0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP Electronic Drum Kit Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP Electronic Drum Kit?

Questions about the Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP Electronic Drum Kit?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Phoenix January 10, 2016Music Background:
    pianist

    Excellent Product

    This is a heavenly sent drum kit. My 12-old son loves it, the set up was very easy and the sound is excellent.

  • from PhillyBurbs August 22, 2015Music Background:
    Pennsylvania

    Nice sound in a compact size

    I've been playing drums professionally for over 40 years, both acoustic and electronic (Roland TD10), and actually prefer electronic drums as they sound better in most instances and you can really dial in a range of sounds. As I've gotten older and worn out from lugging drums around, I was hoping someone would make a professional sounding e-kit that was also very portable - well, Roland finally did! These sound great and are a joy to just fold up and go. I only wonder why no one made a small kit before as I imagine there is a big market for this kit like college dorms, bedrooms, closets, etc.

  • from 10977 July 15, 2015Music Background:
    druming

    Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP Electronic Drum Kit

    the entire kit took 10 min to put together
    it sounds so real and you could custom make it to sound exactly what you would like it to

    the only thing that i would say is a con is that unlike a real drum its have the feal and vibration.

  • from Monticello In April 24, 2015

    Great kit / Awesome service

    This kit is extremely easy to use. Watch the video and you're off to the races. Great sounds and good editing for a kit at this price range. Been playing for 35 years, nice to not have to try and stuff even a small acoustic kit into a small gig setting, let alone try and get a good mix. Ordered on Monday, got it Tues. afternoon, had it unboxed, set up , and playing in 45 min. (again, watch the video), in an hour and a half had four custom kits programmed, and gigged that night. Would strongly recommend the Roland bag for this kit also. It really doesn't get much easier than that. Also a shout out and big thanks to Mike Godlove, and Sweetwater for the great service

  • from Saxonburg, PA December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic!!!

    Really great kit! My first electronic drum set. Highly portable, (as the name suggests.) Awesome sounds within the TD-4 module. Fits just about anywhere, and is quite durable. A perfect purchase for a beginner!

  • from Hamilton NJ November 18, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer and DJ.

    Review The Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP

    For the price and the portability was will worth it. for drummer that has been playing for over 40 yrs and playing on Ludwig drum sets for most of the time and now playing Electronic.

  • from North East Indiana January 8, 2013Music Background:
    Lifelong drummer, lover of all music styles

    The best reason for an electronic kit.

    This is a great e-kit. I've always played acoustic (35 years) and have been wanting something that I could haul in one load. This is it. Initial set-up was easy, the instructions are very clear. After playing for a couple of hours, I folded it up in a couple of minutes (once again, great instructions), and tucked it away. The sound module is great, you can make any or all of the 25 kits into whatever you want, then restore any or all to factory settings. After a few weeks of experimenting I'll have a few custom kits that suit my special needs as well as a great straight up five piece rock set. This is a top notch kit for a small price. My only wish is: mesh heads. The snare pad is upgrade-able according to Roland. I bet the toms are as well, but they'll only be single trigger, not head / rim. My hat is off to Sweetwater as well. They were awaiting their first shipment from Roland on Saturday, I was playing mine on Tuesday. They even sent some candy for my son. Thanks. I guess the PDX-6 snare pad and the carry bag will be my next purchases. Of course I'll get them from Sweetwater!

  • from Idaho June 10, 2016Music Background:
    30 years (on and off) of performing music

    Fantastic Product!

    I purchased these about 2 months ago and really enjoy them. If you are looking for an e-kit that breaks down and packs up easy while taking up little space, this is the one. Will this replace an acoustic kit? It all depends on what you want to do. I'm a guitar player that enjoys drums as well and would like to use them for recording. I also don't mind sitting in with musicians in a different capacity and these drums let me do that. For a person needing some drums for their home studio, they are amazing! Plug in and go. No more microphone placement problems or trouble and perfect control over sounds. If you have a family and don't have a dedicated space to practice in where you can make noise, these are great. I go downstairs anytime I want and practice. The kit itself is very sturdy and has a good selection of kits and drums. It does walk a bit when you are playing (still trying to work on that one). A couple of things you need to know. First off, get rid of the snare pad that comes with it and buy the upgrade and the mount. You will really appreciate the mesh snare so just buy it outright and save yourself the upgrade later. Next, you will want the bag, or measure it and buy a suitcase for it. I bought the bag and like it just fine. Third thought. Now you have spent enough money to purchase the kit above this one (td11). You have a decision to make. If you need portability, small footprint, tough for travel, and overall gigability, this is a great kit. If you are not going to play out, have a lot of room, and just want it to record with, I would go with the better model. All in all, this kit has been a lot of fun to work with and I am recording my 3rd album using it. On a side note, you will want to pick up a midi module to hook it to a computer with so you can use the Roland Friend Jam app. It is a blast! You can play along with backing tracks and the computer rates your performance. It really makes practice fun. I hope this helps. Good luck!

  • from Columbus Ga March 11, 2016Music Background:
    jammin for a decade

    fantastic

    The only reason it's 4 1/2 stars is because the pads tend to move around and sometimes rattle a bit. Other than that this is an amazing deal. I work 50 + hours a week in the restaurant business so I don't have much time to play or practice especially since all of my neighbors don't like how loud I play on the acoustic kit. But with this setup I have more hours playing in a week than I did on the acoustic kit for the past month. You get to use your own kick pedal which I like. The pads positions are conveniently customizable and are easy to set up. It's very compact and folds up nicely. I'm pretty sure you can upgrade the snare and kick drum to some of Roland's fancier pads which I'm sure sweetwater has on deck. All in all this is an amazing deal especially if you have a sweetwater card and monthly payments are an option like I have setup. I highly recommend this product and highly recommend you get through sweetwater. Happy drumming

  • from January 10, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Team 4 1/2 years

    TD4K

    Ive been playing on a regular set for a year, still a beginner, learning on my own, I was BLOWN away at the ease of set up, the sounds it produces, the kit also has settings to help me with tempo... It was ordered late in the afternoon and arrived on my doorstep the next day by 10 am. The service is EXCEPTIONAL and the quality is too. I have nothing but great things to say. Ive played it 2 hours a day since I set it up. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Thanks Joe James for the excellent customer service. Looking forward to each day with this Roland Kit. Its a MUST HAVE!

  • from Wash. DC October 6, 2014Music Background:
    All pro...54yrs in.

    Pretty Kool!

    Were lighting up on the live gig load so we thought we would give 'em a try. The portability is amazing. The sounds are great and the soundman loves 'em. A real good buy....Get the case!

  • from Chicago, IL August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Portability and Small Footprint

    I may be a student, but I know what I like. That said, this is great for my current needs and budget.

    The stock set is pretty good, but it I recommend upgrading the snare to a PDX-8 or PDX-6. When you do, donít forget to order the MDH-12 pad mount. Technically, I think you could plug in PDX pads for the toms, but I don't think there are mounts that would work with this frame.

    I've yet to find a drum kit that comes with a kick pedal from retailers, so that was no surprise. I've got a Pearl Eliminator P2000C mounted, and a set of Behringer HPX2000 headphones so I can practice whenever I like in my city apartment without causing a ruckus.

    I also added the optional carrying case, and in the two weeks that I've had my kit, I've already strapped it to my handy-dandy, folding luggage cart (you can usually find them for around $20) and hopped the city bus with it to a jam session. The gig bag is roomy enough that I could probably even squeeze a no-frills throne in, too.

    Iíve tried out the Quick Record function, and was pleased that I could just pipe it into Audacity on my laptop to share a quick fill via email to a couple of folks (stereo 1/4" to 1/8" cable). There are several drum set and instrument options available. I saw that another reviewer mentioned that he wanted more cowbell, and there is a cowbell setting in the TD-4 module, but the drawback is that youíve got to sacrifice one of your limited trigger slots.

    The other drawbacks that Iíve noticed in the 25-30 hours Iíve already put on this kit is that the ride cymbal position (as another reviewer had also mentioned) is limited. Iím all of 61.5Ē tall and have a pitiful wingspan, so Iíve flipped the ride mount so that it swings down and sits against the frame, closer to where I prefer the ride. Also, the clamps for the cymbal posts are not that strong. They will maintain the vertical position, but as I play, they shift horizontally, and the rubber ride trigger (as this is not its intended position) rotates inward to the frame with every strike. That will also happen with the other cymbals if I donít hit them in the center of the trigger area. The hi-hat screw tends to work itself loose once or twice a practice session as well. I suppose I could simply not play as hard. I would also be happier if the timing coach on the TD-4 would last longer than it does before scoring me.

    Lastly, and this is perhaps a blessing in disguise, is that the sweet spot on the pads are maybe but a couple of inches in diameter, so Iíve put neon pink duct tape circles on them to help with the precision of my strikes. Itís distracting when I know Iíve hit the pad, but can barely hear the toms (if at all). Like I said, a blessing in disguise. Iím getting cleaner when Iím on an acoustic set now.

    Also, I recommend that as soon as you set it up, you learn how to collapse the set. I was late to my jam session because it was my first time packing it into the gig bag and doggone it if I wasnít ready for a cold one after that 45 minute ordeal. Packing it in for the trip home was much faster (approx. 8-10 minutes) and smoother.

    For the price and portability, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this kit for drummers needing portability and a small footprint. For the price, you could get another set with more options for expansion and trigger position, but you wonít get the easy portability of the TD-4KP.

  • from Texas August 19, 2014

    Portability Reigns

    First I thought bass drum pedal is included (which is not) so I think the bass pedal on the picture should be removed. If bass pedal is included and the price is $699, I would definitely buy it.

    Anyways, overall quality is not bad. You can practice with provided coach and metronome. But the strongest point I give would be the portability.

    Of course if you want more real-drum feel you would have to invest at least $1000, but still this drum is enough for beginners to practice and live it on.

  • from Crystal Lake, IL 60012 May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    My new travel buddy

    I ordered this kit knowing that I will be living in a dorm room for college next year. In my personal opinion I cannot think of another electric kit that can fold down for storage and transportation quite like this particular one can. I would say the rack is pretty sturdy and this kit weighed a bit more than initially expected. The rubber pads actually play better than I expected and I enjoy actually having a real kick pedal with a beater. The cymbals work pretty well, just wish they were a bit more adjustable. On my acoustic kit my ride is where the second rack tom would usually go so the ride position is something I will have to get used to on this kit. After having my first late night full band practice tonight I was really impressed with how well this kit performed and I would definitely recommend this kit to anyone.

  • from Houston, TX September 21, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/ Songerwriter, Guitarist, Drummer, Worship Leader

    Great practice tool.

    I bought this kit because I moved into an apartment, and I was no longer able to practice acoustic drums where I lived. this kit was meant to be a practice tool, and it is great for that! The sounds are pretty good; it is definitely not 'super realistic,' but there is enough variation that I would not be embarrassed to play it at a practice session.

    The feel of the stock pads is decent, but the most difficult part to get used to is the hi-hat! There is just no way to make a rubberized pad feel like a metal cymbal. The benefit of the rubberized cymbals, though, is this: if you can get articulate on these rubberized cymbals, when you transition back to a real kit, you will have much better control over the sound you are getting. My articulation has improved across the board! Even my snare rolls are tight and accurate, because I learned how to be articulate on these mushy cymbals!

    All in all, I don't mess around with all of the different sounds, I found a kit that I like, and I stick with that one. The others are usable as well, but I did not really by this kit as a 'I want to have a million different sounds' toy; I bought it as a practice tool, and for that, it is top notch.

  • from May 7, 2015Music Background:
    drummer

    Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP Electronic Drum Kit

    Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP Electronic Drum Kit
    Electronic Drum Kit with TD-4 Sound Module, Snare Pad, 3 Tom Pads, 3 Cymbal Pads, and Integrated Hi-Hat Controller Pedal

  • from DC January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer and Keyboard Player

    Terrific Kit

    I love this thing. It is awesome for practicing at home and even better for gigging and practicing outside your home. The portability is amazing.
    A lot of my groups practice venues come with a drum set but I prefer when they don't so I can bring my gear pre-set up for the songs.

    The drum sounds are all absolutely usable and tweakable.

    Can you get better drum sounds with Komplete 10? No question.

    You can still midi rig it if you want to record with it. But this is a wonderful kit for practice and portability.

  • from Cape Cod February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Trying to make it out of my cellar

    Nice portable kit

    This is my 3rd Roland kit. I first had a TD-3, upgraded some things on it and eventually sold it . I now have a TD-12 based kit with a Gibraltar rack and Pintech drums cymbals. The TD-4 KP is a much different kit. It is much smaller and way more portable. That's the main reason I bought it.
    XdIt is not expandable. One more triggering option would be nice, "More cowbell". That is a minus in my book.

    I replaced the stock snare pad with a PDX-6. That is a must upgrade. A dual zone snare should be standard in my opinion. The lack of any expansion and the stock snare are the two big minuses.

    Otherwise, it's a very good kit. Good sounds from the module. Very easy to adapt to from a bigger kit. I can use my two piece Pintech hi-hat with it if I wish. The stock pedal single cymbal works well.

    The small size and the portability of it are the two big pluses. I'm looking forward of packing up the little Roland kit when I want to play somewhere else.

    Roland makes very good products. I have the PM-10 drum amp and a Micro Cube guitar amp as well.

    If you want a very good portable drum kit this is it. It does have some limitations.

  • from Seattle WA October 9, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP

    First time used the electronic drum sets, nice set well designed.

  • from Las Vegas, Nevada August 29, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Nothing Like It Out There

    3* because there is nothing comparable to these portable drums out there. They are truly a unique design. Additionally, 3* because of the very reasonable price tag for the huge sound quality that comes with them. Having said that, here are the realistic CONS first, and then I'll present the PROS briefly because most reviews have already covered the PROS.

    1. These are fragile and "plastic" for the most part (to keep them light and portable), and one needs to take reasonable care when handling them, as they seem they could break at any given location pretty easy. Just be beware that reasonable care and caution need to be taken when handling these drums. They can't be thrown around like a sack of rice.

    2. Although portable, they are not that quick to set up like the company videos portray. It takes some time and practice setting them up and tearing them down to get the "feel" of it and to memorize the order in which they pack up and down. It still takes a little time to get it right. Portable, but not super quick.

    3. Company videos show a guy carrying this set in a bag slung across a shoulder and getting on a subway train. No! This is not an accurate portrayal at all. The set is actually a little heavier than that and when the bag is loaded with both pedals, a drum stool, a carpet, some cords, and whatever, this bag gets heavy and can't be lightly carried around like a guitar. You still need a large trunk, car, or truck to haul them. Also, you need to carry an amplifier with you. So, I was able to get everything into one bag with a separate amp. I place both items on a pull cart to wheel the thing into a practice or gig.

    4. The carry bag is a MUST! It should have been included with the kit for an extra $100. Do not buy this kit without the bag unless you are not going to take it anywhere.

    5. One of the prongs inside the cable harness bent when I tried to attach it to the sound module in a dimly lit casino/bar. This silenced my snare. I went online to purchase another cable harness or cable snake, and to my surprise neither ROLAND or any other company sold the cable harness! Why? Because this kit uses the now retired and defunct TD4 sound module to run it, and because Roland no longer makes the TD4 drum kit, you can't get the parts. This is no good!!! I Emailed Roland about this, and they ignored me. I found a used harness on E-Bay that came with the sound module and AC cord for $130. I bought it. But if you can't find a used one, you are out of luck. I wonder what other spare parts are not available from Roland. This alone would have sent me away had I known this in advance, and so I warn you of it.

    6. The cymbals do in fact rotate and move as you play, as indicated by several other reviewers. I placed a piece of scotch tape around the pole to get a "bite" and it stopped the rotation, but one should not have to do this.

    PROs: I replaced the snare pad with a mesh head PDX6 from another kit I have, and it makes a huge difference. Also, with another mount for the mesh head, you can rotate and move the snare from its center position for a much better playing experience. The sound quality is awesome on these things and you can customize your kits enough to give you some free will in your playing. The price is incredible for the sound and portability.

Questions about the Roland V-Drums Portable TD-4KP Electronic Drum Kit?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway