0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Fender Super-Sonic 22 - 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Blonde Reviews

4.0 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Super-Sonic 22 - 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Blonde?

Questions about the Fender Super-Sonic 22 - 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Blonde?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Steve
    from Ivy Va April 12, 2017

    Supersonic 22 amp

    I am very happy with my new amp , sounds great and exceeded my expectations. Would recommend this amp !

  • Michael Mathis
    from Sayreville,New Jersey April 9, 2017Music Background:
    Blues, Hard rock, rock, all guitar driven music:)

    Finish supersonic 22 W 112 blonde

    I love this amp so much. I don't turn it on till I'm in a club or a bar, I don't really want to keep it at bedroom levels,it's so Beautiful.,all by itself. I don't have to do anything. Love it. I have really not even begun to tweak it. So far all I've done was plug my Les Paul traditional Into it. I haven't even gotten to the clean channel yet, nor have I opened the beautiful foot switch, still perfectly shrink wrapped, But I'm about to, looking forward to it.thank you so much for this beautiful instrument.

  • Ben
    from Colorado April 16, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Phenomenal Amp

    This amp has it all for me. Chrystal clean tones on the vintage channel and you can dial in just the amount of overdrive you want on the burn channel. I particularly like the two overdrive knobs in the burn channel - one for the level of distortion and the second that acts like a compressor/sustainer to get that rich creamy overdrive that's great for blues. The spring reverb tops it all off nicely. And this puppy is LOUD for a 22 watt amp.

  • Ray Blanks
    from Wallingford, CT November 5, 2013Music Background:
    Rock, Jass, Christian (Chris Tomlin, Matt Redman)-style, etc.

    Supersonic IS Super!

    My Sales Engineer, Carson McLain, steered me right again! I've been a Rock Star Wannna Be all my life, and right now am a Worship Leader musician at my Church. I still love to play Jazz, Blues, etc., and this amp can do it all. The 1x12 and 22 Watts is plenty for a small-to-medium sized venue. This is made in Corona, CA and the quality is very impressive, from smooth dialing knobs, to soft rubber on the cables...... it screams "Made In America"! This is basically a Deluxe Reverb with Drive vs. Vibrato. The clean and drive channels are amazing. For "Marshall-like" drive, a stomp box would be needed. This comes with a foot switch and cover. I am very pleased with this purchase.

  • Planet Dave
    from Bay Area Ca. August 19, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    The Fender I Always Wanted

    It's been quite awhile since I was totally confident to gig with no pedals. Yeah I like having a delay but when things sound really good you don't miss it that much. Even though this amp plays well with overdrives and other dirt boxes I don't even miss 'em. Hey less crap between me and the speakers. The Burn channel is a thing of beauty, so flexible. I have a collection of amps, you know the usual suspects, and this is the easiest to get a good tone out of. I mean put all dials at twelve o'clock and go. That's a good sign, and you can still dial in other shadings of tone. The foot switch has buttons for two Cleans, Burn, effects loop and reverb. Audio taper volume pots would make it perfect.

  • Quinton
    from Kansas City, MO USA February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging bassist and guitarist

    This is the one

    I had Sweetwater bias this amp before shipping to make sure it would sound it's best. The clean channel is very thick and rich, everything you would want from a Deluxe Reverb except the crisp top end chime is pleasantly a bit subdued (I suspect the speaker is the reason). The Fat switch on this amp does a great job of getting you into Bassman Land. As for the Burn channel, I expected that it would sound like a completely different amp as with many dual chan amps. This was not the case, the SS22 retained the sonic character of it's clean channel while being pushed over the edge. The Reverb is solid state and I can usually hear the difference but, on this amp I could have been fooled if I hadn't known ahead of time. Over all this is a great investment, at 22 watts you get to that great cranked fender breakup quickly in a box that mirrors the old blonde Bassman.

  • john
    from san diego ca October 16, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    killer combo

    amazing amp and at 22 watts very usuable at small gigs .You can mike it for larger venues. I use a clean boost infront and man did that make her come alive! vintage deluxe channel is stunning really close to a old blackface. The bassman switch adds some mids but cuts too many highs for a real fender like clean run the verb on about 2 and its fender heaven.. The overdrive is stellar.With a clean boost and just using gain one you can get true texas strat blues or danny gatton type twang with a tele. One of the best amps i have ever played . If you are trying these check the 22 the 60 may be a bit much for all venues.The 22 you can push to that sweet spot and man its sweeeeeet

  • Jim Greene
    from Lansing, MI October 8, 2012Music Background:
    guitarist

    Best Fender Ever

    I got this amp after narrowing my extensive amp collection down to two gigging amps, a British Vox AC15C1 and on the USA side of the pond, a Fender Supersonic 22. The Supersonic 22 has a delicious Deluxe Reverb clean sound that Fender is famous for PLUS an absolutely killer cascading overdrive channel that alows me to gig without one single pedal. This amp has clean headroom for days (way more than the Deluxe Reverb) even though it is only rated at 22 watts. Dead quiet at idle - no buzz or annoying hiss. The stock tubes are exceptional as is the stock speaker. If you are a modder, stay away. This amp could not be more perfect and is the amp I chose, even over way more expensive boutiques as my go to amp for that famous Fender USA sound.

  • james comstock
    from san diego February 7, 2012Music Background:
    road warrior

    blonde bomber

    i dont normally do this kinda thing but i just gotta say thank you tim harrington for recommending this amp to me and thank you fender for making all my dreams come true , this thing is a MONSTER , it pumps and breaths like a wild animal , i plug in my 58 strat and its better than sex , and the clean channel sounds like classic fender tone that will make you cry , thanks , jim

  • Kbrooks
    from Va. Beach - USA September 5, 2011Music Background:
    Rhythm/Lead Guitar- Lead/Backup Vocals

    I doubt you can find a better amp for under $1000 ..........

    I rarely give a perfect score to any hardware. I've had this about a week, but I was in love with it the first time I demo'd it in a local shop.

    Sound:
    To use a quote from one of my favorite books the sound is "Honey poured over Thunder" (Makes my old amp sound like "Piss poured over a fart") Seriously though, sound is so subjective I wont get into all that, but I will say that I think most people will be able to find a sound they will love from this. It's really versatile when it comes to the sounds you can get from it.

    Quality:
    The construction is really high quality ofcourse, with great components, comes stock with GrooveTubes, Eminence Speaker and the foot switch is really heavy duty. (The foot-switch is a little large though, I think it could of been smaller)

    If your looking for a good practice amp or something for small venues (Or even large venue, since it sounds pretty amazing through a good P/A) Buy this amp.

  • Alex
    from San Diego, CA January 14, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Just listen and you'll fall for it instantly!

    I've listen to this amp when it first appeared few years ago. I heard that they would have a 20 watt amp which is perfect because i don't use much power because i play at a church. I'm ready to trade my Reissue Bassman just for this puppy!

  • Robert Kalberer
    from Boulder, CO July 15, 2010

    Killer Amp with a lot of Personality

    I got my Super Sonic 22 two days ago and it sounds great. I have played every current production Fender tube amp except the Vibro King, Vibroverb and the new Super Sonic 60 and would say if youíre comparing amps without any modifications just taking it out of the box and turning it on this is the best amp fender makes.

    This is a killer amp with a lot of personality. Advertising says itís sort of a combination of the older super sonic and a deluxe reverb, sort of ironic that I would buy it as these are two fender amps that I always felt were some of the biggest disappointments from Fender. What surprised me is that it sounds way better than a DDRI reissue. Compared to the DRRI the Super Sonic 22 sounds bigger and richer sounding, has more chime, more punch and is louder (sounds about as loud as my 40 watt 68 Vibrolux). The fat switch replaces the Vibrolux/Bassman switch of the older supersonics. The strange thing is toggling the fat switch on and off actually gives you a really good vintage Vibrolux or Bassman sound, way better than the old supersonics were supposed to do. I stick mostly with the clean channel as you can get a good edgy growl by turning it up or hitting the fat switch if you want. I didnít spend as much time with the burn channel as I never liked the sound of multiple stages of gain as much, but I could tell you get some really good sounds off of that as well if that is more your style.

    Works equally well on my Telecaster as well as my Les Paul Junior. Compared to most other Fender amps the EQ controls are much more sensitive so little adjustments make a big difference. Because of this you will probably spend more time initially to find just the right settings.

    Iíve never really been a big fan of Eminence speakers they always seemed a little too airy for me but this one even without any break in sounds exceptionally full and rich. Gives you a really nice warm 3-D sound.

  • Roger
    from Sidney, OH December 23, 2016Music Background:
    Home recording

    Great Sound versatile amp.

    Thus amp has a great response to your playing. Love the Fat channel! I've had mine now for 2 years. Have had a couple issues. Handle broke Sweetwater sent me a new one right away. My reverb channel is not adding reverb. I believe it is a tube burnt out. I have ordered all new better preamp tubes. Will update when installed.

  • Glen Grant
    from Idaho August 9, 2014Music Background:
    Retired Music Educator, professional musician, singer/guitarist.

    Super Sonic

    I received my amp and have had time now to get to know its capabilities .
    I am going to use this amp for my Ibanez AF200 archtop guitar. At first I wasn't wild about it, but as I played it for a few hours, I began to realize that this is indeed a great amp to use for warm rich jazz tones. The clean channel really delivers the tone I had hoped for. I love the smooth tube driven delivery of sound. It is also nice to know that it can get dirty with the click of a button.

  • Zydeco Ray
    from The Heart of Texas July 4, 2013Music Background:
    teacher, semi-pro musician, sound engineer

    super amp

    After I ordered the Super-Sonic 22 in white, I read some reviews that were right on. The reverb is not as great as the 60 watt version, and there is a channel switching noise. However, overall, the clean channel is very good, the overdrive side is outstanding. It's a little heavy for 22 watts, but those 22 watts go a long way, and there's a 4 button footswitch! The folks at Sweetwater were their usual great selves......Play on, as they say.....

  • Jeff Roley
    from Big Rapids, MI (USA) July 1, 2012Music Background:
    I've been playing since the mid-60s and now am in OldManWorshipBand.

    Exactly what I was needing

    I purchased this at 2012 GearFest from Robby who was great to work with. It was shipped and at my home in Michigan within three days. I was looking for an amp with a clean tone that accurately projected my american deluxe telecaster and american standard stratocaster. It does not disappoint. The fat switch on the vintage clean tone is a great feature, and the burn channel does exactly that. And I don't know if there is a cooler looking amp than this one in Blonde. Maybe if they put it in a surf-foam green?

    I was comparing it to a Dr Z Maz 18, and for the money (at least $1K less) it meets my need. Bandmate and Sweetwater customer, Martin Vipond, has the Super-Sonic 60 (Blonde) and I am pleasantly surprised at how it holds up in comparison.

    I didn't give it a 5 star because in the original Fender packaging the amp was in the box upside down and the velcro holding the footswitch had come loose.

  • Mike
    from Fargo June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Music lover and player for 30 years!

    Enjoying my Supersonic 22!

    I've had my Supersonic for over a year now and it's the best amp I've ever had. I've got an HSS Strat and I can get about any sound I want on it. Love the clean and use the burn channel in combo with my overdrive pedal. I did have the high pitched squeal issue but they swapped the tubes around and haven't had a problem since. I'm very pleased with the amp and I can't see why you would need more than 22 watts. Anything over 2 and it's hurting my ears. I mic my amp at church and have to keep it pretty low on volume. I love my gear!

  • Gord E.
    from Edmonton, Alberta- Canada November 10, 2011Music Background:
    Classic Rock Band- part time

    S-S 22, an alternative to the '65 DR

    I finally found the perfect amp for me- the Super Sonic 22. I traded in my '65 Deluxe Reverb because it was just too clean and one-dimensional. I'm 59 and have been playing mainstream rock and now classic rock for about 45 years- the S-S 22 allowed me to get rid of my overdrive pedals. My only complaint is that the footswitch cord is 3X longer than it needs to be :) Highly recommend this blonde beauty!

  • Josh Searls
    from Southside, WV, USA May 18, 2011Music Background:
    Semi Pro? I've played with pros, studios etc.

    Great Sound in a Small Package

    Well to start off, I am on amp #2 the first had an issue, Sweetwater had another amp the next day, I canít say enough about their great customer service. I play southern gospel in which I need a great county sound, a great blues sound and every now and then a little more distortion for some praise and worship songs. I usually use a POD HD500 which is great, but I wanted an amp that could nail the sounds live that I get in the studio but not so much power that I canít take it into small churches. The clean channel is simply amazing, all the sparkle you would expect from a Fender. The Fat switch adds more mids in the mix and a bit of a volume boost that gives you a fuller clean sound. Now for where the amp differs from the Deluxe Reverb, the Burn channel gives you as much or as little distortion as you like. It gives me a great blues tone on my Strat, or Tele neck pickup, and a great dirty country sound similar to a (DR Z). I cranked the gains up with my humbucker tele and it will get mean. If you need more info on this great little amp just ask for Tim Harrington.

  • Brent
    from March 23, 2016Music Background:
    TV Composer

    Great Amp! Just add a reverb pedal to your order.

    First off, this amp sounds undeniably amazing. If you can't get super useful tones form this amp, then its likely either your guitar or your ears have problems. That said, beware that these amps STILL suffer from quality control issues. The reverb is completely useless. Nothing but weak reverb and a super loud hum. I tried shuffling the tank around and replacing the feeder cables, but there must be a problem on the board because even with the cables detached, there is nothing but hum when the reverb is turned up. So I've just disconnected the darn thing. Apparently, this is extremely common. That said, I STILL love this amp for the tone I'm getting. Luckily, I have a fantastic external delay and reverb setup that sounds perfect in the FX loop.

  • Huey
    from Lafayette, LA January 29, 2015Music Background:
    Young man gigger and now old man bedroom player. LOL

    So Far So Good

    Love the tone and mostly the versatility. Can dial up so many tones. The two gain controls is the best feature as far as versatility. Foot switch is a big plus.
    I have only had this amp for a short time but, mine is pretty quite for a tube amp. Very little his or hum, even when I am sitting two feet from it facing it with a Strat or Tele. I had read reviews complaining of noise but I have not had that problem with mine.
    I do think that the reviews I read about the speaker is accurate. It sounds pretty good but the high end doesn't roll off soon enough on the clean channel and it can get piercing at times. Some call it shrill or what ever but it does make me fool with the treble control a bit more. I am breaking the speaker in right now but I don't think this issue will resolve with a break in. I read a lot about speaker swaps for this amp, and in time I will change it to a Cannabis Rex or something else.
    The speaker is the only issue so far that keeps me from giving a 5 star rating. Well, maybe if they used something other than Groove Tubes would help also, but honestly they have been good so far.
    I drove my sales rep crazy here at Sweetwater trying to find something that would work for me, and he was great about it all. I am happy now!

  • Michael Sumwalt
    from Fort Wayne, IN November 3, 2013Music Background:
    professional guitarist

    Super-Sonic 22

    very nice amp, the in-store sales associate was extremely nice and helpful. I would definetly purchase from him again

  • joey z
    from seattle, wa November 12, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer

    great!

    It's great all the other reviews are accurate, i'd just like to add that using a deluxe reverb and one of the new boss overdrive peddles would be the same as this in terms of quality, but slightly different stylistically to the point of not getting super excited about it overall; if you down tune or use an octave fender speakers have a tendency to bug out, since they are precisely attenuated to sound best with fender guitars in standard tuning; but clearly this amp is for power chords and it sounds dope, but for the price it's not blowing anybody's mind;

  • John Dierlam
    from Port Lavaca Texas January 8, 2017Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter Band Leader

    Breaks up !

    well Fender finally built an amp that gets great tube break up. However the clean channel starts breaking up as soon as you pass four on the volume nobb . If you are needing the patented clean fender sound at decent stage volume don't buy this amp. I was thinking I could get all the tones I needed in one amp . I am going to try playing through the super sonic and a silver face prinston at the same time. Useing an ABY box !

  • Customer
    from AL June 9, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Fender Super-Sonic 22

    I bought this amp with high hopes of it being what it is advertised as being - a great amp with great cleans and great overdrive sounds. Well, it did those things, BUT at certain frequencies there was a harmonic squeal and also a rattling noise. There is some type defect in a tube or something. When I was researching this amp, I saw that other people had experienced this same thing. Anyway, I returned the amp because of these issues.

  • Tguy2
    from NE Ohio April 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    Fender super sonic 22

    Loud right off the mark. Doesn't get louder after 5, crap reverb. No where near a Deluxe. Channel switching is ok loud pops at times. This amp is a good example of not listening to customers and rushing an amp to market. If Fender had addressed the problems of the 60 watt model this could have been a decent amp. I always wonder why you can get a decent tapper on the volume controls. instead they blast at almost full volume on one. My advice is to try it out first. Especially the reverb which only approach's the Deluxe.

  • Tguy62
    from Usa September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Playing over 45 years

    Another clunker

    Clean channel is dull and lifeless. Overdrive channel is OK but there ism nomwaymto balance it with the clean channel. Reverb just pain stinks.
    Fender needs to go back to a,tube reverb instead of this crappy digital version.

  • stratcatj
    from NY,USA January 9, 2011Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Great sound for a short time

    Had the amp 45 days and it smoked, been at the fender reair shop Dec.1st.......If this was a car it would be a lemon law case for sure...

Questions about the Fender Super-Sonic 22 - 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Blonde?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway