rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Squier Vintage Modified '70s Stratocaster - Vintage White Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified '70s Stratocaster - Vintage White?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified '70s Stratocaster - Vintage White?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from United States September 28, 2012Music Background:
    Professional guitarist , songwriter, touring musician

    Squier Vintage Modified 70's

    I have always played Telecasters. I've only owned one American Standard Strat and lost it. But on a hunch I saw this Squier hanging on the wall and I picked it up, played it without plugging it in. I knew almost instantly this was it. I picked it up a couple of days later bought it and I was right. When I plugged it in , it was true love. I've payed as as much as $5000.00 for guitars before, but I got this for around 235.00 . I did some minor, and mean minor adjustments. You know setting the intonation,"it was off only by a few cents. Dialed in the whammy bar, again minor adjustment, now I can dive bomb like early Van Halen. It goes from country to straight up in your face Deep Purplish rock with just the roll of the volume. I am a professional guitarist for over twenty eight years now, and all I can say to sum this up is way to go Indonesian Fenders!!!! This guitar is dead stock and it is every bit as good , or better than some of my most expensive guitars. This is truly a working musicians guitar. If you got a couple of hundred bucks, go get one now. I'll probably hot rod the pickups ,but I won't get rid o the stock ones. Truly a masterpiece , and a hell of a ton of fun to play. Don't change a thing, this guitar is everything I say it is. All I know is proof is in the pickin' try one for yourself, and you too will be a beliver as well.

  • from Bellingham ma March 5, 2015Music Background:
    35 yr hobbyist

    Nice guitar

    Beautiful looking guitar . Comfortable neck . The pickups are a little distorted.they sound good clean but not so good with an overdrive
    Over all it's a pretty nice guitar

  • from Grafton, WI December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, performer

    Fantastic Guitar

    The answer to the age-old question, "how many guitars do you need?" is simple..."just one more." So, when my kids gave me a Sweetwater giftcard for Christmas, I decided to add another axe to my collection, but I didn't want to spend a ton. I wanted something that would be visually appealing, fun to play, and of decent quality to back up my mexi strat and tele. After doing some research, I went for the Vintage Modified 70's strat.

    Out of the box, the guitar looks great. The vintage white color is actually a pale yellow. It reminds me of the color strat that Yngwie Malmsteen and Ritchie Blackmore used back in the day. The neck is a gold hue, and the black pickups and knobs make this guitar. The guitar is noticably lighter than my strat, but it does not feel "cheap" in any way. It is a solid guitar in every respect. It does not feel like a toy in my hands. The action may be a touch high out of the box, but that is a matter of taste. In any event, that's nothing a quick set-up wouldn't take care of.

    The guitar plays well...bends come with ease, and it stays in tune. As far as the tone is concerned, I wanted that authentic strat sound, and this guitar delivers nicely. It handles the blues as well as classic rock and metal riffs without a problem. It also sounds great clean, too. The sound is unmistakable. It is a strat without question.

    As far as my rating is concerned, keep in mind that everything is relative. When I give this guitar a 4.5, I'm comparing it to other guitars in its class and of like construction. This is not a low end piece of junk. The value for the price is unbeatable. Pick this baby up and you won't be disappointed.

  • from Indianapolis December 14, 2016Music Background:
    Musician since age 12. Founder of The Walker Band

    Excellent Strat for the Price.

    I purchased this guitar in store at the Sweetwater facility. As always Sweetwater's customer service was beyond expectation. This is a very solid guitar for the low price. I gig every week and this has become my number one. The body is basswood so it is important to know that it will dent easily and it is easy to strip the screws if you tighten them too tight in the body. However the basswood makes it a fairly light guitar. The electronics are decent, I recommend swapping them out for American fender parts, but they are acceptable for live performance. I had an issue with one of the tuners not holding tune after about three months of heavy use and swapped them out for Fender 70's tuners, which required some drilling, but was not difficult. I also replaced the pickguard with an aged white one, and all the knobs and pickups covers with cream ones and it looks incredible. The reason I prefer this guitar over my other Stratocasters is the neck. The neck is incredibly smooth, slim, and fast. I generally perform for 3-4 hours at a time and the ease of this neck keeps my hands from cramping. The only comparison I have seen to the playability of this neck was on a vintage 1977 Stratocaster. The finish on this guitar is great. It allows some of the natural wood to show through and will wear nicely. In today's market with some after market upgrades this guitar will be much nicer than a Chinese Fender for nearly double the price. Squire has really gone the distance the last couple of years to make affordable, quality products and it shows very much in this instrument.

  • from December 11, 2016

    good bargain

    This guitar is a good value after you spend some time on it. Every time I get a new a new guitar I take it to guitar tech. Out of the box it needed some minor adjustments and I also polished the frets with steel wool, if your not sure how to do it just look it up, its easy. I highly recommend this squire, I have a classic vibe squire made in China and it cost $ more than a vintage modified made in Indonesia. I'm my opinion the vintage modified is a better guitar. Just take it to tech!

  • from March 28, 2015

    Nice guitar overall

    Nice fit and finish, pick-ups are great. Came with 9's on it and vibrato stayed in tune even with abuse. Very impressed by that. Frets are quite level and no sharpies. The guitar seemed very fresh from the factory so it really had to settle in over the course of a couple of weeks. I've done a bunch of mods and am super happy with the end result.

    Here they are...
    mod 1: install 10s and adjust nut to accommodate, heavy vibrato use doesn't stay in tune as well as the 9s though but it's not bad, no different than any strat I've played.
    mod 2: replaced tone block with a 100% solid brass tone block
    mod 3: new warmouth 3-ply pick guard with bridge pup angled in the opposite direction of stock
    mod 4: with the pickgaurd I ordered just 2 holes for volume and tone as I've always hated the location of the volume knob on strats. I seem to always hit it and turn the guitar down. So now I have a master vol and tone and that knob near the bridge is gonzo!
    Mod 5 all electronics upgraded, pots are cts, .022uf tone cap, switchcraft 5-way and input. I put the tone at about 6 or 7 and it's killer.
    Mod 6: took some 1500 grit sandpaper to the back of the neck to thin out the finish, very slick now.

    This thing rocks and I'll stand it up next to any other Strat out there. I can't believe I paid just over 2 bills for this and invested maybe another hundy in parts/labor.
    I have neck relief set at .007 and action at the 12th at 4/64 low and 3.5/64 high E. No buzz.

    The only thing I'd consider doing is a pro fret job on to make them perfect and eek out a touch more sustain but it's really not necessary at all. I've got a Carvin that was built for me and those frets are truly perfect so that's my reference for any guitar.

    Great guitar and a great starting point for customization. Now I'm thinking of getting a Squire CV Tele!

  • from Sugar Land, TX January 21, 2013Music Background:
    off and on gigging guitarist, 36 years experience.

    A real guitar

    There was a time when Squiers were kind of a joke. A non-serious guitar for newbies only. Terrible build, electronics, and hardware. I've noticed in the past few years that has changed a lot with some models. The Classic Vibe series and Vintage Modified series are real guitars. I've played for decades and owned $200 guitars and $2000 guitars. I wouldn't be embarrassed to have this on the rack next to any expensive guitar. The fretwork is great, no barbs and they're uniformly level, the finish was perfect all around, and the duncan designed pickups sound far better than the standard strat pickups in the $500 Mexican models. This guitar is worth every penny of its price.

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified '70s Stratocaster - Vintage White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway