rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Roland TD-30 Drum Sound Module Reviews

5.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland TD-30 Drum Sound Module?

Questions about the Roland TD-30 Drum Sound Module?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Western New York August 23, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer/Vocalist

    Paying The Roland TD-30 Live Is A Dream!

    I just purchased the TD-30 from Sweetwater, Summer of 2015. For the past several years I have played live on-stage with a Roland TDW-20 Expanded module and kit. The New TD-30 Module upgrades me to a level of sound and "feel" of an acoustic drum kit. And with the excitement of hundreds of kits and thousands of "tweaks" to get every trigger exactly the way I want in a way I can't with acoustics, I command the stage. I use my TD-30 with my TDW-20 original trigger pads. Everywhere I play musicians and fans ask me so many questions about V-Drums, but more specifically, my new TD-30. I tell them I have never looked back once I had made the conversion to V-Drums. I also use along with my TD-30 kit, a Roland SPD-30 Octapad, a Roland SPD-S sample pad, and two Roland SPD-SX sample pads. Belive me, I am a living, live on-stage advertisement brochure for Roland products. I am constantly talking all my Roland gear up with other musicians and encouraging them to explore all that Roland has to offer the modern progressive drummer. Roland V-Drums and digital pads and samplers give me and my band an edge and a sound no other band in the area can offer, and I am seeing more and more of my fellow drummers adding Roland samplers and pads to their kits or considering the investment into a whole kit. My band refers to my Roland V-Drums as my "cockpit", and for good reason. It does resemble a command center of a space shuttle or star ship! I love playing my Roland V-Drums and pads and I tell you, I recommend the Roland TD-30 Sound Module to you with two, very enthusiastic thumbs up!

  • from New Covenant Fellowship Church, Chattanooga Tennessee April 30, 2015Music Background:
    Contract Musician

    AMAZING

    Feels and plays like an acoustic kit, picks up every note!......even ghost notes!

  • from WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ. December 31, 2014Music Background:
    DRUMMER

    STUNNED.....

    I CAN'T BELIEVE I'M ACTUALLY STATING THIS BUT; ACOUSTIC DRUMS HAVE MET THEIR MATCH. IF ROLAND FINDS AWAY TO IMPROVE THIS MODULE, IT WOULD BE A MIRACLE. THAT'S HOW GREAT THIS MODULE IS. ADD SWEETWATER'S EXTRAORDINARY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND YOU HAVE A COMBINATION THAT CAN NOT BE BEAT. EVER.

  • from Michigan November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Animation Score Composer and Sound Designer

    The Drummers Electric Guitar

    It would be easy for me to spend several hours typing praise for the TD30's impressive lineup of features. However, if you're reading this…you're surely aware of what the unit does.

    A few years ago I returned to live drumming when I purchased a TD11 kit. Bitten by the Vdrum bug, I've since upgraded most of my kit to the more expansive and expressive mesh drum pads and e-cymbals. The last piece of the puzzle for me was to upgrade to the TD30…let me just say that while the TD11's performance is quite impressive, nothing prepares you for the TD30.

    If you've spent any time playing an acoustic kit, you'll immediately recognize why the TD30 is superior to just about anything else out there. The module is able to capture even the most subtle and nuanced of playing technique, from buzz roles, and open or closed rim shots, to detecting and responding to the position of your drum strike. Armed with mesh pads, the TD30 can actually fool you into thinking your playing an acoustic kit.

    But that's just the start of it. The module has hundreds of high quality sounds and an infinite number of options for tweaking, morphing and mangling those sounds. This is the first time I've ever encountered an electronic instrument where the character of a players style is fused with the power of modern digital sound synthesis.

    It you're looking to upgrade your drum brain…this is the one you want.

  • from nashville tn January 9, 2014Music Background:
    professional drummer

    my td-30 a game changer

    ive been vdrumming now for about 3 years . I started out with the td-3 then the td-4 and then the td-6v and then the td-10x then the td-20 and the td-20x but nothing has blown me away like the td-30 . to me its the rock in my roll . a real game changer .just everything about it is what I need for everything I do in my drumming. why buy an acoustic set and be stuck on one sound. with this setup ive got a thousand of different possibility's for every occasion . Roland I love you thank you for being the best

  • from Williamsville, NY November 3, 2013Music Background:
    Currently a hobbyist, former professional drummer

    Tremendous Upgrade, a megastar module

    I purchased the TD-30 to replace my TD-20 module. Recently used a TD-11 sound module and was overwhelmed by the SuperNATURAL sound engine. The realism was astoundingly better than the TD-20, even with the TDW-20 expansion board. I bought the TD-30 from Sweetwater and was very pleased with the transaction. Had to have a mounting bracket sent out (not included with the module). I have a V-Concert set, with 5 tom-toms and 4 cymbals plus a bass and high-hat. The 4 auxillary outputs are great. Used a 64GB flashdrive in the USB port to load scores of tracks. The module is great for practicing and the kit sounds will leave you breathless. This is a very expensive, but truly cutting-edge device. I'm happy to have it.

  • from Erie, Pennsylvania July 31, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best upgrade for e-drums

    I have had nothing but compliments since I purchased the TD-30 module. The realism is unbelievable. From the true sound of the cymbal swells, which I could never do before to the attack and response of the snare, this module hands down will be hard to beat by any other e- drum company or Roland themselves.

  • from July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    This is it!

    Roland has come up with what I think is the best drum module around "hands down"!
    Not only the quality and playability is astounding, but the range and possibilities of the editing engine are incredible.
    A great investment.

  • from Erie, Pennsylvania USA July 5, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    shock and awe

    I just wanted to say that the TD-30 module surpassed any expectations I had. The first venue that I used it I was told by all the band members, the sound man, and 2 drummers in the audience that when they walked into the bar they thought that whatever brand drum set the drummer was playing it was the best sounding kit they had ever heard. then when they walked into the room where they could actually see the stage, their jaws hit the floor when they saw that it was an e-kit. Thank You to Nick Bobay also because when I realized no mount came with the module he made sure that I had one delivered the very next day so I could use it that weekend. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Boise, Idaho June 11, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, recording engineer.

    Needed an upgrade from my TD-10

    Just purchased the TD-30 module to go with my kit and I'm really surprised at what a vast improvement it's made. The sounds are better, that's a given but not what makes this module shine the most. The kit went from decent to outstanding in responsiveness right after plugging all the existing drums into the 30. Once I took the time to tweak the settings though (optimizing it for my trigger selection, VH-12s, etc), it just became all the better. I love playing the kit now and the drummers that come over are usually surprised at how dynamic and fun the set is. Definitely more friendly to map MIDI and nice to able to utilize the USB functions too.
    I was a little leary to spend this much (was actually set to buy a used TD-20)....but based in some forum feedback, I went for the 30 and I'm really glad I did. I highly recommend the unit.

  • from Plattsburgh, NY May 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Producer

    Wow - just simply WOW

    We were set to record in 2 days- then my TD10 died- Sweetwater got the new TD30 to us in time.... WOW- its a whole new world. What a beautiful change in dynamics- control, and sounds. The direct out control is wonderful- we run 8 direct, 1 sterio main and MIDI capture into BFD2 during recording- ABSOLUTE CONTROL. I almost cried when the TD10 died but it was the best thing to happen. Paul Allen and his team at SW are the best

  • from Huntland, TN March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Southern Gospel, Christian Country, Praise and Worship

    Great Drum Sound Module!!

    The old saying you get what you pay for is TRUE. I haven’t been let down the TD-30 is everything Roland says.

    I play a lot of small venues and the TD-30 works well for me to control the sound and yet it feel as if I’m setting behind my acoustic kit. The eight outputs is a great feature. The USB connection makes it very convenient to hook up my laptop and play along with my loops and tracks in Ableton Live, COOL feature. Roland put a lot of thought in on the TD-30 with a lot of bell and whistles.

  • from PNW, USA September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    This thing ROCKS

    If you want the best this is it period!
    This comes closest to the sound / feel of acoustic kits.
    It may even sound better than some VSTs.
    Expensive but well worth it. Upgraded from TD9. OMG what an upgrade.

  • from Los Angeles January 27, 2016Music Background:
    Producer / Drummer / Kitchen Sink

    Industry Standard

    The only reason I did not rate it a full 5 stars, is that the unit is so packed full of features (which is great), that I almost expected it to play/trigger your own .wav files. Sure, you can play them as songs, but not as "samples". Other than that, perfect!

  • from Temecula, CA May 8, 2015

    Amazing device

    Just received my 'demo unit' from Sweetwater -- and the TD-30 is sweet.

    It's more complicated to use than my TD-11 was, but that's to be expected. As my father (a professional musician) liked to say, "There will always be more here than you can master." The number of permutations are so numerous (and with a full setup of pads/cymbals) you can make almost any kit/sounds you like.

  • from San Francisco September 20, 2014

    It's great in drums, the feel the sound is like an acustic

    It's great in drums, the feel the sound is like an acustic drum set if you use two monitors. I use two Mackie and everything sound great. But in latin percussion like congas, timbales and bongos the sounds are not that great.

  • from May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Started playing drums when I was 7 years old, now 57 years old

    Roland TD-30 Drum Module

    I recently purchased the TD-30 to replace my TD-12 mainly for expanding the inputs to expand my kit, but found out much more about the great purchase I made. The USB connectivity and the sensitivity of how much you can fine tune your drums, and cymbals, to sound the way you want them is INCREDIBLE! In fact, there might even be TOO much adjustability with all the things you can do on the TD-30. I LOVE IT! Well worth the money!

Questions about the Roland TD-30 Drum Sound Module?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway