0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

On-Stage Stands u-mount Tablet Mounting System Reviews

3.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the On-Stage Stands u-mount Tablet Mounting System?

Questions about the On-Stage Stands u-mount Tablet Mounting System?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Mark Anderson
    from United States January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, live musician, Worship leader

    Love this Stand

    I have had 3 different ipad stand mounts before I found the U-mount. It is so sturdy and so adjustable it is the only one I use.

  • Dean Massalsky
    from Grosse Ile, MI August 14, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter, semi-pro, multi instrumentalist with questionable levels of skill on each :)

    Better than great, Color makes it easy to see when packing up!

    I have an iKlip, which is fine, but, mounted on the mic stand, I would hit it with the guitar as I leaned in. I wanted something more industrial, preferably not black or gray ( realizing I could add tape or paint), and found this one. Works great. Very sturdy, very adjustable, easy to see in the pre and post gig gear pile.

  • Juan Lara
    from Bay Shore, NY September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Electronic Engineer

    Ipad Mount- The Real Thing

    I like and trust this mount so much that I have mounted an iPad 2 to a mic stand and kept it installed. It looks good and allows me to adjust it to any position. I have tried other mounts, but there is no comparison. It can also be set up very quickly.

  • Randy
    from North Port April 23, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist, Vocals

    Tablet Mount

    The on-stage tablet mount meets my needs on and off the stage. Sturdy and rugged enough so you don't need to worry about damage.

  • Chris Cooke
    from Nashville, TN March 31, 2013Music Background:
    Professional drummer, singer, songerwriter for 20+years

    On-Stage uMount System

    This item works very well for my purposes. I had been looking for a mounting system for my 1st gen iPad (this fits all gens), and although this one does the same job, it does it differently, equally well as any of the others.
    The Good: The case! Most of us keep our iPads in some sort of case, and as this case is integrated into the mount, there's NO NEED to have to remove your iPad from some other case to install on the mount - Brilliant! Also, the case is legit - rugged leather looking stuff (is it leather? not sure) but does a fantastic job of protecting the unit with plenty of access to all buttons and the audio jack. Also good are the universal ball-joint for positioning and how the aluminum mounting bars fold down to next-to-nothing
    The Bad: Minor criticisms, but there are a couple. (1) Although the positioning mount is universal and can be positioned for either portrait or landscape viewing, the flap of the case makes landscape the only option that doesn't throw the weight of the thing off a bit (did I mention the case is heavy-ish?) (2) The tensioning screws that hold the bars in place are essentially metal-on-metal, and they WILL scratch little circles in the mic stand and each other when tightened. (3) And, as mentioned by another review, the purple color is likely not the first choice of non-LSU fans.
    None of these downsides have proven problematic enough for me to not recommend this case. Easy to use, does the job. I'd buy it again, but I probably won't have to.

  • Customer
    from Boston, MA December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Nice product

    Works as described.
    Very stable on a tripod type mic stand (round base mic stand was a little too unstable for my liking).
    Other reviews said this case had an odd scent.....I found that the initial scent when unpackaging is strong, but it goes away after a few days.

    Only reason I did not give 5 stars is because the case is very tight on my iPad 2. It fits....but the cover doesn't close completely.

  • chad
    from Atl, GA August 20, 2013Music Background:
    Working musician

    good idea - but it's only for Ipad

    Sweetwater (as usual) rocks.
    This mount is a good design. The case does have a bad smell to it and
    the shiny purple color is horrible, but some camo duct tape fixed that.
    My only real complaint is that it is NOT designed for other tablets.
    I have a Samsung Galaxy 2 10.1 and the case is too small.
    SO... I cut out the mounting plate and rigged it into the Belkin case that I already used for the tablet. Some super glue and little freelance engineering and... ta da!
    Works great. Use it for several gigs a week and at church.
    Seems sturdy enough - hope it lasts for a long time...

  • Paul
    from Clearwater, Fl January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Performer

    Its design Needs to be Tweaked

    Ok, seemed like a good system as it breaks down and nice and portable. It does slip a little when tightening, waiting for it to not hold anymore but as of now it works. If you use it with a boom stand as most singers do that play an instrument, the Horizontal arm does not extend far enough off the vertical stand to allow you to adjust the mic stand without having to loosen the tablet mount, it's right in the way of the boom adjuster, so if it extended another inch or so it would be fine. Also the Color is really not desired for stage performers, ever hear of Black? Also to use with another ipad I would have to remove it from the padded case, or buy a second mount so now I have a backup for $90, ouch!

  • Pat Costa
    from Fincastle, VA USA October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    IPad Mount

    The mount holds the iPad securely but you need to position it to one side or the cover will not open fully. Once mounted, it does not move. I mounted mine on the boom close to the swivel section and it did not add too much weight therefore the boom did not sag dawn. However, the turn knobs are prone to coming off the screw. I would recommend not tightening them too much, or have a pair of pliers handy. Mine has come off and i cant put it back on.

  • Michael Robbins
    from Duluth, GA March 25, 2013Music Background:
    40 years of playing it all baby.

    iPad mic stand mount

    We needed to get one of these for live performance now that we're using On Song for music and lyrics (and set lists) Anyway, drawback #1 - the color is purple. Ok, some people may like this color, think it's cute, dd some gold and it looks like an LSU school cheerleader item, whatever. My daughter the singer mocked me the first time she saw it. Does anyone like to be mocked - by their child - on stage? I think not. Secondly, while it is made of very light aluminum alloy and doesn't add weight to my already overflowing gig bag, to get it to secure the iPad you have to really torque the three screw clamps on it. I wonder how long till one of them strips. Conclusion - uising your iPad on stage is fabulous. No more clunk music stands that hide your lovely lead singers face, no more fumbling for "where did I put the lyric sheet to Auld Lang Syne, I know it's here someplace", no more three ring binders weighing three pound apiece and always having pages falling out and sometimes falling off a flimsy stand and dumping everything out at a showcase gig. Still, if I could find a sturdier one I would, despite the weight, cost or anger from LSU fans.

  • Paul
    from tampa September 14, 2015Music Background:
    performer

    Tablet Mount Works But.......

    It fits the ipad securely but when adjusting your angle it doesn't always tighten and the tablet swivels, you have to mess with it just right to get it to stay put. Doesn't fit on the lower part of a mic stand. Color is awful, but easy to find if in the low light gig. Case Blocks the output so you have to shift tablet around. All in all it works but has issues, would buy again but only for half the price.

  • Gary Guitar
    from North Wales, Pa June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not working for me

    The good: The construction of the brackets are solid. It doesn't wobble and the tablet stable.
    The bad: The case is made of some man-made immitation leather that has a nasty oder when the tablet gets warm. For most people this may not be an issue, but I use the onsong app that plays mp3's along with the chord chart. This tends to make the tablet work harder and heat up during perofrmances. Again, the oder that comes off of the case makes this holder unusable for me.

  • R.
    from Georgia February 20, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician for over 40 years

    Not for Me

    Like other reviewers have said, iPad gets hot, case smells. But the worse design/problem for me is no matter how tight everything is, iPad will move left or right, theres nothing to tighten the shaft from the back of the iPad holder to the ball that swivels. Too bad, great idea but another reviewer also mentioned, the horizontal pole really needs to be another inch or two longer. iPad hits the side of the stand....
    its going back which sweetwater is always great about doing returns so no issues there.

  • Richard Aitken
    from Washington DC September 26, 2014Music Background:
    only occasionally playing competitively

    Not thrilled

    I don't think this product is ready for prime time. The ball joint that adjusts the tablet angle is an interesting idea, but it fails to keep the tablet from flopping around, regardless of how tight i make it (any tighter and the plastic handle is going to crumble off. Thus, its pretty useless as a stage stand.

    Additional complaint - in portrait mode the cover just flops in the breeze with no way to anchor it.

Questions about the On-Stage Stands u-mount Tablet Mounting System?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close