0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Fender Deluxe Lone Star Stratocaster - Ocean Turquoise Reviews

5.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
  • from Ohio November 27, 2015Music Background:
    Studio Musician

    Best guitar for the price!!

    This guitar is the best you can buy for the price!! I have played this guitar for a long time and think it is the best middle of the road guitar!! I definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking to start playing electric guitar or even a seasoned player.

  • from North Carolina November 12, 2015

    Great Tone!!Great Quality!! Great Price!!

    I got my Deluxe Lonestar today, and I love it!! The Ocean Turquoise color is perfect. I went over every inch of this guitar and it is flawless. The action is perfect. The tone from the Texas Specials and the Humbucker are amazing.The maple neck is slick and fast.Over the years I have owned several USA strats. And for a little more, I could have bought a USA Strat. What drew me to the Lonestar, besides price, is that it is already loaded with top shelf pickups. Most of the time when I buy a mid priced guitar, the first thing to go is the stock pickups. Replace them and you have a great sounding instrument. This Deluxe Lonestar is gig ready right out of the box. In my opinion, the build quality of this MIM Fender is as good as the USA quality. Fender really has stepped up on that. I owned a MIM strat over 10 years ago and wasn't that pleased with it. Wow, things have really changed. I own several USA made guitars. This guitar, with its craftsmanship and electronics is right there with them..no matter where it is made. Right now, my two workhorses are made in Mexico and Korea. The Korea guitar, I had to upgrade the pickups.The great thing about this Fender is no upgrades are needed at an awesome price!! Keep up the great work Fender! I also picked up a Gator case for this baby. Those Texas Specials are full blown SRV. I love it!!

    As for Patrick, his customer service is second to none. He called to let me know that the strat had shipped and he also emailed me pictures of the exact guitar that I was receiving so I could drool until it arrived. Sweetwater is top of the line in the industry and I wont deal with anyone else. If you want a Gig ready guitar at an amazing price, You better jump on this Fender Deluxe Lonestar!!

  • from July 24, 2015Music Background:
    Maker of

    Nice stick

    I'm really liking my new guitar. It is fun to play, and I like the color.

  • from Ohio June 30, 2015Music Background:
    Playing since 1990.

    Fantastratic!

    I LOVE this strat! I can express myself fantastically on this great guitar. Best ax I have played ever!

  • from Upstate New York, USA June 25, 2015Music Background:
    Played both Semi Pro and Pro since 1980

    Outstanding Strat!

    I tripped over this quite by accident in the Gallery when intending to see what was "going on" in Telecasters - the Ocean Turquoise color was definitely the first eye-catcher.

    After listening to the demo and seeing the other postings, I was hooked enough to contact my Sales Engineer; Ryan Holquist. There were two models that looked good from the photos so I needed a first hand opinion. Ryan took the time to personally try out the two and let me know which one had the mojo workin, and I went with his opinion. (He was spot-on in his valuation by the way)

    Off it went to setup, where I had them restring and adjust with 10's, as opposed to the 9's which are stock - as well as perform a couple of tweaks I personally prefer in a setup. They did an outstanding job!

    I've been playing for nearly 40 years, and have a number of Strats. Let me tell you, this one rates right along side my American Deluxe! Worth every penny!

    There is not enough room to say all the good things that should be said about Ryan and the crew here. Sweetwater IS the way to do business in the 21st century. Very human and personable.

    If there were more stars than 5 that could be awarded in my review, they would get them all.

  • from Indiana June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-retired musician.

    Fat Tones!

    I received my Ocean Turquoise Lone Star Strat just over a week ago. It came packaged securely and unpacked in tune! That in itself is awesome. The color is great and the action is even better. It is amazing the tone that comes out of this guitar as I could only go by the tone from the video of Alan Abbassi demo-ing the Lone Star and took a chance. The humbucking pick-up adds such a great Southern Blues tone. Greg Baum is a first rate sales guy who worked with me and led me to jump and make the purchase. I have worked with Greg before and he knows how to take care of his customers. Thanks Greg!! I am totally happy with this axe.

  • from Massachusetts February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Extremely Versatile Guitar

    I am a Fender Fanatic - I own a Butterscotch Blonde Ash Telecaster FSR, a Squier Strat HH and the Fender Deluxe Lonestar Stratocaster in Ocean Turquoise. I thoroughly enjoy all of my guitars, however this Stratocaster has to be the most versatile guitar I own. The 'voices' the Lone Star is capable of are amazing. You can go from playing metal with the strong humbucker at the bridge to rock, country as well as soothing mellow jazz & blues tones from the Texas Specials at the middle & neck. A great feature is the ability to coil tap (split) the bridge humbucker to play it as a single coil pickup. Fender really outdid themselves on this model packing high quality pickups into a beautifully built quality guitar. The Ocean Turquoise color is beautiful as is the maple fretboard. The workmanship is amazing. This truly is a smooth playing guitar with great sounds, and it's a great value as well. In fact, based on the way it looks, feels, & sounds, you would swear this was a $2,500 - $3,000 guitar - It's that good. I honestly don't think I could find a guitar that I could possibly enjoy more at any price. I highly recommend The Deluxe Lone Star Stratocaster. It is as good as it gets!

  • from Atlanta, GA February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Professional guitarist since 1966.

    Fender Deluxe Lonestar Stratocaster

    The other reviews don't lie! If your last Mexican Stratocaster was from 2002 just forget those days. The current guitars are fabulous, especially this Lonestar. I love everything about this Ocean Turquoise beauty. The neck feels great, looks awesome. The pickup configuration is a huge plus over previous lonestar models. This is the most versatile guitar I own. I have nothing bad to say about this wonderful instrument. Get one now before you miss out. And i gotta tell ya, Sean Geyer is my sales rep and I always know I can count on him. Sweetwater and Sean are the best, period!

  • from Florida USA September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Giging Musician

    AWESOME AX!!!

    I ordered this guitar in turquoise about a month ago, this thing is awesome! I have giged with it every week twice a week since I got it. The lonestar gets classic strat tones with the extra bump of the humbucker. I have a delux plus American strat and this lonestar plays better and sounds better! I am thinking about selling my American and buying a Roadhouse strat because the Lonestar is so awesome!

  • from Bellingham, Wa August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great guitar & case

    Just got my new Texas Lone Star Stratocaster a couple of weeks ago and it is everything I was expecting. Very good craftsmanship and the action is very low, just like I wanted it to be. Not sure if the internal parts are as good as the American Standards but I am assuming that Fender is using similar quality items. Bottom line.....so far I am happy, I own 20 guitars now and I will surely have this one on stage with me often.

  • from NJ, USA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Gigger

    Amazing!

    Just got this guitar today and I am more than happy with it. The color is even better in person. The guitar came set up perfectly and the playability is just as good as my American Standard. I love the electronics in this guitar, I have no problem getting a good tone (very versatile). Overall I would buy this guitar over an American Standard. Thank you to Nick Church and the entire Sweetwater staff!

  • from Pennsylvania January 22, 2014Music Background:
    Playing guitars for 30 years, taught every kid that ever wanted to Rock

    May the Scwartz be with you!

    Finally, all the things you want in an affordable Strat! Multi sounds from Texas Single, Humbucker combinations, a beautiful maple neck that plays like butter, and the rare blue green tint you only find on expensive guitars. Does it get any better? Yes, buy it from Sweetwater and get their stellar service. I waited a long time for this guitar and when I ordered it from Andy at Sweetwater, he helped me understand all the features, and it arrived THE NEXT Day with free shipping. What a great company and great people. Thanx I feel like a kid at Christmas....

  • from Nashville area April 15, 2016

    Surprisingly great guitar!

    I bought this guitar as an inexpensive instrument to play while my high-dollar custom guitar was being built. Since I had already sold my previous guitar, I just wanted something to practice on. But the guitar played and sounded great from the very beginning. My wife even made comments about how she liked the sound. I didn't expect to like this guitar all that much, but it fooled me.

    Yesterday, my custom guitar arrived. And . . . I actually prefer the sound and playability of this Fender MIM Strat to that of my expensive U.S.A. built custom! This Fender is going to be my go-to axe (and the custom is going back to the builder).

  • from St Robert, MO October 2, 2015Music Background:
    21 years playing, bars, fairs, church, basement bands

    Wow, that Strat tone!

    I couldn't believe how great and full the tones from this axe. I was in the market for a new Strat, I had built one from parts but it didn't have "that" tone. I was looking for a solid guitar with Texas Special pickups and a hum bucked in the bridge. I with I could have gotten the Ocean Turquoise with a rosewood fretboard, but it is what it is. After unboxing I took off the stock strings (they're 9's) and I added two extra springs, upgraded string trees, and solid steel saddles. I also rubbed the high gloss finish off the back of the neck, my hands stick like glue to a glossy neck, and added Dimarzio clip strap. I was quite impressed that it came stock with a full sized steel tremolo block, I had ordered one thinking it would be that dinky sized one most budget Strats come with. After restringing her and a full setup I plugger her in for a test drive. Whenever I pick up a new Strat I hit the middle pickup and start my SRV impersonation with my limited version of Pride and Joy. I literally said Wow! I the. Go for SRVs Lenny, and finish up with the solo from the Wall by Pink Floyd. The hum bucked in the bridge is nasally, so I'll probably replace it but for now it'll be fine. I would have given it a full 5 stars but I'm not a fan of a glossy fretboard or the 70s large headstock. It's cumbersome and ugly, but it's the best Strat I could afford, so I'll deal. It's only been 48 hours and about 3 straight hours of playing time. I honestly believe that it'll ware in nicely in a couple months and be a real staple in my guitar collection.

  • from Hickory , NC October 1, 2015

    Lone Star

    I love this guitar . the ocean turquoise is alot greener than it looks online .

  • from CAIRO, OHIO May 27, 2014Music Background:
    PRO MUSICIAN

    FENDER DLX LONE STAR STRAT

    REALLY A GREAT GUITAR, THE OCEAN TURQ. COLOR IS A NICE COLOR, THE ACTION IS VERY GOOD, THIS IS BECOMING MY FAVORITE GUITAR, I'M VERY PLEASED WITH THIS GUITAR. I HAVE SEVERAL OTHER FENDERS BUT THIS ONE IS SPECIAL..

    PS: MY SALES REP. WAS EXCEPTIONAL WORKING WITH ME.

  • from Burlington, WA April 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/guitarist of 34 years

    Grab One....if you can

    Let me preface by saying I am the proud owner of 2008 Lonestar - my #1 guitar by far. This is my 2nd Ocean Turquoise Lonestar in 5 months; I admit - as much as I liked the first, I did sell it because it came in way too light, and I felt the fretboard was on the thin side - I just could not adapt to it. Sure enough - I came across one in a local music shop - was approx. 4-5 oz. heavier (came in @ roughly 8lbs, 3 oz.), neck was a bit thicker, which made it nearly identical to my 2008 in both weight & dimensions. These guitars are remarkably consistent, aside from the noticeable weight & spec variations within the run - that's why 4.5 stars. In a nutshell - Lonestar/Roadhouse series BEST $600 spent on ANY guitar, regardless of brand, period.

Questions about the Fender Deluxe Lone Star Stratocaster - Ocean Turquoise?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close