0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - Vintage Blonde Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - Vintage Blonde?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - Vintage Blonde?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Honolulu, Hawaii November 2, 2016

    Great Strat at any price

    I just received this guitar from Sweetwater, and I'm quite astounded at how well it plays and how great it sounds. The build quality, finish, and attention to detail are equal to many more expensive guitars. The only thing that gives it away as a budget guitar is the finish on the bridge (and I'm sure it uses cheaper pots and switches than more expensive Fenders, but I'm not picky about those) . To me these things don't really affect the sound quality, as this guitar's Duncan Designed pickups sound as good as the Vintage Noiseless ones on the new Deluxe series (I have a rosewood board Deluxe Roadhouse in Ice Blue and a maple neck Ash body Deluxe in Transparent Blue). I think they sound better than Fat 50s or Texas Specials. Very responsive and crisp sounding, with a lot of vintage vibe. And it plays like a dream. For some reason it seems to be easier to bend on this guitar than my other Strats. It's definitely a keeper! And Jonathan Casarow's customer service was second to none.

  • from san antonio texas July 2, 2015Music Background:
    retired semi- pro

    it doesn't get any better..

    I bought mi vm at a music store some time ago,,for the price it doesn't get any better,,i use mine as a backup guitar on stage,,..the finish is excellent [ sunburst] and everything works as it should,,fender has done it again,,between this and the classic vibe,,both are excellent guitars..much better than the stuff they first put out

  • from Chicago IL June 18, 2013Music Background:
    40 yrs playing

    Are you Sure this is a Squier?

    Wow I like the Duncan Design Pickups you can get great tones I'm running thru a Marshall right now and can't believe how well it play and has great output .I've had many Strats thru the years you can't beat it.

  • from October 5, 2012

    Excellent Value

    I own several Fender Stratocasters both MIA and MIM. I purchased this Squier VM Strat with the intent of modding it. However I am so pleased with it I decided to leave it stock. The finish is excellent, I love the vintage tint neck, and the Duncan designed pick- ups which are very bright. The quality between the higher end Squier guitars and their Fender siblings is very close. I was so pleased with this guitar I also purchased a 70's Vintage Modified Strat in black and maple.

  • from Carson City, NV July 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Metal, progressive rock

    WHOA!! THIS THINGS ROCKS!

    I got this guitar for fathers day and I was just blown away. This guitar sounds better than my other Strats. I am a die hard Fender Strat guy, but this Squier Strat sounds more brighter and richer. Add some distortion and you'll be blown away. I very highly recommend this guitar to anyone. Get one and you will love it.

  • from Massachusetts December 16, 2016

    Impressed with Squier

    I bought mine about three years ago. I'ts the vint. blonde- a bit transparent (can see a touch of grain in a couple of areas) but nothing to detract -imo. Sounds excellent, like the feel of the neck better than my Fender MIM. Seems to be easier for chords, though they both have same radius. Have D'addario 9's on it,great for bends. Recommended.

  • from Oregon July 18, 2016Music Background:
    Bass,25 years,guitar, about7+

    squier vintage modified stratocaster-vintage blonde

    what a price
    what a guitar

  • from Ohio June 16, 2015Music Background:
    30 years acoustic rhythm

    surprised

    This is the fourth guitar I have purchased from Sweetwater (Washburn J600, Standard Telecaster, Godin Empire). THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS EXCEPTIONAL!! Thank you Greg! I wanted a Strat to add to my growing collection, but not an expensive one. Action is perfect, great set up, fret edges were not rough (as in some reviews). And a good Strat sound. I will plan to get a true Fender Strat at some point, but I am really enjoying this guitar. Actually, not disappointed with any of them! Sweetwater is my go to store. I have contacted tech support twice, and they are friendly, they know their guitars, and I was not made to feel like the amateur I am.

  • from Tulsa, OK USA July 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Value

    The Squier Vintage Modified Strat is a bona-fide instrument with great tone and playability. Fit, finish and materials are mostly excellent. The tuners work well, and the nut is properly cut, so there are no tuning problems. The factory setup was so good that I haven't done a thing to it. I also have a VM Mustang bass, and I am nothing but impressed with the value that the VM line delivers.

    The only cons with my particular instrument are cosmetic. The rosewood fretboard is lighter than I would like (almost a chocolate brown), and there is a whorl in the middle of it, but overall it's not enough to make me return it. Also, I mistakenly thought "vintage blonde" was a solid opaque color. It's actually a semi-trans finish that will allow any figure in the wood to show through. My guitar has darker stripes clearly showing through, which isn't really my style. If I were doing it again, I'd go with the sunburst finish or black.

  • from MASS. May 19, 2016Music Background:
    40 YEAR MUSICIAN

    SQUIER VINTAGE STRAT

    THIS vintage modified squire strat plays 100% better than I than I could ever imagine,stays in tune,and playability is smooth,Just a nice guitar.

  • from Brttleboro, Vt March 26, 2013Music Background:
    musically inclined

    A good buy

    It's not the real thing, but for a beginner who's just learning to play, or if you just want a nice guitar to add to a small collection of Fender sounding guitars, you can't go wrong with this. Good quality and sound, nice neck and good finish.

  • from United States January 14, 2014Music Background:
    19 years guitar player, student, manufacturing

    Nice for the money, but cheap materials make it a dud

    These are really impressive for the price, but I can't stand playing it. When I purchased it, I played every sub $500 strat in the store (about 7 strats from MIM to Classic Vibe Indonesian), and it felt the best, but there are a few sharp fret edges and the fret board wood was bone dry... not a good sign. However, the fret edges don't cut my hands or anything and this guitar felt the best. I used some fret doctor to oil the board, and it is much improved. However, I regret buying the guitar new. The materials they use are just dead, and it doesn't exactly sound like a strat, even with the stock American Fender pickups I installed in this VM. Also, there are several finish flaws. I decided to hook my friend up with it for $100 as his first "real" guitar.

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - Vintage Blonde?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway