0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

SKB Studio Flyer 2U Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the SKB Studio Flyer 2U?

Questions about the SKB Studio Flyer 2U?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from February 2, 2016

    Great all in one portable studio case!

    I tour year round carrying multiple cases and bags to have all my gear available when inspired for writing or practicing. This case works perfect for protecting my gear, and keeping my laptop safe and connected with my audio interface. Perfect for quick setup and tear down.
    Thank you Andy Rice for the suggestion, and the follow through.

  • One
    from January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Professional singer, Music producer

    Razor sharp edges, beware

    This product is great for your gear, it will really do what's supposed to do, not much to say about how good it is since it's exactly how's advertised. Love to see the scars mine collects, as It's a great tribute to any real working and gigging musician.

    The problem is it's razor sharp edges. This rack is very shallow, which isn't necessarily an issue, except probably means you will have to constantly be plugging/unplugging stuff off of it. One has to be very careful (and slow) while doing so as it's very easy to get cuts from the inner-edges of the rack (mine has made me bleed a couple of times, and all I carry in it is a Focusrite Sapphire Pro 40 whose firewire cable won't fit when plugged-in, once you close the rack lid).

    It's really not a big deal, sharp edges do fade in time, and there's nothing a good ol' file won't fix right away. It probably sounds a bit whiny, but trust me, it'll take you by surprise and you'll know what I'm talking about.

  • Robby Benson
    from Everywhere! May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Since I was a kid. 58 now.

    Sweetwater is the best

    It's not just the products - it's the support - from everyone!
    Thanks... r

  • Bill Coby
    from St. Louis, MO. November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Miusician (Masters in Performance) - Former Recording Engineer

    Unconventioinal Use of SKB Case

    As a Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) operator, I was looking for a safe and secure way to store and transport Emergency Communications radio and related equipment. The SKB Studio Flyer 2U was the ultimate answer. It now holds my Yseau 857D (HF, VHF & UHF) radio and all related equipment including my lap top for digital communications. Having all my equipment in a sturdy container eliminates my having to search for all parts when needed in a emergency. I can just grab and go knowing all is contained and very transportable.
    Is this thinking "outside of the box?"

  • Tony
    from Hawaii June 23, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    Good and Bad

    This case is solid but the design is strange. The front and back panels fold out but do not remove. Leaving these big panels in your way no matter where you put it. My rack rails fell off and sometimes airlines find it to heavy to carry on depending on whats in it. It does roll nicely and has a solid retractable handle.

  • Keith
    from Providence, RI April 28, 2012Music Background:
    working musician/storyteller

    great for rack gear and small electronics

    I got this to house a wireless mic receiver, drum machine, and small mixer. It's perfect for an oddball configuration like this. I just put velcro on the both of of the mixer, and they are held in place nicely. The cable pass through grommets keep the cables nice and tidy. Plus the build quality is solid.

  • Jeff from "The Parrott Brothers"
    from Clinton, Tennessee March 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, and Electrical Engineer

    Perfect Case For Mobile Laptop Recording Equipment!

    This case is well made for the on-the-go musician and recording artist. It allows me to transport my recording studio laptop/interfaces to other band members instead of them breaking down their equipment (drums, steel guitar, keyboard, etc.) and coming to me for session work. It's durable road rugged quality is what I expected from SKB. The drop down mouse pad is a plus. Sweetwater's timely order processing and delivery was excellent. Thanks guys!

  • Tom Martin
    from Boston December 6, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Documentary film composer

    SKB Studio Flyer 2U

    Very well thought out design. Hefty but compact.
    The one issue I have is the lack of a handle on the right side / bottom.
    Adding a handle eases putting the case up on a stand or table surface.

  • Groovology
    from San Francisco, CA August 4, 2008Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Great way to travel with Receptor

    If you are looking for a way to take a Receptor hardware plugin player on the road, and keep either a laptop or an LCD screen with you, then you'll definitely want to take a close look at the SKB Studio Flyer.

    I'm impressed with its ruggedness and the quality of materials, and I've used it on several gigs and have to say that I'm extremely happy with this case. The design is very clever, with the movable braces in the top lid, and the fold down lid that also serves as a mouse pad. The latches are super heavy duty, and the fact that it rolls around and has a built in handle... definitely traveling in style.

    Two small drawbacks: this case is really tough, which also means its a bit on the heavy side - 15 pounds when empty. This might be a concern for musicians who need to fly to go to a gig. When fully loaded with a Receptor (15 pounds) and a laptop (10 pounds with power supply), plus the 15 pound weight of the case, you're pushing 40 pounds, and very close to the limit for US airlines for carry on luggage. (Most Us airlines allow a single 40 pound bag, but some are as low as 25 when travelling to places like Hawaii) The carry on weight limit on many European and Asian airlines is even less, which means you might have to check it to the destination, and I'm uncomfortable checking valuable things given the way that baggage handlers throw stuff around...

    My only other issue is that when its fully packed, there isn't a lot of room for cables, but that's no big deal for me since I use a separate cable bag. But if you were looking for a complete all in one transport solution, you might find that there isn't enough room for all your cables if you have a big 2U rack device to mount in the main area... I hear they have a 4U case coming out though...that would be plenty of room for my cables AND my IO interface...

    Having said all that, for local gigs around town or touring in a van or bus, this is an awesome way to have your rack and your monitor or laptop with you in a compact, convenient, and highly portable form.

    One word about SKB quality. I've checked out a lot of cases in my life, and SKB's quality is simply beyond reproach, with their million mile guarantee... and its made in the USA as well.

    My one sentence summary is this: I'd definitely buy it again!

  • Ryan Potter
    from Aus July 25, 2008Music Background:
    Composer/Producer

    Cool Case

    Great case for a solid purpose. I bought it with the idea of traveling overseas with a portable studio. Though i find myself now realising that a a high quality backpack that secures a laptop is a better option for me. If you regulary gig i would recomend this case. If its for twilight travel maybe a decent backpack that you can throw over your shoulder with your passport is the better option.

  • Hendrik from Indecent Music
    from Boston, MA USA May 6, 2008Music Background:
    Composer, Producer, Professor in Audio Technology

    Very Cool Case, Handle a Little Weak

    I just received my Studio Flyer from Sweetwater. I needed something to rack mount a MOTU Traveler, a MOTU 8-Pre and cart my crap-top around in and this fit fit the bill. The case is pretty well put together using some type of heavy plastic that seems slightly flexible (probably to prevent cracks). The extended handle seems pretty weak and makes a lot of creaking sounds when you pull the case around. The clasps are really nice and clearly are TSA approved. This is good medium duty case and probably fine for most applications. I wouldn't throw it an a truck of a car with the handle extended as I would be worried about damaging the handle. There were lots of little slivers of black plastic in the case that got into the carpet. They're probably from the manufacturing process, but they made quite a mess.

Questions about the SKB Studio Flyer 2U?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway