0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Vox StompLab IIG Modeling Effects Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox StompLab IIG Modeling Effects Pedal?

Questions about the Vox StompLab IIG Modeling Effects Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Rob H
    from Chicago November 24, 2016Music Background:
    Tooling around in my spare time

    Great Effects Processor!!!

    I bought this because I was really impressed with my Vox Valvetronix VT40+ and wanted to see how it would sound running through my Mini Rectifier and Mesa 2x12. The Mesa sounds great as it is, but this makes it even better. It's very flexible and can be configured to sound like anything from RHCP cleans to Metallica and Nirvana style distortion, the distortion settings are my favorite. The delay, wah, and flanger settings sound great too.

  • charlie hirsch
    from iowa October 15, 2015Music Background:
    over 30 years semi retired professional guitar player

    vox stomplab guitar modeling effeects pedal

    I'm still working on finding all the tons of options this has to offer so far so good.

  • normalsea2
    from utah May 18, 2015

    stomplab iig

    Absolutely love it! Can dial in any tone imaginable and love the headphone jack for private practice. Have been using a mustang 1 for a couple of years but the tones on the stomplab are much clearer and more numerous. Takes a little practice to learn the functions as the perameters are at the end of the manual but other than that I couldn't have asked for more for the price.

  • Kenny Howell
    from Beardstown IL area November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced and Hobbyist at Home Recording

    awesome and authentic sounding pedal!

    I have only had this pedal 2 days now and can't brag about it enough. It may be small in size but puts out big tone and plenty of volume. I have been able to create my own user presets but it is a little tricky for me to get my volume adjusted correctly so that it doesn't blow you away when switching from one user preset to another. Other than that, you can't beat this pedal. I used to have a zoom 505 with exp pedal and this thing blows it out of the water and was less money than the 505. I think it was $149. I'm 45 yrs old so it was a little bit of a learning curve for me but once you understand how it works, you are guaranteed to be rewarded. I hope this review has helped others. VOX ROCKS! You can't go wrong.

  • William Schuver
    from Eureka, IL April 16, 2013

    Vox StomoLab IIG

    I have got say this pedal gives all of the best sounds Vox has to offer! The Pedal works perfectivly! You will NOT be disappointed a must have! This pedal rocks!

  • Steve Griffiths
    from Portland Oregon September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Semi_Pro muso, performing nightly

    Does the Job well

    Let me start out by saying that my main pedal is a POD HD500X. I needed a small pedal for travelling, and this one fits the bill nicely. The wah pedal is surprisingly functional. It is not nearly as easy to program as the POD but that is too be expected given the size and features. The did put good quality sounds into the box and kept the signal path quiet. Also you can control a lot of parameters with the pedal and use it as a boost which is very handy (I am used to being able to turn effects on and off *within* a patch. I ended up with 4 pairs of sounds - a pair being a base amp model with no effects, and a matching version with effects). So for what I bought it for it works great - I have gigged with it - and it will drive headphones. One caveat - it does not like 1-Spot power supplies, seem happy with any number of others, but not 1-spot.

  • Paul
    from Missouri September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Playing 10 yr plus as a hobby

    Great Pedal

    VOX makes some awesome products and this is just one of them.
    There is so much you can get from the StompLab.
    It takes awhile to figure it out because the manual to me is useless.
    It does not tell you in details how to do anything but
    after a few hours I had everything going my way and the sounds you can get from this pedal is awesome.
    There is a few effects that are useless in my opinion but others may like them.
    Forget a pedal board because this pedal can replace about 20 single pedals with this having better sounds.
    Why pay $100 for one pedal when you can get 20 or more pedals from the StompLab for $90
    Grab up on one, You'll like it.

  • John Morris
    from Sacramento, CA USA February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Player, non-pro live sound engineer

    Very cool pedel/effects

    This is a great compact device - travels easy, battery powered and has the expected quality effects that you'd expect from Vox.

  • Dan
    from Houston March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Retired Pro

    StompLab IIG a great investment

    Lots of good tones from this baby. Well built and looks much better than others I have seen. I would give it a 5 if the pedal was a little bigger, but overall you can't beat it. Great service from Sweetwater too!

  • Nathan S.
    from Portland OR January 20, 2013Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 25 years.

    Compact Very Usable Sounds

    Never had a multi effects unit before and wanted one that would be compact to use with my pedals. The StompLab 2G is perfect for that. Also the ease of use was great. Within my first hour I had already programmed 3 presets that were easy to tweak. The expression pedal is a bit small but space was an issue so my size 13 Doc Marten may not like it but my pedal board does an it gets the job done. Effects are really good and I run 2 Vox AC15's and the modulation effects really shine in a stereo set up. Also dig some of the high gain sounds this makes even though I dont use them that much. Along with my pedals and the 2G my effects pallet has been expanded. I really like the option to plug in headphones for private playing so I can sit on my couch and play and not bother anybody. .

  • Rick
    from Pennsylvannia February 19, 2016Music Background:
    Long time player,writer,rocknroller....

    A "GEM" with some work!!!!!!

    Initially I was quite disappointed by the presets.After all,how many ring modules and tremolos;let alone delays can one use? There basically "fillers'taking up presets that could have been better suited as something else.And theres 100 of 'em! Only 20 user where you make your own..Id rather seen a 50/50 split !Back to the reason of this review..Read your manual,select your amp(out of 36).select your cabinet(or not depending on your amp your plugging into)and turn off all pedals.Then...systematically pair your amp-cabs....then lo-hi-vol....then...overdrive/dist....then compressor...then reverb..etc etc..you get the picture! Build your own sounds piece by piece.Hit write..save to U0 or uo .Presto..user #1.Repeat for clean/distorted/delay/solo leads etc.You can also turn off anything on any preset by pressing both up/down arrows same time=of...Theres a TON of great useable sounds from clean to blues to nasty dirt but you must methodically choose every component.Its worth the labor..so for all you GEARHEADS,TWEEKERS and TONESNOBS this is heaven in a box.I was surprised how good and affordable this pedal is once you delved into how a sound(patch )is created...its this creative assembling of personal choices that make it so much fun and IMHO worth more than its meager price tag.This is a "GEM"..just take the time to build your sound..you got 20 slots of personal choices to tailor this pedal to make it totally sound just the way you want.Im "digging it"..Money well spent.

  • Charles
    from April 3, 2015Music Background:
    25+ years, pop/rock/acoustic

    good value little device

    I picked this device up to let me play my electric guitar on the street, so for me the key features were battery powered and amp emulations. Sound-wise, I was quite happy with the sounds going through my ear-phones. When I plugged it into our Roland BA330 amp, many of the more overdrive presets sounded pretty nasty, but since that's not my style of music that is not a problem. The more mellow crunch sounds are perfectly serviceable. The interface is a bit tricky I thought, especially with only a 2 character display. However, I could work it out with manual in hand. Battery life seems very good, with rechargeable Eneloops, I got 5 hours of play time before I got nervous and changed them, although my battery charger told me those batteries still had tons of life left, so I am very pleased with that. The expression pedal is so small that it's hard to use accurately, but it is still useful and I am pleased I bought the model with the pedal rather than the one without. I've not used this device lots and lots yet, but so far I am very pleased with my purchase. I can't see it replacing my POD HD500 for bigger gigs, but I will be able to use this thing for lots of other stuff I do and not have to carry round heavier gear so much

  • Dan Engle
    from Tallahassee September 4, 2013Music Background:
    playing pro for 50 years

    Great Deal

    For the money I can't imagine a better pedal. Still working through all the possible sounds. I use it with my bass as well and makes some really interesting sounds

  • Steve Griffiths
    from Portland Oregon, USA December 20, 2012Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician, Live Broadcast / Home Studio

    Liking it so far

    I wanted something for open mics / vacations etc that I can stuff anywhere. This fits the bill, so far I have managed to get a few usable sound saved (usually I use a POD XT Live). Pretty straight forwards to use - the only time I looked at the manual was to read up on assigning the wah parameters and range. Very versatile sounds, and flexible pedal assignment. I am still wrestling with the amps / overdrive settings - seem a bit harsh, but I have a lot of models and combinations to try out.. It will certainly do what I bought it to do and at a very good price. Another plus is that I can use batteries - again really useful for open mic setups and travelling abroad.

  • JORGE CARLOS SINISTERRA SINISTERRA
    from September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Music Therapy composer

    Really good features low price

    I'm not a professional guitar player, but I want to record it like one. This means that I need all the sound effects right in my hands with no worries about expensive pedals set up. This is what the Stomplab IIG is all about. But also, I can create new configurations by my own with the user feature, so this pedal is a step forward for music creation.

  • t.zimmerman
    from Kalamazoo, MI April 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer.

    Sure is Cute, but consider this before you buy

    I bought this unit on a whim as something to use to practice at night.
    The tiny expression pedal is pretty cute and actually more usable than expected. The metal chassis is not tank like, but sturdy enough. The tuner is easy to use, hook ups are easy. Drawbacks; the power button is tiny and requires you hold it in until the unit fully powers up, which isn't major, but more fussy than it should be.
    I found the sounds more limited than most and the editing scheme makes the unit almost unusable for me. True it's reasonably priced, and if you like the stock sounds it may be a good investment.

  • Customer
    from memphis tn July 6, 2013Music Background:
    musician, recordist, fan

    stomplab 2g design issues

    got the stomplab 2g. tested and right away didn't like the design. expression pedal is too small. you will overshoot position parameter you want with just a nudge or pulling you foot off the pedal. if it is used on carpet when you push or pull the expression pedal the whole unit moves with your foot, making using the expression pedal useless. has a variety of distortions, that was ok. reverbs did not sound good to me. hooked up in front of amp and through effects loop. just sounded under par to me. filters sounded good, but you cant accurately control them with the pedal. same with the wha. I would not recommend this pedal. there are much better ones out there.

  • Dave
    from February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Performing amateur

    Vox Stomplab IIG Modelling Effects Pedal User Review

    So mine arrived a couple of days ago, and so far I have mixed feelings about it.
    I guess the first thing to remember is that it's cheap, and as all things in life, you get what you pay for.
    The presets aren't too bad, I've certainly heard a lot worse on more expensive pedals. Depending on your rig, I'm sure most of us would be looking to set up our own sounds pretty quickly.
    There's very little unwanted noise too, which is a definite bonus compared to some of the stuff that Digitech or Behringer churn out.
    Once again, I know it's cheap, but man this thing is small! The expression pedal is smaller than most mobile phones! In a live situation with limited stage space it might be handy, but anyone with adult size feet would need the grace of a ballerina to operate this.
    It does not come with a power pack, once again a cost saving exercise I guess. And to put batteries in, you have to remove the back plate exposing all the inner workings, I certainly wouldn't want to be caught low on power during a live performance.
    So, to summarise: Sounds pretty good and very inexpensive, but ergonomically impractical.

Questions about the Vox StompLab IIG Modeling Effects Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway