0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Fender Eric Clapton Stratocaster - Black with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Eric Clapton Stratocaster - Black with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Eric Clapton Stratocaster - Black with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Randy Akins

    The Clapton Strat remains one of Fender's longest-running signature guitars, and its popularity shows no signs of diminishing. With its classic good looks and active preamp for authentic humbucker-like tones, this could very well be the one guitar that you'll never outgrow!

  • from Sulphur,LA April 3, 2017

    Eric Clapton Signature Strat

    Blackie is a beautiful guitar the case is nice too. The feel playablety and sound is awesome right out of the case great job sweetwater. Thanks!

  • from Oregon March 24, 2017Music Background:
    Producer, Artist, Engineer, Guitarist (Both pro and personal work)

    Incredible. Absolutely freakin' incredible.

    This guitar looks and feels like an old friend. It feels comfortable in your hands, the neck is familiar and yet a touch different, the weight is just right, and the balance is perfect. The line between player and instrument is blurred, and it just feels like an extension of you. After a rare 2 year period without having a strat, i plug it into my amp and instantly, effortlessly - there is the unmistakable sound I've been missing.

    And then you reach for the tone knobs...

    wow. just wow... after 24 years of playing strats with "normal" tone circuits, the TBX and Mid-Boost circuits feel completely foreign. For a moment I'm a little lost - fumbling to find the sounds I'm used to and realizing that this may look and feel like an old friend, but there is a completely new dimension to this beast. After a few minutes of experimenting i can't stop smiling. This guitar is SICK!! With a tiny twist the guitar goes from a glassy clear and crisp chime to a fat and raunchy roar. It sounds like I've stomped on a pedal, changed amps, changed guitars, or all of the above. You really can go from "Wonderful Tonight" and "Lay Down Sally" to "Crossroads" and "Sunshine of Your Love" without even touching the amp.

    Mind blown.

    Great strat, and so much more. fit and finish are perfect, and the setup from Sweetwater was right on the money. The case is classic, and comes with a strap and cable. As always, Ted Hunter was a pleasure to work with and I appreciated the free set of extra strings they threw in to try out.

  • from October 15, 2016

    Eric Clapton Fender

    Love the way my hand slides up and down the neck and with the V-neck shape it seems to provide more fingering capabilities.

  • from Findlay, OH December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Guitar Geek, Avid Musician

    Great Strat!

    I played this guitar a few times over the summer. I thought it sounded great so I knew I wanted it as my next guitar. I must say that I am evem more impressed with it once I got it hooked up to my rig. I spent some time put the strings I like on, and set the action to where I like it. Once I got it all set up just the way I like it I cannot be happier. It's the best feeling and and most versatile sounding strat there is!

    I may have a new number one go to guitar!

    Great guitar, great price, great service!!

  • from Erie,PA December 5, 2014Music Background:
    old school pro been playing guitar over 50 years

    This is a great guitar

    This guitar is suited for the god of guitar. Everything in this guitar from the autograph to the tuning keys is top notch Fender really out did themselves on this guitar. The finish on this one is beautiful I really wanted a pewter but I'm more than happy with the black. If you are considering this guitar, BUY IT !!!Be sure to get it from Sweetwater.

  • from Erie,Pa. November 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro have been playing guitar for over 50 years

    Too Pretty Too Play

    I was super surprised by the beauty of this guitar. The black finish is so smooth and bright. Then there's that perfect maple neck. I really wanted the pewter one but I didn't want to wait for it to come in. I'm not sorry that I didn't wait ,the black one is a real beauty. Last but not least my engineer Linsey Becker handled everything so well even thou she knew that I wasn't going to wait for the pewter.

  • from Cleveland Ohio July 31, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Vintage Frets are for me

    I was always woried about going with vintage frets. I love them, its way easier to stretch fingers between notes, because there is a lot more wood. Also bending with the 9.5 radius on the Clapton neck gives me no problems, maybe its the soft v. I have big hands and with medium jumbo and larger frets I'm have trouble hitting notes high up on fretboard. Not with the vintage frets. Bar Chords are easy with the radius, even with big hands those flat 12 radius, I cant quit get a clean bar chord. Fit and Finish were a delight. The TBX really gives me a wide range of sound, can get really dirty and gritty and cleans up awesome. Probably not a good choice if your want rocket fast but can do classic rock, blues incredibly.

  • from Canyon Country, CA USA August 3, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing almost 40 years

    Beautiful Guitar

    This is an excellent guitar. The soft 'V' neck and midrange boost control make this Strat one of a kind. Extremely fun to play and very comfortable.Looks great too!And as always you will not find a better place to get your gear than Sweetwater. My salesman Geoff Allen is great and I'm sure all of the sales people at Sweetwater are the same.Rock on!

  • from Boston, MA USA April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Studio side (retired), Producer

    A Different Deal

    The neck shape, the vintage frets and the TBX combine for a singular, even unique Strat. From a Twin, a Hot Rod, a Vox AC15 - does not matter, it just sounds great. Vintage frets need work more often than medium jumbos, but are effortless and worth the extra attention.

    Not my only Strat, but it always makes the trip.

  • from Greensboro,nc January 18, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    great easy play

    Can't decide which is better-Blackie or the attentiveness I was afforded by your staff.....awesome great job guys...owner of three guitars=onevintage ,Les Paul and now Strat...Jim Irvin

  • from pa. July 19, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Only Strat to buy

    Except for the price great guitar. Love the noiseless pickups and the tbx. Great sound and tone. Play through a hot rod deluxe and get a great clean sound.

Questions about the Fender Eric Clapton Stratocaster - Black with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway