0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Akai Professional SynthStation25 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • Hector M Hance Diaz
    from P.R. May 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, musical educator

    Synthstation

    the Synthstation is very good as a controller, but ipod but have to be the first to the third generation.

  • Gonzo
    from Dallas, Texas April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    DOES NOT SUPPORT 4TH GENERATION IPOD!!

    I got one of these and found out after later from Akai that it does not support 4th Generation Ipod's! Only up to 3rd Generation.

  • Genaro Ramirez
    from Los Angeles, CA USA January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Akai professional synthstation 25

    the Akai synthstation 25 is excellent for composing electronic music you just hook up you iphone with Akai app and this 25 key controller becomes a full range music sequencing tool and the audio sounds great too.

  • Max Coyotey
    from Central Coast, CA January 9, 2012Music Background:
    Licensed composer, songwriter, producer

    Problem Solved!

    I'm always looking to make my studio more portable, but after selling my macbook to get an imac, that became impossible. Until now. I kill 2 birds with this little thing. It's my controller for my home Digital Audio Workstation and now, it's my portable workstation. Word to the wise. Don't rely on the Akai synthstation app if you're serious about composing on this thing. Must fork out $20 to get Nanostudio. You won't be disappointed.

  • Dan Howard
    from Oakland, CA USA January 6, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Professional Musician

    Very Satisfied!

    Great little keyboard controller for the ipod/iphone. Did all that I thought it would and more. Many compatible apps(midicore apps now compatible). I use it as a controller to get all of the instrument sounds off of my ipod then I run it into a multitrack recorder. You can't beat the amount of sounds you get for the price. Being able to use thumbjam with a keyboard was worth the price by itself. Also wouldn't buy it from anyone other than Sweetwater because Sweetwater has the better return policy :)

  • Gary Duke
    from Toronto September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Musician/songwriter

    good but it double-triggers with lightly pressed notes

    Great feel, especially the solid mod wheel and pitch wheel. Wow.

    But if you press the keys lightly it will often double trigger the notes. This kind of sucks.

    But otherwise, if you press hard on the keys, it is not a problem and is fun to use.

  • john peak
    from botkins ohio July 27, 2011

    great

    works great, much better than i was expecting.
    work really well with FL Studio mobile.

  • Alex Dickson
    from Lawton, OK USA May 27, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Perfect for what I need

    Honestly this is the best tiny piece of equipment I've ever played with. My brother used to own some equipment but none as cool as this... I really like it's compact design, makes it quick and easy for me to find the Chords that sound good to my VSTi's in FL Studio.

  • Ali Martin
    from Atlanta Ga. January 9, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist

    Hope they make a 37 or 49 key Synthstation.

    This thing is amazing with nanostudio. There is no other portable rig out there that can touch this. I travel allot and am always on and off a plane. So far I'v made 73 tracks above 30,000 ft. If you use nanostudio you can import your favorite samples to a folder and use them MPC like or in one of the four synths plus you re-sample any sound or pattern you create. The synthstation 25 allows full control of the app. If they come out with a 37 or 49 key with audio and peddle inputs there wont be a keyboard synth that can touch this. Just got an I pod 4th gen and it works good with fewer glitches then my ipod 3rd gen how ever you will need to find something to put behind it as the 4th gen is super thin. I cut the strip that comes with the synthstation in half glued one side to the other and it supported it well. Thanks Akai this product is what I'v been looking for for years. Now please make the next one with audio inputs for sampling 37 keys and make an app thats more like nanostudio with more tracks and ill bye it before it hit shelf's.

  • Nathan Edwards
    from Madison, SD November 21, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Instructor, Live Musician

    A fantastic use of the iPhone/iPod... with the right software

    The Synthstation 25 incorporates a very novel idea to allow an iPhone or iPod to be docked to the controller. It is designed to use the Synthstation software app, which will cost an additional $1.99 and is a download from the app store. I was, however, very disappointed in the Synthstation software because it does not allow real-time sequencing on the keyboard, which makes it much less useful for any kind of live performance. The good news is that I discovered the app, "NanoStudio" which is now compatible with the SynthStation 25. The app is $14.99, but is well-worth the price. It is a powerful sequencer and works amazingly for live recording. This software will take your SynthStation from being very average to excellent.
    My only other disappointment is that it does not have an expression pedal output, but it does support standard USB MIDI if you want to use it as a controller with your computer. The cable, however, is not included.

Questions about the Akai Professional SynthStation25?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway