex job in the corners is very poor. The chassis face plate and cab have uneven gaps all around, almost like the cab is crooked. I was expecting more out orange as far as quality. In the end, I like the way it sounds a lot, I just hope it holds up.

Questions about the Orange TH30H 30-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway