0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Bose T1 ToneMatch Reviews

4.5 stars based on 45 customer reviews
Questions about the Bose T1 ToneMatch?

Questions about the Bose T1 ToneMatch?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Oldfort nc January 2, 2017Music Background:
    Southern gospel soloist

    Perfect companion

    What I always thought it would be works great with my bose system and my am58 wireless mic.

  • from Charlottesville, Va. December 21, 2016Music Background:
    SemiPro.

    Bose T1 ToneMatch

    I have a 2003 Taylor 710ce and a 2015 856ce. The ToneMatch (connected to my Bose L1 Compaq) sounds like you would normally get from a studio. Also, my buddy has a Schecter hollow body with a piezoelectric pickup and the ToneMatch has a setting that worked perfectly. Well worth the money.

  • from Vermont August 31, 2016Music Background:
    Fingerstyle guitarist since the beginning of time

    Don't buy a Bose system without it.

    You can read elsewhere about all of the possibilities locked up in this wonderful little device. I'm writing this mainly to say that if you're buying a Bose PA, you're making a mistake if you don't buy the T1 to go with it.

    I thought my Bose L1 Compact sounded pretty darned swell until I added the ToneMatch. Its presets let me return to venue after venue and be sent up perfectly at the click of a button. I work alone as a singer-guitarist mainly, but this little box lets me add the inputs from an independent mixing board so as to amplify a four- or five-piece band with no problem. Just bite the bullet and get the damned thing.

  • from Johnstown, PA July 27, 2016Music Background:
    solo Act singer/songwriter

    Simply the best for your Bose system

    This is my second ToneMatch. I use it for my 2 F1 812's, L1 Compact for Monitor, acoustic and Cabcloned Mesa Royal Atlantic for a Solo act. All I can say is I often thought about just getting a good mixer (lots of good quality ones out there for around the price of the ToneMatch but with more channels). Even if I needed more channels I would buy add another T1 first for sure. The quality of the sound when used with an L1 Model II, L1 Compact and the new F1 system. You can't go wrong. Ease of use, lots of shaping options and even effects. I am glad I went this route. 100% happy.

  • from July 5, 2016

    Bose T1 Tonematch

    For quality service and musical equipment you can't beat Sweetwater. I appreciate the prompt shipment and follow up phone calls I received after placing my orders. I am a very satisfied customer!

  • from California December 8, 2015Music Background:
    Dj & instrumental music teacher for a public school

    Fantastic product a must have for the L1 system

    Easy to use with a great sound! I bought this product for a couple purposes. The sound is great for mixing small ensembles like flute quartets as well as having a small secondary mixer at weddings as a Dj so I don't have to break down and move my pioneer ddjsx2 from the reception hall! Fantastic product you will love it!!!

  • from September 7, 2015Music Background:
    Acoustic and electric guitar.

    Amazing...just amazing!!!

    If you have the L1 Compact, then this system is a MUST! It is soooooo easy to program, and makes the L1 sound even better than it already is. No, WAYYYY better than it already is.

  • from Rumsey, Kentucky July 24, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    No Brainer - Must Have!

    The Bose T! Tone match is quite simply the shiznit! I've toured Europe with this and take 2 of them with me on the road Everything you need in a small box - gates, comps, FX, Eqs, presets, and more. Great aux routing options. Gives you exactly what you need, PRO, clean sound, and no extra clutter. I absolutely love it and can't imagine touring without it. LIVE it's a must have, especially if you use the L1 towers. I also use it to record PT tracks via USB to my MacBook pro - recorded part of an album in a hostel in Prague with the T1. Buy it. You'll be glad you did - no downside to it and worth every penny.

  • from June 30, 2015

    Bose t1 tonematch

    THIS DOES NOT WORK WITHOUT THE POWER ADAPTER if you have the L1 compact model!!
    I love this mixer! Easy to use and the presets are fantastic. Worth every penny.

  • from April 11, 2015

    awesome!

    Great!!still in awe!

  • from Alexandria, LA USA December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Former travelling musician, recording musician.

    tone optimiser

    Tonematch does exactly that. ToneMatch optimizes all of your equipment from guitar electronics to mics to dj systems. It really makes things sound clearer and better. Bose has really outdone themselves.

  • from Atlanta Ga December 12, 2014Music Background:
    saxophonists Performa

    I simply love the T1

    I simply love the T1 I love what it does for the sound of my saxophone it makes the saxophone song full

  • from Kissimmee,FL December 11, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Concert Guitarist

    Bose L1 S1 with ToneMatch

    If you use this system for what it is designed to do it is fantastic. Simply put it is like spraying water instead of a stream. The ToneMatch allows adjustments that are exact. I'm getting compliments on the quality of my sound at all my concerts. I've also the Bose L1 Model II and love this so much I got rid of two conventional systems. Only complaint I have is sometimes I'm forced to use a house system and nothing comes close to the Bose systems ... why are you reading this? Order one now... you'll be glad you did.

  • from Clarksburg, WV 26301 December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician retired

    4-channel Mixer and ToneMatch Audio Engine for Bose L1 Systems

    If you don't buy this you will not get the sound you are looking for out of the Bose L1 Systems. It is great and a must!

  • from Sacramento CA USA November 18, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer, singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist

    T1 - a must have for a Bose sound system!

    Although we need an outboard line mixer to run everyone through the system (we're using a 'late model" Mackie), this has worked very well for us and the on board effects are extremely useful and if there's any latency, we can't hear it!

    The learning curve was fast and easy- the few cords the L1 system takes with the T! (and B1) makes set-up and break down a 'piece of cake"!

    If you're thinking about a Bose sound system, this should be a requirement, instead of an option!

  • from Near Lake Tahoe, Reno NV area July 28, 2014Music Background:
    To long to submit!! :-)

    Amazing little black box!!

    Cannot believe this Audio Engine and what it is capable of doing. It provides everything that should be needed for just about any live performance in an awesome, compact little black box! I found it very easy to operate, it's easy to read in low light, and seems to be quite sturdy. My only suggestion to Bose would be to come up with a better, more secure way of mounting it to the speaker array or to a mic stand! I find this a little scary! Otherwise, it is an outstanding piece of equipment and I love the quality and ease of use!! Thanks Bose, and especially a huge thanks to Sweetwater and to my sales engineer, Paul Lea for all the help in choosing exactly what I needed! You are just not going to find any better service, prices or value anywhere,.... PERIOD!!!

  • from Brighton MI July 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Extremely pleased with the ToneMatch

    I purchased the L1 Compact last fall but didn't buy the ToneMatch until recently. Wow - what a difference with the ToneMatchMy Taylor 314 CE sounds absolutely awesome with Taylor presets downloaded from the. Bose site. The vocals sound incredible as well using a Shure preset. Best of all, no feedback at all.

  • from Austin Texas May 14, 2014

    LOVE IT

    Absolutely LOVE IT…. It's worth the $500

  • from Edgemoor, SC April 3, 2014Music Background:
    I've been playing guitar for 51 years and in rock bands for 50 years. Guitar/Vocalist

    Great Mixer and Excellent Customer Service

    I oredered the ToneMatch on a Thursday afternoon and received it on the following Saturday afternoon. Talk about great service! And Clint Bransteter called me on my cell shortly after the order to make sure everything was ok with the order. Clint always follows up with my orders and kudos to Clint and Sweetwater for great customer service. And the ToneMatch works great with the Bose L1 Model 1 system i purchased used from a friend. I highly recoomend Sweetwater for your muscical needs and have been playing in rock bands for 50 years.

  • from Niagara Falls,NY August 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Thing

    The Bose T1 ToneMatch is the best thing that you can do to your Bose L1 Compact.Four channels and great effects and a guitar tuner.Muting is a good feature when tuning.GREAT job Bose and Sweetwater and Wayne Davis.I will be a customer 'til I kick the bucket.

  • from Anderson, IN United States July 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Bose T1 Tone Match

    I have the Bose L1 Model II with the B2 Bass Module and the T1 Tone Match mixer. This is the perfect match for the L1 system and its super easy to deal with . I use the presets that came in the unit and I am really pleased with the job they did on them. I set up a couple of scenes based on factory scenes that I modified slightly and have saved them so every time we play they can be called up and then we have a perfect EQ and effects setting for the mics, guitar and everything else. The kick drum preset is fantastic too! I am very happy with this product and wouldn't go back to anything else now.

  • from Rancho Cordova, CA June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    The best 4 channel mixer/4 channel effects unit available

    The Bose T1 Tonematch is the best 4 channel mixer/4 channel effects unit available:
    • Separate presets are avail for each of 4 channels. Each preset “optimizes equalization” for a specific piece of equipment, however, presets can also be used to give you different flavors, make one acoustic guitar sound kinda like another. Two of the presets were spot on for equipment I had: The Ovation Elite OP preset my 12 string Ovation elite and the Sennheiser E835 preset for my Sennheiser E935 mike. For my Martin GPCPA1 Cocobolo I have found three presets I really like, but am still experimenting as I have 9 images on the Fishman Aura F1+ that I can use along with all the preset choices. Scenes make it easy to switch between different presets.
    • You can further tweak the EQ settings and save them with each scene which saves time. This is an important feature as I will often use EQ settings to bring out the lead vocalist in a band mix.
    • Multiple Premium usable effects that can be set up differently for each channel. The T1 replaced my premium chorus and compression pedals and gave me effects for vocals that I did not have previously. When not doing a solo act I make ample use of compression to make things fit better in the mix. I also like the FX mute so I can use one scene with or without chorus/delay mods.
    • Once all 4 channels are the way you want you can save them in a scene (up to 9 user scenes) which saves ALL the channel settings. It takes seconds to switch between scenes with totally different instruments and/or effects/EQ settings. I currently use 3 different scenes just to get different flavors for my Martin (Channel2) while keeping the settings for Vocals (Ch1) and 12-string (Ch3) the same. I also have an Acoustic Trio scene to use a mixer for vocals into Channel 4/5 (to use the Vocal presets and effects) and guitars in Channels 1-3.
    • Using AUX for channel 4/5 gives you direct outs for each channel (could not find another mixer with 4 aux/bus sends or direct outs for under $500). This was a perfect fit for the Presonus 44VSL (that I already had) to record each channel separately.
    • Expansion: The T1 can easily handle soloists and duos. The simplest expansion is to use a small mixer for vocals (I plug it into 4/5), you have room for 3 instruments on the other channels, and still take advantage of the T1 settings and effects for vocals.

    Also note these features (that weren’t on my decision list):
    • For those of you without an audio interface a dual mono (same signal on both channels) interface is built in. I use the interface to have output from my laptop sent through the L1 (I use 4/5 instead of main so I can mute it quickly if needed).

    • If you buy the optional power supply unit the T1 can also work be used without the L1S system such a FOH setup.

  • from Phoenix, Arizona April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    What a system...

    I must admit, I was a wee bit concerned about parting with my hard-earned $2,600.00 as I seriously considered purchasing the L1 S1 Bose System - complete with the B2 Bass Module and T1 ToneMatch.

    I'd read reviews (good and bad), spoke with musician friends who had played through the system (some liked and some didn't), and watched quite a few YouTube reviews by various persons - with varying opinions. Honestly, I was happy with my Yamaha StagePas 500 PA but just wanted something more - including an easier and more compact / portable set up.

    Anyway, when I received my new Bose system and tried it out (at home) for the first time, I was so, so happy with my decision to get one of these great sounding systems. Still, I hadn't tried it out on a live gig yet - well, until this last Friday, that is, when my jazz playing mate, Paul and I were blown away with how great it sounded as we played live on a busy shopping street corner. Incredible!

    Amazingly easy setup; great sound and versatility of sound adjustment; and the wonderful experience of being able to hear every nuance of the vocals and the two guitars. Our two guy jazz setup had never sounded so great.

    Thanks John Ptak for taking great care of each and every purchase I've made from Sweetwater.

    Sincerely, Bob McCarroll.

  • from USA November 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, occasional pro musician.

    Bose Perfection

    Another brilliant piece of sound engineering from the leaders in this field. The perfect compliment to L1 system. Do yourself a favor and buy the best PA system the first time around. It only costs a nickel more to fly first class. Buy the Bose!

  • from New Jersey September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician (Singer, Guitar)

    Love this Mixer

    This mixer is just amazing. I love Bose equipment. I own two L1 Model II's and the L1 Compact. This mixer works seamlessly with both units. What's great about this is you get to save your settings for up to 10 different band configurations so that you don't need to reset your mixer for your gear. You can perfectly dial in your specific mic, guitar, or any instrument. You can even use it with a traditional PA set-up if you need to. The Main Out and Aux Out can be hooked up right to a crossover or power amp, that way you can ensure your perfected custom sound. They way it's set up, you basically have incredible pre-amps for your mics and instruments, but also acts as a direct box for you acoustic guitar or bass, thus eliminating stops in your signal chain. Add in that it gives great clean sound and effects, it about the perfect mixer. Would love to see two more inputs, but that's it. Thanks Bose.

  • from Bay Shore, NY September 13, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Electronic Engineer.

    Nice Mixer

    Such a great mixer! I am very pleased with it. The only thing I wish is that the mounting system is not very stable. I am getting ready to buy a second one.

  • from Rutherfordton, NC May 25, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound, Pro Musician, recording

    This makes the whole system

    Without the mixer the system is good. With it the system is very good. This mixer is very easy to operate, and small enough that I can lay it on my keyboard when performing. I wish they would come out with a larger version so instead I had to buy three complete systems and let everyone have thier own! Great idea but a little expensive.

  • from Columbus, OH USA December 2, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    ToneMatch

    I use this on my Bose L1 M1

    This was EXACTLY what I was looking for! I was able to dial in the exact reverb, depth and fullness I wanted on both guitar and mic.

    Only improvement I would like to see....... a remote footswitch to turn off the effects for talk between songs.

  • from WA, United States November 2, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    Second Tonematch as good as the first!

    I have the Bose Model II double bass rig with a T-1. In collaborating with others without such fine gear, I need more channels, so I got a second T-1 and what an improvement! Even with others' personal amps, outboard gear, running all through a second T-1 into the Analog port makes our sound that much more consistent.

  • from Martinez, Ca September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musicain/Leader

    Bose ToneMatch

    This mixer is everything I expected from Bose. I use it with the Bose L1 Compact system for our 5-piece band and couldn't be happier. One system does it all!

  • from Northern MI August 6, 2009Music Background:
    Acoustic musician (only a few gigs a month)

    Simple and Powerful

    I've only had this a short amount of time, but have used it on my Bose Compact and Bose L1 with 2 subs. It's very simple to set up and find your ideal sound. The first models of the T1 were sketchy at best with a high degree of failure during operation. Bose has assured me that the problem was remedied, and I hope they were being truthful because I love this thing:)
    A little sidenote; being an acoustic muscian in Northern Michigan, one would think that high price systems would be hard to find at live gigs. On the contrary, there are 8 Bose L1 systems within a 5 mile radius of my house (from the L1 with the packlite and 4 B1s to the simple Compact) - we all play them and absolutely love them!

  • from Conyers Georgia May 9, 2016

    (Bose L1 model 2 w/T1) x 2

    Have been using this set up with one system on left and a second one on right. Have two man acoustic cover band and we can get our entire stage in the back of my Explorer. I also run aux out of each T1 modules into TC Helicon personal monitor. This is all the power we need, and we can set up/break down in 20 minutes. Quality is very good.

  • from Nashville, TN January 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professional R&B and Country guitarist/singer

    Great little device!

    I bought this device to go along with my Bose L1 system. So far I am pretty impressed. The effects are awesome and the predefined settings (presets) for the various eq, instruments, mics, FX, etc. seem to work very well. Additionally it has 10 user defined banks of memory (scenes) where you can store the entire setup for different situations. All in all a nice package with really great sound. I use my system to do one and/or two man shows using backing tracks and it works great. The only reason I didn't give the device a rating of 5 is because I think there's still some room for improvements, like more channels and scenes but that's about it. If you're gonna get a Bose L1 system, this thing is pretty much a no brainer.

  • from United States December 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pastor, worship leader

    Great little mixing board

    I haven't gotten into all of the bells and whistles yet (that's why the 4.5 stars), but what I have used it for, it has been wonderful. Portability, compactness, simplicity of use, face cover and carrying case are all bonuses. It nuances the sound nicely. I waited to get the 10% off the purchase price and used the 24 month interest-free financing. So, for $450, its hard to find a better more portable digital mixer. I look forward to exploring / discovering more of its capabilities in the future.

  • from Richmond VA October 9, 2013Music Background:
    Professional full time musician (voice/guitar)

    Great Board, but knobs have gummed up on me.

    First DITTO on all the great things others are saying.

    My only qualm is that some of the knobs of the tone match sound board have become tacky and kind of gummy. Now, I leave my total BOSE T1 Model2 system in the car year round and maybe this is not great for it (I live in eastern VA) - But the three knobs right under the screen and also the phantom power button are just gross to touch like they are permanently melted and gooey. The others are fine, so it's just strange.

    Love how compact this board is. People are always asking me about this system.

  • from Pensacola, Florida August 8, 2011Music Background:
    Intermediate

    ToneMatch

    I bought this unit with the L1 Compact. and I am glad I did. I tried the L1 compact without it and although it was OK when I hooked up the ToneMatch the sound improved greatly. Actually it is not as user friendly as they claim but then again I am only a average to intermediate player and user.I am having problems trying to download more guitar schemes into it only wants to take 2 schemes at a time. But it is probably something I am doing wrong so I need to research it more.

  • from Ohio October 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Bose T1 Tonematch

    By itself, the T1 is an amazing piece of gear. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is....

    1. It implies that it has the exact settings to automatically match your specific gear (acoustic and mics, etc). However, this is not actually the case, requiring manual adjustments anyway. I believe the whole idea of this thing, and the selling point is the "ToneMatch" engine that should automatically adjust itself to your specific equipment? Well, not so, but it has default modes that are pretty close and then you simply have to make some manual adjustments (which you would do anyway, most likely).

    2. The bracket provided to attach this unit is junk...come on Bose! They should redesign the bracket and then send it to every customer who has purchased the T1 for free. First of all, it should match Bose quality and secondly, for the price, you should be able to hit this thing with a baseball bat and not worry about it coming off the bracket. As it is, I'd be concerned about trusting the bracket if a light wind blows! It's a $500.00 piece of equipment! Seriously?

  • from Wharton, Tx January 17, 2015

    Bose T1 Tonematch

    Really impressed, just what I had hoped it would be. Love Bose stuff.

  • from Crofton, MD June 8, 2013Music Background:
    Vocalist

    So far, so good, but extra cables needed

    I agree with an earlier review that though the mount is sleek and kind of ingenious, it could be a lot sturdier since it is holding a $400 mixer. I use the T1 with the Bose L1 Compact PA and learned after it arrived that I needed to buy the "optional" power cord for the T1. Other Bose PAs don't require the A/C adapter to use the T1. If you are plugging a stereo device like an MP3 player or iPad into the T1, you need a 1/8" to dual 1/4" cord. The T1 doesn't have 1/8" or RCA stereo inputs. As opposed to other mixers that allow you to adjust effects by turning that input's dedicated dials, on the T1 you have to select the channel, then use the main selector to choose a menu then navigate through that menu to what you want to adjust. And the adjustments aren't intuitive like turning a dial, there are frequency options, sometimes more than one. Be prepared to experiment and read up just to get reverb and compression settings that suit you if you don't want to use the ToneMatch defaults. So far, using a Shure sm58, I'm experience more sibilance than usual and the T1 sibilance settings seem counterintuitive and too subtle toward correcting that. Great concept if you like using default settings. So far I'm not impressed with custom options.

  • from MI June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Am sound guy and musician.

    Good addition to L1

    Positive-
    This is a very useful addition to the L1. I have a Compact. It really dials in the eq for your mic or instrument. Well built. Intuitive and easy ro use. It is quiet too.

    Minor negative(s)-
    Better, more secure mounting system.
    And, related to the L1 Compact, it would be nice to plug into the Compact like the bigger units.

    Overall, I really like it.

  • from Orlando, FL January 5, 2013Music Background:
    Full time musician, part time sound engineer

    Works great without the L1!!

    For my acoustic setup I use 2 QSC k12s and a JBL PRX 612 for a monitor. This little board is perfect for small setups. You don't need the L1 tower. Although it isn't stereo, I still haven't found a board this small with this much processing. Presets, compression, delay, verb, SCENE SAVING!!!! If you play often you know how awesome scene saving is! Bottom line, taking everything into consideration (size/portability, features, overall sound), this board is pretty great.

  • from Tempe, AZ USA June 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer and Pro Musician

    A Better Choice Than A Off Brand Mixer

    We are using this device with an original L1 and found that it allowed for better headroom. We were using a Mackie and Soundcraft mixers before we decided to try one on these. Since it's made by Bose it is obviously more compatible than the other mixers. We needed more than the 4 channels it provides so we added a second T1. Now we have 8 channels for our three member band. On our first gig the Manager approached us and wanted to know what we were using as it was the best sound reproduction he had ever heard. So it is a state of the art mixer with complete functionality. The original L1 required an outboard mixer to obtain the necessary channels and we always had trouble with headroom.

  • from September 4, 2015

    Tonematch good, but...

    I agree with Theodore in the previous post. I too had several incidences where the Tonematch fell off the peg. Fortunate the hard falls weren't too bad and the unit still works, but it's now rather banged-up. Also, the Cat5-like cable that connects the Tonematch to the stand isn't very robust. I did suggest not to mount the Tonematch to your mic stand and run the cable on the floor to the stand. If a heavy person walks on it with hard heels he\she can easily tear the cable's thin outercovering. I used to do this, and the cables are very knicked-up. One cable eventually broke. Finally, the knobs under the display and for phantom power begin to deteriorate badly after a few years, The rubber or plastic becomes sticky and gummy, and starts easily to rub away, eventually becoming a distushing mess. Otherwie, the sound is fantastic - Kudos to German engineering, but I suspect most of the parts were manufactured in China .

  • from Arizona May 2, 2016Music Background:
    many years of keyboard, piano and organ

    BOSE T1 TONEMATCH

    It is very difficult to operate when you are unfamiliar with electronics. I still don't have it figured out. My friend has one and it works tremendously well. But he is a computer and electronic genius and college educated in these areas. I am not that fortunate. But I'm not giving up.

  • from Republic Wa March 18, 2015Music Background:
    Banjo & Mandolin

    poor mounting method

    I don't like the way this unit just sits on a peg, I bumped it twice now and it fell on the floor. It cost a lot of money so I feel that you should make a positive lock feature so it doesn't get damaged. Thanks

Questions about the Bose T1 ToneMatch?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway