rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Roland TD-11K V-Compact V-Drums Set Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland TD-11K V-Compact V-Drums Set?

Questions about the Roland TD-11K V-Compact V-Drums Set?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carl Bleke

    Even after nearly two decades of playing drums, the TD11K's Rhythm Coach tool has been truly eye-opening for further developing my groove.

  • from Fenton, MO April 23, 2017

    Great Kit for a Teenager

    I got the Roland TD-11K for my 12-year-old son's birthay as his first set. We wanted something that is volume adjustable. The sound quality is outstanding. He likes having the ability to change the sounds of the drum kits and the built-in metronome is helpful. Over time my son will switch the tom heads to the mesh heads when he earns the money. The only drawback is the price, but it is worth it for the quality.

  • from Minnesota February 8, 2017Music Background:
    35yrs playing out.

    Great kit

    Short and sweet review here. The td-11k v is a awesome kit not only for practice, but also playing those smaller venues where volume can get away from you. The drum sounds are outstanding and sound amazing through a house systym.
    The ability to be able to dig into the settings and not only adjust the tuning of any drum or percussion sound but also the volume of individual pads is nice when you only have the line out to the board and not individual channels, and maybe wanna tame that hi hat or what have you.
    I've been doing business with Sweetwater for some time now and what a great experience it has been.

    My salesdude, yep salesdude, Jonathan Appleton is the greatest. Very knowledgeable in everything I've thrown at him from acoustics, electronics, to bass rigs and guitars!! A real pleasure to deal with!! Thanks Jonathan and Sweetwater!

  • from Mount Vernon, WA January 2, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Amazing

    I bought this kit because it is really solid. I was thinking about buying a cheaper kit since this kit will mostly be used for rehearsing but the cheaper kits were all so rickety. I needed something that was going to hold up and the sounds are absolutely amazing. It is also very compact. I plug my iPad in and practice with my headphones and get a great mix when rehearsing my songs. I really like the feel of the rubber pads. You can get the set with all mesh heads for another 600 bucks and the mesh heads are quieter than the rubber pads but for the price after doing tons of research I feel that this kit is definitely the best value on the market and it is perfect for me because it's solid, compact, great sounds and great feel. I would also recommend adding the BT-1 bar trigger pad which is small and and fits on this kit very nicely if you want to add an extra trigger for a cowbell or second hi hat etc....

  • from Atl, GA December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Drums, Vocals

    Others don't compare...

    I looked at reviews online for this and comparable kits. So I bought the Alesis DM10, but wasn't quite happy with it. It was awkward out of the box and didn't feel quality. I returned it and got this. I am so glad I went with this one. Reviews did not cover how much better this kit is. It is superior in every way. The construction is flawless and consistent. It's easy to set up and the pads and sounds need no adjustment right out of the box. The sounds are ridiculously natural and the response on the pads is crisp and accurate. The cymbals are the same: clear sounds and perfect response to shouldering and dynamics. There are options I haven't even used yet so I am even more excited to play with the functionality of the module. This is a pro level kit. Don't hesitate if you are even close to this price range. It's perfect!

  • from Long Beach, CA June 19, 2016Music Background:
    Drums

    The Perfect Electronic Drum Kit!

    Wow, what can I say?! This drum kit surprised me with its sound and playability! It's definitely worth every penny.

    I highly recommend this kit if you're in the market for an electronic kit. You will not be disappointed!

  • from January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Zero

    Love 'Em (Perfect for Apartments/Half-Houses/Etc.)

    Bought these as a gift for my dad (he loves 'em, if the daily jamming sessions are any indicator) and I ended up mildly addicted myself. Can't compare to real drums/other sets since I've never played before, but this set is exactly what I expected and works great out-of-box.

  • from Florida April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Just What I Needed

    I am building a small studio in my house and wanted something I could record direct with in-addition to band practice without disturbing my neighbors. I was about to pull the trigger on an off brand set when my Sweetwater contact Carson McClain brought the TD-11K's to my attention. Very pleased!

  • from Florida, USA April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Mixing Engineer, Student, Music Lover

    Very Impressed

    I spent a lot of time researching e-kits, being an apartment dweller, with an itch to practice drums while I'm home. This kit is perfect for it, and my drumming skills have greatly improved since getting this great piece of gear set up, and the training functions and practice songs on the TD-11 module are really good for quick bouts of practice if you don't have hours to spare. I've even hooked it up to studio drummer, and the results were fantastic. I can't get enough of it, and friends of mine, who are legitimate drummers, want one of their own after trying mine.

  • from November 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wonderful kit!

    This is a great kit for every drummer; I'm a recreational one, and until yesterday (my first "gig" with it) I've used it to practice, play along, and not annoying my neighbors. Great feeling, response, works great with headphones and PA (amazing on PA); e-drums make it so much fun to play with others: no more being overdone by other instruments, everything feels great. The mesh head, WOW (I'll replace my rubber pads to mesh next year). The module is versatile, many kits and other adjustments; I've even have played straight forward congas on salsa tunes, to the amusement of my fellow percussionists! And it feels so durable. Yesterday it was uses by 3 diff. drummers for like 3 hours, is great; also, packing it is easy and takes little space of any car, and not heavy at all to lift and carry around.

  • from Baltimore November 1, 2016

    Excellent.

    I'm in love. I wish I would have bought this years ago. I write record and produce music. This kit is perfect. When I have an idea I can lay it down easy. Dynamics and all. So much time and aggravation saved using this rather then pads and a ton of editing.

  • from Spring, TX September 12, 2016

    Quality in a small package

    Having owned other e-drums (Alesis DM8 USB, Alesis DM10x) and a acoustic kit, I feel I can soundly give this kit a 4.5 stars.

    1. Packaging - The Frame and Electronics ship in separate boxes and are packaged very well. Nothing was damaged from shuffling around in the box.
    2. Frame - The frame is very solid and is of good quality. It is nether too lite or too heavy. I bought this kit for in-house practice as well as band practice so it had to be portable. The frame folds up nicely without having to remove all the pads. I did have to remove the crash and ride though to fit it in my car.
    3. The Heads - The mesh head and rubber pads feel good to me, the play ability is there to be had. The pads are not too hard but can be a little bit noisy and bounce is pretty good. To combat strike noise and bounce I just put my rubber tips on my sticks and it greatly improved bounce back and reduced noise a couple decibels.
    4. Hi-Hat Controller - Responds really well, it operates Open, Closed and in-between.
    5. The Module - Module is super easy to understand and use. I used the manual to quickly review kit setup and it was soooooo easy. The only drawback is the headphone volume is a little low for my liking, but that's probably a good thing. Kits will need some adjustment out of the box in my opinion. All the kits are super resonant, so if you are a drummer who likes little to no sustain, you will have to edit the toms for sure. However, the lows are low and the highs are high, it sounds incredible as is.

    Overall - I much prefer this kit over the Alesis kits I owned before. With Alesis it took me nearly 2 months to eliminate all the x-talk from the heads, with this Roland I had to make ZERO adjustments. I literally put it together and started jamming within an hour. I proudly took my new Roland to band practice this Saturday and my band mates were totally blown away by how good it sounds. I ran it through a Harbringer 60 watt PA System and it sounded amazing. Can't wait to hear how it sounds out of a proper drum or keyboard amp.

    I am super satisfied with this purchase. Initially I thought I might be disappointed because I couldn't afford the TD-11Kv with all mesh heads, but no longer am I disappointed - the rubber toms work and feel great.

    This is a great kit for a beginner or professional, if you are looking at other brands that top out in this price range, just buy the Roland TD-11k, you will not be disappointed.

    1/2 Star deduction - Headphone max volume a little to low for me because I like it LOUD!!!

  • from FL November 9, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Nice

    Read several online reviews and the TD-11 K seemed like the best deal for a mid-level e-kit. You get what you pay for. I'm very impressed by the solid construction, this is no toy. Really nice, customizable sounds are built in to the module, but also look into the possibility of triggering a separate vst program via midi, as well. I did buy a different brand of double-kick pedal, and none of the lower level Roland kits had that option for the double bass. The module's training functions and the ability to play your own mp3 files is an added plus. My drumming skills have greatly improved since having the ability to practice more often. Sounds quite good through p.a. speakers, too. Rather quiet for any drum kit you can play at 3:00 am!

  • from USA July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Love music, love playing instruments, Hobbyist.

    Small Footprint

    I recently got this set. I am not a drummer, but I been playing the guitar not professionally for 35 years. my wife plays the keyboards/piano. We have a space in our finished basement we use as our "Bandroom" where we jam. it's full of equipment, PA, speakers, amps, computer. So I have little room and this little kit fit the bill perfectly. reason I give it 4 stars after only owning it 3 days.. This kit sounds amazing when using the headphones for playing along with songs. But through our 600watt Yamaha PA or Acoustic 200 watt bass amp the snare sounds a little dead, the cymbals are so low in volume, I had to raise them to 100 percent volume, and turn the rest of the kit down to 40 percent to make them sound "to my ears" at the same level. The drums would just drown out the cymbals and HHT.
    but of course I may not have something adjusted correctly.

Questions about the Roland TD-11K V-Compact V-Drums Set?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway