rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Schaller Security Strap Locks - Nickel Reviews

4.5 stars based on 40 customer reviews
Questions about the Schaller Security Strap Locks - Nickel?

Questions about the Schaller Security Strap Locks - Nickel?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indiana April 3, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Safest and Greatest

    The Best thing for you and your Instrument is to know its safe when you are wearing it and with these yo dont have to worry about that. Best Strap locks out there.

  • from AZ March 2, 2017Music Background:
    40+years of guitar in the closet with formal education incl theory, ear training, musical dictation, player

    Excellent!!! I use on all my guitars (all 10 of them, 8 are PRS)

    I have never owned an electric guitar that I have not installed these on. I have bought and used many of these over the years in all flavors.. gold, nickel, black etc., they are great if you don't want an 'Oh Sh*t' Moment! One note.. its good to check the tightness of the nut on the strap from time to time cause it can and will loosen at some point. Can't go wrong and good investment from strap anomalies'. I too am a real person and use this product!

  • from Rocky Mountains February 13, 2017Music Background:
    Novice

    Bombproof

    These are bombproof. I have had problems with other strap locks getting knocked off. Loxx are good, these are the best. Never worry with Schaller strap locks.

  • from Tallahassee, FL February 6, 2017

    Schaller Security Strap Locks

    Excellent quality. Works well with PRS electric guitars. I was able to use the original PRS screw during installation of the Schaller security strap locks which alleviates any potential thread issues in the body of the guitar.

  • from Fairfax, VA February 2, 2017

    Perfect swap for Gretsch bass

    I bought a Gretsch bass that had the knurled strap retainers. I found them to be annoying, so I wanted to swap them for strap locks and since Gretsch installs Schaller on some of their guitars, this seemed like a logical choice. I was afraid that the screw would be a different diameter and that I would have to modify the bass. Nope... it was exactly the same size. Perfect and simple swap.

  • from charlotte, NC December 21, 2016

    Works great on Epiphone Les Paul Traditional

    Fit on my Epiphone Les Paul Traditional perfectly. I didn't have to drill any holes or anything. No toothpicks needed. Work as described. No slipping.

  • from Seattle November 26, 2016Music Background:
    Math Rock and Blues

    Why would you not have strap locks?

    Takes about a minute to install and you never have to worry about your guitar slipping ever again.

  • from Turlock,Ca. October 28, 2016

    Schaller strap locks

    I prefer these Schaller strap-locks, over the Dunlap strap-locks! Just my own preference!

  • from NYC September 18, 2016Music Background:
    GUITARIST FOR 55+ YEARS

    NO MORE WORRIES

    SIMPLY THE SAFEST WAY TO STRAP YOUR VINTAGE GUITARS!
    NO MORE SLIP-DROPS.
    A MUST FOR PERFORMERS TOO.

  • from May 27, 2016

    Strap Locks

    Very Good Product

  • from SWFL March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Former Pro Now Out to Pasture

    These Are The Real Deal

    Schaller Locks are the ONLY ones to buy! They won't fail on stage and don't make much racket in the studio. And they are shiny.

  • from Victoria ,Texas February 11, 2016Music Background:
    Rock and Roll Band 1963 TO 1968. Now in Praise Band at my Church

    Schaller locks

    Very good quality . Wish I would have had these years ago . Great protection from a strap accidently coming undone.

  • from September 29, 2015

    Rock solid

    I really like the security and these strap locks provide. They are easy to install and offer protection from potential accidents involving a strap mishap.

  • from Egypt June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Classical & Folk player at local church

    Easy to install

    Very easy to install & holds the guitar tightly..

  • from United States March 20, 2015Music Background:
    POR MUSICIAN

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    THE SCHALLER STRAP LOCKS KEEP YOU SAFE AND SOUND FROM HAVING YOU AX DROP ONTO THE FLOOR AND BECOME DAMAGED. EASY ON EASY OFF. SIMPLY THE BEST MEANS FOR PEACE OF MIND AND PROTECTING YOUR AX.

  • from United States January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Drums, Guitar, Harp, Vocals & Sound semi-pro

    A best way to protect your investment

    If you don't want to drop your baby, Schaller security strap locks are the way go. A positive lock and a cup too support the strap button. Just a better idea.

  • from Stafford, VA USA December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Amature Misician and Collector

    I have been using Schallers since the 80's

    I have been using Schallers since the 80's and I still continue to use them. I prefer them over all other brands.

  • from Fredericksburg, VA March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Can't Imagine not using Schaller Security Strap Locks

    I've seen too many "close calls" when someone's strap slips off the strap bolt. To me, strap locks are a no-brainer. And installing Schaller Strap locks is also a no-brainer. If you love your guitar, (and you know you do) protect it with Schaller locks. (No, I don't work for Schaller and yes, I have Schaller locks on all my straps.) Highly recommended.

  • from Carrollton Ga March 19, 2014

    the best strap lock

    This is my first strap lock pair, but based off of the feel, if I get another guitar, I will get another pair. Have them on my 2008 Gibson Les Paul Studio and these things are awesome! No need to drill any holes or anything. Someone told me that I had to drill holes in the guitar, wrong, didn't do it. wouldn't do it on my Gibson anyway

  • from northern plains December 30, 2013

    they work great, should be standard on nice guitars

    I no longer worry about dropping my les paul. I love the peace of mind of having such a secure connection to the guitar. If you ever watch any of your guitars fall when you did not put on the strap right, you know what I am talking about.

    I wish Gibson would have these factory for what we pay for there guitars!

  • from Richmond, Indiana November 16, 2013Music Background:
    Played in a band for 21 years. have played solo the last 13 years

    Very Secure Protection for That Favorite Guitar

    I have used Schaller Straplocks on a number of different electric guitars over the years, including Gibson Les Paul Customs, and they have always stayed securely locked until I released them to take the strap off the guitar.

    I consider them a "MUST HAVE" accessory for an electric guitar. When I purchase a new electric guitar I have Schaller Straplocks installed immediately.

    Think of them as "INSURANCE" against dropping that favorite guitar because the strap slipped off of the strap button.

  • from Lakeview Ohio July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Musican

    The best

    Started using these about a year ago. I don't believe I'll be using any other unless they come out with something that just blows these away!

  • from newyork June 18, 2013

    Not Bad

    I got some of these because I started to have strap trouble. they are still working fine

  • from United States February 16, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Musician, Song Writer

    WOW Should have put these on YEARS AGO

    I began having trouble with my strap slipping off my Les Paul Custom. I put a set of these on and the strap becomes part of the guitar.

    The buttons sit very secure little cups and also lock in place with a satisfying spring loaded click. On the strap side the piece actually bolts on to your strap, and it doesn't matter how tight you make the bolt in fact the tighter the better. The button fits so well that the guitar swings easily and allows even more freedom of movement than if you connected the strap directly to the guitar.

    From now on these are a must with every guitar purchase along with a case, capo and a strap. It is piece of mind you can buy.

  • from Warsaw, IN USA December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Picked up my first guitar in 1964 and am still playin'.

    What a neat invention!

    I wish someone would have told me about these years ago. We all live in fear of having a strap slip off a guitar. These things solve the problem. They lock up like a brick and can't shake loose, but can be removed by a two year old. Switch strap to another guitar in seconds. Awesome product.

  • from York, PA May 19, 2017Music Background:
    7-yrs gigging musician/ singer/ songwriter

    These are FANTASTIC!

    PERFECT solution to a guitar strap on which the leather eyelets have become a bit loose. Super simple to change out the old pegs and to install these. Took me 5 minutes. The security of not having to constantly check my strap every time I put it on is a relief-- I can switch between instruments (keyboards and bass) between songs and have one less thing to think about during a gig or practice.

    They're beautiful, functional, easy to install and use, and don't stand out noticeably. For the price, these are a steal. It would be a no-brainer if strap manufacturers would just include these kinds of locks with all their straps in the first place.

  • from Ma September 28, 2016

    strap locks

    It's a must! Have them in all my basses!

  • from Colon, MI March 23, 2016

    Great Strap Locks!

    I have these strap locks on both my Fender Strat and Fender bass. Before I purchased them I looked at others and these were the highest recommended so I decided to give them a try. They are extremely sturdy and I like that you have to intentionally pull up on the locking mechanism in order to release them, unlike the Dunlop ones that you press in in order to release. I know of an incident where someone had the Dunlop ones and accidentally bumped the release button on the lock against something while playing live and the lock released and the guitar fell to the floor causing damage. Though it's not likely to happen, just the fact that it did was enough for me to choose the Schaller ones instead. The only thing that I don't like and it is minor, is that sometimes the washer wants to loosen but it has never loosened enough to cause a problem. I just always make sure they are tight when I put my strap on and I'm good to go. That is the only reason I didn't give this a 5 star rating.

  • from Anchorage February 4, 2016Music Background:
    Writer/performer/engineer/producer

    Safe and secure

    I do not know why I waited so long to put these on. I wrongfully thought that these would somehow change the look of my new, beautiful Stat. Wrong, wrong, wrong. They have no aesthetic change whatsoever. The only effect is one in which your guitar becomes protected.

    These are simple to install and are non-marring. My guitar feels so secure hanging from its strap now. Really, I've got no complaints and I am usually able to come up with some type of complaint.

  • from chiefland, FL March 18, 2014Music Background:
    Struggling musician

    Perfect Staplocks

    Perfect fit for my Gibson Les Paul. No modifications needed. Screws were identical to the stock Gibson screws.

  • from South Shore.Ky February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Bass Player for 26 years

    Still Going Strong

    I bought a pair of these back in 1992 and still using the same set, I have never had any problems. Can't go wrong with these. Try 'em you'll like 'em

  • from Orlando/Tampa April 15, 2010Music Background:
    Been playing for about 40 years and can still crank it up loud.

    Shaller Security Strap Locks

    I have used these for dozens of years and I have them in nickel, chrome, and gold. Even the gold ones still look new. Excellent plating on all three.

    I have always prefered these because some strap locks have a push button instead of a pull like the Shallers. That means that if you bump into something, it could come loose, but not the Shallers.

    I see no reason to switch to anything else. All the ones I have still work perfectly after tons of use.

  • from May 8, 2016

    Straplocks

    Works great, I have them on all my guitars.

  • from Athens, Ohio August 19, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Professional

    Strap Locks are great but...

    You can't go wrong with these locks so if you need them, buy them. What I don't like is that I needed a cheap set of locks and saw these listed for what I thought was $10.99. (I'm going to come right out and say it.) When clicking on the product it read "as low as $10.99" when you buy three sets and while I know Sweetwater does this regularly...it's annoying. The actual price for one set was $14.99. If you have ever heard of a "bait and switch" that is a tactic that new users of this site need to get used to. I don't like it.

  • from Brooklyn, NY May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great stuff but...

    I expected felt pad for guitar body would come with this set but not. I think it should. Although I admit that the product itself is great!

  • from Springfield OH January 25, 2012

    Security Lock Guitar Straplocks

    Have always had trouble with coming off in the middle of a performance. Those days are over

  • from NYC and Bahrain October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound, hobby musician + audio dealer

    one of the best - but needs an update

    I'm an engineer, with 12 guitars. Straplocks ARE essential, but...
    a) body screw threads too shallow, not same as many original threads, they mash internal screw thread routing, so can loosen or pull-out.
    Eg. wood dust and superglue, or re-use original screws if possible, but most original screw heads are too wide: Schaller posts need drilling for both shank and countersink = messy/dangerous.
    b) diameter of Schaller thread for washer and locking nut on strap:
    too wide - stretches leather, necessitating messy trimming
    too short - locknut turnable only once on thick leather (then loosens?!)
    c) only black screws!
    In brief: Schaller posts should be remodelled to accept original screws.

  • from NYC and Bahrain October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound, hobby musician + audio dealer

    one of the best - but needs an update

    I'm an engineer, with 12 guitars. Straplocks ARE essential, but...
    a) body screw threads too shallow, not same as many original threads, they mash internal screw thread routing, so can loosen or pull-out.
    Eg. wood dust and superglue, or re-use original screws if possible, but most original screw heads are too wide: Schaller posts need drilling for both shank and countersink = messy/dangerous.
    b) diameter of Schaller thread for washer and locking nut on strap:
    too wide - stretches leather, necessitating messy trimming
    too short - locknut turnable only once on thick leather (then loosens?!)
    c) only black screws!
    In brief: Schaller posts should be remodelled to accept original screws.

  • from December 3, 2015Music Background:
    25 year player

    These are the worst design possible.

    Be warned. If you are going to use these make sure you use a little locktite on the ends of the plungers. They unscrew very easily. Without he little tip on the end the the plunger falls inside and it is extremely difficult to retrieve the plunger and to remove the lock. The little ball on the end is designed to screw onto the plunger on the outside. I am done with these. Check the internet. There are a lot of people who have had the same problem.

  • from Iowa March 1, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist 25 years

    schaller strap locks wear & unhook

    purchased locks, I don't change straps much but don't want strap to come off and break my guitar neck ! But locking pin is very short in lock and end has worn round and pops off very easily and unsuspectingly . I was able to catch it but has happened often enough to make me remove it . Pin is not sticking but has worn round and will not stay locked. Dunlap locks are the best or Ernie Ball .

Questions about the Schaller Security Strap Locks - Nickel?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway