0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Peterson SP-1 StroboPlus HD Chromatic Handheld Strobe Tuner Reviews

4.5 stars based on 31 customer reviews
Questions about the Peterson SP-1 StroboPlus HD Chromatic Handheld Strobe Tuner?

Questions about the Peterson SP-1 StroboPlus HD Chromatic Handheld Strobe Tuner?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 18, 2017Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome Tuner & Metronome

    This is a great tuner. Easy to use and the additional features such as the metronome makes it a great practice tool along with customizable presets to save your favorite settings. I own the previous version (StroboFlip) and this is a nice improvement.

  • from Waukegan, Il May 5, 2017Music Background:
    Professional/Recording

    YOU NEED THIS!

    A long time ago I had a Peterson guitar tuner. It was big but it was always accurate. That tuner was damaged years ago in a basement flood and I never found the money to get that tuner again. I've spent years with bouncing needles and flashing lines which in truth you just don't know how accurate they are and then I saw this. I read the reviews and bought this. It just came today. I was in the middle of setting my intonation with the tuner I had who's name I will not mention. That tuner said I was dead on! Ha! Not compared to what this Peterson told me. Barely within 5 cents. I finished setting the intonation with this this Peterson HD and it is night and day accurate. There's still a lot to learn about this tuner because it has a lot of functions and ones that I'll probably never use but the point is if you don't have this and your trying to tune with those little $20 tuners you aren't in tune no matter what that jumping needle or big green line says. Trust me. If your serious about being in tune or do your own setups you need this!

  • from Ohio February 23, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar

    Perfect!

    I originally bought this product through a third party supplier of Amazons. The unit was covered in a white powdery substance that I wrote and asked Peterson directly about. They informed me the white powder was not normal and the serial number on this unit was originally sold to Latin America. It was really great to see a manufacturer so concerned about not only their product but their customer. I immediately returned it to Amazon and purchased a BRAND NEW one from Sweetwater.

    The unit is perfect. Does everything the manufacturer claims. I read a couple of the negative reviews stating the unit was cheaply made. Nothing about this unit screamed cheap to me. I checked the harmonics on my guitar with my clip on tuner. They showed dead on, however I could hear they were slightly out. This unit immediately showed they were out, and with the strobe just how much. My guitars have never sounded better. This unit should be in every performing musicians gig bag or on their work bench.

    For guitar players everywhere, thank you Peterson for a great department, and for your excellent customer service.

  • from December 25, 2016

    StroboPlus

    Very accurate tuner. Charges on computer USB didn't think I would like that but I haven't had to buy a battery yet and the thing stays charged for ever. Very good for setting intonation. May seem pricy for a tuner but it's well worth it. I highly recommend this product. Thanks to Ben Robinson for all you do. Love Sweetwater

  • from Colorado April 29, 2016Music Background:
    Mystified by many stringed instruments for decades

    Sweet tuning in toxic environment?

    Pedal steel players who are trying to sweet tune your instrument in a noisy environment - this is the answer. Just dial in the setting for E9 tuning and jack your instrument into the tuner and you've got it. Also, if you play other instruments with altered tunings, just dial in the appropriate setting for whatever you're playing. It's a very nice tool.

  • from January 14, 2016

    MUST FOR PEDAL STEEL GUITARISTS

    This gadget is a necessary expense for the pedal steel guitarist as well as the non-pedal steel player. It has all the "sweeteners" for existing pedal steel tunings in addition to a few non-pedal ones. Emmons and Newman are no longer with us, but they have left us a legacy with the sweeteners in the Strobe Tuner.

  • from September 22, 2015

    Money Well Spent

    OK. Its just an accurate tuner, right? I've been using tuners for decades, right? Well, then why do all my instruments sound better now? I'm not even kidding. Besides its inherent accuracy, credit has to be given to how easy it is to tell with this thing that you are actually in tune ( no bouncing needle), and how much 1-3 cents on each string matter. I should have purchased this a million years ago, but I just didn't know how much it mattered. Oh, and I can also do my own intonations now, so that saves me money. This has already paid itself off in cost savings on set-ups. I did not expect that.

  • from United States February 19, 2015

    Your guitar is out of tune...

    Firstly, it is fun to watch two sorry saps debate about the quality of different tone woods when their guitars are both out of tune. A cheap guitar that is perfectly in tune sounds better than an expensive guitar that is not in tune. This is a simple fact. Secondly, there is no such thing as "kind of" in tune. Your guitar is either in tune or is out of tune. Thirdly, your tuner might be accurate to 1/10th of 1 cent, but it has no way to convey this information to you. An oscillating arm that bounces around aimlessly or dual colored LCD can't communicate this degree of accuracy to you. Thus, even though your tuner knows how out of tune you are, it doesn't do a bit of good if it can't tell you how far out you are. That is where the strobe comes in handy. Stop kidding yourself, and get in tune. If you aren't using a strobe tuner then your guitar is out of tune. Plain and simple.

  • from China Grove NC January 28, 2015Music Background:
    retired beginner

    great for beginners

    Wonderful tuner for beginners . It has many features I do not yet have the skills to appreciate but seeing the note and octave lets me not loose my place . Thanks again for recommending it when I called .

  • from Michigan November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Bluegrass musician, Recording hobbyist

    Super Glue for the Mix

    Highly accurate tuning for all of the acoustic bluegrass instruments using the Peterson SP-1 sweetened tuning presets is like super glue for the mix. Clip-on tuners don't have the accuracy to get you to that sweet spot bringing all the instruments tightly in tune together like SP-1 does! A necessity for anyone who records acoustic music.

  • from Chicago May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, & Guitar player

    Peterson SP-1 StroboPlus

    I had a Peterson Strob back in 1970
    And the new one is a grate tool to have, your guitar will never sound better. The best tool in the world to setup guitars
    Sweetwater rocks good job !!!

  • from Doylestown, PA December 24, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, engineer, guitar player, live sound engineer, performer.

    Best Tuner I've Ever Used

    Not sure why anyone would buy the pedal now that this is out. The display is way bigger. It has a desktop kickstand which is great. I haven't even begun to use the features of this tuner, just enjoying the accuracy, which was why I bought it in the first place. I'm a studio owner and guitar player. I needed a tuner that could be handheld and desktop operated easily as well as serve on my pedal board. A little velcro added to the back and it's fine on my board. My only complaint is that I wish it also had a 9v power jack. The charge lasts so it's not that big a deal, but it would be nice to be able to be charging it while it's running on my board.

  • from Neenah, WI July 31, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist - ongoing learner

    Extremely capable tuner

    This is not a technical review of this tuner's many features. It is very versatile. I like the easy to read display, and the design is simple and intuitive. The tuning is exact and precise. It takes a little while to get used to working with it but it is well worth the effort. The sweetened tunings make my Taylor guitars sound just perfect. I recommend the Stroboplus to anyone who needs a tuner for a wide variety of instruments or wants their instrument to sound "just right."

  • from May 1, 2017

    Sweet

    Very sweet tuner. Easy to use. The personal customization is great. A little pricey if you're just looking for a simple tuner. If you do any kind of setup, it's well worth it.

  • from Cedar Lake July 15, 2016

    StroboPlus HD is A+

    Really good tuner....best one i've had yet....the Strobe really settles down when you hit your Notes Target....luv it....

  • from Atlanta June 24, 2016Music Background:
    20+ years on the road playing Gospel, country, Blues.

    Steel guitar genie

    Great tuner! I use it live for my E9th pedal steel with the first two sweetened settings for PSG and it gets me where I want it in minutes. Also great for setting up your other instruments as well.

  • from Texas April 27, 2016

    Versatile Tuner for a great price.

    I remember when there was no such thing as a digital tuner. In those days, mechanical strobe tuners were the 'super standard' that all others were compared to, but they were prohibitively expensive...Not something that most people could justify.
    Forward forty years, and we have the Peterson SP-1 StroboPlus. This thing is outstanding! It only takes a few minutes to figure out the controls, it's fast, and very easy to read. You can create virtually any tunings you can dream up, AND store them. I tried a couple of the sweetened tunings, and checked out the tone generator. Cool features, all. The built-in microphone is really sensitive, and the 1/4" IN/OUT jacks make it convenient to tune and immediately play to check how they sound through an amp.
    Now for my only complaint, and the reason for the sub-5 star rating.
    This thing was $140. As stated above, I know how much of a value this super accurate strobe tuner is all by itself, but $40 extra to unlock the metronome? I guess I won't be doing that anytime soon.
    All in all, this is a fantastic tuner.

  • from Maryland March 17, 2016Music Background:
    Semi professional

    Somewhat expensive but worth it

    I needed something more precise than any of my other (8) tuners to set the intonation on several of my guitars. Okay, I'll probably adjust the intonation on all the rest of them at some time in the future now that I have the Peterson Strobe Tuner. Even though the thing is rather large, it has an onboard battery so it still travels well. There are so many features with this tuner that the manual is vital, however, it is very straight forward to use when tuning a guitar. I was quite impressed with the accuracy of the tuning and was able to set the intonation quickly. If you are a musician this is more that enough to stay ahead of any tuning issues. Technicians may require more features but this may suffice for them as well.

  • from Roseville, CA August 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Top Tier Full Featured Unit

    Highly recommended fool-proof unit. Very versatile full featured strobe tuner. The extras are worth puchasing, however they are a bit pricey. I feel the base price is fair, which make the accessories a little easier to justify.

  • from San Tan Valley, Arizona July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced Semi Pro Guitar Player

    Peterson Virtual Strobe Tuners are Great Tuners

    When my Stoboflip died after about 10 years of service, upon looking for a new one found they are discontinued. So I purchased the StrobPlus HD. I use the electric guitar sweetened setting and have for years. It is a very nice setting and sounds good all along the fret board. I believe this unit is better than the flip. Better display, tuning visuals are a little easier to use, especially if you are used to one of these. The manual leaves a little to be desired, hence the 4.5 rating. Not particularly helpful compared to the old flip manual. Otherwise this is a very good unit that will improve your sound and I would not hesitate to purchase another. Been playing guitar about 50 years and have been through a lot of tuners. These are top notch.

  • from Houston, TX April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, performer, composer, teacher, director

    Great rehearsal aid!

    This device works very well. Many times, tunes with built-in mikes don't seem to pick up sounds from the entire room, but this one seems to do OK. Also, I love the large, graphic display...it can be seen all around the room. I also like being able to charge it so easily.

  • from Vista, CA May 24, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar, Keys, ex Sex Symbol.

    Great technology for low $

    Really nice tuner- never realized how marginal those neck tuners are til I started doing my own setups. Just love Sweetwater, my first one of these went bad, was replaced immediately w no hassle.

  • from Murfreesboro, Tn. March 26, 2016Music Background:
    30 + years of fun & games

    Peterson SP-1, worth it!

    I've wanted a strobe tuner for a very long time. Finally, I bought an SP-1. It has many tuning options, so I tune my guitars & mandolin to whatever I want. It's very accurate and easy to use.

  • from Bridgeton Mo. January 8, 2016

    stroboplus

    Tuner works great, when you see how it works nothing is or even could be more accurate.I only use the equal and sweetened tunings, although you can customize it to do whatever you want. I would give it 5 stars,but I just got it and until I see how long it last I will withhold complete judgement, but no other tuner will be more accurate. It was the first time I bought from Sweetwater and they seemed great, I don't know what more they could do.

  • from Florida May 6, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Educator

    Peterson tuners are the best

    Very nice tuner and very accurate. Wish that the metronome software was included in the price but it cost extra and must be downloaded from Peterson. I called Peterson with a question and actually had a real human answer the phone and helped me with the technical question. One thing for sure is that they really do treat thier customers well!

  • from Phoenix, Arizona October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer and Promoter.

    Much more accurate

    This is my first use of a strobe tuner. It took me a while to dial in the strobe with no movement but once you work with it your guitars will sound much more in tune. I have used it for Bass, 6 and 12 string electrics so far. It is well worth the cost.

  • from April 23, 2014

    Peterson SP-1 StroboPlus

    Only used on E9 pedal steel. Sweetened tuning really takes the hassle out of getting it in tune.

    I can tune up 10 strings, 3-pedals and 4 knee levers in a minute or two and it sounds right on.

  • from Sonoma, CA November 19, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-professional musician and Recording Engineer among other fields

    Stroboplus vs Turbo tuner 122a Choice

    To me it seemed the only real choice in strobe tuners was down to the Stroboplus or the Turbo tuner 122a. Since I wanted one I could custom program for custom tuning of one of my guitars these were the choice. The Stroboclip isn't programable.

    I preferred the led lights and instant response of the 122a and the supposed ability to see from the pattern when a string was past it prime. However I found the programing of the 122a and ease of use didn't match the Stroboplus. It's just plain easy to use. I added up the rechargeable battery, the on-line programming of custom tunings and how quickly I could go from one setting to another plus the difference in price and there was only one choice.

    I did find that their baritone setting was not right for my 416ce on the low B string. But once I got that string to correctly match the others it was easy to just use the cents offset adjustment to find out what correction was needed and added it to my own custom tuning preset. I was able to reverse engineer the factory preset to see what settings they were using.

    The only issue I found was while there is a way to change the cents from moving in 10ths to whole cents I could not out how to do it in the instructions or videos. Should have been in the manual.

    In the end, I liked the unit enough to get a second one for a backup.

    I

  • from February 16, 2017

    Great Tuner - But Connect only works on Chrome

    Don't get me wrong, this is a great tuner out of the box. However, you can register your tuner with Peterson, but don't expect to connect and get other tunings and system updates if you don't want to use the Chrome browser by Google and all the spying/mining that it does. It puts a dark shadow over a good product.

  • from March 16, 2015

    Strobo Plus

    Like any new instrument it takes some effort to figure out and use. It's a lot like a swiss army knife in that it can do many things. It was perhaps a little over kill for me, but I'd rather spend a little bit more money and get something that will both last and be reliable. I have my own music studio and own numerous instruments, so it's NOT the case of tuning just one guitar. I had to email the company to get feedback from them when I got started, and they answered quickly.

    If you're looking for something to tune a single guitar I'd recommend a simpler and lower cost tuner like Roland/Boss or equivalent.

  • from Fort Calhoun, NE April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Fragile

    My tuner fell about 2 1/2 feet off a chair on carpet. The screen cracked from that. It's only good for a paper weight now.
    Very poor durability in my opinion

Questions about the Peterson SP-1 StroboPlus HD Chromatic Handheld Strobe Tuner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway