0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Glyph Studio mini 1TB Portable Hard Drive Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Glyph Studio mini 1TB Portable Hard Drive?

Questions about the Glyph Studio mini 1TB Portable Hard Drive?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Rochester, NY March 19, 2017Music Background:
    Used to worrk in broadcasting years ago. A friend pulled me out of retirement to do the sound for his bands. It is a hobby for me rit now. I am aneducator and I produce multimedia tutorials.

    Glyph Studio mini 1TB 7200 RPM Portable HD.

    Well, in short, this is an awesome piece of equipment. I've used it for two recording sessions, so far. It is easy to set up and use. The recording I got out of it was FANTASTIC! I am very impressed with how well it is built. The drive is built like a tank! The engineering in it is incredible. Don't waste any more time! Just order it here from your rep from Sweetwater. Also, Sweetwater has your back on anything you buy from them. Don't go any place else. If you do, you are wasting your time, and you are nuts if you do.

  • from April 14, 2016Music Background:
    Music Production - music ed/technology professor

    Quiet, Small, Fast - Perfect!

    Title says it all....God bless

  • from January 13, 2016

    Awesome external drive!

    I loved this drive. It is so portable and easy to use.

  • from December 8, 2014

    Great Hard Drive!

    This thing is small. A lot smaller than the original models. I was surprised how tiny the box was when it came in the mail.

    It seems to be working very well. It doesn't require a power cable which makes a laptop and hard drive easy to move anywhere. It works best if you turn it on plugged in before you start up your computer. That way it connects much better.

    Great job on Glyph's part again, they have always made very trusting hardware. Thanks Sweetwater, best musical equipment service out there!

  • from July 29, 2014

    Great

    Great external hard drive with super fast speed!

  • from RadioLand April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Radio Producer

    This is Progress

    Many drives have come and gone in our radio production studio, but we've standardized on Glyph in recent years, and for good reason: they're the best. This little guy represents a new leap forward because it is SO small, SO fast, needs no power cable and is SILENT. Paired with an SSD Mac Mini, it makes for a rocking' little DAW.

  • from Calif April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer - Pro Musician

    Silence is golden

    I just upgraded my whole recording chain, from a noisy PC tower to a Mini Mac, including this little guy. I cant believe how quite my new system is now. No more having to EQ fan and disk drive hum and rattles. The speed is fast, no issues writing new tracks to disk while reading about 20 tracks half mixed. Lite and built like a tank.

  • from Sarasota, FL USE March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Producer

    GREAT PRODUCT and LOVE THE SIZE!

    This is the best portable drive out on the market and 7200rpm! I bought (2) of them and recommend this product to all my clients.

  • from Kansas, USA November 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Glyph Studio mini

    I've been very impressed with the Studio mini. This is the first external hard drive I've purchased, and immediately transferred all MOTU DP project files from an internal drive.

    We had a slow start due to the fact that the USB 3.0 would not communicate with an older mini-Mac that was equipped with USB 2.0. Sweetwater shipped a second unit because everyone believed the newer USB was fully backward compatible. The second one failed to work, so we tried a Firewire adapter cable to connect the Firewire 800 port in the drive to the Firewire 400 port in the mini-Mac.

    It has worked flawlessly since connecting via Firewire. Recording and playback of material seems to be unaffected by having external storage. Or at least the difference in speed has been imperceptible after using for 10 - 12 sessions relatively short sessions.

  • from Oviedo, FL. May 4, 2017

    Glyph Studio Mini

    After a decade and a half with over 8 Glyph Drives, not one failure.
    Never more than 3 or 4 minutes to get technical help on the phone for specific matters involving topics like Re-Formatting for a Mac Pro that runs both Windows & Mac but on 2 completely separate drives without Parallels or Boot Camp.
    Courteous and technically professional, the Cadillac of Drive companies.

  • from Brooklyn, NY March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Professional usician, composer, producer

    Nice drive

    So far so good,
    This little HD is great. quiet, doesnt overheat. I recommend it.

  • from New Orleans, LA June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, Producer, Performer; 30 years

    Caution !!!

    I am easy to please and have never written a bad review. I have had great difficulty with the drive ejecting when accessed to load a DAW file that contains samples. It sends a warning message saying "drive ejected improperly." Support at GLYPH suggested I buy an external power source. I did, but it did not solve the problem. They admitted that this is a problem with the Minis and said it is independent of operating system (Mac, etc. For the record I use a USB 3 connection, Yosemite and a Retina iMac, and this happens with both Machine 2.0 and Logic Pro X)

    Although it is portable, I would never trust it live. I now use it only as a backup storage.

Reviews

  • Sweetwater
    4-22-2014

    Recently I found it was time to update the hard drives in my new studio. The old drives were getting filled to capacity, and I had added a couple of mega-sized drives for archiving, iTunes, and so on. But with my new studio, which is a very quiet space, a problem became apparent: those drives were surprisingly noisy! My search for a storage solution led me to Glyph's latest offering, the Studio mini series. The Studio minis are compact, bus-powerable (a power adapter is optional) drives offering USB 3.0, FireWire 800, and eSATA connectivity. There are 500GB, 1TB, and 2TB sizes available, with solid-state versions coming soon. I picked up a couple of 1TB drives: one for recording and playing audio sessions and the other for virtual instrument libraries. I've been super pleased with them! They rotate at 7,200 RPM, deliver tons of simultaneous tracks (I haven't topped them out yet), and effortlessly power soft synth libraries. Best of all, they're quiet -- I mean whisper quiet. The Studio mini drives feature heat transfer technology to draw heat from internal components, while custom sensors monitor the health of the drive. Plus, the whole thing is covered by a 3-year warranty with 2-year free basic data recovery and 1-year advanced replacement. And, they're small enough to easily throw in a bag for portable use. These things rock.

Questions about the Glyph Studio mini 1TB Portable Hard Drive?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway