0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Squier Simon Neil Stratocaster Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • Tony
    from Arkansas August 17, 2015

    Top of the line!

    I've always been very nervous about buying a Squier due to it being Fender's cheaper line and have always heard how cheap they are made. I started doing some research and the Classic Vibe series have rave reviews and some say better than the Mex Strats. All I have to say is this guitars fit and finish was flawless and it plays even better. I could not be happier with my purchase!

  • Steven G.
    from Poughkeepsie, NY June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Product. Fantastic Service.

    The quality of this beauty is on par with Fenders costing five time the price. The fit, finish and tone far exceed the expectations one would have at this (and even twice it's) price point. As for my Sales Engineer Ryan Wiltermood I can not thank him enough for a wonderful and stress free buying experience.

  • Matt
    from Bryan, Ohio February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just what I was hoping for.

    I had been looking at Squier strats for a long time, and after reading all I could on the web I decided to make it happen. The Simon Neil model is essentially a CV60 but with special pickups that are a combination of Alnico 3 and 5. The tones I get out of this guitar are awesome. Nice vintage cleans with the ability to handle some gain as well. As far as the guitar itself?, it arrived in great condition. Fit and finish was superb, except for some roughness on the 19th fret. A few minutes of playing and now I don't even feel it. As many have said, if you are interested in a CV Strat but are hesitant to buy because it's a Squier, don't be. This is a fantastic axe! Sweetwater service and communication are top notch as well. I've spent many an hour in their guitar room!

  • Dirk Bremer
    from St Paul MO April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Serious amateur

    Loving it.

    Great color, great workmanship, and I like the different pickup setup. Plays like a dream. A note to Squier, more solid bright colors please!

    A tip of the hat to my salesman, Mark Bruhn.

  • Charlie
    from St paul, MN October 29, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Amateur

    Great Guitar for the price.

    This will be my 2nd squier classic vibe strat. I think these squiers are great guitars, and they pack a lot for the price tag. Im not one of those guys that rants how these can top any american made Fender. But the "quality" and "price to quality" ratio is very high IMO. I think they really did good on this finish, the fiesta red looks very true to the vintage color. The pics sort of make it look like candy red, but it has that salmon, pinkish hue we all love. Electronics and parts all check out good. Setup needed some attention for my taste, but it was playable out of the box. Seems to hold tune well as long as you aren't dive bombing the trem. Overall its a good, fun strat.

    Ps: Its a HSH route for all you mod junkies ;]

  • Randy
    from December 21, 2015

    Almost a Fender

    I bought this guitar for the look. It is beautiful and I am very happy with the look. It is almost a MIM Fender. It doesn't play as fast. It doesn't sound as good. But it almost does.

  • Jeff
    from July 2, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Professional

    Another Great Guitar from Squier

    The Classic Vibe Series from Squier are great guitars and this one is no exception. I bought this because I love Fiesta Red Strats with a rosewood fingerboard and this color is not offered in their 60's series. That being said, the pickups which are specific to this model are fantastic. Once again, set up was great out of the box and all I did was change the strings to 10's and go. The only thing I don't care for is the Biffy Clyro logo on the headstock, but that's about it. As usual Sweetwater and my Sales Associate Jimmy Hart were great and I got the guitar the day after I ordered it.

  • Ron
    from Palm Springs, CA August 31, 2014Music Background:
    Played for years in Club rock bands, happily retired.

    Fine guitar: Fine Service

    Guitar arrived set-up and intonated just as advertised. Great finish , beautiful Fiesta Red, all controls smooth, everything taken care of from a customer service point of view.
    I ordered a 2014 LP Traditional from Sweetwater last year and the thoughtfulness and care that was taken with my much more expensive guitar was evident with this Squire.

  • Fred
    from Western Kansas January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Dedicated Hobbyist

    Another Great Squire

    Squire really is providing a nice alternative for the budget minded player. I own an American Standard Strat and this guitar compares pretty nicely. It isn't an American Standard but it is pretty close and I think you would be splitting hairs when comparing the high level Squier's to Basic MIM Fender Models. I like the neck finish very much, but I am not wild about the body finish. The color is nice, but I can see ridges (very fine) in the finish almost like the wood or the filler coming through. What I see is not transparent grain, but actual ridges in the finish. Not that it's noticeable except under very close scrutiny.

  • Ben Willard
    from United States February 28, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Tech.

    Squier Simon Neil Stratocaster

    The Squier Simon Neil Stratocaster is a great looking guitar, to make it a great playing guitar you just need to make a few changes! The finish is beautiful! a fantastic looking Fiesta Red! The build quality is also very good, nicely dressed fret ends, aged looking or yellowed controls and pickup covers, and a great feeling neck. If you get lucky some of these Simon Neils have a nicely flamed neck, Sweetwater allows you to view pics and choose which guitar you want if they have more than one in stock, thats a great part of the Sweetwater buying experience. To keep the price down the guitar does have less than great pots, switches and wiring, but at this price point it is understandable. I installed new CTS pots, a switchcraft input jack, a quality 5 way switch, and rewired it with premium cloth covered wire. Now I have a guitar that sounds phenomenal and also looks great.
    Sweetwater shipped the guitar extremely fast and the guitar was almost triple boxed, the best packing job I have ever seen from a online store or for that matter any store. I am very happy with my sweetwater experience. Thanks Ben.

  • Customer
    from July 28, 2016

    Squire Neil Simon Strat

    looks good but sounded terrible. replace cheap pots and pups. sounds better. would not buy another squire made in china.

Questions about the Squier Simon Neil Stratocaster?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway