0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Auralex SubDude II Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Auralex SubDude II?

Questions about the Auralex SubDude II?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 25, 2017

    Great product

    I purchased 2 of these for my left and right tower speakers in my home theater. They have done exactly what I hoped for in really cleaning up the sound. I took the feet off my speakers and placed them directly on the SubDude 2. My speakers are JBL ES80, with 2x6 bass drivers, 1x4 mid, and two tweeters; one a super and one of less higher frequencies. It is fed by a NuPrime STA-9 amp from a Marantz SR7008 being used as a preamp with Kimber Kable speaker cables and interconnects. The obvious proof was when I played the death metal band Nile at around 50% power. Being that the song was all double bass, everything down tuned it was really nice that I could pick out pretty much each part of the song without straining. The bass guitar line jumped out as its own entity (as a guitar player I dont know if that is good or not, but in this case it was) and everything was well defined. The same has held true in the home theater applications.

  • from Massachusetts November 20, 2016

    Perfect for Stereo Towers, too!

    I bought two of these for my 80 lb. Tyler Acoustics Halo 2s, not sure they'd be sturdy enough for a tallish load. I was happily pleased that not only did they perform their main duty of isolation flawlessly, but they also provide firm support, with just enough "give" to make the inevitable placement adjustments very easy.
    These speaks are built on a 14"X14" base so the SubDude IIs are a perfect match size-wise.
    I rarely spend any $$ on acoustic treatments, preferring to DIY it, but speaker stands must be "just right". These are.
    Oh, and they look quite classy to boot.

  • from South Carolina March 9, 2016Music Background:
    I play at DJ work, love big stereos.

    Sub Dude II

    I put a pair of Bose 901's on Sub Dudes with perfect results. Speakers are "decoupled" as they say from the floor so no feed back, distortion etc. I think it crisped bass response up nicely. And they look classy. Thanks for the opportunity to review.
    David

  • from Granville, OH December 1, 2015

    Perfect fit!

    Perfect fit for my KRK10S sub! Went from feeling this sub in my feet to my chest. Instant gratification & results!

  • from September 4, 2015

    Good investment

    Looks great and really makes a difference with the sound in the room. Much tighter sounding. Fast service from Sweetwater. Very happy.

  • from Hanover, MD USA November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Long-time music hobbyist

    Auralex SubDudes Work!

    I have 6 Auralex Sub-Dudes, 4 standard/smaller sized and 2 larger sized models. I use them under speaker stands, under a bass guitar amp, and atop a dedicated hi-fi isolation stand, upon which I'll place my new turntable. I also use them on my home-studio desk top, under powered monitors. I had purchased a set of Iso-Acoustic isolators for my new JBL LSR 5 monitors and found that I could NOT get anti-vibration results using them on my home studio desk top. In fact, my desk top vibrated and rattled as if there was no isolator under the monitors at all! My solution was to place Auralex sub-dudes, the smaller standard model, under the monitors and then put the monitors with Isolators atop the sub-dudes. The Auralex sub-dudes are quite effective. If you just want something to sit smaller speakers on, the Iso-Acoustic isolators may do the job, like any shorter, portable stand, raising/tilting the speaker box, but in my experience they are unimpressive at vibration control. On the other hand, the Auralex Sub-dudes actually work! If you can only afford ONE solution for acoustic isolation/anti-vibration, particularity where more rigidity is needed, like under studio monitors, I recommend the Auralex Sub-Dudes.

  • from Los Angeles , Ca October 24, 2014Music Background:
    Audiophile

    Simply the best

    Excellent Produxt and the Customer service is excellent also. I bought three of these and one of the larger HT model for my Descent I sub.
    I was looking for a better way to isolate myMartin Logan speakers and subwoofer from my wood floors . I placed two of the under my front speakers ( Martin Logan Spires) and the sound became tighter . I was pleasently surprised when I purchased another one for my Amp it took the vibrations away and the amp seemed to be smoother the Ht one under my subwoofer tightened the bass. You cannot go wrong with these. They weren't made specifically for the speaker isolation but do an excellent job . I have also porchard the Mopads and use them under my surrounds . I for one notice the difference and so do my family when they come Over .

  • from DIVIDE , COLORADO December 30, 2013Music Background:
    52 YRS AND FORMER MASTERING ENGINEER FOR CBS, COLUMBIA /EPIC RECORDS

    A MUST HAVE

    IF YOU HAVE A SUB WOOFER IT NEEDS TO BE SITTING ON A SUBDUDE II. I HERD THE DIFFERENCE AND ELECTED TO RETUNE THE ROOM . I EVEN REMIXED THE PROJECT WITH THE SUBDUDE.AND PRO PADS UNDER MY SPEAKERS .FOR 40 YRS IVE USED SPONGES BUT THIS COMBO IS MUCH BETTER THAN SPONGERS BY A MILE .

  • from Boston, MA USA November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Artist, Recording, Mix & Master Engineer

    Auralex SubDude II is nice

    I could not believe how much cleaner my bass response was and thus how quickly my project studio mixes sounded closer to professional studio mixes.

  • from October 20, 2015

    Solves The Problem

    Does exactly what it is supposed to do; cleans up the sound by keeping the sound from transferring across the wood floor of my living room. Not sure what kind of condition this item would be in if I had to move it a lot but I got it for a permanent installation so durability is not a factor.

  • from USA January 6, 2015Music Background:
    Inspiring Recording Engineer

    Clear Bass Response

    If you truly want to here clear low frequencies and make a better decision on EQ boosting or EQ cuting, in the mix. The subdude 2 is a good choice. when I put my sub speaker on this thing the bass response was a lot clearer and better judgement could be made for the mix. Also having this isolation pad my walls have stop rattling and I get less vibration on the floor. It is a good buy and it does the job. Great add on to a home studio.

  • from Boston MA USA February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Producer / Engineer, musician

    I'm using it for the wrong thing, and I love it!

    My studio is on the third floor of our house. My mic stands all have those heavy circular bases - tripod stands take up too much floor space. But I noticed that sensitive mics were picking up people walking around on the second floor. Since those were all low frequency problems, I got one of these and put the mic stand on top of it and the noises went away. Excellent isolation!

  • from March 8, 2017

    Subdude II

    I could tell that my subwoofer's bass was tighter and more articulate. I first noticed it on the club scene in Bad Boys 2. I was impressed. My sub just barely fit within the edges of the Subdude II without any overhang. The bigger Subdude would have been too big. I recommend this to increase performance of your sub and to decouple from the floor. Best budget tweak I've made in a long time.

Questions about the Auralex SubDude II?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway