rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - 3-tone Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - 3-tone Sunburst?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - 3-tone Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Georgia January 3, 2017Music Background:
    Lifetime of vocal, piano, guitar and others

    Love it!

    I bought mine used without a scratch on it with plans to install a set of Tex-Mex pickups I'd bought. After playing it as it was, I had a very difficult time deciding to replace the Duncan designed pickups! But that's what I bought it for, and I added a black pickguard so that it now looks just like the SRV signature model.

    But those Duncan designed pickups are definitely going in my Squire Standard!

  • from AZ December 12, 2016Music Background:
    Self taught

    Nice guitar

    Sounds great. Feels great. Looks great. The price was great. The shipping was great.

  • from Modesto, CA November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Still writing and recording Gospel tunes, for friends and family

    Best bang for the buck!!!:)

    I was just looking for a cheap strat that I could do a little recording with, and wouldn't be afraid to take to an occasional outing. This thing surpassed all of my expectations! For the price point I truly don't think you can do better...no it's not an american strat, but it is sweet! The fit, and finish are top rate, and the pickups sound good enough not to change. My favorite thing about this beast is the neck...it just feels right in my hands...maybe it's just me, but it's one of the best neck profiles i've ever felt. Thanks again to Nate Edwards, and the sweetwater staff...for yet another satisfying purchase!!!:)

  • from Chicago IL June 18, 2013Music Background:
    40 yrs playing

    Are you Sure this is a Squier?

    Wow I like the Duncan Design Pickups you can get great tones I'm running thru a Marshall right now and can't believe how well it play and has great output .I've had many Strats thru the years you can't beat it.

  • from October 5, 2012

    Excellent Value

    I own several Fender Stratocasters both MIA and MIM. I purchased this Squier VM Strat with the intent of modding it. However I am so pleased with it I decided to leave it stock. The finish is excellent, I love the vintage tint neck, and the Duncan designed pick- ups which are very bright. The quality between the higher end Squier guitars and their Fender siblings is very close. I was so pleased with this guitar I also purchased a 70's Vintage Modified Strat in black and maple.

  • from sa antonio texas August 15, 2015Music Background:
    lifetime musician

    plays like my first strat

    I bought this on a whim,,it is a great guitar for the price,,it plays like an old strat,,and sounds like one too,,the Chinese factory is getting real good at making guitars,,look out America,,

  • from August 8, 2015Music Background:
    15+ years

    Getting Back To Electric

    After years of apartment living, I'd given away or sold all of my electric guitar equipment and stuck with my acoustics. I got itch a few months back after playing a friend's Ibanez semi hollow (a nice guitar, but out of my price range and not my style) so I looked around and this one caught my attention.

    It's everything a strat should be: it sounds, feels, and looks like it should, there is no mistaking it. There were a few issues though. The truss rod needed tightening up, the action was a bit high (at both bridge and nut), and the intonation was slightly off, but these were quickly dealt with. It could probably use a fret dressing and a bridge setup, but I'll play it for a few more months first. I expected these issues for a guitar in this price range, and by no means was the guitar unplayable as it came, but a little tweak here and there improved it noticeably.

    I was disappointed to find that it had the modern, narrow, bridge spacing of about 2 1/16 instead of the classic wider spacing, but I can live with it and I'm probably in the minority on this. There is also a pretty highly figured slab of wood mixed in with the rest of the body blocks that looks tacky, but it's growing on me. I love the neck, but it gets to be too skinny in the higher frets.

    It's a great guitar, and not just because of the price. Its pickups are wonderful. The fit and finish of it is great. I've had buyer's remorse before, but not this time.

  • from NW Indiana June 30, 2015

    Vintage feel at bargain price

    This guitar is another fine value deliver by the Squier brand of import instruments. I own and enjoy several. They are mod friendly and very satisfying. The electronics are a major plus on the Vintage Modified strat, featuring real functional tone controls. I added a replacement brass trem block and a complete by the book set up that yielded amazing clarity.

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Stratocaster - 3-tone Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway