0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Tone Gear Guitar String Cleaner Reviews

3.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • Russ
    from White Bear Lake, MN February 13, 2015Music Background:
    25+ years guitarist, recording engineer, hobbyist

    Great idea with poor durability

    The concept is great and the first few times I used this it worked nicely. It has a cheap build quality, but I figured that didn't matter as long as it did the job. After about 10 uses the cloth pads came unglued and would curl under the pressure of the strings when gliding up and down the neck, thus rendering it useless.

    Not recommended.

  • Dan R
    from Underwood,IN December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, student.

    Why did I buy this?

    Does nothing for me.

  • Ross Lumus
    from Baytown, TX USA August 19, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician.

    Does the job, if a little flimsy.

    I have the world's worst sweaty-handitosis. Corroding guitar strings in record time would be my useless superpower. This being the case, I really have to wipe down my strings and fingerboard after every playing session if they are to have any hope of survival. This device has definitely helped in that regard. Being able to clean the undersides of the strings seems to let them live if only for a little while longer. My only gripe is that the locking clips on the far side come loose when you get to the tighter area near the nut. Would like it a little more sturdy. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Customer
    from United States April 19, 2014

    Just what I've been looking for.

    Works great and really fast. Only easy way I've found to get the bottom of the strings cleaned also.

  • scott harding
    from meadville, PA February 22, 2014

    Works pretty well

    Smart design and does the job. Just be careful up by the nut on low action guitars. It caused the high E to unseat on my LP.

  • Tod Shakespeare
    from December 20, 2013

    The best stringer around.

    Two good things about this product. It works very well and it doesn't require a liquid solution.

  • jim strzelecki
    from Dyer indiana April 18, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner

    Fast and easy

    This makes cleaning strings fast and easy, so far I like it.

  • Tommy Rad
    from Sarasota, FL USA June 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer.

    Great Idea!

    I have been playing guitar for 31 years, and I've been using the same strings for all that time. I am a kinda particular about my axes, and I like new strings as well as the net guy, but I've been able to get some extra mileage out of a set of strings because I clean them "every time" I play them. It has been a bit tedious because I use an old T-shirt to wipe each string up and down as well as run the cloth under the whole set to clean up the fretboard a bit. This new "String Cleaner" is doing what I've been doing for 30 years but it does it all at once, and it does as good of a job as I do with my old rags. Whoever thinks that not cleaning their strings after each play doesn't add life and tone to a set is just plan wrong! It's physics, dude! Metal fatigues, and oxidizes especially from the finger fluids that you leave on the strings and the fretboard every time you play. The only suggestion I would have is to put the a yellow cleaning pad on the bottom part that runs along the wood of the fretboard. That would clean the frets and wood as well. I just turn it over and run the cleaning pad along the fretboard wood and it does a pretty good job as well. The plastic that runs along the strings with it being used upside down has a nominal affect to the strings. So, good job to whoever thought this one up. It is a winner!

  • Yuhui Zhu
    from Upton, NY USA March 2, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Good design, but not so useful as I expected

    I thought this cleaner can really help my string to stay clean, but the string catches dirt as always, which makes me think that cleaning the strings everyday is a waste of time... I think I'll just use the strings until they need to be replaced...

  • Daniel L. Couch
    from Bradford Pa. 16701 February 13, 2012Music Background:
    guitar player - hobby

    string cleaner

    very pleased, thank you.

Questions about the Tone Gear Guitar String Cleaner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway