0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Squier Mini Strat - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Mini Strat - Black?

Questions about the Squier Mini Strat - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Raleigh, NC December 14, 2016

    Pretty Darn Good

    Received the guitar today and immediately tuned it up. I found a minor issue with the strings. The low E and A strings were crimped at the 5th fret. When pressing either of these strings down at the 5th fret they strings buzzed out completely. So I was going to replace the strings anyway and do a quick setup. I did that and now honestly I am a bit amazed at what you get for this price. It is staying in tune and after I set the intonation chords in the higher frets sound ok for an instrument of this scale. I am giving this to my grandson and I see no reason he won't be able to learn on this instrument and progress into the next larger one. Super pleased, solid mini Strat.

  • from November 16, 2016

    Wonderful guitar

    Wonderful guitar we purchased for our 8 year old who is just starting to dabble in guitar.

  • from Southwick Ma. November 5, 2016

    Squire Mini. Strat.

    I know it's a guitar for kids but its really fun for
    anyone like myself that is loves Fender guitars.
    I own 3 full size Fender guitars (Artist series Eric Clapton Blackie 2009, Strat Plus 1989 and
    one Tele.) all american made and love them all!!
    Now ive got the Mini. " love it also" well made
    and plays just llike my full sized models.

  • from Brooklyn, NY June 3, 2016Music Background:
    Electronic music studio

    Excellent value and motivator for my kid

    I got this for my son's eighth birthday with low expectations of the quality. When I unpacked it and checked it out, I thought "this looks pretty good." After the birthday unveiling, we brought it, as a family, to Brooklyn Lutherie (highly recommended) for a set up. Mamie was impressed with the guitar and it needed a lot less work that we anticipated and a lower set up fee than we expected.
    Most importantly, my son, who hasn't had guitar lessons of any sort, picked up the guitar and started experimenting with it right away. We don't know if he'll stick with it, but at this price, the investment is worth it.
    We got it with the Fender Mini '57 Twin which is another inexpensive gem. It amplifies and it growls and it's plenty loud when we need that.
    In response to another reviewer, the Road Runner Roadster OM Brat Guitar Bag fits this guitar just fine, and the straps can be cinched for a little body. The guitar's still probably too heavy for sustained back carrying for a child, but each parent can figure that out.
    Finally - shout out to David Mikautadze, my Sweetwater rep, for helping me out on this.

  • from January 11, 2016

    Great Value

    This is a great little guitar for a kid who is learning. I got this for my six-year-old son and he absolutely loves it. It is very well-made and sturdy instrument. It does have to be tuned more then a regular stratocaster, but what do you expect for $100? You can certainly play it and practice it and it holds its tuning fine. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another

  • from May 1, 2015

    Great beginner guitar for smaller hands

    I bought this for my 11 year old as a birthday present, and it is perfect for his smaller size. it is easy to play and sounds great.

  • from NY January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Home player

    Fender mini

    Great little guitar - easy to play - sounds as good as regular size - easy to travel with.

  • from Fairfield CT October 8, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Squier Mini Strat

    Great deal for $99! Perfect size. Wish my 1st guitar played like this one.

  • from VERMILION, OH July 8, 2016

    Nice little guitar

    Nice little guitar. I did not know the Sweetwater 55 point evaluation only is done on guitar $299.00 or higher.
    The Guitar needed to be setup and intonated. Now the guitar plays well great for a kid, fun for an adult.

  • from Battle Creek, MI USA March 8, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and Hobbyist guitar builder

    Squier Mini Strat (Black)

    Bought this guitar for my 6 year old grandson, he loved it.... With a little setup this little guitar really surprised me. Great sounding guitar especially for the money.

  • from Brickler December 20, 2016Music Background:
    Home studio, guitarist

    Grandson's 1st giutar

    Sweetwater service was perfect as always and my grandson LOVES the guitar. My only beef on the guitar is that I wish it would hold a tune better. I guess that's due to the 3/4 size and shorter neck. Any suggestions on ways of improving the tuning would be welcome. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from WASHINGTON May 21, 2016

    Good guitar for the price

    The 3/4 Stratocaster was packaged very well on arrival. The Fender box was boxed inside of a larger cardboard box. I really appreciate the effort the folks at Sweetwater put into protecting their product. The shipping company would have to run over the box with a truck to damage it's contents. As for the guitar, it arrived in mint condition. No blemishes, and the pickguard had its protective film on it. The neck was straight and true, and the frets were smooth when running your hands down the neck. The bridge need some expected minor tuning, but I was surprised by how little adjusting it needed. My 9 year old daughter loves the guitar, and the 3/4 size is perfect for her. The only downside that I encountered is that since it has no whammy bar, the body isn't weight relieved. For its size, it's a heavy guitar. If your kids are sensitive about weight, be warned.

    Overall I am very happy with the purchase. The customer service was exceptional, and to top it off, they even threw a little bag of candy in the box.

  • from Michigan, USA February 9, 2015

    Squier Mini Strat

    I purchased the mini strat for my grandson and he absolutely loves it. Looks great and plays great for a $100 guitar. If it wasn't for the nut I would have given it a higher rating. I don't think anyone bothered to check the nut on this one as it was way off. The first few frets played very #sharp because of the string height at the nut. Had to buy some files to solve the problem. Other than that, it's an awesome little guitar for a beginner. As usual, Sweetwater's service was great ! Thanks again guys.

  • from Fairbanks, AK USA April 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Squier Mini Strat

    I'd give a "Totally Blown Away for the Money" but it's impossible to find a gig bag or a case for this little guy.

    Guitar's got plenty of sound, highly playable, even with my big mitts. I needed something small to fly with and if I can ever figure out a case for it, it will be just fine.

  • from Central, OH March 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great starter guitar

    I needed to find a guitar my 11 year old grandson could use. His hands are just too small fro a standard sized guitar. The Mini Strat is just perfect for him! Not only is it the right size for his small hands, it looks good too. He'll get several years of use from the Mini Strat before he'll need to move up to a full sized guitar. It will also take the frustration out of learning to play that he feels when he's trying so hard to use my old full-sized Fender acoustic.

  • from Marietta, GA USA July 5, 2011Music Background:
    Student and hobbyist

    More than I expected!

    I bought this guitar for a practice 'knock-around' instrument, I did my research so my expectations were not that high. But frankly, I throughly enjoy playing this guitar! Out of the box I replaced the strings with Elixer mediums and that fixed the 'sloppy' action right away. This guitar is not a toy and really feels solid. I really have a lot of fun playing this thru a Behringer V-amp. My more experienced friends who have a lot of guitars have expressed surprise at how well it is made and how good it sounds for the price.

Questions about the Squier Mini Strat - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway