0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Squier Classic Vibe Stratocaster '60s - 3-tone Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Classic Vibe Stratocaster '60s - 3-tone Sunburst?

Questions about the Squier Classic Vibe Stratocaster '60s - 3-tone Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from September 3, 2016

    Amazing guitar! Love it!

    Amazing guitar!

  • from KY Kentucky June 7, 2016Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist and Intermediate Guitar Player

    Squier CV60 Stratocaster

    First and foremost, thanks to Paul for getting this to me in 2 days. It's always encouraging to buy from someone who genuinely cares about the customer.

    Anyway, this guitar is amazing. If you love hot pickups, this guitar is for you. Just watch the video by PixxyLixx on YouTube on this guitar. It actually sounds that hot. I was blown away. To get pickups that strong from a guitar this cheap is amazing. I was questioning whether or not the Classic Vibes Strat was all hype, but it's not. I play anything from Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and Eddie Van Halen, to funky Stevie Wonder riffs, and all of them sound amazing on this guitar.

    If anything could be better about it, I would say it's the tremolo. It brings the guitar out of tune with medium-heavy use, but is fine otherwise.

    For $400, this is better than the MIM strat, Deluxe Player's Strat, and comparable to the American Select Strat. I was absolutely blown away, and I'm sure you will be, too.

  • from Fostoria, Ohio March 4, 2016

    Squier Classic Vibe

    I have played guitar since 1964 and have owned many, many guitars. This guitar's finish, playability, and sound are outstanding for the money. A lot less noise than most strats I've heard and recorded. The tone is not as hot as some but reflects authentic Strat sound to me. Haven't whammied that much to comment.
    If you want this guitar buy one for fun.

  • from Bradenton, Fl February 5, 2016Music Background:
    50+ years

    Amazing Guitar

    I bought this guitar because a friend of mine bought an American Strat at a local music store for about $1400. He didn't like the tolex case so he gave it to me. I had to put something in it! I ordered the Classic Vibe Strat. The setup by Sweetwater was just perfect! I played a gig that night and it sounds and plays great....in fact, I like the neck better than my friend's American Strat. When he got his shipped to the local store they didn't even set it up for him...it cost him an additional $94 for a tech. I will never buy a guitar online from any other seller...Sweetwater is the best! Thank you, Alan Carter!

  • from Fort Worth, Texas June 4, 2015

    Unbelievable Value!

    First of all, Sweetwater's customer service is great!

    Fifty years ago I got my first-ever guitar, a brand new '65 Fender Mustang electric guitar. But I was young and dumb and foolishly traded it for a bass guitar. And I've been wondering ever since if I would find another guitar that I would love as much as my Dakota Red Mustang. I've got a feeling that this Squier Classic Vibe 60's Stratocaster 3-Tone Sunburst may very well be that guitar.

    I've had it for almost 2 weeks, and I find myself not just playing it, but still just staring at it because it is so INCREDIBLY BEAUTIFUL! And like others have said, it came ready to play right out of the box, just a little tweaking of a string or two. It looks great, feels great, plays great, and sounds great. But I'm most in awe of this guitar's stunning beauty and the unbelievably low price for such a fine instrument and fine craftsmanship. To me, it looks like it cost hundreds of dollars more than it did.

    The Classic Vibe 60's Strat has taken the name "Squier" to a whole new level, and those who scoff at it, just don't know.

  • from Oregon City Oregon December 12, 2014Music Background:
    45 years in Music and now hobbyist.

    Great Guitar

    I have been playing for over 45 years so I have been around the block a time or two. This is one of the best guitars I have ever owned I have played and owned Les Pauls and Strats and I just love this guitar. I have a MIJ Strat and it doesn't compare to the Classic Vibe. Nice weight, great polish frets, The sound is awesome and over all great guitar. If your looking for a Strat and haven't made your mind up check this out if you don't your missing out on one of Fenders hidden Treasures that not only looks great but sound great too. Do your self a big favor and check this guitars out you will not be sorry. Save your self money also.

  • from Tolland, CT USA January 29, 2012Music Background:
    playing for 30+ years

    Great Value!

    I just got one of these Classic Vibe Strats from Squier after jonesiní for a Stratocaster for a while. I used to have a í62 reissue Fender Strat from the early Ď90ís (MIJ) that played better than any American-made strat Iíve played. Iím mostly a Les Paul guy, so I sold the Fender years ago and now I really miss it. This Squier Strat plays at least as good, with a smoother fretboard and a beautiful finish. Out of the box, I was surprised how low the action is Ė and with no buzzes. The frets are finished nicely and are all leveled perfectly. The neck is straight and the overall fit and finish are flawless. Well worth the money! Note that the thickness of the rosewood fretboard is much thinner than my old Fenderís was. The intonation on the upper frets is off a bit (nothing that canít be fixed at the bridge) and it has difficulty staying in tune. The tuning issue may have something to do with the cheezy strings that came on it Ė or possibly the cheaply stamped tuning machines. Pickups sound okay with some great bluesy twang to it. The guitar sounds great unplugged, too. Iíll probably replace the tuners first, then perhaps the pots and caps, as those are also inferior. This guitar beats the pants off of the Mexican Fenders and in my experience is one of the best values in the guitar world!

  • from south carolina March 6, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    awsome

    I Have owned ALOT of guitars and Strats in particular and this little Stratocaster has build quality that rivals its Made in Mexico cousins! The amber gloss tint on the maple neck is absolutely gorgeous, many i have seen have subtle but visable flame in the maple, the alder body is very light weight with beautiful woodgrain shot in a vintage 3 tone sunburst (on 60's model) and the vintage style fender tuners really top it off! There are a few concerns though, as with any instrument.. The electronics are rather cheap with dime sized pots and thin sounding pickups on any setting, especially settings with moderate overdrive where the sound tends to become shrill and muddy even with boutique quality tube amplifiers. If the electronics are swapped out for quarter sized pots and your favorite single coils this guitar is a dead knockout in value! With very mild modifications this axe will be your go to instrument for years to come! Guaranteed! You will never put it down! My Gibson SG Standard had taken a back seat to this little beauty! Kudos Squier! I think you have gotten it right!

  • from central Florida December 16, 2009Music Background:
    Playing for 60 years

    Wonderful!!

    Im 70 years of age and have had Gibsons, Gretch and a couple of Fenders and one silvertone.
    I saved the very best for last.
    This is my first strat and Im in love again.
    Out of the box it plays like a dream.

  • from Mason, MI usa June 10, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist, performing musician... blah blah blah

    where the h3ll did this guitar come from?

    Played on last weekend. Cant wait to own one. I sold all my gear about a year and a half ago and have been kicking myself for it.
    The sales rep suggested this axe and I wont even consider another. Ive played for over 20 years and worked for a few years at a world reknown vintage string instruments store, have played strats that were priced at over five thousand bucks. I will never pay that much for a strat as long as fender keeps putting out guitars such as this. My styles range from bluesy to hard core metal. This axe handled everyting (as far as my taste goes)!!!
    I cant believe they are under four hundred bones. now if only I can find an affordable orginal Plexi.

  • from Kansas Cith April 19, 2009Music Background:
    45 years of playing

    great feel

    I picked this guitar up in a music store expecting to feel the same old sharp fret edges and poor quality neck. What I found was a guitar that had nicer smoother frets than the mexican made strats...and a neck that was just about perfection...
    I did not buy the guitar today but I will buy one just as soon as I sell my other guitar.

  • from Montreal, MTL CAN February 14, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing guitar!

    This is one fantastic guitar! The pick-ups are awesome, qulity is unbeleivable and sound is crystal clear! DO NOT be fooled by the Squier name because the quality is far beyond it's price. I think this Stratocaster is better then any guitar that is twice or triple the price of this guitar. If I were you, BUY THIS GUITAR!

  • from New England September 18, 2016Music Background:
    I play a lot for 40 years. Lots of blues/rock/bossanova.

    Classic Vibe strats

    I bought one from Sweetwater, and it is really nice. 2 piece body. While waiting for them to return back in stock, I bought a used one from a fellow down in South Eastern US. I was so happy with the smooth playability. I like thinner 60's style necks. These feel very sleek to me. My new one came with beautiful smooth frets and a good and low setup from Sweetwater. The used one was also in great shape with frets and setup.

    The alder bodies are light, and resonant. The electronics are good. Pots have good range. I switched pups in one to Fender CS-69s, set down low, and is so smooth, glassy, and full. The other i kept with stock pups, and they sound great in a Texas Special grit sort of way.
    Since then, I bought a separate CV 60 neck to have as an extra. Then I bought a separate CV 60 body in order to swap out a fender usa body that I think may be a dud tonally. Turns out i am now the owner of three CV 60's strat builds. The third is about to get Klein 1965 pickups installed. I couldnt be happier with the CV 60's strats.

    I removed the trem in all 3 and replaced with Fender replacement for MIM, includes full tremblock (pot-metal, which i usually prefer over brass or steel ), vintage style steel saddles. You need to buy trem arm separate for about another 7$. These trems work fine and drop right into the CVs. I also get the little tremolo springs that drop into threaded arm hole and create stability in arm so it stays were you let go of it rather than always pivoting down.

  • from St. Petersburg, Florida August 3, 2013Music Background:
    Playing guitar for past 25 years.

    This Strat has the Vibe!

    This is my first Squier Classic Vibe Strat. I own two Classic Vibe Telecasters and I continue to dig the sound of both of them. What I like about the Classis Vibe series is the attention given to the pickups. The fact that the 50's series and the 60's series is deferentiated by alnico 3 and alnico 5 pickups is a great example of attention to detail. The alnico 5 pickups on the Classis Vibe Strat sound fantastic in all positions. Through a VOX AC30 or a Fender Supersonic 22, this guitar has the goods. Great action and setup upon arrival. I want to say that I have dealt with Randy Aikens for nearly 7 years, and he has always taken the time to discuss any given product. At times the discussion has veered into personal musical tastes and favorite gear, and that's what makes dealing with he and Sweetwater enjoyable.

  • from clarkws@cebridge.net November 3, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Home Recording

    Absolutely Pristine

    I have been playing guitar over 30 years, and have owned a variety of electrics and acoustics. I am absolutely thrilled with my 60's classic vibe strat. Before I bought it I tested it against some Fender's - a standard (Mexican) Strat, a used Strat Plus with noiseless pickups, and an american standard. I played through a Fender Deluxe Reverb. In my opinion, the sound quality blew them all away - yes, including the American Standard. Why - crystal clarity - incredible bell-like tones that made some of the others sound - well - poor in comparison.

    So where are the compromises - not the appearance, it looks stunning - I think the primary weakness is in tuning stability. Even there it is not bad - it tunes easily, but I may need to tune (adjust) more frequently - But for the sound quality and feel of the neck, who cares. For $300 this is the buy of the decade. I plan to buy some other classic vibe series guitars - the 50's Tele and the 60's Jazz Bass - I have played them both and am equally impressed.

  • from St. Paul, MN November 30, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Rhythm Guitarist

    A Little Counter Point

    Let me start by saying that I like this guitar. To me, it looks like a Strat should look. That's why I bought it. And fit and finish are excellent. That's why I'm giving it 4 stars. But musically, this is the worst guitar that I own. It's still pretty good. But it's far from a professional instrument which is what many of the reviews led me to believe. This is a great guitar for $. But it is not a great guitar. I have put Fender Custom Shop Texas Specials in it. To be honest I don't think that was necessary. The smaller, dime size pots and stock pickups did not sound much different. I think the stock electronics are decent. The reason that I'm not totally satisfied with this guitar is that it doesn't ring like my other guitars. Musically, it just can't compete with my others. I believe that it's because of the wood and paint used. This guitar weighs only 7 pounds, while an American Strat weighs over 8 pounds. I'm just saying that I wish I would have bought an American Strat over this guitar. Again, this is a great guitar for the money. But I just felt these reviews needed a little counterpoint. Keep in mind that I played 24 gigs this past year, and all of my equipment is top notch. So I'm a bit biased. But there is some truth to the saying that you get what you pay for.

  • from Missouri April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Amature

    Classic Vibe a Great Addition to the Herd

    Came exactly as describe. Finish was flawless, neck was well set up, only one string a half step flat. It is a fun guitar and great to play

  • from SF BAY AREA,CALIFORNIA USA September 19, 2009Music Background:
    ACTIVE MUSICIAN,WORSHIP LEADER,ALTERNATIVE,BLUES,ROCK

    GREAT GUITAR FOR THE PRICE

    I LOVE EVERYTHING IN THIS GUITAR EXCEPT THE BRIDGE SADDLE.THE SADDLE LOOKS MODERN & NOT VINTAGE STYLE..SOUNDS GREAT,READY TO PLAY WITHOUT ADJUSTING THE ACTION,ITS ALREADY SET UP IN MOST OF THE GUITARIST PERSPECTIVE.I RECCOMMEND THIS GUITAR,FROM BEGINNER-PRO.

  • from Lower Ohio River valley, USA February 18, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I love it!

    I have had this guitar for about a month and have really fallen in love with it. It's my first strat, so I can only compare it to a Les Paul style Gretsch guitar that I've had for many years. It is light, but has beautiful tone. I spent a few hours setting it up of course, and experimenting with tension on the tremlo, using guidelines I found on Fender's website for setting up a strat with a tremlo.
    The strings it came with were no good, so you won't get good sound until you replace them. The 5-way switch gave me alot of static in switching initially, but has improved. At this point, as a non-pro player who will use this guitar for occasional gigs, I see no need to replace anything on this guitar, although I probably will upgrade the pots and switch as a cheap way to wring a little more juice out of this axe. For the price you can't go wrong with this guitar. If your concerned about the name on the headstock just close your eyes when you play - it will sound excellent - and isn't that what counts?

  • from March 6, 2016

    Good for the money, Needs Upgrades badly

    So I've been stalking this guitar online for about a year now and all the reviews and videos Ive seen were telling me that this guitar is a diamond in the rough. I tracked one down in my local area and went to try it out. My initial impression was that this guitar has a very good skeleton but the rest is lacking in every category. When I bought her I immediately ordered the follow parts. New Bridge saddles, new springs for the tremolo, new brass full-sized trem block, and new electronics. The tremolo was rubbish and never kept its tuning no matter how genital I was using the tremolo arm. The pots are all very small micro-pots and cheap, and the saddles were garbage. After those upgrades were complete i thought it was ready to gig reliably, but the vintage tuners couldn't stand up to hard, percussive playing and aggressive bends. I had a set of Wilkinson EZ-Lok tuners in another guitar and threw those on my CV and now, with everything but the wood changed out for upgraded parts this guitar is an absolute beast. I spent $120 on the pick-guard/pickups/electronics, and $68 on the rest of the replacement parts. So for a grand total of $426 (i spent $236 on the guitar) I have a guitar that sounds and play equally well as my American Fender Stratocaster. I even find myself playing this Strat more than my USA made one.

Questions about the Squier Classic Vibe Stratocaster '60s - 3-tone Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway