0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Gold Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Gold?

Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Gold?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Michigan December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Started learning to play in 1968

    Dunlop Straplok

    I bought my first set close to ten years ago. When I buy a guitar and decide I'm going to keep it, I put these on. All my guitars have them.

  • from April 2, 2016

    very good!!

    I have these on several guitars & will be buying more.

  • from Columbus, Indiana March 26, 2016

    Gold Dunlop Straplok

    I purchased these for a new Yamaha bass that I had recently purchased. They look great on the bass and match the bass's gold hardware perfectly. I put a lot of effort into caring for the instruments that I own and one thing that I add to every bass is a set of Straploks. I never have to worry about dropping a bass while I'm on stage. Thanks again Sweetwater for being my go to musical gear store !

  • from February 8, 2016

    Great locks

    I've been using these strap locks for around 10 years now and have never had one give out. All my guitars have a set, and will never own one that doesn't.

  • from Or January 13, 2016

    Dunlop straploks

    I have been using Dunlop straploks since they first came out , so , yeah , a while now.
    One of the nice improvements over the years, the design , small as it may be , is that it is a lot easier to put on any thickness of strap without trouble . I have other brands as well , were given to me new . I had one brand new guitar drop several times , even came undone on the stand... Dunlop never has & if I am messing with a new strap , I can use it without the locks to check it or size it , whatever because they are actual strap buttons as well .. The originals have never given me trouble nor have the new ones . I was happy that Sweetwater carries them. Like Dunlop , Sweetwater never lets me down.

  • from Pennsylvania September 17, 2015

    Peace of mind.

    Great strap locks. I've used a few of the big name strap locks and these are among my favorite type of lock. Cheap, easy to install and they don't fail. It's a small price to pay for peace of mind.

  • from Tallahassee, FL March 17, 2015

    Installed on ALL my basses

    I use these straploks on ALL of my basses (I can use the same strap for multiple basses), no matter the price. They always work well, install easily, and never release unless I want them too. I recommend them to everyone I play with, because I hate to see a guitar or bass fall and get damaged. They can easily be installed to your favorite straps even if the holes are worn out. They are well worth the meager investment. One of the best music related purchases I have ever made.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Just a guy who loves to play guitar

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System - Black

    Rock solid! I have been using these on all my guitars for 20+ years. Easy to install. I've never had a problem with these ever. I buy a set every time I get a new guitar.

  • from Milwaukee, WI August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Reliable, That's Certain

    I've had the same exact set of these StrapLoks for almost 8 years now, across around 4-5 guitars. Yes, that's right, I've uninstalled the same StrapLoks as I bought almost 8 years ago, and put them on several guitars that I have owned. Currently, they are on the only electric guitar I now own.

    In the time since purchasing them, I have broken and completely destroyed 5 guitar straps. Yet, these StrapLoks have stayed functioning 100%. Over the years, they've worn out and gotten a bit squeaky, but that's nothing a little WD-40 can't fix.

    If you're on the fence about which kind of strap lock to buy, buy these.

  • from Baytown, TX May 20, 2014Music Background:
    25 years of sorrow, 25 years of pain, 25 years that are gone forever and i'll never see again.

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System

    i read many reviews stating that i would have to drill out my les paul to put these in. so wrong. just ad a little candle wax or soap to the screw and it goes right in. they hold tight and they keep the strap from rubbing on the body of your guitar. well worth it to spend under $20 to insure a guitar that you may consider priceless.

  • from NorCal April 2, 2014Music Background:
    P&W Musician

    No worries about your axe slipping off your strap!

    I have Dunlop’s dual design straplocks on all my axes. It’s cheap insurance at assuring your guitar doesn’t slip off your strap. These locks are sturdy and one less thing to worry about when gigging.

    If you’re thinking about purchasing a set, go for it. Your won’t be disappointed!

  • from Upstate, NY August 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar and Harmonica Hobbyist

    Very cool, won't be dropping my guitar again.

    Works great, excellent quality, very pleased with these. Installation took about 5 minutes, the hardest part was using those retainer clips but once I got off my butt and found a pair of pliers it was smooth sailing. I didn't end up having to drill out the previous holes on "my Strat". I'd still suggest doing it though if you're worried about cracking the wood or if you can't screw in the new ones with just your finger strength.

  • from Sierra Vista, Arizona March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Won't Fail You

    I have used Dunlop Strap Locks ever since there introduction. All my guitars, and all my straps have Dunlop Straplok System on them. I can use different straps, or guitars with the push of a button. If installed properly they Won't Fail You !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from United States January 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    long lasting

    Have had one of these strap locks for over 20 years+, and was very pleased to see that they were still the same after I needed more for other guitars. Now I can use my favorite strap with multiple guitars that all have the same locking system!

  • from amsterdam,ny January 22, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    better to be safe

    play your music safely. it's not good for your guitar; if the strap breaks loose! crash, boom, bang and that's not the drummer playing

  • from Round Lake, IL October 26, 2012

    Dunlop Straplock

    What can I say.. these are great. I install these on all my guitars and the straps lock on so no more dropped guitars.

  • from Hamden, CT USA July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and composer

    Great Strap Locks

    I put these strap locks on my Gibson Les Paul. Some people think that straps are only at risk of slipping when you are jumping around with your guitar and swinging it. This is not true! Probably because of its weight, my Les Paul has jumped out of straps when I have merely leaned forward a bit to adjust other equipment. To avoid that, I had previously used a strap with locking, plastic ends, but those ends left marks over time. With the Dunlop straploks, I have the option of using more comfortable straps with no risk of the ends rubbing and no risk of an escaping guitar. I also like the fact that these locks can function as regular strap buttons if I am ever without the lock-bearing strap.

    One word of caution: while I think these locks deserve full stars for their construction and I've seen a number of examples of people installing them on other guitars without a hitch, installing them on my particular guitar required a bit of problem-solving. My guitar had different diameter and length screws for the top and bottom, which I gather is not unusual for Gibsons. The screws that came with the locks were too big for the top hole and just a hair too small to bite well on the bottom. While I could have drilled the top, I didn't feel comfortable doing the “toothpick trick” I've read about to deal with the bottom screw's situation. Instead, I got some new screws of appropriate sizes for both ends and took emery paper to the heads to make them small enough to fit into the Dunlops. Worked like a charm!

  • from LONG ISLAND, NY June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend gigging musician

    GREAT LOCKS

    These locks really do what they're supposed to...at both ends of the strap. They simply do not come off or loosen up. I have these on 5 of my straps and they're on for good. Never had a problem at all with them. You can't beat them for the price.

  • from La Habra, CA September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System - Black

    Dunlop Straplok System is the best and durable and a long last construction in supporting you and your guitar or bass.
    sometimes installing the retainer clip can be a challenge depending on the thichness of the ends of your guitar strap.
    beside that there is no other Straplok system I would use.

  • from Pittsburgh PA USA September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, home studio, was pro now hobbyist

    High Quality

    I have strap locks on all of my guitars. Needed ones with lower profile, one goes behind the body on a Ibanez 81... These fit the bill.
    Good as the others (many types and manufactures) but with low profile.
    Very good...

  • from North West Indiana August 17, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Bass Player

    Good Strap locks

    These things do everything they way they do and they do them well. The strap locks also look nice which is nice. If I have any complaints it is that sometimes I have retighten them with a screwdriver because they get a bit wobbely.

  • from SLC April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    The Best, in my opinion.

    Simple to install. Easy on-off. Quality components. My instrument is safe and secure. For me, it was the best choice, at a great price

  • from Vincennes IN USA November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Music enthusiast

    Great solution at an affordable price!

    I probably couldn't count the dings my guitars have received from a twisted strap popping off the pegs and smacking something before I could catch it. These little jobbies eliminate that threat, while also making it completely effortless to purposely remove them when needed. I'd give them a "5" except that they DO stick out from the instrument further than the original pegs. I had to kinda mash a dent in the fitted case for my Strat to make room. Otherwise they're terrific!!

  • from Indiana June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/Bass

    Dunlop Straplok System

    Have used this system on all my guitars without fail. Great product.

  • from United States February 23, 2014

    Almost Perfect

    These hold great and disconnect easy. My only issue is that the thread depth on the screws appears to be different from standard strap button screws as I've put these on 4 different instruments so far and have yet to have a matching one.

  • from wilmington ohio October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    strap locks

    Work great, but I think they could be a little smaller.

Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Gold?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close