0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Ebtech CT Swizz Army 6-in-1 Cable Tester Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Ebtech CT Swizz Army 6-in-1 Cable Tester?

Questions about the Ebtech CT Swizz Army 6-in-1 Cable Tester?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from West Chester, PA December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Educator

    Must Have

    I have used this to test XLR, MIDI, 1/4, 1/8 and 1/4-1/8 combo cables. You can check with tone, check for phantom power or just plug both ends into the unit. The unit is small and built like a tank! This will save hours of frustration!

  • from Casper, WY March 12, 2014

    Solid Tester. Worth It

    This is my second Swizz Army tester (Hint, don't test a 1/4 plug while sending a powered signal through it...). I love being able to see at a glance which wire is bad. The signal interrupt lights save time; I can plug it in and work my way down the cable wiggling and jiggling to find where the short is located. I built the shorted XLR male end to test installed cable, another time saver. Having the same I/O for balanced or unbalanced 1/4" is convenient. The thing is built like a tank. It has dropped various distances (depending on the height of the ladder) and keeps working (see above for the only way to kill it).
    The only thing missing is BNC, but that's what my RJ45 tester is for.

  • from IND January 14, 2014

    EBTECH CABLE TESTER

    THIS IS JUST THE TOOL I NEEDED. I HAVE A HOME STUDIO, PLAY LIVE & RUN SOUND FOR VARIOUS BANDS. NEVER LEAVE HOME WITHOUT IT

  • from Lansing, MI April 27, 2012Music Background:
    40 years professional musician and sound engineer.

    The BEST!

    I got this a couple years ago and it paid for itself in the first hour. I tested a pile of questionable cords I started building up in a drawer over 30 years ago. I had them all sorted in no time. I could easily see if the problem was the cord or the connector. And half of them had no problems at all. The problem turned out to be something I had tried to plug the cord into.
    A little advice: once you plug in the cord, wiggle it along its whole length to see if it interrupts the signal. Some cords look good to start with, but have a break in one specific spot.
    It takes a little getting used to the system of what the lights mean, just keep the booklet handy. You can download the manual as a PDF from the web, too.

  • from Kirkland, WA USA April 22, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Greatest thing since sliced bread, maybe better!

    I thought I had lost my Swizz Army so bought another. Now I keep one in each of two locations and use them both. Great device!

  • from Sterling VA February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Student

    A Must Have

    I bought this device at the suggestion of my Sales Engineer when I started making my own cables for my patch bay. My first impression was that this thing is built like a tank. It doesn't look or feel cheap or "toy-ish." And best of all, it works! The readout is very easy to understand, and it allows me to check connections on cables very quickly and easily. It can test just about any and every plug you'd find in a studio. The added ability of checking Phantom Power and being able to send a test tone down a line at +4, -10 and Mic level is just further sweetening. If you need a way to quickly check cables and signal lines, this can't be beat in this price range (or many others in my opinion)

  • from Lansing, MI USA November 20, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    What a Great Tool!

    The Swizz Army instantly solved problems that have plagued me for years. I had a whole drawer full of questionable cables that have just been sitting there. In 15 minutes I had all of them categorized for what was wrong with them, from intermittent connections to incorrectly wired mic cables.

    It does take a little getting used to which lights mean what, but that problem cable drawer is now empty and hundreds of dollars of cables are back in use. I take it on the road with me, too. Get one!

  • from Melbourne, FL August 28, 2007Music Background:
    FOH Engineer, Recording Engineer

    Don't Settle for Anything Less!

    The Swizz Army Tester is hands-down the best cable tester around. No sound booth, recording studio, or audio tool box should be without one!

    The best thing about this tester is the intermittent checking capability. Plug the questionable cable in, jiggle it around, and the tester will tell you exactly which wires are loose by locking on an LED. The LED display also tells you the exact wiring of the cable, including and shorts, opens, and crossed pins.

    Other functions, like sensing phantom power on mic lines and producing test tones (either 440Hz or 1kHz), make ringing out messes of cables a breeze. I use this feature any time I re-patch the stage to make sure that I have the signal paths correct.

    This is truly a smart cable tester, and is worth the extra money. Despite the number of features packed into a small box, the Swizz Army tester was incredibly easy to learn. I don't know how I got along without one all these years!

  • from DC area February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pr

    Solid

    Well made and thought out unit. I haven't used it to solve any issues but I have tried all the cables that it addresses just to see if it all works. It all works. I feel good about the purchase and I have a rather large box of cables to go through to check out.
    I didn't give it 5 stars because the explanation that was given for 5 stars I would only give for aa person of the oppsit sex.

  • from Meridian, ID USA July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Tech

    works as expected

    put this baby to work right away. One cable I thought was bad checked out. Glad to have this.

  • from June 20, 2013Music Background:
    Do I even have one....?

    I knew it was the tip!

    Does anything deserve a rating that indicates there is no room for improvement, maybe in heaven, but not on this planet...? I had a guitar cord that wasn't working, so I plugged it into the ebtech, and right I was I knew, it was a tip that had lost connection -- only thing is I still had a 50/50 percent of looking at the wrong-end first; much to my surprise I chose the correct-end first: soldered it up and away we go....

  • from Valley Life Community Church October 27, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader and musician

    Swizz Army cable tester

    Should of bought this sooner!

  • from Sao Paulo, SP Brazil November 7, 2013Music Background:
    Broadcaster

    Belt clip

    Nice device but belt clip isn't included

  • from NJ April 29, 2009Music Background:
    Professional engineer

    excellent!

    I use this cable tester in my studio all the time. It's easy to use, fast and clear and covers almost every cable type I use. The only reason I gave it a 4 rather than 5 is because there was a nasty flaw in the finish formula which has flaked off considerably over the 6 years that I've had it.

  • January 31, 2006

    Great functionality, built like tank

    This box will tell you how any three-or-fewer conductor cable is wired. Each end of the cable can have a different kind of plug, e.g. even if you have an XLR to RCA cable, this box will deal with it.

    The Swizz Army is built for the road. I had a dropping-on-pavement accident which I'd thought would kill it, but it didn't.

    It will also detect phantom power, and will generate two different test tones (440Hz and 1000Hz) at three different fixed volume levels.

    You can even test cables for which you can't bring both ends to the same location.

    GREAT little box.

Questions about the Ebtech CT Swizz Army 6-in-1 Cable Tester?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway