rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Stedman Corporation Proscreen XL - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Stedman Corporation Proscreen XL - Black?

Questions about the Stedman Corporation Proscreen XL - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 2, 2017

    Great product!

    Does an excellent job with reducing the plosives in my tracks. It it very sturdy, bendable and easy to clean.

  • from Pennsylvania August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Voice actor.

    AMAZING

    This pop filter is amazing! It's very flexible and filters out all the small sounds you don't want!

  • from August 11, 2014Music Background:
    reggae, dancehall

    GREAT

    Actually greater than i expected!!!

  • from July 7, 2014

    Should Have Purchased Long Ago

    Like many, I'm sure, I made a few pop screens of my own, both single- and double-layer nylon meshes, of different sizes and shapes, with different support mechanisms. The double-layer meshes cut too many high frequencies, dulling the sound; the single-layer meshes allowed too many pops; the support mechanisms never really worked quite well enough, allowing the screens to bounce around from impulses, and allowing accidental bumps to reposition the screens too easily.

    This screen is terrific. The first thing to note is that it is actually a metal disk cut with holes of a unique pattern. It is not a screen as one might first think. The first property I noted in use was that it redirects impulsive air flow around the microphone rather than trying to stop it cold. As a result, the sound is still present, for the most part unchanged, but the air pulse doesn't hit the microphone capsule, provided that the screen is at the minimum recommended two-inch distance.

    The supporting neck is quite sturdy, especially compared to my own attempts. The screen doesn't bounce around; it stays where I place it, even when I bump into it, etc.

    Because the screen doesn't move, I can rely on its position to guide me to a constant distance from the microphone, something I have had trouble with during all prior recording attempts.

    There is, of course, a kind of "sticker shock" when first encountering the price, but I think it is very well worth the price and wish I had saved myself much time and effort by just getting this high-end pop screen years ago. I would gladly pay more to get all that wasted time back.

  • from June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer

    Problem Eliminated

    The moment I saw this Mic screen, I had a good feeling it would eliminate the popping problem I was having with my SE Neve RN17 with the old "effective" screen.

    All is well again in vocalVille!

    NO unwelcome sounds.

  • from SOUTH CAROLINA January 20, 2014Music Background:
    HIP HOP MUSICIAN

    DON'T DESTROY YOUR QUALITY OR MICROPHONE WITH CHEAP POP FILTERS

    IT IS AMAZING AT ELIMINATING MAJORITY OF THE PLOSIVES, AND GETTING CLEAR TONES , THIS IS AMAZING

  • from Maple Grove MN January 2, 2014Music Background:
    Husband is a professional musician, songwriter

    Excellent product, excellent customer service

    Gift for husband for Christmas. He loves it, quote: "this is a really good one! It bends!"

  • from Miami March 29, 2013Music Background:
    Reggaeton Artist

    loving it

    this is by far the best pop filter I have use, it really does make a different, the S's and Pops sound so clearly now, I had another metal pop filter that came with my mxl genesis but wasn't big enough, but this Stedman really gets the job done,
    do yourself a favor and just buy this, I still have another things to worry about in my studio, but the pop filter its no longer one of those things.

  • from Rapid City, SD USA February 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist,

    Like it so will I got one more

    Like it so will I got one more . It Is made good and I like it .

  • from Rapid City, SD USA January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist,

    Top Pop Filter

    Nicely made works well and it looks good. Will hold up for a long time.

  • from United States January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    My pop filter

    excellent for articulation and clarification when doing complicated, complex and multi-tempo lyrical compositions. Helps to cut way down on editing time.

  • from Orange County California September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Voice-Over Artist/Producer

    Does what it is meant to do, and looks good doing it!

    The Stedman Proscreen XL is a sturdy piece of elegance that every voice-over studio should have as an industry standard in professional sound reinforcement gear. I won't project a word without one!

  • from Jeffersonville, In June 12, 2012Music Background:
    vocalist, hobbyist, songwriter

    Awesome screen!!!

    This screen stays in place, is large enough to really work, and stops all the little bugging noises in the recorded vocals. We have used it so far on four people...3 males and 1 female, and everyone loves this screen.
    What a clean sound and huge difference it makes!!!

  • from Oyster Bay, NY May 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Noticeably Better

    I’ve A/B tested these against the “nylon stocking” type pop filters with several professional singers, and on playback every one of them was impressed with the clarity of the highs on these filters. We don’t use any other pop filters now, just these.

  • from May 7, 2017

    Nailed it

    This thing is awesome definitely helps a ton with plosives. Was skeptical but am now a believer. Small price to pay for quality vocals.

  • from March 13, 2015

    Love it

    Really well built and sturdy-worth the extra bucks just for the overall construction - the flex arm is great-doesn't sag and stays put-

  • from Hartville, OH September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound engineer and Student

    Great pop filter!

    Great filter, its washable with a long neck and a nylon tip on the stop to prevent stand marring. The metal screen is extremely effective at directing the air down and away from your mic capsule. I gave 4.5 stars because its a bit pricy, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • from Orlando, FL July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over Professional

    Nice Pop Filter

    Not much to be blown away about, but this is a definite improvement over the flimsy "panty hose" filters I have always used. Just tried this on a lark, but it really does work quite well.

  • from Colorado Springs, CO May 2, 2012Music Background:
    Music production, Recording Engineer, Student

    Couldn't hear the difference at first but then...

    I could hear the difference in the p's. The goosneck is very flexible and STAYS in place. I would have to adjust my prior pop filter numerous times throughout the session. This saved me time, in which saves me money.

    I know the price is some what high for a pop filter, but you won't regret having this in your vocal booth.

  • from United States February 24, 2015

    Good hardward, but still getting P pops

    The hardware is well built and sturdy - feels like it will last a while. But the bottom line is, without a mesh cover, I am still hearing P pops - air travels easily through the holes in the screen. My other nylon screen worked much better, though the hardware stripped after a while. I guess there is a reason that the $100-200 pop screens use a nylon/mesh material. I'll try adding that to the Stedman.

Questions about the Stedman Corporation Proscreen XL - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway