0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

On-Stage Stands SMS7650 Hex Base Studio Boom Mic Stand Reviews

4.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the On-Stage Stands SMS7650 Hex Base Studio Boom Mic Stand?

Questions about the On-Stage Stands SMS7650 Hex Base Studio Boom Mic Stand?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from Florida January 1, 2016Music Background:
    Lots of years in audio, just a beginner at home recording.

    Perfect for heavy vocal condensers.

    I tried using regular mic stands for my LDC vocal mics. No matter how hard I cranked the tension down, they sagged down. They wanted to tip over, so I bought a 6# counterweight, but it didn't fit the arm, just the base. Then it didn't tip, but was very hard to move since that leg would drag along the floor.
    So, I bought the On-Stage 7650 after resisting the price for my back room studio at home.
    What a delight it is. It solved all the problems of the small mic stands. It's heavy. The base is substantial, the arm can be long or longer with the addition of an extension. (I didn't need) You can slide the arm and counterweight so the gear is balanced, and the tension is toothed not a friction pad.
    It could probably extend up to the ceiling, but I keep it just above my head.
    I'm currently using a Shure SM-7 B on it.
    They send casters to make moving easier, and even include a cheap wrench for the bolts.
    I think they've thought of everything, even wire clips, If only they made it for $30!!!!
    The pain of paying is long forgotten when I see how well it functions.

  • Josh
    from Southern New Jersey July 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, songwriter, guitarist, recording engineer

    Very professional solid stand.

    Was lucky enough to pick up two of these on sale. For home studio use, or even pro studio on a budget perfect fit. Comes with two books for long or ridiculously long. The wheels are a nice touch for relocating and the design seems solid. Put a couple heavy condensers with cages on and they stayed out thru the whole project. That's all I want my stands to do.

  • Customer
    from June 3, 2015

    No more worrying about stand tipping!

    This is the stand you need to protect your microphone investment! You would be hard-pressed to tip this stand!

  • Phil Bradley
    from Shawnee, OK May 9, 2013Music Background:
    ENGINEER 30 Years

    An Awesome Stand

    This is a stand want turn over with bigger studio mic's I'm going to order a secons stands for my other vocal booth.

  • Phil Bradley
    from Shawnee, OK May 9, 2013Music Background:
    ENGINEER 30 Years

    An Awesome Stand

    This is a stand want turn over with bigger studio mic's I'm going to order a secons stands for my other vocal booth.

  • Phil Bradley
    from Shawnee, OK May 9, 2013Music Background:
    ENGINEER 30 Years

    An Awesome Stand

    This is a stand want turn over with bigger studio mic's I'm going to order a secons stands for my other vocal booth.

  • Mgdstar
    from OC, CA December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Home recording studio

    More than expected

    Great stand - well made!

  • Steve
    from Topeka, KS November 30, 2011Music Background:
    Cathedral Music Director

    Great stand at a great price

    Started using it the day it arrived--no disappointments here.

  • Austin Kursave
    from Murfreesboro, TN July 27, 2009Music Background:
    Student, Musician, Recording Engineer

    Great Stand!

    This is a great stand for the price! Other brands make the same thing for double the price and there is not much difference in these stands. These are VERY sturdy. I have two and use one for the Reflexion filter and one for overheads for drums and they are perfect. I wouldn't trade these beasts for anything.

  • Customer
    from June 9, 2016

    Great value

    Great value studio boom for my home studio.

  • Justin A.
    from Atlanta, GA USA July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Pro Audio Engineer

    All i'm ever going to need.

    I've never owned a mic stand that I didn't have to worry about weight and balance issues, but what I didn't realize I was really missing out on was configurations. These babies will literally let you put any mic in any spot along with a few extra accesories attached and not leaving you worried someone might bump into it and knock them over. Assembly was a breeze and they are heavy, I'm a pretty strong guy and can barely lift with one arm. you could probably kick one of these with your heaviest mic at full extension and not be able to knock it over, but I wouldn't kick them ever because I love them.

  • Buddy Logan
    from Post Falls, ID May 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Drummer, Voiceover Artist, Wannabee Producer

    Excellent Design

    No, these are not Atlas. If you have some reason to take stands like this out on the road or to and from with multiple people handling them in and out of trucks, spend the extra bucks for some Atlas stands.

    However, if you have the ability to treat your stands like you microphones, guitars or any other valuable gear, these stands are very sturdy, well weighted and, even though the base could be a little heaver, it still does a very adequate job.

    Some thought has gone into the design of these stands allowing them to be extremely versatile. Take a look at the product photo. The long boom you see is actually a 3 piece unit that holds together quite solidly. But you can unscrew the upper part of the boom (standard mic-clip thread mount) and you have a much shorter boom. The telescoping poles holding the boom will actually adjust to a height lower than your average stage boom stand. Yet, they will adjust upward to about 6.5 feet or more.

    The angle adjustments on the boom as well as the upper section are geared with fair sized teeth, so they will stand the test of time, for sure. All adjustment knobs are fairly large. Very easy to use.

    At half the price of competitors who do not offer as much, you can't beat these stands!

  • Jon Ziegler
    from Minneapolis June 9, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, producer, musician

    Sturdy, Long Reach

    The SMS7650 is just what I needed for my studio. It's capable to make the long reach with a heavy microphone and agile enough to use in my 12 X 20 room.
    The clutches a big and sturdy. It is so adjustable, I can put a mic anywhere in my room and heavy mics at that!
    This is a tough stand and for the price, an amazing stand.

  • Stephen Sykes
    from Port Townsend, WA June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Long term musician, and part time recording guy.

    Nice Heavy Duty Stand

    This is a nice heavy duty, well built stand. One thing kept me from giving i a 5, there is a little ridge on the wheels where the two halves were joined in manufacture. They scratch the finish on my hardwood floors when I roll it around.

  • Don Kuchta
    from Kansas December 28, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Musician and Recording Hobbyist.

    Great for the Money

    Inexpensive and Functional! Make sure you have at least an eight foot ceiling otherwise it will be too tall for you to use. Works very well. The base could be a couple of pounds heavier but otherwise a great product.

  • Dennis Motter
    from chino ca. May 29, 2012Music Background:
    playing in bands since 1964

    Perfect drummers mic stand

    I put a goose neck on it and it works good for the drums. I can boom it all the way out

  • Shad
    from Tacoma, WA April 4, 2014Music Background:
    25 year audio pro, studio owner, National touring live sound guy.

    Not for heavy mics!!!! - BEWARE

    I got one of these in a package deal and was excited about the value of this purchase until I tried to put a tube mic on it...The set screws are very weak and do not support heavy mics well at all! BEWARE!!!

    As a long time audio pro, this is not my first go around with these types of mic stands. Not by a long shot. While manipulating the mic into position you ALWAYS hold onto the mic securely. I did that and let go to place another mic and this thing spun!

    If you have cheap mics (less than $1000) you may be OK with this thing as long as the mic doesn't weigh much. If you need to hold a mic at an angle of 45 degrees BEWARE if can spin on you! I had a brand new Neumann U87AI rotate this thing unexpectedly and crash to the floor. ( I was placing the screw on locking collar on the bottom of the Neuman when this happened) You could somewhat exepect it from the heavier tube mic and after it spun I made double sure to tighten everything up. It was already tight! I didn't expect it from the much lighter Neumann U87!

    It happened the first time and I thought I was being careless. Then it happened a SECOND TIME! It just does not hold mics securely at all. Great idea, Poorly executed by On Stage Stands.

    If you are using very light weight small diaphragm mics this thing is a great deal. If you are using ANY large diaphragm mics BE VERY CAREFUL! Also the metal is very cheap and very soft pot metal, and the lock down mechanisms are plastic! Don't trust your expensive mics to this thing. I have a nicely dented brand new U87 because of this stand.

    I have been a professional audio guy for 25 years and pride myself in keeping my gear in perfect condition. None of my mics had dents, and many barely have scratches and now I have a dented Neumann and that ticks me off.

    However if you are a very tight budget, it may work for you for a while but if you are a serious studio owner that has a serious mic locker like I do, get the Atlas stand. The peace of mind you will get with the more expensive stand is well worth the money.

    I own a large commercial facility and pretty much relegated this stand to holding a cheap mic in a corner for a room mic. That is how low my trust is of this thing.

  • Pier Giacalone
    from Doylestown PA January 5, 2011Music Background:
    Damn near everything. Producer/engineer/musician/composer/etc/etc

    Eh

    This stand is NOT sturdy at all. I don't know how anyone could think that. The boom is basically held on with 2 very weak weld points. I lifted it a few inches to get over a threshold and the weight of the boom snapped it off the main pole. I'm waiting for a replacement now. I have an old Atlas that's beat up but THAT is what sturdy looks like. I bought it used for less than this one was new.

    That said, otherwise, it is what it is; the most affordable large boom on the market. If that's what you need and your funds are tight and you can't wait for a used Atlas to come on the market, then go for it. Just be REALLY careful with it. You definitely get what you pay for.

  • Customer
    from January 9, 2016

    Old wobbler

    Besides the height you gain, this stand offers no improvement over a standard tripod stand, if anything, when extended it wobbles more than a tripod. Especially so near a drumkit. Components loosen themselves easily contributing this wobble (which contributed to rumble) and the runners used to secure cable are sharp enough to pierce the shielding on the cable.

Questions about the On-Stage Stands SMS7650 Hex Base Studio Boom Mic Stand?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway