0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Fender Classic '50s Stratocaster - Surf Green with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Classic '50s Stratocaster - Surf Green with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Classic '50s Stratocaster - Surf Green with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Oley Pa December 3, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Really nice Stratocaster

    I get this guitar a week ago, it is really nice, I was torn between this and the classic player fifties Strat but I called my rep James Masterson and asked if the classic player was wired like a normal five way or if position four was bridge and neck. He thought it was regular but he checked with the Fender rep at Sweetwater and found out that position four was indeed bridge and neck. I have two classic player Baja Telecasters and I totally love them so I was interested in the classic player strat , but I had read they were wired differently than the standard five way which I wanted. So I ordered the surf green classic fifties strat.
    The biggest differences between the two were fretboard radius and fret size and switch wiring.
    I was used to the nine and a half radius from my Bajas but I wasn't concerned about the smaller radius and smaller frets. I like them both.
    Right out of the box it was set up beautifully, I only adjusted pickup heights to suit my tastes a bit better. It's funky, slippery, slidy,real easy to play. The sounds are wonderful through my Mesa Express five,fifty plus and it's got the two quack positions I wanted. The body contours are nice, plus the rounded edges all the way around, but the more squared of edges of a tele don't bother me at all either. This guitar has already found its place in the keeper files.
    This is a very nice, well built, well setup, guitar with excellent fit and finish and great price point. Easily worth much more. In both looks and feel it carries off the vintage vibe of smaller radius and vintage alnico pickups, as well as the fifties car body coloring.
    I am extremely pleased with this guitar and the Sweetwater service team. This is the second guitar I've bought through them online and I also bought my amp and several smaller items. Service is unmatched, products are as advertised, no bull. And delivery is prompt and free. Thanks again James Masterson and once again our horses thank you for the hefty bag of mints ! I will continue to do all my musical purchases from Sweetwater.

  • from April 14, 2016

    Amazing

    This is a purchase you will never regret. I can't name one thing wrong with this guitar. The soft v and vintage style frets makes this guitar so easy to play. It's really hard to put down.

  • from LA. CA. August 19, 2015Music Background:
    Rock&Roll 1977-2015

    WOW MOM--A 50****

    Buy the 50!!! It's amazing!!!!!!! Don't mess with the p/u's.....there great!

  • from san antonio texas October 22, 2013Music Background:
    retired musician,,been playing since 1961

    classic 50's strat

    I bought the 50;s classic as a second,the only thing wrong was a stripped thread on a bridge screw....otherwise it as perfect..mine is the sunburst model.,.i have several guitars..this guitar is well worth the money..it equals any USA model I have played..

  • from Twinsburg Ohio June 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Music Nut

    Simply Perfect

    I am writing this to let wary buyers know that the guitar I received is perfect. It came out of the box completely playable and it was just as described and shown online at Sweetwater! The sound is amazing and I did not have to spend another 60 bucks and wait a week for a set up. I ordered it on Friday at about 3:30pm and it was delivered on Saturday to Ohio. I did not actually get the guitar until Tuesday due to a Fedex driver error so I am writing this on Tuesday which is still a short wait for a sweet guitar. I got the surf green and it is definitely a flashback to the 1950's.

  • from January 25, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist

    Plays like a dream

    Wow. Such a great guitar! I personally bought the Surf Green and I've certainly gotten compliments on the unique color. Personally Im not much of a single pickup guy. I'm more of a humbucker guy. When I first started out, I used a crappy Squier starter kit, so then after that my view of Strats dimmed. But this certainly proved me wrong. How I describe the tone and feel of the guitar is like glass. The sounds on clean resonates like no other and is crisp and clear. The glossed fretboard also helps with the feel of the instrument, It certainly sings too you. I personally play on a clean setting about 75% of the time, but this can pull off some edge with some distortion easily. Metal, no. Classic rock, hell yeah with stock. Fair warning the pickups do hum when you're not playing it. So if that sort of thing bothers you, Id change the pickups. But I kept it alone simply because too me that's how it should be, I just roll down the volume when Im not using it. The neck for me is the right size, though I enjoy thicker necks. You must take the neck off too adjust the truss rod, its how they did it back then.
    I can understand that this is not for everybody, but is certainly for me,
    Also Due to Sweetwater I got this in just a few days, with it being playable right out of the box. Overall great experience with everything.

  • from Kodiak, AK/San Juan, PR May 15, 2010Music Background:
    Been playing for 10 years, playing in a bar in PR for a few years. Take it for what you will.

    WOW

    I just got this baby in a few hours ago and I've got to say that I'm blown away on this guitar! This is my first strat and first maple neck. I was a little hesitant about the malpe neck since the 13 guitars that I've owned in the past have all been ebony/rosewood and so on, but this neck just feels sooo right! Its a soft "V" but I really cant tell that much of a difference between it and my 2009 Fender American Deluxe Telecaster's modern "C" neck. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 is that are a few places on the neck that have a little too much lacquer near the frets it dosent effect the tone at all ,the second reason is there are some scratches where the neck attaches to the body but once again doesnt effect the tone. I got the surf green and the picture doesnt do it justice! Amazing color I must say! The pick-ups a pretty beefy and sound like a strat for sure. I will probably replace them with the '54's later, but their fine for now. I know that the tunners are "vintage" and are proper for the time and what not but a put some light strings on and it was a pain in the a** due to the fact that string slots a open. If your leaning on the fence about this guitar, drop on down to this side! I own a Fender American Telecaster Deluxe, Gretsch 5120 w/ TV Jones pick-ups, Gibson SG Standard w/ Dimarzio Evolution pick-ups, and a few others and this is in my top 3!

  • from Wash Paw September 12, 2009Music Background:
    Retired

    Great Fender Electric Guitar

    If you like that classic Fender sound this guitar is for you. It plays great and looks cool. Keep in mind this has a 50's style neck only 21 frets and the truss rod adjustment is on the body side under the pickguard. I replaced the 1 ply pickguard with a Fender custom 3 ply.I sold my American Highway 1 Strat to buy this MIM one. It will be a collectors item in the future. I play it through my Fender SuperChamp. WOW!!! A great pairing. I have owned this for 2 years + and adjusted the neck once.

  • from October 12, 2008Music Background:
    active gigging musician, all genres

    excellent axe

    The 50's strat plays like a dream. It comes setup very well, action is comfortable. The Tremolo is the best I've had on a strat. Light alder body that is easy on the back. Which brings me to the pickups which sound decent for a MIM. I dropped a dimarzio humbucker in the bridge position and I can make any sound I want. Very versatile, great deal.

  • from Beaverton, OR September 7, 2015

    Guitar is great, service not so much

    This guitar plays great, however.... the "gear experts" inspection of the guitar sucked ***. I am not sure what they actually did besides open the box and sell me a used guitar. There were fingerprints on the body and heads stock. There were buzzing frets ( string height problem ) and the intonation was not even close. I also needed to do a truss rod adjustment to get the bow out of the neck. The retard that inspected this guitar didn't even notice that the two allen wrenches for doing these adjustments were not in the box.

    The guitar plays great and has a wonderful wood grain in the neck that just looks awesome. Almost like a waterfall finish on a nice knife. The tone is both bright and warm which is rare for a strat. The classic '50s wiring is super cool too as most of us on the bridge pickup are full open anyways.

    All in all, this guitar is great. I would give it 5 out of 5 if the sweetwater team hadn't put their dirty little hands on it for no reason. Maybe he was hung over the day that he looked at this one. Good thing I know how to set up a guitar.

Questions about the Fender Classic '50s Stratocaster - Surf Green with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway