0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Taylor T5 Standard - Tobacco Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from California September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging

    Amazing

    All I can say is that I have not put down the guitar since it arrived a couple weeks ago. It is not only one of the best playing guitars I own, and I own PRS, American Fenders, Gibson, so I know good guitars, it is also beautiful to look at. The craftsmanship is top notch. Sweetwater was great to work with. A great company. After two high end guitar purchases and a 24 track recorder, I will be buying more and more from them in the future. Taylor and Sweetwater, Wow!!!!

  • from September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player for over 30 years. Played professionally, currently a Worship Leader

    Great guitar

    I opened the case and fell in love. I already have a GS8 so I know Taylor quality. This T5 was beautiful. When you hold it feels like it's always been there. Unplugged the sound is pretty good, but that's not what I bought it for. Plugged into my acoustic amp is another story. The sound was exactly what I was looking for. I have small hands. The T5 neck gives me the electric feel on an acoustic body. Played through my Vox, I have an electric guitar with the feel of an acoustic. Love it

  • from Long Island NY June 30, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced Worship Team Musician

    Awesome instrument

    I play guitar for my church worship and in each service the music is so diverse I need a different sound for almost every song. I don't have time to keep switching guitars so When I heard the demo of this guitar I knew it was exactly what I needed. I got the Tobacco Burst Spruce Top.My guitar arrived last week. At first glance it's beauty just astounded me. I checked it out thoroughly and it is absolutely flawless. Although I did need to cut the nut a bit lower for my feel and preference, it was totally playable right out of the box. I was surprised how the .011-.049 strings played so soft and were no trouble with string bends. My one doubt and fear was put to rest as I checked out the intonation. It is dead on. Plays perfectly in tune all the way up the neck.
    Now the sound.
    Well this week I had to play one acoustic song, one song that changed from acoustic to a biting sound, one soft jazz type, a hymn, and one that started overdriven changed to clean acoustic type chords and back and forth. It handled it all amazingly well and once I stopped fumbling with the switch changing sounds went smoothly.
    The active controls are awesome and open a whole different world of sounds.
    The electric sound is every bit as good as my Heritage 535.
    The acoustic sound is very good but not as good as my Charis but it's not a full sized acoustic.
    This is my new go to guitar. I foresee my dozen other guitars spending most of the time hanging on the wall in my music room.
    I am more than happy I got it.
    OH and BTW Sweetwater really does the right thing for it's customers.

  • from Sunset, UT December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Played in country rock bands and now write Christian music

    Not Dissappointed

    I bought this guitar about a month ago after reading reviews from customers at several music stores. The only things I had read that were less than awesome was one person said they didn't like the hard shell case that came with it (I don't see any problems with that), and another guy said he tried it on a Roland AC60 amplifier and that it sounded terrible. I have a Roland AC60 amplifier, and mine sounds great on it, maybe just a slightly weaker low end than when I use my Fender and Ovation acoustic electrics, but not enough to make any difference with the music that I play. (I'm guessing the other guy just didn't know how to properly adjust the guitar and amplifier to get the sound he was looking for). Anyway, I wanted to start down sizing everything that I have to carry, so only having to carry one guitar instead of two was a big plus, and it was much lighter than my Gibson Les Paul. I tried the T5 on the Roland AC 60, my Fender Acoustasonic, my Peavey Valve King tube amp, and finally on my newest and lightest electric guitar amp; the Roland Cube 80XL. I get all the distortion that I'd ever want, but can also get a wide variety of sweet, full clean sounds as well. I've been playing guitar for over 30 years now and as a Christian songwriter I often find myself playing all day long as I figure out new songs or change older ones. Since I've got this guitar, I can even work out all the acoustic parts without ending up with sore fingers at the end of the day. The only thing I didn't like was that the feel of the center position on my treble adjustment knob isn't as pronounced as it is on the volume and bass knobs but hey, my other guitars don't have that feature at all, so I can live with the slight difference. This guitar lives up to it's reputation and is well worth the price.

  • from Winnsboro, TX December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Team Member/Worship Leader

    Taylor T5-S1 (Maple Top) Tobacco Sunburst

    Totally awesome guitar...I mean really, WOW! Got this by trading in a Fender '72 reissue Tele, PRS SE Singlecut with EMGs, a Baby Taylor, an Ibanez half-stack solid-state amp with B-52 cab, a powered pedal board, an OD pedal and a Boss TU-3 tuner AND gave the guy $700...and it was TOTALLY WORTH IT!!! This guitar REALLY DOES do it all, has a very good, authentic acoustic tone, and I've played everything from that to clean electric (really shines there), to low and medium gain, and even hi-gain diezel VH-4 amps...and it handled it ALL wonderfully! I play praise and worship music at my church and I'm lead guitarist, but do a lot of singing too and this guitar really shines once you get used to the location of the controls. I love it. I also have an American PRS Custom 24 that is incredible too, but since I got this guitar I haven't played my Paul Reed...it's that good. Also have a Taylor Classic Solidbody with 3 mini-humbuckers (another great guitar) and a Taylor 314ce (yet ANOTHER great guitar!!!). The acoustic tones are not QUITE as good as my 314, and there is only 21 frets as opposed to my Taylor SB at 22 and my PRS at 24, so it's slightly limiting there, but it's so great in so many ways that you really just learn to play a little differently...wonderful guitar, can't say enough good about it. It does it all, PERFECT choice for the singer-songwriter/worship leader. Awesome.

  • from Ohio USA July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Musician southern gospel, bluegrass, country

    Great guitar

    The T5 is a wonderful blend of acoustic to electric tone, the guitar plays very well due to the great job Sweetwater does making sure it set up out of the box and ready to play. The guitar is beautiful and well made I love it. You can get a great tone out of either an acoustic amp, or an electric amp or with a A/B box you can use one or both at the same time. I am glad I made the purchase.

  • from Eldon, MO November 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Jury Is Still Out

    Having a bit of difficultiy with the B string staying in tune. Seems to go flat.

  • from Philly, PA, USA October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro singer/player/recording engineer/teacher

    I'm a Taylor guy

    The only thing that keeps this review from a #5 (blown away) is the nature of the beast. The T-5 is an amazing feeling and looking instrument, but as a spoiled player of a 714CE, I can't say that it's a replacement for the acoustic tone of the acoustic. It DOES have a fantastic neck, and it's lightweight, so that puts in in my travel rig. When conditions permit, I'm playing my 714, but for quick or smaller gigs ... the T-5 is a terrific compromise to having my expensive baby at my side in a crowded room.

Questions about the Taylor T5 Standard - Tobacco Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway