0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Squier Mini Strat - Torino Red Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • Sean Wooldridge
    from Fort Wayne, IN March 28, 2017

    Perfect For Young Beginners

    My son's arms just aren't long enough for a full size guitar yet. I was worried that anything in his size would feel and sound like a toy. That is not the case here. This is a perfectly serviceable guitar. It has good intonation and a very playable neck. The pickups are quiet and they are responsive and musical enough to be interesting. Obviously, and American Strat that costs 10 times as much or more will have that extra magic to it, but you can get a fairly convincing Strat tone out of this little guy, so your kids can start to develop their ears early.

    The only criticism that I have is that the tuners are not very precise. Once it is in tune, it stays that way, but it takes some finesse to get there. If I was going to hot rod anything on this guitar, it would be that. Even if you do decide to spend the money on upgraded tuners, you will still have a great bang for your buck in this guitar.

  • Jimmy
    from Fenton, MI February 27, 2017Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Just Like Dad's, Only Smaller!

    I bought two of these guitars. The red one for my son, and a pink one for my daughter. I was really impressed with these guitars right out of the box. They required very little adjustment and truly exceeded my expectations! The action is nice and low; perfect for a beginner with tender young fingers. They sound like a Strat, and seem to stay in tune fairly well. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to get a child started learning guitar.

  • Michael
    from Texas August 25, 2015Music Background:
    50+ yrs

    Not Just For Kiids

    For those not born with guitar hero size hands, you should try one of these. I use it to noodle around on while watching TV or jamming with Youtube. It makes me play more and that alone is a good thing. I have replaced the tuners, pickups, and polished the frets, but in fairness any guitar at this price will need the same. Is it a great guitar for kids, absolutely. If I only could have had one of these as a kid and an old Bluesman living next door.

  • Eleanor
    from North Carolina, USA August 25, 2014Music Background:
    wife of musician :)

    Great for Kids

    We bought this mini guitar for our 9 year old son and it is perfect! He can reach everything, and he is thrilled with it. Service and price were great, too.

  • ROGER HOLLINGSWORTH
    from United States August 22, 2012Music Background:
    retired ,just for hobby

    great little guitar, for the price cant be beat

    seen some so,so reviews on this guitar,but this little guitar sounds great,no problems what so ever,frets and neck are smooth and straight,plays like my regular fender strat,just smaller.

  • Roy Benson
    from Wisconsin August 27, 2016

    No joke !

    Having taught a few kids how to play, I've seen an assortment of "beginner" guitars. I wasn't expecting much out of this one, but I was impressed ! This one plays good, sounds good, and holds tune like it should. Far and away, this is the nicest "mini" guitar I've ever played. I've bought one for myself as a travel / camp guitar,and it continues to impress. This little Squire, and a Roland Micro Cube, and you're good to go !

  • DENNIS HODGES
    from MICHIGAN March 31, 2013Music Background:
    HOBBYIST

    A very good first guitar

    Ordered two for my grandsons. When they arrived the day after ordering (thank you Mark Chapman) I took one out of the box and hooked it up to my amp. I was pleasantly surprised at the sound it puts out. It's not a toy, it's a real guitar made for kids or smaller hands. It's 5 position switch and 3 pickups give it an array of sounds. Yeah, the tuners aren't the best but it's only a hundred bucks, and well worth it.

  • Customer
    from August 22, 2012

    Squier Mini Strat

    I was skeptical after seeing the off brands 3/4's were just toys. This is a real guitar and plays just as good as a full size Squire. I put new strings on right away & my grand-daughter was in heaven, on her way to becoming a rock star!

  • jay
    from ofallon il January 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    squier mini strat

    this strat sounds good real easy to tune looks great too

  • Anthony DiGregorio
    from Pennsylvania January 13, 2017

    Starter Guitar

    I bought this for my 6 year old son. It is his first guitar and I thought it would be a good choice for him to use to start learning how to play. The price was great and Sweetwater was awesome/ My only issue was that the guitar needed bridge adjustments before he could start using the guitar. I am a 30 year player and can maintenance my own guitars so it was not really a prioblem for me

  • Karl Renschler
    from Olympia, WA USA January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Musician

    Christmas Gift for Grandson, once adjusted, great!

    This was a Christmas gift for my grandson Brayden, who will be 9 next month. I was a bit disappointed that the neck didn't come set up. There were various places where there was buzzing and I had to take it to a local music store to have it adjusted (I would have sent it back for this, but my grandson was only here for a few day and I didn't want him to wait for his prize Christmas gift). Once it was set up, it was great. He learned 4 chords and a bunch of songs! He's thrilled.

  • brad
    from Garfield Heights,Ohio December 18, 2011Music Background:
    hobbiest/beginner

    Not that bad

    This is a good travel guitar or real first guitar for kids.Remember the price yes it does need a set up but it has a good neck and sounds ok like a real Fender strat but the pickups have alot of noise also. It is also good for beginners and what the heck your only out 100.00 not a big loss if the kis loses interest and these hold value compared to other cheap guitars. It is worth buying but be prepared to have some set up work done and change the strings heavy gage worl well and help with any tuning issues.This review is from an adult player with smaller hands who has played and used this guitar.

Questions about the Squier Mini Strat - Torino Red?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway