0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance Last Chance

PreSonus Studio One Pro - Pro - Full License Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Randy Akins

    A very elegant solution for an all-in-one DAW! Very simple to use, yet extremely powerful...enabling you to complete a project from tracking to mastering without ever having to change screens!

  • Scott Augustyniak

    As a musician, this is becoming one of my favorite DAWs. It is extremely easy to use. If I just want to focus on writing/recording, I am not held back by digging into preferences for long periods to make a certain feature work. The drag-and-drop feature is great. Just drag a plug-in or virtual instrument on the editing window and you are set.

  • from Chicago IL June 2, 2011Music Background:
    self taught producer

    Super Stable

    I have tried several other PC compatible DAWs but I have been mostly disappointed until I got my hands on S1. What makes this DAW really unique is its stability and performance. I have an I7 quad processor and I have files that have about 20 tracks each running about 3-4 3rd party plug ins (in addition to buses that have about 5-6 plugins) and NO LATENCY issues. I have not even bothered changing sample size in audio settings. Even when I record vocals, all my soft synths and audio processing plug ins are just cruising along.

    This DAW is often criticized for lack of good soft synths. I agree, the soft sythns are pretty much general midi type of garbage (except for impact which I use often). However, if you are serious about your production, you will be using 3rd party plug ins anyways.

    Therefore, If you are looking for a STABLE DAW this is something you want to look into.

  • from Corsicana, TX March 12, 2011Music Background:
    Independent Artist

    One Mighty Software. It blows the lids off the rest!!

    Drag-and-drop features, including plug-in effects right onto the tracks. Built-in mastering suite. Perfectly mapped to any Presonus audio interface the minute you're plugged in. Spent less than a minute setting up my audio hardwares. This is unlike other DAWs where precious amount of time is wasted in the setting up process. 32-bit and 64-bit OS support. Don't worry about opening up the manual, or downloading that tutorial video off YouTube. Studio One will make you feel like you've already known each other since childhood. I've used my Korg NanoKontrol for the virtual faders on this DAW, and the two work flawlessly together as if they're a match made in heaven!! What would you not love about this software!! This one is a charmer!! Just so you know, the guys behind Cubase and Nuendo are the same guys behind this amazing software!! I highly recommend this DAW to anyone, novice or pro!!

  • from Rhinehart Music Center, IPFW, Fort Wayne, IN November 5, 2010Music Background:
    FOH Engineer/Recording Engineer/Technical Operations Supervisor

    Start to Finish - One Program!

    With hours logged on every major DAW out there, I am blown away by Studio One Pro. It is fast, it is intuitive, and it has every software tool you need to go from Tracking to Mixing and even Mastering! Add any of the PreSonus I/O hardware, a Laptop and a FaderPort and you'll have an awesome mobile recording rig without breaking the bank. Put it on your studio PC or Mac for limitless creativity. I will recommend this software to every musician and engineer I know.

  • from Cape Cod September 5, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist Prosumer Pro-wanna-be-all-I-can-be

    Room for one more DAW?

    I heard of Studio One last year when it came out and my first thoughts were, "Come on guys, what a waste of resources....focus on what you are great at...hardware!).

    Well, having used Logic Pro, Pro Tools, Sonar, Ableton, and toyed with several others, I can solidly say that this DAW is not only well worth your time and penny to check out but also here to stay for a while.

    Developed in collaboration with Kristal Labs comprised of Wolfgang Kundrus and Matthias Juwan, both former heavy hitters of Cubase and Nuendo, this DAW although only on v. 1.5 is nimble, mature, sonic-ally gorgeous, and intuitively innovative.

    It almost feels like these two gentleman had a few things they really wanted to get implemented for previous users of other DAW's and found a benefactor with Presonus to share and join the vision of their mission.

    This DAW really is a breath of fresh air. Now that being said, it is still on v. 1.5 and although I sound like a fan boy, I miss many of the other features in Ableton and Logic, such as folder tracks and richer instrument/effects options and jump back to use them on occasion. However, with the speed at which v. 1.5 came out (as a free upgrade), it won't be long before S1 not only has it all, but has pushed their creativity caps to a streamlined and well conceived apex.

    So if you are just getting into the game, you can't get a better deal than Logic Studio, has it all and it sounds great. But if you already have the after-market plugins and primarily use Komplete, Omnisphere, etc. etc. and are more concerned with a fast and phenomenal sounding, 64-bit host...you may find yourself in love with this program, I obviously have.

    I am also excited at what Presonus may bring to the table with their hardware integration. Excellent job Presonus and the Studio One team!

  • from IRVINGTON, NJ April 30, 2010Music Background:
    MUSICIAN/COMPOSER/DRUMMER/BASS PLAYER/KEYBOARD PLAYER/GUITAR PLAYER/RECORDING ENGINEER

    STUDIO ONE PRO

    I GAVE A REVIEW OF THE STUDIO ONE PRO DEMO AS AWSOME. I BOUGHT STUDIO ONE PRO IN FEBRUARY 2010 AND IT WAS ALL THAT I EXPECTED IT TO BE. I JUST DOWNLOADED AND INSTALLED THE 1.5 UPDATE PATCH. I AM CONVINCED THAT STUDIO ONE PRO WILL BE ON THE MARKET FOR A LONG TIME AND I'M SURE IT WILL BECOME AN INDUSTRY STANDARD. THE UPDATE PATCH MAKES IT A NEW PRODUCT ALL TOGETHER. I'M IMPRESSED WITH PRESONOUS'S DEDICATION AND COMMITMENT TO IT'S PRODUCTS AND IT 'S CUSTOMERS. GOOD JOB PRESONOUS.

  • from Somewhere in Ocean County,N.J. April 23, 2010Music Background:
    Veteran workstation keyboardist,recording hobbyist & audiophile

    Stability,Simplicity and Versatility-SCHWEET!!

    Propellerhead was my first PC DAW...so my search for a full-on audio/midi platform was a distressing concept at first,but once I discovered and researched Presonus,it made it so easy to decide on it(for several reasons)!

    The layout and work-flow was so seamless,that I grasped the fundamentals of this DAW in a few hours and I was up & running the same day I received the software(& I'm a virgin to audio recording software)!
    As a matter of fact,most of what I picked up was done with hands on tinkering,with very little help from the manual-amazing!
    I was unsure initially,as to whether or not I needed the Artist or the Pro version,but having the built in MP3 conversion had me sold on the Pro version.
    The Mojito synthesizer is pretty basic & thin,but the Presonus sample-based sounds are pretty stout(haven't tried the Kore player sounds as of yet).
    The effects are nothing short of incredible...very powerful,inspiring and unique.
    The automated time stretch is a dream,so there's no possible way to be out of sync with this DAW.
    Among one of the many useful & unique features of this platform,is that if you unknowingly export audio at an excessive dB level,it will alert you before the file is saved...very,very cool stuff!
    The gear set up is so fool-proof,the overall functionality is so efficient & the audio fidelity is so pristine,that there is no reason for anyone to pass up this extraordinary all-in-one software studio!!

  • from Los Angeles December 19, 2009Music Background:
    Dj, Producer, Remixer.

    Ok im a believer!

    I had this program installed for 3 months and never used it. Now I cant think of working on anything other than Studio One Pro. Its just so easy and cuts time in half before you know it your done with your productions.
    I recommend this to any producer out there, but remember you have to purchase the Pro version to be able to use your vst instruments.. on the demo you can only use the Studio one instruments... but other than that its great!!!!

  • from Federal Way, WA September 15, 2009Music Background:
    engineering student, recording on an ameteur level for 10 years

    Incredibly easy to use!!!!!

    it's almost as easy as Adobe Audition(formerly known as Cool Edit Pro)which i have been using for years... i've tried to get into more commonly used programs like cubase, pro tools, etc.. but they were just too complicated.. this is an extremely user friendly DAW. However I was not able to record any audio from my Alesis 320 usb monitors into studio one... i'm not sure if the reason was due to it being a demo version, or it was not reading the interface. studio one recognized it, but no audio was being recorded, so i stopped wasting my time, and just dragged some audio files and messed around with the signal processors... pretty good stuff.. i'm wondering though if this program supports WAVES or any other third party plug ins.

  • from San Francisco, CA September 5, 2009Music Background:
    Juiliiard, more bands than I care to remember

    Wow!

    I can't begin to tell you how impressed I am with the demo. It's everything the ease-of-use department that Cubase, Pro Tools, and Sonar wish they were. Kind of like Ableton Live but track-based.

    Written by former coders from Steinberg who apparently grew frustrated. I can't say how it will perform under stress, but do yourself a favor and download the demo. Try dragging stuff around, and dragging MIDI and wave files onto the program.

    My first thought was that someone was very brave trying to break into this already saturated field. Now I know why. Even if you already own a DAW--download it. Really.

  • from IRVINGTON NEW JERSEY August 25, 2009Music Background:
    CHRISTIAN MUSCIAN/COMPOSER/DRUMMER/BASS & GUITAR PLAYER, & KEYBOARD PLAYER & SOUND ENGINEER.

    STUDIO ONE

    I DOWNLOADED THE DEMO OF STUDIO ONE. AT FIRST IT SEEMED LIKE ANOTHER DAW BUT AFTER SPENDING SOME TIME WITH IT, IT IS MORE ABOUT HAVING EVERYTHING IN ONE PROGRAM FROM START TO FINISH THAT MAKES THIS PROGRAM SO GREAT. I HAVE CUBASE, NUENDO, CAKEWALK, AND SAMPLITUDE. I MUST SAY THAT STUDIO ONE IS THE MOST EASIEST TO USE. IN FACT IT'S SO EASY THAT IT'S ALMOST DIFFICULT BECAUSE I'M USED TO DIGGING THROUGH MANY MENUS, THEN EXITING THE PROGRAM AND OPENING ANOTHER PROGRAM TO MASTER MY WORK. IF THE DEMO OF STUDIO ONE BLEW ME AWAY, I CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THE FINAL VERSION. THE SOUND QUALITY IS REALLY BASED UPON WHAT YOU PUT INTO THE PROGRAM. HOW YOU ADD EFFECTS TO YOUR TRACKS CAN EITHER MAKE OR BREAK THE QUALITY OF YOUR SOUND. I HAVE TO SAY THE EFFECTS IN STUDIO ONE ARE AWSOME. THERE ARE SOME EFFECTS THAT I NEVER HEARD OF BEFORE AND THE BEST PART ABOUT IT, THERE IS NO STRAIN ON YOUR CPU. I CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY COPY OF STUDIO ONE.

  • from Yokohama, Japan April 19, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist Songwriter/Musician

    Simplicity is its key strength

    I had experience working with various editions of Nuendo, Cubase, Logic and Cakewalk, but have been away from recording for several years. I was not looking foward to relearning all I used to know about DAWs, so I was drawn to Studio One by its promise of simplicity. It delivers on that promise without sacrificing much, if any, control and with no sacrifice in sound quality. The drag and drop functionality is incredibly handy, and right-clicking on almost anything will present you with a menu offering pretty much anything you would want to do with the feature you clicked. It's so intuitive I had to wonder why other DAWs are not the same. It also seems pretty efficient at resources. Mind you, I have a real beast of a computer, but Studio One does not seem to tax my system much. I haven't yet figured out everything this program will do in the two weeks I've been using it. I've recorded and mixed down three songs (complete arrangements of up to 20 tracks) with it so far -- WITHOUT EVEN GLANCING AT THE MANUAL. That's midi/VST tracks, recorded audio, imported loops, etc. I think that's a powerful testimony right there. Even without looking up stuff like how to use automation, I'm already happy to have paid for a Full License. My one complaint: 32-bit plug-ins don't want to work with the 64-bit version unless you use J-bridge, and even then some of the included bundle won't even work WITH J-bridge (I'm looking at you, Kore Player), at least I haven't been successful. That is primarily the plug-in designers' fault, probably, but it would have been nice if PreSonus had put more care into trying to make at least the major 32-bit stuff from companies like NI work. That's not enough to change my BUY recommendation. I'm happy with mine!

  • from North Carolina January 11, 2011Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Studio Owner

    My Choice

    Cons are only minor and largely cosmetic or convenience related. I have made quite a few records with Nuendo and love that program . I have several DAWs available, including ProTools and Nuendo but tried Studio One for a custom project about a year ago because it was installed on a laptop that was available. Truthfully, I expected to try it and go back to my Nuendo in the first hour ... didn't happen.

    The program hooked me but what eventually closed the deal was the customer support attention I received from Presonus when I had questions. They went the extra mile to work through a few issues.

    Meanwhile, I have only opened my Nuendo once since that recording and that was to transfer tracks. This sounds as good as anything and is intuitive, if any DAW can be called that.

Questions about the PreSonus Studio One Pro - Pro - Full License?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway