0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Squier Deluxe Strat - Pearl White Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Deluxe Strat - Pearl White?

Questions about the Squier Deluxe Strat - Pearl White?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from MI January 21, 2017Music Background:
    30+ years hobbyist and playing in bands.

    Very Satisfied.

    Guitar is very good, very impressed. I'm 45 and my band days are over. My playing these days is at home and church. I got my Squier 1/20/16. I took it over to church today and plugged into the big Peavy there. I wanted to hear it with the great acoustics the churches have. It sounded EXCELLENT. This may be an economically priced guitar, but sounds like a much more expensive instrument. I ran through some blues rhythms and soloing, and the sound coming out of the amp was a terrific tone. Guitar held its tune through the string-bending very nicely.

    It's fairly lightweight and comfortable to play. Honestly, playing it felt no different than high end Fender Strats I've played. If you're on a budget as I am, this guitar is a great value for the price. I'm not going to say it's as good as a $ Strat, but it sounds and plays great. Much more than you'd expect from such an inexpensively priced guitar. It's not a "good guitar for the money" it's a good guitar period. I recommend it very highly.

  • from Jenison, MI October 5, 2016Music Background:
    Rocker/sessions

    Better than expected

    I have a hard time paying high dollar for a guitar and modding it to my preference....So, a cheap guitar modded to my desires is my way.
    This Squier Deluxe makes that a very short road.
    The feel and quality of the Squier Deluxe is amazing at this price point.....better than many MIMs I've tried.
    Pickups are so good, I'm not changing them!
    Tuners hold tune very well (through dives and stretched trem use) ( I will change them to sperzel locking "preference ")
    Has a zinc tone block "brass block ordered"
    The upgrades will cost less than a mim and will have my desired specs.
    Totally love the guitar and recommend it to seasoned guitarist and adault beginners ( neck is thick so pre teens might struggle)

  • from April 28, 2016

    Amazing!

    I recently got this after seeing some reviews on youtube and was blown away!

  • from Dyer, IN March 20, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sweet!

    This is a real nice guitar, the fit and finish is impressive. If your looking for a well built guitar that plays and sounds great for a budget price look no further. I am more than happy that I purchased this guitar, and next day delivery by Sweetwater makes it even better.

  • from Pico Rivera, CA April 22, 2015Music Background:
    A legend in my own garage.

    A Beautiful Guitar

    Squier Deluxe Stratocaster review time! A word about Sweetwater first. Before you pull the trigger, do yourselves a favor and review the Sweetwater practices and procedures. IMHO, Sweetwater gives you the best value, guaranteed. My Sales Engineer, Ryan Clapper, made every effort to help me and I know the difference after being mistreated at a local competitor big box store. I am fortunate to have found Sweetwater and Ryan and I will buy from them again. Thanks for the candy!


    This Squier Deluxe Stratocaster has an elegant feel and I am majorly impressed (long time Fender Strat owner). As part of the 55-point Guitar Evaluation, Sweetwater even checked the string height and intonation for me! I have not had to readjust anything. Just remember that a high end Squier IS NOT a high end Fender. Squier guitars are really nice, but keep in mind that you get what you pay for. This guitar and my Squier VM P-Bass (three years old) are very playable and beautiful and I have no issues with either of them. This Sweetwater purchase was a win/win for me.

  • from North Potomac, MD April 15, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Better than I was expecting

    I took a chance because I didn't order the USA made Strat and thought this one would be disappointing. I was very pleasantly surprised. If it didn't have a Squire emblem on the headstock I would not have known it wasn't an American made Stratocaster.

  • from Ft. Wayne, IN February 9, 2013Music Background:
    Enthusiastic long time Hobbyist

    For the money it can't be beat. Honestly.

    I've had mine for about a year now and it's has never failed to please my ears. The Duncan PUs are a real bonus on this modest priced model, and have no intentions on changing them out, no time soon that is.
    I tried the Mexy, and an Am standard model (couldn't afford that one any how) just to compare the tones, and this one sounded better than the Mexy and quite favorably to the standard. Sure there are differences in quality, but for an ardent non-pro this is a real winner. I have NO complaints with my guitar what so ever. Yes really.
    In addition to having the worlds premier musicians supply house twenty minutes away was a real bonus, and the help received was top notch! Thank you folks.

  • from vancouver, wa August 14, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Sweetness in a Strat

    I had been reviewing and considering purchasing a used MIM strat for a couple of months, but when I found the squier deluxe strat and read all the positive reviews, I decided that I should seriously consider this as my new guitar. I contacted Robert @ Sweetwater, who pulled a couple from stock, tested them and selected the best one for me. he recommended putting a new set of 10's on the guitar and he was right. the deluxe strat plays fantastic, sounds great and really lives up to all the positive reviews that players from all over the country are giving it. did I mention that it's an absolute beauty as well? there was absolutely nothing wrong with the guitar when I received it. the fit and finish, hardware, neck and components were all perfect. I purchased the squier deluxe strat back in may 2012 and just recently (aug. 2012) purchased a squier deluxe tele from Robert. he again selected the best from the bunch and tested it for me, prior to sending it to the techs for final inspection and setup.

    Squier is sometimes considered a dirty word with fender purists, but I am not one of them. I find the quality of the higher end squiers to be very good to excellent and don't hesitate recommending the deluxe, vintage modified and classic vibe series guitars to friends.

  • from New Jersey May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Top notch quality at a low price!

    Thank you Mark M. for your assistance in making my purchase an enjoyable one! If you want a strat that wont break the bank this will do! Guitar arrived ready to rock! Flawless finish and solid build! The Duncan Designed pickups are really great. wanted a heavier sound for the bridge so i had em install a SD hot rails and now this thing is a beast while still maintaining that classic strat sound for clean. Setup was spot on and the playability is amazing. grab one now before they're gone. Buy only from Sweetwater:-)

  • from Stewartsville, NJ February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Bang for the Buck Ever!

    This thing is amazing. You can't possibly go wrong with it! The Neck is incredible, pickups sound really nice, finish quality is awesome! I wont comment about the trem cause i block them off. This is truly an amazing guitar for the price. Squier has come a long long way. I wasnt going to give it a second look, but a friend comvinced me to try it. He was right.

  • from Pataskala, OH January 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar

    This gutar has a great finish and came eady to play after being tuned up. I have had several guitars in the past and this is by far the one I like the best. I wrestled with buying this guitar over a little less expensive model. I am glad I went with this one.

  • from August 29, 2011

    One of the 'Best Kept Secrets"

    Great looks, build, and feel. Especially the satin neck. Grab one before they are gone:)

  • from BR December 21, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Student

    Can't beat this neck

    Its amazing how great this thing is, at this price.
    The neck is out of this world. I was blown away, honestly.
    I did not expect such budget guitar to be this good.
    Sounds great out of the box...and with some minor upgrades....i think this can be an amazing guitar. Buy it...now !

  • from texas December 19, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyis

    Sleeper of an Instrument

    No, it's not as good as an American Deluxe.
    It is as good as a MIM Standard.
    I'd go so far as to say it rivals an American Standard.

    The pick up's are good. true individual pole pieces in A5.
    The trem is a 2 point
    The body is one piece, not ply.
    The tuners are non locking but good quality.
    The paint on mine is perfect.
    The frets are perfect.

    It's got everything on it that I wanted in a Strat, so I went ahead and tried it.

    I'm glad I did. Pick one up before Fender realizes how good it is.

    Three years and other than the dings I put into it, still perfect. but hey, It was only 220.00 when I got mine. I'm not going to sweat a few dings. Then again, that's part of the beauty of it. I would have had one monster of a fit if I had purchased the american deluxe I was looking at and dropped it like I did this one.

  • from Granite Falls , NC April 3, 2010Music Background:
    Church pianist

    Excellent guitar , great value !

    I'm an intermediate level guitar player and have played a Standard Mexican strat , and an American Strat. This guitar is right up there with the american . The finish is perfect , the fingerboard is nice and the neck is smooth all the way. Beautiful guitar for the money !

  • from Earth (for now) April 7, 2009Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Great "twang" for the buck!

    I've been playing for 25 years and oddly enough started on a Squier way back then. Over the years I have owned a lot of guitars from all the usual brands as well as not so usual like my current John Petrucci 7 string, and 4 Carvins custom shops.

    I am in the military and stationed overseas, i.e. playing in the dirt, and wanted to get a guitar that I could use as a "beater" so that I wouldn't have to worry about any of my nicer guitars getting chewed up over here. Can't go wrong with a Strat so after searching the site for a bit I picked up this model along with a Line 6 Spider III (also awesome bang for the buck) and I have been very happy with this set up.

    The features this guitar has are very similar to the USA Strat: 22 frets, and two point trem, and the finishes are usually not found in the Squier line.

    The build quality is top notch for this price point. The Duncan designed pickups sound really good and give you all the spank you would expect from a Fender designed guitar. Teamed up with the Line 6 I got enough sounds to cover the camp bands wide ranging set list of rock, blues, jazz, and funk.

    The best feature of this guitar has to be the neck and fretboard which has nice detailing and none of those knife edged frets that slice up your hands like on those other cheapos. It small and fast and Malmstein and Dream Theater riffs just fly.

    So over all I gave it 5.0 rating based on how it compaires to it's competition and even guitars above its price. For $300 there's almost nothing that can touch this killer guitar.

  • from Oklahoma December 16, 2016Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 30 years

    Nice guitar

    I ordered this guitar last May for a project (to build a fat super strat). It came set up exceptionally well by tge Sweetwater staff. I have bought Squier guitars for my kids so I know for the price, they are quality beginner instruments.
    The stock Duncan designed pickups actually sounds really good. The tuners were very course and had to be replaced. I install locking tuners on all of my guitars anyway so no big deal.
    I Installed Grove locking tuners, replaced the 5 way switch, volume and tone pots. Installed Seymour Duncan hot rails in the bridge and neck. Installed a tusq nut. This guitar never goes out of tune now and plays beautifully.
    I also need to point out that Sweetwater has the best customer support and care. Roq, my sales representative does a great job making sure everything is right.

  • from Sacramento September 20, 2015Music Background:
    Man cave megastar

    Love at first sight

    love this guitar. After doing a lot of research and playing all the models available to me at my local shops I decided to go with squier. But not just any squier. The deluxe offered so much of what I was looking for in a guitar and I really wanted a fender and for an extra $200 you can get a nice entry level fender strat but, with that said you'll probably want to do some mods maybe switch pickups or tuners etc... Well why not just spend $200 less get an awesome squier strat and put that money on even better mods like tex mex pickups all for less. IMHO great value for a amazing guitar

  • from Iowa April 1, 2015

    Deluxe Squire

    Nice guitar. My only concern is that there are some paint blemishes, and a couple dirty marks probably from inspection. I had to reset action and truss rod.

  • from Atlanta, Ga. July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fun Guitar to Own

    If you canít afford a $1000, American made Fender this is the next best thing. I would recommend this guitar for all the right reasons. Fit and finish are good. The sound is great. Itís a very playable and fun guitar to own. My only reservation is the tremolo. Iíve only used it once, so Iíll have to reserve my opinion until Iíve used it more. And donít forget the priceÖ.that was good, too. Of course Sweetwater handled the purchase flawlessly. Even the shipper did a good job and got the carton to me in one, undamaged piece. Thanks, Sweetwater.

  • from Brielle, NJ March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Jammer

    Most guitar I've ever purchased for the money!

    This would have been a Sweetwater purchase because they have the best customer service and support in the online music store business. I got a mint used one for an embarrassing low price just because I had waited so long for this to be restocked and I lacked the patience to wait any longer.

    Cons and Considerations: Fret ends were very sharp and "grabby"". So, I unbolted the neck and filed them smooth and buffed them out with steelwool. This isn't so much a fret problem, but has more to do with maple neck shrinkage having come out of humid Indonesia. Having removed the neck, I took the time to refinish the headstock and replace the plastic nut with a compensated brass one. I also upgraded the string trees, added a custom decal and refinished with Tru Oil. You may need to do a complete setup. Mine needed to be intonated after all I did to it. You can learn a lot and bypass a Luthier if you are willing to watch a few YouTube videos.

    Positives: Good craftmanship overall. Electronics are an improvement over MIMs. Straight and very fast neck with the light satin finish. Solid body and excellent paint. Solid tremelo needed no adjustment with 3 springs already installed. It sounds very straty with the brass nut, no fret buzz and pickups at correct elevation. Tuners are good quality and hold a tuning well. I'm staying with them for now.

    Excellent buy. If you aren't willing to put in a little time, have it professionally setup. My experience on this purchase was not from Sweetwater. My experience with them was excellent!

  • from troy mi February 12, 2014Music Background:
    40 years

    squire strat

    cool pearl finish, sounds great, nice set up, dont need to pay more

  • from November 13, 2012

    cool strat

    Love the way it looks.....sounds great too
    ...my best one yet..

  • from Boston MA August 31, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist/student

    buy it before it changes

    I bought this guitar and I must say it is my favorite now. Decent duncan designed pickups and a quality tremolo as well. Put the 3rd tremolo spring in and it has quality tuners already so no tuning issues whatsoever. Also I dont think there is a better neck on any guitar in this price range, not too mention it is skunk striped. The satin finish on the neck is outstanding and the overall tone and build quality of the guitar is a notch above a MIM strat if you ask me. If you prefer an alder body then you should look at the CV series but I personally prefer a basswood body so this guitar matches my likes perfectly. LESS THAN $300 shipped to your door for this guitar and it is a steal at that price.

  • from Heber Springs,AR October 29, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Strat!

    I've Owned This Squier Deluxe Strat In Pearl White For A Month And It's The Best Strat I've Ever Had. It's Better Than All The Mexican Strats I've owned. The Smooth Satin Finished Maple Neck Makes It A Breeze To Go Up And Down On,The Action Is Low The Pickups Sound Great And It's My Number One Guitar. And I've Been Playing For 45 Years This One Is A Keeper!

  • from Georgia December 17, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    An amazing guitar for a bargain bin price

    I have nothing but good things to say about this guitar. I was expecting a cheapo guitar to carry to college with me, but WOW!. The fit and finish on this guitar are on par with any other i've ever played. As a matter of fact this guitar plays, sounds, and feels better than any MIM strat i've ever played. The quality components, pickups, neck (has a rolled fingerboard!!!), and overall fit and finish will surprise anyone that plays it. Don't be fooled by the name on the headstock. This is the real deal strat sound and feel.

  • from fairport,newyork December 2, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    nice strat even better price

    for a squier guitar great qualty, nice neck,good sounding ducan p,u i own 14 guitars, an american made strat, 2 epi les pauls, but i have to say over all i love my 2 strats the most.

  • from March 7, 2016

    Pretty, but needed work

    I bought this after getting a squier affinity telecaster that I just fell completely in love with, hoping for the same karma. It didn't happen. The strat is gorgeous, and has a nice feeling neck with nice action. Pickups - they're okay, but not great. They do give me that gorgeous neck pickup chirp around the 10'th & 12'th frets that I just love. I did the following things to make it super playable:

    1. Got rid of that horrible threaded trem arm. Worst invention ever. I got a trem block and push-in arm for an american deluxe strat. The block mounts to the trem plate just fine. The holes for the trem arm don't line up for the two different blocks though, so there is a little filing to do on the trem plate with a round file so the push-in arm goes in. Not unsightly when done, and I'd have to point it out to someone or they would not notice.
    2. Replaced the as-received frosted saddles with some prettier chrome saddles.
    3. Installed locking tuners.
    4. Installed an Earvana nut to solve intonation issues (3rd guitar I've done this for, resulting in pure
    intonation heaven).
    5. Some of the pick guard screws were loose. Holes were too big or something, so the trick of
    using in a little plastic wood in the hole, then the screw. When it cures, tighty-tight.

  • from New York June 8, 2016

    Let's not exaggerate - great neck, bridge, and decent electronics

    We shouldn't use phrases like "hurry up and get this before Fender realizes how good it is" because that will only encourage Fender to charge more for less. But, it is a good guitar for what I paid used ($189).

    The fact is that the neck on this thing is amazingóreallyóand that's one of the most important parts of any guitar. The pickups are decent, too, but the electronics overall don't compare with a more durably built Mexican or American model. Open it up and you'll see the flimsy soldering. The bridge is better than average, but it's not steel like an American or MIM and the tuners are decent, but they're not as durable and the gear ratio is definitely not 18:1. The body is basswood, which is cheap, soft wood, so if you take the pickguard, neck or bridge off too many times, you're going to probably have to refill some holes and redrill (or else try the toothpick trick). I realize Ibanez superstrats are all made out of soft wood like this, but that doesn't make it a good thing. Yes, the guitar is lighter and I personally like that, but it's not cool to see the holes splintering out and getting larger every time you take the pickguard off. This is not the kind of guitar you want to mess around much with as far as the neck and bridge goes. At some point, I may buy an alder body replacement, but that will be a shame because I love the Daphne Blue color and I doubt I'll be able to match it.

    My point is, it's a good, playable guitar, but let's not overstate the case. I think the price is honestly a little high for what it is. $299? You can get a used Mexican for around the same price and the hardware will be steel, the body will be alder or some comparable stronger wood, the pots and jack will be sturdier and the electronics will be wired better and the tuners will have a better gear ratio. Heck, often you can get a used MIM with tuner upgrades and pickup upgrades for around $300. I got a Telecaster with Epic Nocaster Klein Pickups for $279 w/hardshell case.

    But this guitar, is very playable. It actually might be my favorite neck of the 6 electric guitars I own. I'm not sure exactly what makes it so playable. Yes, the satin neck, but the dimensions feel really good for some reason, too. I find myself playing in different areas of the neck and learning new tricks just because the neck seems so different. And when I find myself doing the same old riffs and licks, I quickly stop so I won't go back into old, boring territory. I want to make this new neck inspiration last as long as possible. :)

    For playing at home, it's fine and for light gigging it's fine, but it will not take a lot of abuse. It's a shame there's not a real good identifier on this neck because it would be a good one to buy used off ebay if you're looking for a replacement neck. It doesn't even say "deluxe" on the neck, just Squier in gold. I think there's a lot of Squier necks with a gold logo, so would be pretty hard to identify on ebay.

  • from rochester,ny January 15, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    nice strat for a squier

    i own 14 guitars,american made standared strat,my favorite. two epi, les pauls list goes on. i was pleased with my dss, love the pearl white. for the money a good guitar, boy it.

Questions about the Squier Deluxe Strat - Pearl White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway