0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Black?

Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from PR March 6, 2017

    This are a first for me!!!

    Fist buy for me. Right now guitar for me is my ultimate hobby and chalenge. Love them. Find them very confortable to use and very easy to install. And the best part is that gives you peace of mind when playing. When you invest $ on a guitar the last thing you need is for it to hit the floor. These litle guys once their looked in they dont come out. Very pleased with this purshase.

  • from Ohio December 14, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer in training and Session Bass Player

    Great!

    High quality and easy to install. These are rock solid and you don't have to worry about them coming loose and your expensive instrument hitting the floor. Get some!

  • from April 2, 2016

    very good!!

    I have these on several guitars & will be buying more.

  • from Or January 13, 2016

    Dunlop straploks

    I have been using Dunlop straploks since they first came out , so , yeah , a while now.
    One of the nice improvements over the years, the design , small as it may be , is that it is a lot easier to put on any thickness of strap without trouble . I have other brands as well , were given to me new . I had one brand new guitar drop several times , even came undone on the stand... Dunlop never has & if I am messing with a new strap , I can use it without the locks to check it or size it , whatever because they are actual strap buttons as well .. The originals have never given me trouble nor have the new ones . I was happy that Sweetwater carries them. Like Dunlop , Sweetwater never lets me down.

  • from Pennsylvania September 17, 2015

    Peace of mind.

    Great strap locks. I've used a few of the big name strap locks and these are among my favorite type of lock. Cheap, easy to install and they don't fail. It's a small price to pay for peace of mind.

  • from Tallahassee, FL March 17, 2015

    Installed on ALL my basses

    I use these straploks on ALL of my basses (I can use the same strap for multiple basses), no matter the price. They always work well, install easily, and never release unless I want them too. I recommend them to everyone I play with, because I hate to see a guitar or bass fall and get damaged. They can easily be installed to your favorite straps even if the holes are worn out. They are well worth the meager investment. One of the best music related purchases I have ever made.

  • from March 16, 2015

    Simply great

    I just bought a new Les Paul with black hardware that loved to keep me on my toes by occasionally slipping loose from the strap (at both ends). I love Dunlop straploks, and have them on all of my Fenders. The only thing that I don't like about them is that they're usually incompatible with Gibson neck buttons. Fortunately the screw diameter was a fit, but the length was about a centimeter too much. The solution? Instead of drilling into the guitar, I sliced off the extra screw length with a dremel saw. Surprisingly easy. Apply a little liquid wrench and 5 minutes later I no longer have to think about my guitar falling off. Plus the added space around the body button lets me pull the cable over. Dunlop is the best.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Just a guy who loves to play guitar

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System - Black

    Rock solid! I have been using these on all my guitars for 20+ years. Easy to install. I've never had a problem with these ever. I buy a set every time I get a new guitar.

  • from Milwaukee, WI August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Reliable, That's Certain

    I've had the same exact set of these StrapLoks for almost 8 years now, across around 4-5 guitars. Yes, that's right, I've uninstalled the same StrapLoks as I bought almost 8 years ago, and put them on several guitars that I have owned. Currently, they are on the only electric guitar I now own.

    In the time since purchasing them, I have broken and completely destroyed 5 guitar straps. Yet, these StrapLoks have stayed functioning 100%. Over the years, they've worn out and gotten a bit squeaky, but that's nothing a little WD-40 can't fix.

    If you're on the fence about which kind of strap lock to buy, buy these.

  • from Baytown, TX May 20, 2014Music Background:
    25 years of sorrow, 25 years of pain, 25 years that are gone forever and i'll never see again.

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System

    i read many reviews stating that i would have to drill out my les paul to put these in. so wrong. just ad a little candle wax or soap to the screw and it goes right in. they hold tight and they keep the strap from rubbing on the body of your guitar. well worth it to spend under $20 to insure a guitar that you may consider priceless.

  • from NorCal April 2, 2014Music Background:
    P&W Musician

    No worries about your axe slipping off your strap!

    I have Dunlopís dual design straplocks on all my axes. Itís cheap insurance at assuring your guitar doesnít slip off your strap. These locks are sturdy and one less thing to worry about when gigging.

    If youíre thinking about purchasing a set, go for it. Your wonít be disappointed!

  • from Upstate, NY August 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar and Harmonica Hobbyist

    Very cool, won't be dropping my guitar again.

    Works great, excellent quality, very pleased with these. Installation took about 5 minutes, the hardest part was using those retainer clips but once I got off my butt and found a pair of pliers it was smooth sailing. I didn't end up having to drill out the previous holes on "my Strat". I'd still suggest doing it though if you're worried about cracking the wood or if you can't screw in the new ones with just your finger strength.

  • from Sierra Vista, Arizona March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Won't Fail You

    I have used Dunlop Strap Locks ever since there introduction. All my guitars, and all my straps have Dunlop Straplok System on them. I can use different straps, or guitars with the push of a button. If installed properly they Won't Fail You !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from United States January 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    long lasting

    Have had one of these strap locks for over 20 years+, and was very pleased to see that they were still the same after I needed more for other guitars. Now I can use my favorite strap with multiple guitars that all have the same locking system!

  • from amsterdam,ny January 22, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    better to be safe

    play your music safely. it's not good for your guitar; if the strap breaks loose! crash, boom, bang and that's not the drummer playing

  • from Round Lake, IL October 26, 2012

    Dunlop Straplock

    What can I say.. these are great. I install these on all my guitars and the straps lock on so no more dropped guitars.

  • from Missouri May 22, 2016

    Strap locks

    Bought as a way to be able to quickly attach and detach strap without wearing out the strap button holes. These are great and allows the strap to retain it form. Easy to install and look great.

  • from Virginia Beach VA USA September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate player.

    Great product. The black ones look good on my all black bass.

    The are reliable and have stood the test of time. I've used them on all my electrics over the many years of playing guitar and bass. Half star deduction for difficulties in getting them on and off. But I like the push button much better than the pull ones.

  • from LONG ISLAND, NY June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend gigging musician

    GREAT LOCKS

    These locks really do what they're supposed to...at both ends of the strap. They simply do not come off or loosen up. I have these on 5 of my straps and they're on for good. Never had a problem at all with them. You can't beat them for the price.

  • from Nashville March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Composer

    Great Product!

    Works perfect, easy install, great product!

  • from La Habra, CA September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Dunlop Dual Design Straplok System - Black

    Dunlop Straplok System is the best and durable and a long last construction in supporting you and your guitar or bass.
    sometimes installing the retainer clip can be a challenge depending on the thichness of the ends of your guitar strap.
    beside that there is no other Straplok system I would use.

  • from Pittsburgh PA USA September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, home studio, was pro now hobbyist

    High Quality

    I have strap locks on all of my guitars. Needed ones with lower profile, one goes behind the body on a Ibanez 81... These fit the bill.
    Good as the others (many types and manufactures) but with low profile.
    Very good...

  • from North West Indiana August 17, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Bass Player

    Good Strap locks

    These things do everything they way they do and they do them well. The strap locks also look nice which is nice. If I have any complaints it is that sometimes I have retighten them with a screwdriver because they get a bit wobbely.

  • from SLC April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    The Best, in my opinion.

    Simple to install. Easy on-off. Quality components. My instrument is safe and secure. For me, it was the best choice, at a great price

  • from Vincennes IN USA November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Music enthusiast

    Great solution at an affordable price!

    I probably couldn't count the dings my guitars have received from a twisted strap popping off the pegs and smacking something before I could catch it. These little jobbies eliminate that threat, while also making it completely effortless to purposely remove them when needed. I'd give them a "5" except that they DO stick out from the instrument further than the original pegs. I had to kinda mash a dent in the fitted case for my Strat to make room. Otherwise they're terrific!!

  • from Indiana June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/Bass

    Dunlop Straplok System

    Have used this system on all my guitars without fail. Great product.

  • from United States February 23, 2014

    Almost Perfect

    These hold great and disconnect easy. My only issue is that the thread depth on the screws appears to be different from standard strap button screws as I've put these on 4 different instruments so far and have yet to have a matching one.

  • from wilmington ohio October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    strap locks

    Work great, but I think they could be a little smaller.

  • from December 18, 2016

    Good locks, cheap screws

    I normally used Dimarzio clip locks. However, sometimes the guitar is tight fitting into the case with the clip style. Every time I've tried the Dunlop locks, the phillip screw head strips or rounds out. The metal they use to make these screws is very cheap, soft, and they strip incredibly easy. The screws strip instantly if there is any resistance.

    They are longer than the average length of stock screws, so when you tighten them to the point that you feel resistance, you have to back them out and red drill into the body a little more in depth. One of the screws I put on today locked up 3/4 of the way into the pre-drilled hole from the factory. It was stripped so badly that I was unable to proceed.

    Luckily, I was able to back it out far enough that I could take a small saw and cut it off becase the head was so rounded that backing it out became impossible. Extremely annoying! The screws have always been this way. I had forgotten before I started.

    Suggestion: If you use the Dunlop locks, make sure you check the length of the screws you have first. If the Dunlop screws are longer you will have drill a little deeper into the instrument to avoid rounding the phillip heads. Also, the actual head of the screw is very small in diameter. I had a lot of screws that matched the length, but none had heads that were small enough to pass through the lock. Will be hitting the hardware store tomorrow to try and find a screw with a small head that will drop in.

    Think I'll stick to the clip locks... these stick out too far and the issues with the screws is beyond annoying.

  • from California Central Coast October 10, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not so great

    Screws did not fit the holes in my Fender Squire Jag bass. They are smaller than the Fender ones, stripped immediately on the butt fitting. Left me with an unusable product with my bass. Being Mr. Compulsive, I had purchased two sets, so I am doubly ******.

Questions about the Dunlop Straplok Dual Design Strap Retainer System - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway