0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Fender Super Champ SC112 80-watt 1x12" Extension Cabinet Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Super Champ SC112 80-watt 1x12" Extension Cabinet?

Questions about the Fender Super Champ SC112 80-watt 1x12" Extension Cabinet?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 1, 2017

    Great Fender Quality & Sound

    This closed backed cabinet is durable, attractive and sounds great with my Fender Super Champ XD head. Incredible bass response and clarity. Sweetwater delivered it to me promptly and even gave me a discount as part of a promotion as it was my first purchase with them. Great customer service.

  • from Dayton OH April 20, 2017Music Background:
    Classic rock, bluegrass, guitar, bass, piano

    Fender Extension Speaker Cabinet

    Received my Fender Super Champ extension speaker cabinet and put it through its paces. It performed wonderfully...a great piece of equipment. Sweetwater has been my go-to company for all my music needs. The staff has been extremely helpful both with on-line orders and in-store purchases. My hat's off to my Sales Engineer, Dan Wagoner, for always being there for me.

  • from , Cocoa Beach/KennedySpace Center, Florida April 10, 2017Music Background:
    Semi- Retired Road Musician- Gigging Local!

    Best sounding 1x12 Cab, Ever!

    I used to own a full service Musical Instrument Shop. -Everything from pianos/organs, school band instruments, and of course Guitars/Amps! I had ALL the Major Brands! I've gigged with all of 'em. This Fender SC112 is one of the best sounding small cabs I've ever heard. I have used it with a Fender Champ Head, and other brand amp heads. It was so good, I bought Another! I had it for a couple of days, and, I finally got around to hooking up Both of .'em to the Champ head. WOW! I know, that's a lot of $$ for a 15 Watt tube rig, BUT! the tone is unbelievable. The tone was reminiscent of my 'Transition Period' Fender "Blonde" Bandmaster, with the' Old School' small brown knobs! WAY Pre CBS Musical Instruments! They are also Awesome, coupled to my Blackstar ID Core Stereo head! I can't wait to hook 'em both up to the 135 watt Traynor "Black Widow Artist" Hybrid combo amp- [solid state pre amp- 4x 6L6 Power amp]- That I used on The ROAD for so many Years! Probably Stop Time itself!

  • from Central California May 8, 2016

    Changing Speakers

    This is a follow up to my earlier review. I have used this cab for a while now, and while I still think it was an excellent choice I decided I needed to swap speakers. After using this cab for a few months I began to find the stock speaker too neutral for my taste. Specifically, I had issues with the lack of midrange and somewhat shrill high end at loud volumes. I installed an Eminence Governor speaker that I have owned for several years and the cab came to life. Lots of mid range push and the highs are nicely rolled off now. This cab is now more suitable as an extension for my other amps.

    For those who may want to swap speakers, the cab is a front load design and the speaker is held in with 4 machine screws. You carefully remove the grille (attached with Velcro) and the swap is very easy. If you don't want to damage the tolex, carefully unscrew the two screws in the Fender logo - but don't unscrew them all the way. Gently grab the protruding screws and pull and the grille will begin to work loose. Don't pull on the Fender logo itself, it's plastic and is somewhat flimsy. Doing this will keep you from trying to pry the grille loose which may damage your tolex. When finished, simply run the screws back in and reattach the grille. The whole swap takes only a few minutes. After viewing the inside of the cab I still think the cab is well made and is a great value.

  • from Space Coast Florida February 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician and engineer

    Excellent Closed Back Extension Speaker

    I needed a compact single-12" extension speaker and after reading a lot of reviews chose this one. It works great. I'm using it with a Mesa Boogie amp, I really like the compact size and bass response plus the Sweetwater deal was awesome. It has a good Celestion speaker sound.

  • from Central California November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Performer for 20 Years

    Excellent Value

    I have been very happy with my Champ X2 combo so I decided to purchase the cabinet to further expand its capability. Overall I have been very pleased, and I wasn't expecting much for $200. The cab definitely makes my Champ sound louder and much bigger. Overall the tone is balanced, and the cab has excellent bass response that stays fairly tight with some gain. I was worried the speaker may be a little bright or thin but it compliments the cab very well and doesn't seem to posess any annoying extremes. The cab is well made, feels solid, and is easy to move around. I purchased a Blues Junior cover for it, and as some have mentioned it does fit - but you have to put it on backwards for the handle cutout to align properly. Overall this cab is a great value, and makes my Champ more useful and versatile.

  • from Huntsville, Al December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender Super Champ 1x12 Cab

    Great cab, good response, easy to move, using with Super Champ head. Really like Sweetwater they ship fast and get the job done !

  • from Claude, TX May 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist. Play in Church.

    Great addition to your Super Champ XD/X2

    I ordered this cab for my Super Champ XD because the stock 10" speaker seemed like it could use some help when cranked to 9 or 10. As soon as it arrived, I set my SCXD on top of it and plugged the speaker in (it does not come with a speaker cable, but I bought one 2 weeks ago in anticipation of taking delivery of this cab), set the volume(s) to "3", and tried my Stratocaster. Wow! This cab makes the SCXD sound like a different amp! I tried my Telecaster, and Les Paul, and I am happy to report it works well on all of them. The bass was tighter, and more focused (Thanks to the closed back design), but none of the highs were muddied at all. The extra volume, and air moved by this cab were more than I expected. I can still get those great, Fender, clean tones, but I found I could play hard rock, and even metal, with the right adjustments on channel 2. Note definition did not suffer when turning the volume and gain up to max. I could not hear any unwanted noise, but I could make out each note while playing aggressive metal licks. I was seriously thinking about buying some British gear to get the headroom, distortion, and deep growl I was after for the Hard Rock I want to play. Now, I am no longer thinking about the extra gear. No, it will not sound JUST like a top of the line Marshall, Orange, Blackstar, Vox, or Mesa Boogie Rectifier, but it will play the music these amps will play. I want to play my guitars through this set up all of the time. I am still finding new tones, and I suspect I will continue doing so for some time to come! I can seriously play Country, Classic Rock, Metal, Grunge, Blues and any other musical style I might want to try, through this fantastic combo rig. I love the fact that it is loud enough to gig with, and at the same time, every note can be distinguished during play at those LOUD volumes. It's not just loud, the music fills the room! I thought I would improve on the SCXD's performance with this cab, but I did not think the improvement would be so much! It is still a 15W Hybrid tube/SS, modeling amp, but it now will make it's presence known! It is still not loud enough to play large venues without some help, so I will mic it into the PA, when that is needed. The tone(s) are very good, making this a very versatile amplifier. As the Celestion breaks-in, it is sounding better all the time. I highly recommend the purchase of this cab to go with any of the SCXD/X2 combos, or heads. This cab should work well with other combos and heads from Fender, and other manufacturers as well. For a low end Celestion in an economical cabinet, this thing is just fantastic! I wish I had bought it sooner! I certainly wish Fender would offer these in the Blonde Tolex, and make provisions for 2 or more of these cabs to work together in series, and or, parallel. It would be nice to have a mini stack of two of these, and a Super Champ head. I wonder if I can find a way to use the stock 10" speaker in the SCXD combo with the 12" cab together? That might provide even more tonality for this little "practice amp".

  • from N. Carolina May 22, 2017

    Great Extension Speaker

    I'm in a "large" "nostalgia" rock band (9 members). We were having issues getting the whole group to hear all the instruments. This Fender extension cabinet solved my problem so that now I have "stereo" guitar that reaches the entire group. The fidelity is great, truly matching the working amp! And, it ways much less than the other comparable Fender extension cabinets costing much more! Glad I got it! Would recommend it for bands with similar circumstances!

  • from NW Indiana October 18, 2016Music Background:
    musician

    It cranks

    Far better sound than I expected. Big sound for a 1x12 cab. Thought I would need to change out the speaker for better performance but after hearing it doesn't appear necessary .

  • from Cleveland March 21, 2016

    Bigger Sound

    Nice cab that works well with my Super Champ X2. It gives you some kore volume and a bigger sound. It does not have the initial treble of the Super Champ internal speaker, but a small turn if the tone control if my Strat restores the treble edge. I may get a 50 watt head to use with this cab for bigger venues. As it is, the Super Champ internal and the cab give you a flexible setup for small and medium sized venues. This cab is a good buy,

  • from Eugene OR. December 4, 2012Music Background:
    A relatively new player just play for the fun of it

    A really nice cabinet for a really nice price

    I have a Super Champ XD Combo amp, and I really like the sounds and tones you can get with it but sometimes i felt it needed more than a 10 inch speaker. I bought the SC112 and plugged it into the amp and am really happy with the unit. I gives better bottom end and no low note buzzing. Alot of bang for the buck.

  • from Salem, MA February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Part time pro

    good sounding speaker cab

    I used this at a gig a club, about 2-250 patrons size. My Deluxe Reverb was mic'd for the mains, but not the monitor. The Keyboard player was far on stage left, I was on the far stage right. He couldn't hear the guitar. It sounded clean and articulate. A good solution at a very good price.

  • from Tulsa, Oklahoma September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    super champ enclosure

    great, well built, and well worth the money. Couldn't be happier.

  • from Trumbull, CT USA June 19, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro guitarist and vocalist

    Nice cabinet for the SuperChamp X2

    I waited a long time before writing this review. When the cab first arrived it seemed very bright. Almost brittle sounding. That was partially due to having been playing the X2 head through a 2x12 Bandmaster cab. However, the SC112 bass was very tight and well defined. After a couple of months of playing (not many hours) the Celestion has really settled in. It sounds great. Sounds great with my humbucker equipped guitars. Single coils seem bright (duh) and I tend to roll off the treble a bit with the amp controls. Good price and moves enough air to fill a good sized worship space.

  • from Byron Center, MI May 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Decent Cab for a Decent Price

    I bought this cab to go with my Super Champ X2 Head (excellent head for the money by the way). I knew that I was getting a lower end speaker, but it is a Celestion after all & so I thought I'd chance it. I have a really nice Avatar 212 cabinet loaded with Greenbacks, but I am too lazy to keep switching amp heads every time that I want a different tone. This Fender's a little thin, but not bad. It is closed-back which focuses & tightens up the bass. That is very helpful.

    Does it sound like my Avatar cab? No, it is brighter and not as warm, but it is well-built and cost about 1/3 of that 212 Avatar. By playing with the EQ on the head, I can dial in some warmth, so no worries. If you have a good 212 that you don't already have in use (or don't mind doing the switcheroo each time that you want to play a different head) then you may be disappointed with it. However, if you like your tone a little brighter and need a good, inexpensive little rig then I'd recommend this setup. BTW - I didn't return as it has it's place in my home studio.

  • from Sedalia, Mo March 8, 2017

    Super Champ Speaker Cabinet

    Nice speaker cabinet that compliments my Fender Super Champ X2 head. Sounds larger than it's size with decent tone. Closed back helps the sound projection.

  • from Jamestown NY March 13, 2012Music Background:
    I do Praise and Worship and blues.

    Fender Super Champ SC112 speaker cabinet

    Not that impressed with this cab, it just doesn't have the bottom end and body I was hoping for in a 12" cab. I'll probably upgrade to a Eminence Patriot Swamp thang ASAP

Questions about the Fender Super Champ SC112 80-watt 1x12" Extension Cabinet?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway