rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Nickel Reviews

4.5 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Nickel?

Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Nickel?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from NEW MILFORD, NJ January 16, 2017

    Solid Security

    I have used Dunlop Straploks exclusively since the early '80s and make sure that every new guitar I own has Dunlop Straploks installed as soon as I feel it's a keeper. The nice thing about having them on all your guitars and straps beside the obvious safety and security that your baby doesn't slip loose from the strap is that once installed on all guitars and straps you are free to swap straps to your liking.

    Tip: When installing these on thick leather of suede straps (such as the quality straps from Levy's) you can carefully use a flat head screw driver under your thumb during installation to work the button into the thick strap ends. Once you have patiently worked the button into the strap hole working in circles until the lip of the Straplok is accessible to install the lock-washer then you are done. "Patience weed-hopper" In the end you will have a safe and secure guitar for years to come. I have purchased over 20 of these over the years and would only trust these as they have yet to let me down.

    Highly recommended! Make sure your next guitar is "Sweetwater selected", "Dunlop Straplok protected",
    Tell Mike Picotte at Sweetwater that Johnny B sent you!

  • from California August 15, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Excellent!

    Have been using the Dunlop strap lock system since 1990. Made in USA which is nice to see these days. Uber-fast shipping. You will not be disappointed!

  • from April 2, 2016

    very good!!

    I have these on several guitars & will be buying more.

  • from Or January 13, 2016

    Dunlop straploks

    I have been using Dunlop straploks since they first came out , so , yeah , a while now.
    One of the nice improvements over the years, the design , small as it may be , is that it is a lot easier to put on any thickness of strap without trouble . I have other brands as well , were given to me new . I had one brand new guitar drop several times , even came undone on the stand... Dunlop never has & if I am messing with a new strap , I can use it without the locks to check it or size it , whatever because they are actual strap buttons as well .. The originals have never given me trouble nor have the new ones . I was happy that Sweetwater carries them. Like Dunlop , Sweetwater never lets me down.

  • from Pennsylvania September 17, 2015

    Peace of mind.

    Great strap locks. I've used a few of the big name strap locks and these are among my favorite type of lock. Cheap, easy to install and they don't fail. It's a small price to pay for peace of mind.

  • from Los Angeles July 26, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist

    No other used

    I have these on my Music Man 4 string and 5 string as well as my Yamaha BB bass. There is no better strap lock than these. Plus you can use a regular strap on the dual design strap buttons.....two in one!

  • from Tallahassee, FL March 17, 2015

    Installed on ALL my basses

    I use these straploks on ALL of my basses (I can use the same strap for multiple basses), no matter the price. They always work well, install easily, and never release unless I want them too. I recommend them to everyone I play with, because I hate to see a guitar or bass fall and get damaged. They can easily be installed to your favorite straps even if the holes are worn out. They are well worth the meager investment. One of the best music related purchases I have ever made.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Just a guy who loves to play guitar

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System - Black

    Rock solid! I have been using these on all my guitars for 20+ years. Easy to install. I've never had a problem with these ever. I buy a set every time I get a new guitar.

  • from Milwaukee, WI August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Reliable, That's Certain

    I've had the same exact set of these StrapLoks for almost 8 years now, across around 4-5 guitars. Yes, that's right, I've uninstalled the same StrapLoks as I bought almost 8 years ago, and put them on several guitars that I have owned. Currently, they are on the only electric guitar I now own.

    In the time since purchasing them, I have broken and completely destroyed 5 guitar straps. Yet, these StrapLoks have stayed functioning 100%. Over the years, they've worn out and gotten a bit squeaky, but that's nothing a little WD-40 can't fix.

    If you're on the fence about which kind of strap lock to buy, buy these.

  • from Acworth, GA. July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Dunlop Straplok

    I should have bought a set of these years ago. I have since installed them on all of my basses. A great product and easy to install, but it is a little tough to install if the guitar strap has thick leather like my 4' wide leather strap designed specifically for bass by Levy. Other than the hassel of getting them on that streap I love these.

  • from Jersey City, NJ July 1, 2014

    Nothing But Dunlop

    The Dunlop Straplok System is all I used. They are equipped on every guitar I own. The look great, are strong and sturdy, and hold your treasured instruments in place firmly. Other systems tend to be a bit clunky to get on and off, but Dunlop has a great push button system that works great!

  • from Baytown, TX May 20, 2014Music Background:
    25 years of sorrow, 25 years of pain, 25 years that are gone forever and i'll never see again.

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System

    i read many reviews stating that i would have to drill out my les paul to put these in. so wrong. just ad a little candle wax or soap to the screw and it goes right in. they hold tight and they keep the strap from rubbing on the body of your guitar. well worth it to spend under $20 to insure a guitar that you may consider priceless.

  • from NorCal April 2, 2014Music Background:
    P&W Musician

    No worries about your axe slipping off your strap!

    I have Dunlopís dual design straplocks on all my axes. Itís cheap insurance at assuring your guitar doesnít slip off your strap. These locks are sturdy and one less thing to worry about when gigging.

    If youíre thinking about purchasing a set, go for it. Your wonít be disappointed!

  • from Upstate, NY August 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar and Harmonica Hobbyist

    Very cool, won't be dropping my guitar again.

    Works great, excellent quality, very pleased with these. Installation took about 5 minutes, the hardest part was using those retainer clips but once I got off my butt and found a pair of pliers it was smooth sailing. I didn't end up having to drill out the previous holes on "my Strat". I'd still suggest doing it though if you're worried about cracking the wood or if you can't screw in the new ones with just your finger strength.

  • from Sierra Vista, Arizona March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Won't Fail You

    I have used Dunlop Strap Locks ever since there introduction. All my guitars, and all my straps have Dunlop Straplok System on them. I can use different straps, or guitars with the push of a button. If installed properly they Won't Fail You !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from United States January 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    long lasting

    Have had one of these strap locks for over 20 years+, and was very pleased to see that they were still the same after I needed more for other guitars. Now I can use my favorite strap with multiple guitars that all have the same locking system!

  • from amsterdam,ny January 22, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    better to be safe

    play your music safely. it's not good for your guitar; if the strap breaks loose! crash, boom, bang and that's not the drummer playing

  • from Round Lake, IL October 26, 2012

    Dunlop Straplock

    What can I say.. these are great. I install these on all my guitars and the straps lock on so no more dropped guitars.

  • from Central NJ June 15, 2017Music Background:
    A little bit of everything. Recording, live sound, drums, guitar.

    Only strap locks I use

    I love these. I have 2 dozen guitars and 75% of them have these strap locks on them. Easy, secure, convienent. The end. If I had one wish it would be that there was an accoustic equivalent.

  • from Houston Area February 10, 2017Music Background:
    40+ years of playing

    Strap locks are a must

    Strap locks can save a guitar or bass from a nasty fall. I feel they are a "must have" item. These can be a little hard to install on some straps, but with a effort they will work, just take your time putting the retainer into position. I use these on both guitar and bass providing security from a strap giving way. I have seen many guitar/bass players that did not use a strap lock with badly damaged instruments. A guitar player in a show just last Monday nearly completely dropped his prize guitar while playing a song. Sweetwater will quickly get 'em to you once you decide you need them.

  • from July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Worths every penny

    I just installed it in my Stratocaster, and I rely my guitar on this excellent system.

    I love it because it's dependable and easy to install. And if you lose or forget your favorite customized strap, you can use any other with no problem.

    I'm so glad with this system, that I'll buy another for my Martin Guitar.

    Important: The screws included in this system are a little thicker than the guitar factory-installed ones, and even the directions points out that you need to drill. I didn't want to drill, so I used the old original screws with this strap lock system, and they fitted perfectly, so you might use the screws that your guitar came with.

  • from LONG ISLAND, NY June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend gigging musician

    GREAT LOCKS

    These locks really do what they're supposed to...at both ends of the strap. They simply do not come off or loosen up. I have these on 5 of my straps and they're on for good. Never had a problem at all with them. You can't beat them for the price.

  • from La Habra, CA September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System - Black

    Dunlop Straplok System is the best and durable and a long last construction in supporting you and your guitar or bass.
    sometimes installing the retainer clip can be a challenge depending on the thichness of the ends of your guitar strap.
    beside that there is no other Straplok system I would use.

  • from Pittsburgh PA USA September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, home studio, was pro now hobbyist

    High Quality

    I have strap locks on all of my guitars. Needed ones with lower profile, one goes behind the body on a Ibanez 81... These fit the bill.
    Good as the others (many types and manufactures) but with low profile.
    Very good...

  • from North West Indiana August 17, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Bass Player

    Good Strap locks

    These things do everything they way they do and they do them well. The strap locks also look nice which is nice. If I have any complaints it is that sometimes I have retighten them with a screwdriver because they get a bit wobbely.

  • from SLC April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    The Best, in my opinion.

    Simple to install. Easy on-off. Quality components. My instrument is safe and secure. For me, it was the best choice, at a great price

  • from Vincennes IN USA November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Music enthusiast

    Great solution at an affordable price!

    I probably couldn't count the dings my guitars have received from a twisted strap popping off the pegs and smacking something before I could catch it. These little jobbies eliminate that threat, while also making it completely effortless to purposely remove them when needed. I'd give them a "5" except that they DO stick out from the instrument further than the original pegs. I had to kinda mash a dent in the fitted case for my Strat to make room. Otherwise they're terrific!!

  • from Grand Ledge, MI USA August 21, 2012

    Excellent strap locks

    Every electric needs a good strap lock. These certainly do the job. The clip can be a little difficult to get on. But once it's on, it ain't coming off on its own.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN. USA December 8, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Dunlop Straplok

    Great. Use them on all of my guitars. They are easy to install and they never fail. Only wish they would include some felt washers.

  • from Indiana June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/Bass

    Dunlop Straplok System

    Have used this system on all my guitars without fail. Great product.

  • from Virginia Beach April 9, 2015Music Background:
    playing guitar and bass since the mid 70's.

    Great investment

    I have these on all my guitars. I'm not a fan of the pull type. Give me the push-button Dunlops please.

  • from United States February 23, 2014

    Almost Perfect

    These hold great and disconnect easy. My only issue is that the thread depth on the screws appears to be different from standard strap button screws as I've put these on 4 different instruments so far and have yet to have a matching one.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK April 4, 2015

    Difficult to install...

    Very well built. Great design and functionality. Just a real pain to install... Not on the guitar but on the strap. I have a 2.5" Levis padded leather strap that I was trying to put these on, and I've given up for now.

  • from October 20, 2015

    Works OK

    Straplock system was easy to install and seems to be secure. The only issue found was that the screws were a smaller diameter than the original standard-sized screws. Solved the issue by sticking a broken toothpick in the hole, but doubtful that this quick fix will be a permanent solution. Would encourage Dunlop to provide a larger diameter screw.

  • from wilmington ohio October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    strap locks

    Work great, but I think they could be a little smaller.

  • from December 28, 2015

    Dunlop Straplocks

    I have these on 4 basses and they are ok. My main bass is exposed to a lot of my sweat and I did not realize it worked its way into the push button mechanisms. The one by the neck I got off ok, the one on the bridge side is toast. I leave the strap on all the time so if you remove yours frequently you may be ok. I have a competitors product on my Rick 4003 and I am switching all basses to that type. Totally different setup on the locking mechanism. The Dunlops are great for the price and your guitar will NOT fall off if installed properly.

  • from Charlotte, NC USA April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist

    Terrible

    Absolutely terrible. Installation is extremely hard, even for professionals. You're only given two screws, and if the hole gets too big, you have to make a whole new one. These scuffed up my bass and chipped the paint. After you finally think its tight, it will get loose somehow, someway. Way to ruin an expensive guitar.

Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Nickel?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway