0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Squier Standard Stratocaster - Antique Burst with Rosewood Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Standard Stratocaster - Antique Burst with Rosewood Fingerboard?

Questions about the Squier Standard Stratocaster - Antique Burst with Rosewood Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 18, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Piano/Keyboard.

    Great Playing Guitar for the Price.

    I have been playing my Squier Strat for about 2 weeks now. I love it. Plays as well as some more expensive models. Stays in tune. Beautiful Finish. Pick ups are a little funny so far. I may need to wire the tone control to the bridge instead of the neck pick up. They are quite noisy for my use (Studio Recording, Amp and Effect Modeling, Small Tube amps.) So the only usable positions are 2 and 4. Single coil pickups can be noisy, so I'll be doing a pickup swap to some kind of noiseless pickups next time I change the strings, but that was the plan all along. My session guitar player suggested this to me because he knows I like to modify everything in my studio and this is a great value. His Squire sounds awesome and plays awesome too. Don't let Brand Badges fool you.

  • from Alabama (USA) December 11, 2014Music Background:
    pro guitar player self taught play by ear, read music write music and lead singer

    The Squier standard strat is as real as any American stratocaster

    This guitar arrived today along with a 20 watt mustang I modeling amp. The guitar came to me still in it's factory un-opened box, and it was very close to being in factory tune, the intonation is as good as it get's. string height is perfect right out of the box.

    The alnico pick ups along with the mustang I modeling amp is a sweet combination that I will keep and play for as long as I will live. I am a pro guitarist and I have some great Esperance playing in bands concerts and small clubs when I was younger and had more stamina.

    No games or anything purchase this guitar and you will never be sorry you have one.
    All the best to all of you

  • from Beaufort, NC April 1, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist - 40 years of fun!

    Surprising Guitar

    This is a surprisingly good guitar for the money. Right out of the box the intonation and action were just fine. I tuned it up and played for a couple of hours and after a while I was not believing it says "Squire" on the headstock and not "Fender." The playability, fit and finish are first rate. It compares favorably with my Fender Strats. The p'ups are little too tinny/trebly for my taste, but fortunately I have a set of p'ups out of a Strat Standard to slap in there when I change strings. I originally bought this ax to park at my girlfriends house (instead of one of my Fenders or Gibsons) so that if the grandchildren wanted to play with it I wouldn't have to worry about it & I could still serenade her with it. But not now, it's joining my collection, instead. So I bought a used Squire Strat to park at her house. LOL. All in all, an impressive guitar. And S/O to Phil for great service!

  • from December 31, 2012

    Squier Standard Stratocaster

    No complaints. The guitar came exactly as it was advertised

  • from West Union, Ohio January 23, 2012Music Background:
    Intermediate guitarist, intermediate bassist, and fantastic lyricist.

    Sweet guitar.

    Beginners, intermediates and parents- Pay no mind to the unwarranted hate that Squier gets from brand snobs. Because Squiers are some of the best guitars on the market. Sure, they're not a PRS or Gibson, but they're pretty good instruments.

    Now, this model in particular. It's a fine instrument. I bought a black one awhile ago (had it refinished in pearl white), and it was beautiful. The pickups are wonderful, action was nice and low, and without excessive abuse of the tremolo, the guitar stays in tune just fine. Plus, I always thought the 70's headstock was an aesthetic plus ;)

    I have no quarrel whatsoever with this guitar. Buy it, man.

  • from CINCINNATI OHIO March 23, 2008Music Background:
    SEMI PRO HOBBIST COLLECTO

    SUPRISE

    I purchased a squire standard strat.Mine has duncan design p/u and maple neck.Tweaked the string hieght andthis guitar plays better then my American made hhs strat. IT is so sweet sounding stays in tune intonation was perfect. It was to be a secomd guitar but not any more. Buy this guitar

  • from Kansas December 3, 2016

    Really Nice Strat

    I was looking for another Strat to add to my collection and, this one caught my eye. The color,tortoise shell pickguard, the white pickups and, control knobs and, I must admit the rosewood fingerboard is a Great looking combination, one other thing that I noticed about this guitar was the bridge and Trem setup, it has the 2 point bridge and, block saddles which are way better than the vintage setup especially the bent steel saddles where the screws stick out and, scratch your hand if you palm mute. I had a MIM Start that had these and, they were a nuisance. I had to grind them off to make the instrument comfortable to play(terrible). My MIA Strat has the 2 point bridge and, block saddles and, it is Great. I have 2 Squier vintage modified guitars a Jazzmaster and a Jaguar and, they are excellent instruments. I don't care for the low end stuff in the Squier line so I went to the middle of the road to see what was there. As I read and, watched reviews on this instrument I decided that I would give it a try. I will admit that I had to do a little setup on this guitar but, nothing major, just the usual stuff. When I got done I realized that this Strat looks,plays and, darned neared sounds as good as my MIA Strat! Amazing what a little TLC can accomplish. Overall very satisfied and, I would recommend this Strat to most anyone. Can't beat the value you receive for the money spent, get one on sale and, it gets even better!!!!

  • from York, PA June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A good buy for the money.

    Nothin fancy, but at my early experience level that is what I wanted and expected. A good choice for starting out and it Should keep me satisfied till i get more proficient.

  • from Franklin, TN USA September 10, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Cool

    well, I didn't get it from Sweetwater, but Shredder, as I call him is flippin good for the 120 dollars my dad paid for him. Parents of aspiring guitarists, this is probably the best guitar you can get for it's price.

  • from Pittsburg, CA USA May 23, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist and student

    The Squire wins tight race

    Well, it was a tough battle, but my Squire Standard Stratocaster beat out my other expensive guitars (Hohner, Cort, and Epiphone) in deciding which guitar I would be using in my Church band. I love this guitar. It stays in tune, the sustain is sweet, I can produce killer bends; it seems the neck was created by a Divine source specificaly to fit my hand. What is there not to like? Oh, yeah, did I mention it was extremely affordable? Bravo, Squire, bravo.

  • from California, Chico April 1, 2005

    Excellent Value

    I bought this guitar mainly because I wanted to have one electric guitar with a working vibrato for guitar overdubs on recordings. This little guy has really impressed me. The finish is beautiful. I'd like to compliment Sweetwater on the setup. That 40-point check they do on their guitars is evidentally no joke. This guitar came set-up from Schveetwater as nicely as my guitars come back from the local guitar tech I keep going back to. No dead frets, no buzzing. The slides on the neck can be performed more smoothly than I'd expect from a two-hundred dollar guitar. The vibrato doesn't throw the thing out of tune either - very smooth.

    The pickups are a bit of a dissappointment. If I were going to use this guitar to "play out" or to record a main guitar part, I'd want a change of pickups. For my uses, the stock ones will do for now. The neck pickup sounds muddy. The bridge pickup is overly bright, and is also significantly quieter than the middle and neck (perhaps I need to raise it up a bit). The middle pickup is the best of the bunch - representing a usable balance between the other two.

    Overall I'm really impressed. I like this guitar almost as much as the 70's mustang I'm selling to finance an amp purchase, and it cost a third of the price.

Questions about the Squier Standard Stratocaster - Antique Burst with Rosewood Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close