0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Mackie Thump TH-12A Reviews

4.0 stars based on 25 customer reviews
  • Robert Smith
    from ENTERPRISE ALABAMA April 16, 2014Music Background:
    KARAOKE KJ

    Mackie Thump-12A

    I own 3 of these speakers , you just can bet them for the price an sound.

  • Vic
    from Kentucky, USA May 20, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician for 30 years now.

    Love Mackie... Love Sweetwater

    Owned mackie Thump 15-A speakers and have been nothing but thrilled with their sound and performance with our Country Gospel band. Needed a monitor for our drummer. and this for me was a no brainer. Small, lightweight. and perfectly matched sound for our drummer. He hears what the house hears and he loves it. Great product... Great price... Great service... Great company! Would reccomend this to everyone.

  • Peter Neumann
    from Woodland, CA May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Event Producer

    Great For A Range Of Venues

    We got 2 of these for church events needing a portable system. I am thrilled with them because of their power, weight, and ease of use. I considered the 15" version (TH-15A) but liked the price point on these 12" ones and hoped they would be powerful enough for a crowd of peopleľ they are. Our first event with them was an outdoor movie night with almost 500 people and they had plenty of volume, clarity, and bottom end. They are also relatively lightweight (especially for the volume they put out) and pretty easy to cart around. Because they are powered and have an XLR input, you can simply plug in a mic and use them- even the most tech challenged people can figure them out. We have used them in a wide variety of settings- women's teas, worship servies in a school cafeteria, music team rehearsals, etc. Absolutely great for the needs of a mobile church. Bottom lineľ I would highly recommend these powerful yet lightweight speakers to anyone putting together a portable system.

  • Dave Graves
    from Fredericktown, MO May 3, 2013Music Background:
    Car Show

    Loud

    Just as good as advertised.

  • John
    from Florida February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Mackie Thump

    I am totally impressed with the performance of the Mackie Tump TH-12A. Would recommend this to all musicians.

  • DJ JB Smuve
    from SC July 18, 2012Music Background:
    DJ

    Better Than Expected!

    I am blown away with the Mackie Thump 12a speakers. I had heard they were good but I didn't realize just how good. The speakers are not only loud but also have great balance. I've djayed 2 gigs and my customers were impressed as well. I was able to line up a few more gigs as a result.

  • Josh
    from Sanford, FL June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musician; arranger; producer; recording tech; teacher

    Awesome clean power; great price!!!

    These speakers are under-estimated by many; they are powerful and sound great. The price point on these speakers are just right!!!

  • Scott Hollis
    from Memphis September 6, 2011Music Background:
    Bass player

    Front Fill A+++

    I am using this as a full-range, front fill speaker on the front of the stage between the stacks in a large and loud club-size PA. This cab is great in that application.

  • Customer
    from Boston, MA March 19, 2011Music Background:
    U2 Tribute Band "New Year's Day"

    Super light, perfect personal monitor

    I was looking for a personal monitor and was about to purchase a Mackie SRM 150 until I found out about this arriving in early 2011. Anyways, this speaker is awesome. Super loud and small enough to conserve stage space. The EQ option nice too. This thing is also ridiculously light. You can literally biceps curl it haha. If you are looking for a personal monitor, I highly recommend this one. Not planning on using it as a main but it's nice to know if one of our main's ever crap out then we could get by using this little guy.

  • Rusty Sparks Dj Half Tap
    from Orange Park Florida March 11, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar player and Singer also Dj over 20yrs experience

    Cant beat it for the price.....

    great choice for Dj's who are on a budget. Great Sound quality very good low end and crisp high's. They are SUPER light wieght My 6 Yr old daughter can pick one up lol. They are perfect for small to medium size events plenty of volume A++ for mackie on this one. BTW The 12's sound much better for electronic style music than the 15's for me, much better booming low end.

  • DocOG3
    from United States April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Bassist w/ live sound engineering background

    Good product for a good price.

    Great product for a small, easily transported PA system. I use it for Semi-Acoustic groups. Does the trick nicely. The on-board EQ is very helpful for freeing up EQ channels for monitors systems.

  • Customer
    from January 23, 2014

    TH 12A

    The Thump is working out just fine. Great sound and performance. One of the main things I like about it is the light weight. For an old guy like me, it fits just right.
    Thank You
    P.S. Great Service

  • Richard Ruth
    from Durango CO (USA) November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Amatuer

    TH 12A

    Just got one of these speakers two days ago, so can't comment on reliability. It has great projection for practice and small-to-medium venues. And its light weight is a plus. My sole reason for not giving it "five stars" is that the instruction manual doesn't say much.

    Just to clear up an issue, you can't really hook up a microphone to the input (even though it will accept it) and expect to get much sound or projection. This (and most powered speakers) includes only power amp and no preamp. For a microphone to sound good, such speakers must first be connected through a pre-amp. It may be through an "un-powered mixer" (which will have a pre-amp only output), or the proper output of a powered mixer, or through a separate microphone pre-amp. I tried it with an SM 58 and SM 57, and that is what I found.

    The need for some sort of a pre-amp was not a problem for me, as I understood that it would require some pre-amp.

    But with one of these kinds of pre-amps, I found the speaker to sound good with a microphone, acoustic guitar, and even electric guitar.

    If you wan't a powered speaker/system that has a built-in pre-amp to get a good sound with your microphone (instruments) call your sweetwater rep.

  • Tom McCann
    from Cincinnati, OH USA September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Thump 200Watt speakers

    Terrific speakers for a relatively small space, which is what I needed. They have very good sound across the spectrum. Coupled to a 4-channel mixer, it's a nice setup for a musician or very small combo. And the price is terrific.

    Only issue is that the inputs are XLR only. I had to make up some cables to go from my 1/4 in mixer output to the XLRs on the speaker. I guess I could just as easily complain that my mixer is 1/4 in. only :-)

  • Brad C.
    from Sturgis, MI February 21, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great Sounding

    This Unit sounds great, however noticed some recent distortion, using this as a monitor "wedge" ... Seemed to clear up with some adjustments - Going to keep an eye on it with further use.
    The 15" version sounds slightly better but overall this is a great unit.

  • Customer
    from September 30, 2011

    Does exactly what I need it to do.

    I'm no expert and I don't have much to compare to but it works great for what I need. I've never had to turn the volume over half yet and I've used it out doors. Since I don't have a sound board, I especially like that it has a built in eq. Can't wait till I have enough money to buy another one.

  • Customer
    from June 29, 2011Music Background:
    Church worship band

    Work great for monitors!

    We are using them for monitors at our church and they work great. Clean sound, plenty of volume and easy to use. Would have liked the option for a 1/4" input, but we just switched out cords and plugs over to XLR so no problem. Easy to use and simple!

  • Brian M.
    from Fairfield County, Connecticut March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician (bass) A/V Installer, Recording Engineer

    Big bang Little Box

    Bought 4 of these for a spin class installation. One speaker was D.O.A. right out of the box, no woofer, and a burning electronic smell, Sweetwater INSTANTLY delivered a replacement in 2 days, so all was well.
    Ran Mackies thru a small Yamaha Mixing board/iPod setup, and WOW! Filled the room with clear defined sound. The EQ adjustments in the back allow for ample tweaking, and client was VERY happy.
    If you're a DJ cranking Hip Hop, I don't think you're going to get the rock bottom bass you expect without distortion, you'd likely want to use the TH-15A with 2x the power and a 15", and practically the same price!! Would have rated higher if not for D.O.A. Mackie should test before shipping.

  • Russell Fragar
    from DMV September 3, 2013Music Background:
    worship pastor

    Great little box

    These Mackie Thunps are great if you need good sounding convenience. Plenty loud in a smaller to mid-sized space. Very light to carry and lift on to a stand. In-built eq helps.
    The only thing to know is that the input might be a little insensitive for some microphones. Add a little mixer, or use a higher gain mic and you get full power.

  • John Boulding
    from North Carolina July 7, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Mackie THUMP 12A rocks

    I bought one of these speakers to use as a monitor, with the Bose L1 II system one of the groups I play with currently use. The Thump 12A is working great as a monitor.
    Recently, we had a freak rain shower come up on an outside venue. Before we could take the PA down completely, the Bose crapped out due to some moisture on the array connectors. So, I turned the Thump around and used it alone, for a main. It functioned flawlessly and had plenty of 'THUMP" to do the job. Im going to buy another to have a second monitor, and to use them instead of the Bose system if we need a back up.
    I highly recommend these speakers and you can trust the Mackie brand, as usual, to do what its advertised to do.

  • Roger Emerson
    from Mount Shasta, CA 96067 May 29, 2011Music Background:
    composer/arranger/educator

    Good budget priced speaker but with a caution!

    It's the way to go for both mains and monitors if you are budget conscious. You sacrifice the clarity of the Mackie 450's or QSC K12's but at much less money. One caution: the power cords will vibrate out, particularly in the wedge (monitor) position and it is pain to tape them in each set-up and take down. I wish that Mackie would fix the problem with a lock system like the QSC's!

  • jimmy
    from abbeville sc April 25, 2014Music Background:
    professional dj

    thump 12

    not recommended for a small club for dj or karaoke..might be ok for a home party

  • Customer
    from September 3, 2013

    They're decent

    2 stars based off of what Sweetwater says, these are no more than average monitors. I would NOT use them as mains for a PA, ever.

    Ordered three of these for each person in the band to have their own monitor control. After hearing how these sound with no EQ in, I'm sure glad they have at least a three-band EQ on there. These sound NOTHING like my Yamaha AS312, which are very clear. These will get the job done for monitoring, how much better than the competition I can't say.

    All three monitors have this fizzing sound coming from the horn driver, it's like it's constantly SSSSSing every few seconds. The only way to get rid of this is, you guessed it, cut all the highs out!! Do you notice it while you're playing? No. Does it stand out clear as day as soon as you stop? Yes.

    I expected a lot more from MACKIE, of all speaker companies, but I guess you just can't trust a name anymore. I've heard mackie systems that I thought sounded great, these monitors are not part of that family. I can't say I wouldn't suggest them to someone else, because for the price, there aren't many options. However, coming form Mackie, I definitely expected a lot higher quality. Clearly this fizzing from the horn isn't a defect, or else their entire line is defective, because all three brand new TH-12As I got, do this.

  • John McAfee
    from Sylvania, OH July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician/ Tech / Engineer

    DO NOT BUY! UNRELIABLE!! DO NOT BUY!!!!

    In one years time I bought 4 Mackie Thump TH-12's for my 3 piece Acoustic act that works 2 one nighters every week, set up and tear down. My gear is all well cared for. inside of 9 months one by one, they failed. 3 were under factory warrenty but had to shipped out for repair. they have since failed again, and I have only one working at the writing of this review that I had to repair at my cost of $150. That's what it will cost me for the other 3 if I want to use them again or sell them to some pour fool. Do the math-the initial cost -say $300 each, warrenty repair cost me $25 ea in shipping, not to mention inconvieneince of being without my gear. Now add in one more shipping charge and $150 for a repair out of warranty for 3 more! That's insane! They refuse to repair a already repaired speaker out of warranty also.
    While they sound better than any other speaker in their price point (which is why I bought them), I've never been so frustrated and unhappy with a purchase. I own a lot of behringer gear that is far more reliable, and wish I'd have bought anything else than these!
    BEWARE!!!!!!!

  • Rob
    from CT March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Technican

    Would not recomend these

    These speakers run so hot they have burned my crew and i after runing for just a couple hours at half power. Also they clip and distort at extremly low levels. I have never been pleased with these and have had to send one back to have a pre amp repaired. I wouldnt even recomend these to my worst enemy. The have no hard wear on them and have been mounted on the wall since they were purchased. I find that the mackie 450s are clearer and are better bang for the buck, but i still prefer my yamha and EV systems better. Ive used carvin, yamha, mackie, allen and heath, EV, Peveay, and berhinger and by far the EVs and yamha blow them all out of the water!

Questions about the Mackie Thump TH-12A?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway