0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

MXR M75 Super Badass Distortion Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M75 Super Badass Distortion Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M75 Super Badass Distortion Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Georgia December 14, 2016

    Wow

    Man, I've been searching for this sound for a long time. That thick, deep, chunky distortion sound. This pedal paired with my DSL 40 on the clean channel makes the perfect hard rock to heavy metal sound. Another great MXR product.

  • from NJ March 19, 2016Music Background:
    Metal, Rock, Blues and Software Engineering :)

    Super Badass indeed

    I'm not one to leave reviews, but this pedal is definitely super badass. Just like Sweetwater's customer support, and my sales rep Bart.

    Unlike GoDaddy, who disabled my site for week without explanation or response, Bart called me within an hour of placing my order to make sure everything was correct. GoDaddy, please be like Bart.

  • from January 29, 2016Music Background:
    Rock and metal guitar player.

    The name says it all!

    IT is true bypass.it is one of the best distortion pedals I have ever used.best distortion pedal for the money.is great for metal and rock of any kind.is very affordable and is built like a tank! I highly recommend this pedal to anyone.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI May 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby/part timer

    Super Value too

    I have bought, used, sold, traded, etc. lots of pedals and done the $200+ pedal thing for the right one. Currently have a nice board with six pedals that fit me well but when someone pulled Hagar's "Heavy Metal" out of their butt for jam at band practice I found I had a need for a power distortion pedal.
    Did a bit of you-tubing and decided this might be an option. Plugging into the M75 for the first time is a great deal of fun. No fizz, just fat distortion all the way through the dial. Output is huge, and my only beef is that unity is so low. Its loud.
    Best thing about this pedal is the EQ with the mids. This tone stack makes a huge difference in the sound, and the mid knob is extremely useful. Sounds great with singles or humbuckers. I run to through a Peavey Delta Blues and it sounds huge. Totally happy with the price, too. You can spend a lot more but I'm not sure you can get much of a better distortion pedal.

  • from April 14, 2015

    Super Versatile

    First of all shout out to my sales engineer Evan Mulvihill, just a nice helpful awesome guy. Had this almost a week and it is like having three to four pedals in one. Can do a nice clean boost, Van Halen soaring tone, to early metal. The best part is you do not have to dime the dist. knob to get a nice chunky sustain lead and I have my amp set on clean as you can get. Upgraded from the custom 78' Badass which I did not even have year.So save yourself the money and get this!

  • from March 25, 2015Music Background:
    blues/metal

    supper badass

    This pedal is amazing!! It's the thing I've been looking for for years! I am an MXR junkie now! I go back and forth from blues to metal all the time and, this little guy makes my tone even sweeter.

  • from Angleton tx June 20, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Well Named

    Yes sir!! that's the money for distortion.

  • from United States February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player for over 25 years

    SUPER BADASS

    I was expecting a good petal but was blown away by this one. The touch sensitive control and range of a little grit to full blown metal is just what it says: Badass. I'm sold on MXR

  • from January 30, 2014

    Marshal in a Box

    Incredible pedal! With the bass mid and treb you can shape the tone of any amp. Its like having an eq and a distortion pedal all in one!

  • from January 6, 2014

    Buy this

    Turned my Solid State Fender Twin into a Marshall on steroids. Love this pedal the EQ lets you tweak it exactly how you want. I was contemplating an od808 or a tube screamer but really excited I picked this up!

  • from United Kingdom October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    This is it!

    JUST. BUY. IT. After you realize you no longer need your other distortion pedals, you can sell them and justify the impulse buy your about to make.

  • from nashville tn September 26, 2013Music Background:
    guiter player

    it is kick ***!

    for this to be so small' it's very loud and controlling...i love it. thanks

  • from San Diego February 4, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar player, singer in classic rock garage band.

    Pleasant surprise

    I didn't set out to buy this pedal. I won it in an online contest. I feel compelled to write a review because it is so good. It's unbelievably versatile but I use it primarily as my lead tone. I have a one channel amp and set it right on the verge of overdrive for my rhythm tone. I engage the MXR on a relatively low distortion setting with an elevated level setting and it produces the sweetest dirty lead I've had out of my rig. Just fantastic. Classic Rock overdrive all the way to metal distortion. This thing nails it.

  • from June 7, 2016

    MXR M75 Super Badass Distortion

    With my distortion I'm looking for good crunch. I'm a fan of MXR's products, and when my MXR Distortion III died I wanted that sound. The M75 is the Distortion III with the 3 band eq which I love.

  • from Los Angeles May 7, 2016

    Super Badass!!

    The beauty of this pedal is the range of different distortion nuances you can get from it. With 3 band EQ it is really tweakable from subtle over drive to hard rock distortion. Also nothing beats analog distortion. Digital is good for certain effects, like delay, but distortion should be analog.

  • from Arizona, USA January 31, 2017Music Background:
    10 years of playing guitar (unprofessionally)

    Nails That Marshall Tone

    My gear:
    Fender MIM Stratocaster HSS (with Seymour Duncan JB)
    Bugera V22 Infinium

    Appropriately named, this pedal gives a nice crunchy distortion tone for blues or classic or hard rock. If you like the Marshall sound but don't want to dish out hundreds of dollars for one this would probably be great for you. If you turn the distortion level all the way down and mess with the EQ controls it can be very transparent, going from the slightest breakup to a thick, powerful crunch that holds true to your original tone, but at about 3 o' clock it starts to sound pretty mushy and undefined (probably isn't the best pedal for metal).

    I originally picked this up to boost the midrange of my Big Muff and to get some light break-up without having to crank my amp to volumes that would piss of my neighbors (my amp's distortion channel sounds pretty weak at low levels), and it did its job very well. It works well for boosting other distortion pedals and it can add some flavor to them with the tonal control it offers. However, it doesn't take being boosted very well, as again, it can get pretty mushy at higher gain levels.

    The 3-band EQ makes this pedal pretty versatile, as the usual single tone knob can be limiting at times. It has dark-sounding highs and bright lows so it's not very open-sounding compared to my clean tone (a slight difference), but it may tame any "icepickiness" you may have. The mids have a throaty quality to them which I'd compare it to ACDC's tone, and when the mids are boosted this pedal kind of gets that "cocked wah" sound.

    Bottom line is, it probably won't blow you away but it definitely won't disappoint. I'd recommend it to someone who's just getting serious about guitar and wants to pick up a good distortion pedal for a decent price. If you're not into anything super heavy I'd give it a try.

  • from Danville, KY August 21, 2014Music Background:
    Playing for 30 years

    Great Buy!

    I was getting nostalgic for my 1st pedal - a 1985 MXR Dist+... so, I went to the store to try and buy the M77 Modified OD (which they didn't have), and I came out with this baby instead. Man, this thing really hit the spot. I think it has a really naturally smooth amp like distortion that is in NO way fizzy, buzzy, raspy. As I've gotten older, I've got no patience for endless tweaking anymore; my time to play is precious enough, so, with all the knobs at 12 o'clock it's pretty much perfect for me. You can use the 3-band EQ to suit different amps & guitars combinations, but for me it's been plug & play - yeah !!!

  • from July 11, 2016

    Doesn't respond to picking dynamics well

    If you pick light with a good pedal it will be clean sounding and if you fit the strings hard you get more dirt. Not so much with this guy. Same amount of dirt just less loud. Good drive sound though. Returned.

  • from Yorkville July 8, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    Not what I would expect from an MXR Product

    I received the MXR noise gate pedal at the same time in the same box. The noise gate pedal is smaller and built like a tank. This pedal seemed like it was made of plastic, very light, and noisy. I do have the 10 band EQ MXR pedal that I wouldn't be without along with the MXR Smart gate pedal. This pedal just wasn't for me so I returned it after about an hour. The noise gate pedal wouldn't even get rid of the noise this pedal created, but every other distortion pedal has no noise with the MXR Noise Gate pedal. I wasn't pleased with the sound of this pedal either. I was really hoping for something better.

Questions about the MXR M75 Super Badass Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway