0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Peterson VSS-C StroboStomp Classic Pedal Strobe Tuner Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Peterson VSS-C StroboStomp Classic Pedal Strobe Tuner?

Questions about the Peterson VSS-C StroboStomp Classic Pedal Strobe Tuner?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Patrick Weaver

    Not only is the Peterson VSS-C the most accurate tuning device I've ever added to my pedalboard, it's also offered me even more value when paired up with a handheld recorder. As a guitarist who is always in the studio, this setup lets me capture those "in the moment" solos and riffs that I may not be able to recreate for the final record. I’m also planning on getting more of them so the other players in my band can record straight into my recorder and we can get in even more depth with writing and producing. I can load all of my DI tracks into Pro Tools and produce my music at a level I never thought possible. To capture it in the moment and - just like in sports - review the “tape” and see what I can learn to make my next record and future records the best they can be.

  • from April 12, 2017

    Great Tuner, Accurate,Totaly The One To Own!

    I at first was a bit shy of this unit knowing it's reputation for accuracy but a bit finicky. This unit will tell you right away if you need a fret job or tuners are going bad or time to get rid of the old old strings you have become attached to. If your guitar is set up properly this unit hones in quick and accurately. No cranking is necessary just a slight nudge and you are there. Took a day or two to retrain my habits with tuners but totally worth it. I can say I love this unit and have never been happier. It is a must have unit, so go for it.

  • from Illinois July 6, 2016

    peterson vss-c strobostomp

    great tuner wish i would have gotten one years ago! well worth the money. peterson tuners are the best tuners on the market. get one of the many they offer you wont regret it!

  • from Canton, GA January 14, 2016Music Background:
    Was in a band once... long ago

    Easy Peasy

    In the olden days of yore... I tuned by ear. Now that I have this marvelous invention, tuning takes almost no time and is very accurate. I also like the built in flanges that allow easy bolt-on to a pedal board.

  • from Waveland, MS July 31, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur, Heavy Blues Rock Wannabe

    Super Accurate

    I own three guitars and a bass, and I thought I had my gear set up and intonated correctly. I was so wrong. I had been using probably the most popular name brand chromatic tuner pedal that I thought was good enough. After I got the Peterson StroboStomp, I re-intonated my Les Paul first, and the intonation was so far off, I don't see how I was able to play without noticing how far out it was. Anyway, even after playing guitar since the 1980s I guess I've never, ever really had a properly intonated guitar. It makes a world of difference in my tone, the harmonic properties between the strings, and in the overall tonal quality of the chords. My Fender Precision bass sounds perfect now. It was always just a little off, and now it is dead-nuts perfect. It makes such a huge difference! I'm probably not explaining what I'm hearing correctly, but suffice it to say that this thing is well worth the price, and if I'd known 30 years ago what a difference it would make in my sound, I'd have gotten one then. Buy it now :)

  • from Spring Arbor, MI January 2, 2015Music Background:
    I do all kinds of silly stuff ...

    Fantastic!

    I've tuned either by ear or by various tuners for almost 40 years now and my guitars have never sounded as good as they do using the Sweetened tunings in the StroboStomp. I'm VERY pleased!

  • from West by God Virginia September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist, Songwriter, Producer, Home Studio, Gear Fanatic.

    Flawless. Worth Every Penny.

    The subject line says it all.

    If you happen to be thinking..."$200 for a tuner?!?!" You SHOULD be thinking..."This level of tuning and all of the other advanced features for ONLY $200?!?!" No other tuner even comes close...especially if you're a recording musician! You can't fully comprehend everything this tuner will do for you until you get one; so...pull the trigger and get one! :)

  • from Owosso, MI September 1, 2014

    WOW

    What a great tuner! Probably overkill for most. This is built like a tank and is very versatile and accurate. Isn't that what you really want in a professional tuner anyway? Get this tuner. You will not be disappointed.

  • from Greensboro, NC April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Tuner Ever

    I truly am blown away with this. I had read a bunch of reviews online and everyone kept saying this is the best tuner. I was a little uncertain about spending twice as much as I have in the past, but it's great. I use mine with acoustic guitar and mandolin. Before I was running either at TU-2 or TC Polytune2 into a LR Baggs para di. I quite using the para di and now am using this to handle both. It actually sounds pretty amazing and I found I didn't really need my LR baggs anymore. If you are looking for accuracy, this little puppy is the bomb... I would definitely recommend for anyone who is serious about being in tune.

  • from Waterbury CT December 11, 2013

    best darn tuner I've ever had

    I think this tuner is worth every penny I paid.
    I already had the Peterson clip on tuner but this one is even better.
    I like plugging my guitar cord in better that relying on vibration.
    It is ruggedly built and all in all a very good quality tuner.
    I know now that I'll never need another tuner in my lifetime.

  • from October 5, 2013

    Peterson Stomp Classic

    They don't make a better pedal board tuner than this,built like a tank, big and bold and easy to read, extremely accurate so its great for setting the intonation on your guitar or bass, cant imagine building the ultimate pedal board and not having a Peterson Stomp Classic on it.

  • from Hyde Park, NY USA September 22, 2013Music Background:
    luthier and part time gigging guitarist

    I've waited 40 years for this

    I learned about Peterson strobes in the 70's when I was playing trumpet in a school band. The machine was totally mechanical but mesmerizing and accurate beyond belief.
    Cut to the present. This may not be the cheapest tuner you can get, but this IS just as mesmerizing and absolutely as accurate as that machine 40 years ago. For the first time when I turn the tuner off, I'm really in tune! No tweaking needed. The sweetened tuning is dead on.
    As an added bonus, I had a (name withheld) tuner that half the world uses, but began noticing a thrum, like purring, in my signal chain that would stop if I turned the tuner on then off. I noticed it's resemblance to the LED pulse rate for the "strobe" function. With this tuner in the line, the signal chain has become nearly silent.
    If you want top of the line tuning in your pedal board, and can bite the bullet for a few more bucks, I can't believe you'll be sorry. This is some piece of incredible engineering.

  • from Parker, CO February 12, 2013

    Well built, and reliable Tuner/DI

    Love the accuracy. I've had trouble with other tuners specifically when using a capo. I've been using the sweetened GTR setting without any issues with capo use. The DI box seems to work really well but is not as flexible as my L.R. Baggs as there in no EQ/notch filter. It would have been nice if they included a phantom power light to indicate power is being supplied from the mic cable. It's easy to read, and provides confidence during performances as a mis-tuned guitar can ruin everything!

  • from Kansas City February 2, 2013Music Background:
    Just a player who enjoys doing his own setups.

    Great piece

    No surprises. I already had one and consider it the best of it's type. Bought this one for a friend as a Christmas present. He loves it too.

    So much more precise than anything else I've ever used. Most I tune to, then finesse by ear. With this guy, get it right on the meter and you're done. Also great for setting intonation, although I have their non-pedal version for bench work.

  • from September 15, 2012

    Best Tuner

    I have used many tuners over the years. I was really impressed the first time I tuned up with this one. I used the sweetened guitar mode and found with a little patience I could get my guitar to sound more in-tune then ever. It really makes a difference in terms of intonation and getting chords to sound right. Most valuable stomp box I have definitely worth the extra money.

  • from Poughkeepsie, NY August 28, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing for a long time!

    Get It!

    It's accurate, easy to read, has a fast response time, it's durable, and cool looking. All my guitars are now perfectly intonated, the Peterson made it easy to see how very slightly out they were with my old Sabine. Worth every dollar!

  • from Orlando FL March 19, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Peterson Stomp Classic

    Works amazing. Only tuner you will ever need.

  • from Harford Co. MD February 28, 2012Music Background:
    30+ yrs now a semi-pro Christian rocker

    I finally own a genuine Strobe!

    Sweet device & an unbeatable price for what this gem has to offer!
    Plus super fast, FREE delivery! Peterson is the only choice when it comes to professional. Ask any tech.

  • from Rochester MN December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Pedal steel, dobro, and a lot of other things

    Exellent device

    An excellent tuner, especially for pedal steel...a very touchy instrument for tuning. Although it has pre-set temperaments for steel, the real winner for this is the ability to set your own via USB connect to your computer. This allowed me to really "fine tune" the instrument and tuner...set just right for my specific instrument. There are as many tuning techniques as there are steel players it seems (everything from equal temperament to just intonation). I ended up combining elements of both based opinions from other players (including a top pro in todays country market).
    Made with heavy exterior materials, includes a DI, selectable monitoring output....this is one quality product. I have tried the Stoboflip (purchased elsewhere) and returned it. I did not care for the plastic contruction, and I especially did not care for the fact that the instrument through caused distortion. The Strobostomp completely removes the tuner circuitry when muted. That is mandatory for tuning during shows...no one wants to hear a steel player tuning, and I don't want to fool around turning the amp down to silent tune.
    Overall...the tuner to have in my opinion.

  • from Central Coast, Ca. USA June 11, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Oh Yes! This is a great tuner!

    While very accurate, some of the Peterson tuners have been a bit figity over the years.
    This one is quick to recognize the signal and the display is fabulous, even in bright daylight.
    It isn't the lightest tuner ever made, but it is worth it's weight in performance! It is easy to use and extremely accurate.

    Plus, the D.I. is beautiful! The circuitry delivers a fabulous clean signal and is a great added value! In fact at this price the D.I. is free!

    Thank you Peterson and thank you Sweetwater for your fabulous service and great prices!

  • from Pittsburgh, PA December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Recording wannabe...

    It's built like a TANK… …and it's as heavy as one too…

    Rock solid performance over the year I've been using it. This is the Cadillac of pedal tuners, and it's priced accordingly.

    I took off .5 stars because of the "hard to read" sharp and flat icons that accompany the note being played. They are hard to see, and on a couple occasions I accidently tuned one of my bass guitars strings down 1/2 step. I didn't see the "flat" icon. Aside from those icons, the strobe-o display is REALLY easy to read in any kind of lighting conditions.

    I'm still waiting on a real opportunity to use the DI box in it… I auditioned it once in my studio but that was about it. All I can say about that is that it works… Don't know if it colors the sound, I didn't listen that close…

    I keep it set on "monitor" mode so it's constantly reading my bass… That feature works out great on fretless bass when you start wondering why things are sounding strange… If I were running it in the studio, I'd run it in its True Bypass mode.

    I can't imagine this thing breaking, but if it were stolen, I would buy another one.

  • from Oregon January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Tuner!

    I owned the previous model and used it touring for years. Loved it except for the jacks ended up stripping the nuts and rattling. Rep said send it back and they would fix it but easier said then done when you are using it for work.
    The new model has no such issues. Great inclosure and several nifty new features. My only complaint is the missing 9v out that the original had.
    Great piece of gear. I hope it lasts just like the last one.

  • from Roanoke, VA USA June 7, 2011Music Background:
    Local Pro Musician

    The best tuner I've ever owned

    I bought this tuner because my other tuners were lacking in different areas. One tuner kept resetting the pitch to something other than A440 and the others were just not accurate enough as I would have to retune by ear after using them. It was a toss up between this and the Turbo Tuner ST 200. Which by the way is not sold here or at any big box music stores. I went with the Stomp Classic because of its high defenition screen that is capable of displaying the level of accuracy that is advertised. I will say that this is a "stobe-style" tuner. It is not a true strobe but I'm sure most of you are aware of this. I have used (not owned) Korg Pitchblack and TC Electronic Poly Tune and have to say that I would choose this one over the other two. This tuner seemed more responsive and of course the display is much more high def. The Korg and TC have only a handful of LEDs to display the tuning. The Stomp has more than I could count (though it is LCD i believe not LED). When I hold a note, it will quickly follow the note as I bend or vibrato to give you an idea of its responsiveness. I dont need any of the other features and I havn't used them. I simply use it's silent tuning function to A440. It does not introduce any hum or noise that I have encountered with other amps, even with a loud 100 watt Marshall Super Lead Plexi. Also, there is no audible pop or click when actuating the tuner. The screen is bright and easy to read on the floor. The symbol indicating a flat or sharp is rather small, though I dont see why this would be an issue unless your guitar drifts a whole half step out of tune which it shouldn't. On the surface level (I can't speak for the inside) everything seems to be made of metal and rubber. The only plastic I can find is the 9VDC jack which is recessed inside the pedal a little so it is not vulnerable and also on the battery housing that is hidden under the footswitch itself. Many parts of this pedal are made of metal where most would use plastic. I have not owned or used this pedal for an extensive amount of time so I can not attest to its durability, though it seems very sturdy and I have no doubt that it will hold up. Its heavy and bulky, though I dont have a problem with that. I carry around a full stack, a Roland RE-201 Space Echo, and two Strats so I dont think a bulky pedal is going to weigh me down anymore. I would give a 5 if it wasn't so expensive. If I was given the chance to improve on this pedal, I would request that Peterson make a bare bones version of this pedal without the DI to cut down on cost and maybe use the extra space for a slightly bigger screen.

  • from Tacoma WA May 2, 2016

    Peterson Stobotuner

    I was hesitant to shell out so much money for a tuner, but I'm glad I did! I've used the classic strobo tuner in the past, and its accuracy was always spot-on. Since then, I couldn't count all the tuners I've had, and most of them were only so-so. They all had someplace where they fell short of my expectations.

    This tuner is a joy! It has all the feel of the original strobe tuner, in a more practical form. It's built like a bunker. The display is indistinguishable from the original strobo (albeit smaller, obviously), and I really like the sweetened settings. If you can afford it, get it. I guarantee it will blow the doors off any tuner you've owned. (IMO...)

  • from postfalls id November 5, 2013Music Background:
    die hard pro musician

    expecting better

    too big too expensive too slow .. one star for display ..... great in sunlight..whoop t doo.. Don't waste your hard earned $ ..just my opinion.

  • from Charlotte metro March 30, 2011

    Tiny, worthless display

    The display for the strobe is great, but the display for the note is way too small. You can't even see the flats & sharps. Terrible design for such an expensive tuner. Wish I had seen one in person before buying.

    Seriously, if actually being able to see accidentals is important to you then stay far far away from this thing.

Questions about the Peterson VSS-C StroboStomp Classic Pedal Strobe Tuner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway