0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender American Special Stratocaster - 2-tone Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender American Special Stratocaster - 2-tone Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender American Special Stratocaster - 2-tone Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Randy Akins

    This Fender American Special Stratocaster is the perfect blend of finesse and funk - the jumbo frets on this neck are as smooth as silk and the Texas Special pickups give you all the grunge you could ever want! Definitely a fun guitar!

  • from Long Island, NY March 21, 2017

    Worth The Wait

    I wanted an American Stratocaster since I was a kid. Well last week I pulled the trigger. I retired and this was a gift to myself. I am totally blown away with the Texas Special pups and the Greasebucket tone controls. I jam with my friends once a month and wasn't able to get my Music Man clean amp dirty. Well with this guitar and the Texas Specials it finally happened. With the new tone controls you can get many different sounds from this guitar. This guitar is worth every penny and it was worth the wait! The Sweetwater sales staff was great and very helpful and I would recommend Sweetwater to all my friends.

  • from Philadelphia October 13, 2016Music Background:
    hobbyist musician

    I've been a Gibson guy for nearly 40 years, LP's, SG's, etc. Just bought the Fender American Special Strat, arrived today and I cannot put it down. I'm a 62 yr. old hard rocker who has just been reborn to the Strat world. Buy this guitar now before I buy them all!! Where the hell have I been all these years! Sweetwater Sound Rocks the world- unequalled for pricing, 55 point set up, service, sales people.

  • from Va. April 17, 2016Music Background:
    play like I feel, always never satisfied, and always playing.

    American Special Strat , is very Special!

    It is a fact that you can get lucky buying a less expensive guitar, but I have had mine since they first added the Texas special pickups, and have played custom shop Strats since that friends are trying to match the sound, even going as far as adding the Texas trio, not the same, this guitar was made for the people by Fender and I thank them!

  • from maine January 28, 2015Music Background:
    i suck at it and dont care!!!!!

    fender american special

    I am totally satisfied with my strat and i must say they are the best to buy equipment from there service is the best ive seen in along time!!!! Kudos sweetwater you will always get my buisness!!!

  • from Peabody, MA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    HobbyistExcellent

    excellent !!!!

    This is my second purchase with Sweetwater , and the free shipment was super-fast . Set up of my guitar was perfect . Out of the box and playing , this kind of work some people charge a lots of money , but you provided it free of charge . How can not love this company ?
    The Rep actually suggested the color for me , and he was right . I love this guitar and the sound it produces , is more than perfect .
    He also honored the price of the catalog , which nobody does . Another plus for Sweetwater . In another words great guitar and service .
    I will give 10 stars if I could . Keep up the good work .

  • from Nashua, NH February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro, teacher...

    The BEST Stratocaster I've ever owned!

    Most of us have heard that "some strats are better than others", and I suppose this is true for any high end guitar, but this particular strat is by far the best electric guitar I've ever owned, and I have the best of them: Rickenbacker, Gibson - as well as Fender. I may have just been lucky, but I would never trade this American 'Special' Stratocaster in for ANYTHING. I won't even bother with the $5000 boxes because for some reason, this guitar has its own "personality". Perhaps, this is your experience too, with one of your own guitar purchases - you expect a "good" instrument, but instead get a GREAT one! The only thing I did to improve mine was to swap out the machines for locking tuners because I could not get the G string to stay in tune for more than five minutes - no matter what I did (i.e. saddle, spring, nut adjustments...). I also use the heaviest gauge Ernie Ball strings with a very high action. Man, can this baby sing... I honesty will never invest in one of the premiere Fender Strats because all the ones I've played at the store cannot come close to the "soul" of mine. I hope you are as fortunate as me with your own American Special. It's a great price (though I noticed it's selling for $100-$150 more this year) so get yours soon before everyone figures out what a great deal this is and Fender jacks the price up even higher. BTW, I also toyed around with swapping out the middle and neck Texas Specials with a '50's reissue for the neck and a '69 reissue for the middle, but again - these Texas Special pickups provide the best possible Blues/Rock tones I've ever - and I mean, EVER - heard from a guitar. I guess you can see how much I LOVE this axe!

  • from California, USA February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Teacher, Hobbyist, Amateur guitar tech, Player

    American Special Strat

    I reviewed this on the American Special 'Surf Green" guitar. Its the 2-tone Sunburst I actually bought. It came to my house looking sleek and completely up to standard. I will definitely order more of these in different colors through Sweetwater! Still, It doesn't matter what colour, as long as the American Special get's it's due: It's been said, that a good instrument should inspire you. This is the case with this wonderfully made guitar. I came up with a nice beginning to a song hours upon playing it. I received this guitar from Sweetwater about 2 months ago. I pulled the guitar from it's gig bag and immediately grinned as I gripped it's maple neck and felt the frets against my palm, it just felt 'good' to me. The satin finish was smooth and sleek compared to my good looking yet cumbersome glossy neck I was used to. I checked it's tuning, I checked intonation, I measured neck relief, I checked the action; and everything was completely up to standard thanks to Sweetwater's 55 point evaluation. I changed string gauges and tweaked the truss a bit to my liking specifically. Then I plugged it in! Sorry, I don't own a 60's blackface yet, but this guitar sounds amazing through my two solid-state amps and friends 72' super reverb silverface amp. Rolling the tone knobs down takes you through different shades of tone. I plugged it into a high gain amp w/distortion and rolled down the bridge pickup to find it makes a fine heavy metal tone. I can't wait to hear what it does with a good old BF. I love everything about it. There were no flaws cosmetically and there was nothing that effected play-ability or tone. Of course I actually plugged it in before changing string sizes and it sounded amazing, but too thin for my taste. Upping the string gauge was a breeze and only required tightening the tremolo claw, made very simple thanks to Fender's design.I want to add one last thing; I just got through looking with Musicians Friend's ratings on this guitar, and it seems a couple of their clients got a lemon when ordering this guitar. Never fear, Sweetwater would never let those guitars out of their warehouses. My sales engineer was with me from step A to step B. If there is a problem, rest assured you will be taken care of. It will be fresh, from the moment you take it out of the box. I will order all of my online guitars through Sweetwater from this day on.

  • from South Carolina, USA June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Church Praise Band Guitarist

    Great Looking, Great Sounding & Affordable American-Made Strat

    Just received my Fender American Special Strat (Candy Apple Red) from Sweetwater and I have to say I really love this guitar.

    Although there was nothing wrong with the tuners I decided to swap the stock tuners out with some locking Fender tuners but other than that the guitar was sounds really great right out of the box and this was just a personal preference for me.

    The Sweetwater setup is great and really is reason enough to persuade me to purchase all of my online guitars here in the future. Even though I can setup a Strat myself it is great to have the guitar arrive already playable with no buzzing frets, etc., so only a few minor tweaks have to be made.

    The only con that I can point out is that the gig bag that comes with the guitar is quite flimsy. I understand that Fender had to do this to cut some costs to make this guitar more affordable and I certainly don't blame them for that. If you don't have an extra hardshell case just plan on budgeting for one so you can keep this beauty in the best possible shape.

    I personally like the 70s style headstock on this guitar since it is quite different from my other strats and I really like the sound of this guitar. It is definately a keeper so if you're in the market for a great American-made strat and are on a budget this is really a great guitar and with Sweetwater's great customer service you can't go wrong.

  • from Waynesburg Pa. June 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist , Play the bars on weekends.

    Fender American Special Strat (CAR)

    I already owned the other two American Special Strats with maple necks so I guessed I might as well finish the trio. My wife is actually the one who liked this color I figure it will grow on me , The guitar arrived the next day , was set up perfect and played great right out of the box, I pulled the trem down flat tuned a half step down and played the heck out of it for an hour. Once again my thanks go out to the Sweetwater staff , you are the best and we love to do business with you. Keep up the great work. I would recommend this guitar to anyone in the market for a new guitar.

  • from Waynesburg Pa March 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist play the bars on weekends

    Fender American Special Stratocaster (2-Tone Sunburst)

    What a great guitar for the price, With money being tight for most of us these days I must say it was a treat to find that Fender has given us something to feel better about . The guitar that I picked out looked very nice , I had worries that the materials used in this series would be less than good .Plays great sounds great feels nice and looks like a top notch instrument. I would highly recommend this guitar to anybody in the market .If you are like me it may take a few jam sessions to get the amp and guitar tones dialed in , the texas special pickups sound great clean and gritty but it took me a few days to get that heavier sound I wanted. The best thing about this purchase was the people at Sweetwater, it was a surprise to find that they actually set their guitars up before they ship them mine arrived set up perfect right out of the box. A quick tune of the strings and I put it through its paces.I am waiting for the HSS 3-tone Sunburst to get in stock so I can buy one of them as well.My thanks to the staff at Sweetwater I think that I have found my new guitar shop and will do the bulk of my business with them .

  • from Georgia February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Active musician

    Great guitar

    Checked around for a couple of months on where to purchase this strat. I have been a Sweetwater customer for a number of years and still find after checking out other sites, Sweetwater continues to provide excellent service, free speedy shipping and the best price around. Their customer service cannot be beat. As far as the guitar goes, it's an American Strat...

  • from Santa Cruz September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Playing since 1965

    Great Guitar!

    I really like the sound and feel. The set up needed a little tweaking, tho. Also, the trem block was supposed to be steel, it's not. Given the price vs what you get, it's a bargain.

  • from tx February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing for over 40 yerars

    Beautiful Guitar

    This is a berautiful guitar, received in perfect condition. Love the neck action and TX special pick-ups. Would highly recommend this guitar to anyone who is looking for a good all around guitar, fun to play and beutiful sound quality.

  • from Seattle, Wa USA January 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyst/Student

    Candy American Special Strat

    Love the throaty Texas Special pickups, without effects I get that SRV sound off my AC 30. The neck takes a bit to get used to, play a lot on my Tele and HSS Strat with the normal fret and neck size. Can hear a real difference in the sustain, most likely do to neck and headstock. It stays in tune really great, even after playing with the trem bar. Need to restring, I like the sound of elixir's and most likley stay with the .009's (light's). Yes, this guitar neck is made to bend notes, and with those pickups, the blues are better!
    Only thing that did upset me is that there are 2 dust specks on the neck behind the 3rd fret, for the money you'd think the QC was better on the American Strat, my HSS is a Mexi and no flaws. You just feel them but in no way does it effect the playability. (thus only 4.5) For your money you can't find a better American made guitar!
    Last of all my buddy who is a pro-musician, was very impressed, he couldn't believe the price, and I had to pry it away from him. He plays on an older custom shop Strat and really been playing as a pro for 40 years, that says it all for me!

Questions about the Fender American Special Stratocaster - 2-tone Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway