0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

ART SPLITMix4 Passive Mixer / Splitter Reviews

4.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the ART SPLITMix4 Passive Mixer / Splitter?

Questions about the ART SPLITMix4 Passive Mixer / Splitter?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from April 21, 2016

    I love it

    This thing is great. I use it to run effects in parallel rather that series in my guitar rig. I split the guitar to an Eventide H9 and a Roger Linn AdrenaLinn one channels 1 and 2 and then return them on channels 3 and 4. I've also used it to increase the number of send on my little Soundcraft mixer. It's not quite like having 4 sends (unless you're only working with on channel) but it's better than having only a single aux send.

  • Richard (Spike) Horn
    from Philadelphia, PA April 1, 2016

    cheap, versatile, noise-free

    I own 2 of these and love them. The ART SPLITMix4 is a slam dunk. I use them as passive mixers to combine up to 4 inputs from my synthesizers and sound modules. The mixed signal output goes off to either a powered mixer or an amplifier. It's simple, and because there is no active circuitry, you never get electronic noise from this puppy. Of course you have to be careful not to overdrive the next stages along the signal path. Each of the 4 input channels has its own attenuator but no other way to alter the sound (e.g., filters and what-not). I don't use this option, but you can also take a single input signal and split it into 4 outputs.
    Don't leave home without it!

  • Customer
    from October 27, 2014

    a little bit pricey but very useful when you need it!

    a little bit pricey but very useful when you need it! good quality!

  • Scott Albertine
    from Cambridge, MA May 9, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer

    Does what it says on the tin, and then some

    So, this does exactly what I wanted it to do, which is mix my TV, HTPC, phone, and anything else straight to my speakers, with no power drain, heat production, or cross-channel feedback/noise. However, it should probably be noted somewhere on the product page that you can combine the splitter/mixer functionalities together, but not 100%... I'll try to explain in words, the best thing would be to include the diagrams that are on the back of the package, which give a much clearer visual indication of the secondary mode.

    So, the sockets on the back are in two rows of 5 ports each, with the last port in each row being connected to all 4 of the other ports. Those last two ports always function as the mixer/splitter they are labeled as. The other four ports, however, have switches built inside the sockets, that check whether a plug is inserted. The plug doesn't actually have to be wired up to anything, just physically in the socket. If a plug is in both the input and output socket for a given column (not row) the sound for that input will go vertically upwards, through the volume knob on the front, out to the port directly above the input, and NOT to the mixed output at the end of the horizontal row. This lets you, for example, mix three ports and use the remaining volume knob as a pass-through line volume adjuster, without affecting the other three. It also means if you run your entire setup in 1/8" stereo cables (like I do), and buy 10 1/8" to 1/4" stereo adapters, and plug all 10 adapters into the box so you can patch in 1/8" cables as needed, the mixer will NOT work, due to each input being routed upwards instead of horizontally to the mixer output. Once I figured that out, I unplugged all the adapters I wasn't actively using and it worked like a dream.

    There's also a tiny bit of output volume drop when you patch in each new input for the mixer (I can't speak to the splitter, haven't tested that), but it's way lower of a drop than the old mixer I had, and isn't really noticeable unless you're specifically listening for it. However, if you want to keep your line levels absolutely perfect while swapping inputs, you'll have to adjust the knobs a bit to compensate.

    The overall build quality is incredibly solid, it's the kind of thing you could toss in a bag with a bunch of heavy microphones and worry more about the mics than the mixer. Knobs are smooth and unnotched, and because it's passive there's no worry of leaving your gain up too high when plugging in sensitive equipment.

  • Rob Shoemaker
    from Portland OR June 26, 2015Music Background:
    bar band bass player for 50 years

    swiss army knife

    My bass amp only has one input which is very common these days. Fine for on stage, nuisance for teaching. Y- cord is a poor solution, since the settings on two different instruments affect each other. This corrects that problem, and that's really all I was after. But it also functions very well used as a splitter for driving four sets of headphones for recording, IF you have a strong enough headphone output. Don't kid yourself, this is nowhere near as good as having a multi-channel headphone amp, but as a low cost way to hear each other while tracking in a home studio, it gets the job done. The construction is very sturdy, and it does not color the sound at all. II'm sure I will find more uses for this gadget. Fifty bucks very well spent.

  • Leonidas
    from Washington DC December 20, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Contractor

    Great Little Devil

    Expected less. I got more. This simple controller worked perfect between my single output mixer and my two power amps. Small,
    handy, economical.

  • Randy
    from Ca July 24, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    Headphones will need it's own amplifier

    I used a headphone jack into the input of the Splitmix and it requires an amplifier at each output if you want to use it as a headphone splitter.

  • Subhadip
    from Tampa July 2, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good product, but didn't work for me

    Looks like a good product. May come in use in future. That's why keeping it. I got confused by the photo and thought the inputs accept a pair of 1/4" mono jacks. They instead need 1/4" stereo jacks. The top and bottom rows are not input pairs. They are mutually exclusive - you only use the top or bottom row for the mix vs split mode. My bad - a little confusing design though.

  • Charlie
    from Spokane, WA February 26, 2014

    Works great - just wish they'd described it better

    To me, there was a little bit of guesswork in trying to figure out how, exactly, all of the ins and outs would relate to each other on this box. As it turns out, each set of ins and outs can work as a plain-old attenuator, OR an input to the master mix output, OR an output from the splitter input. I use it to put some parts of my pedalboard in parallel with the main path, and the design means I can only break out two signal paths from the main mix (using the main 'splitter' input, the mix output, and one channel each as a send or receive,) but it works very well. (All of this is explained nicely in the packaging, by the way.) The signal drop is very reasonable, with instrument-level signals, and the fact that it's a well-made passive device means it's a very transparent drop. As with all of the ART gear I own (looove my MPA II,) it's really impressive quality for the price. Recommended!

  • Studio 139
    from Kalamazoo, MI May 18, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Well Made But...

    The Splitmix 4 is very well made, pretty versatile and works as described but the description is missing one key detail. As stated the unit is passive
    so it does not impart any appreciable noise to the signal, but it also cuts the signal strength by about 12db with the output turned all the way up.
    This signal loss has the effect of coloring the sound and adding noise as you have to compensate for the loss by cranking up the amp or preamp that you are running into. Three stars for build quality and flexible routing, but not for performance.

  • Ryan Baker
    from Trenton, MI October 21, 2016

    Somewhat Confusing To Use...

    I'd first like to mention that i'm nowhere near a pro musician and just make music as a hobby, so this rating and review only reflects my experience. I bought this mixer to simply take 2 input signals (a main signal from a larger Mackie mixer and another signal from a sampler) and send them both out to 3 different sources (a set of monitors, and 2 separate recording interfaces). So that's 2 signals in, 3 out, which seems simple enough...right?

    I think i spend about an hour trying to get it to work, but couldn't figure out how the routing operates. One would think you just plug all your cables into the correctly labeled inputs and outputs, but this isn't the case because the unit seems to bypass certain plugs depending on what you plug in (which is the dumbest thing i've ever seen), so you're pretty much guessing since the manual and website don't explain anything. The manual gives you 9 example scenarios of routing options, but unless your exact setup is included in one of those, you have to figure it all out on your own or play a guessing game. I've tried nearly every plug combination i could think of but still the biggest issue i've had is that it doesn't seem to want to take 2 different input signals at once because one cancels out the other. I don't understand why because that was the whole reason i bought the unit in the first place. The outputs work fine and i have no problem splitting it out to 3 different sources, but i can't figure out a solution to simultaneously using 2 different inputs besides buying a separate mixer just to run my sampler in a second input or buying a stereo splitter to run both signals into the one input. And either way, i still don't have control of the input level of either. I realize this is a budget product, but they should have designed it with some routing buttons on the front or back, or even better, actually having some kind of explanation in the manual because it's aggravating trying to figure out something so simple.

    Overall, i'm sure it will work for other setups only requiring to split a signal 4 ways with their own dedicated level control, but for what i tried doing, it was a flunk. Guess i'll try my luck elsewhere, unfortunately.

  • John
    from Henderson, NV June 27, 2016

    Lowers Output

    I bought this as a sub mixer for synths. Even when the inputs are turned all the way up on ART SPLITMix4, the output is reduced. So if you record the output into a DAW, you are getting a quieter signal then if you recorded the direct output from your synth/device. This is because the ART SPLITMix4 is not powered. Maybe if you have a loud +4db device this would be a good option, but for -10db devices which most synths are, the output is reduced.

  • Customer
    from April 17, 2016

    Might be OK for some

    I thought this would fill a need as a simple audio mixer. I kind of expected this actually but there is so much loss when combining signals it was not usable. Basically any single audio signal with decent levels when mixed through this device did not provice an acceptable output.

    Not a fault of the device by any means but the design is not going to work in a lot of applications

Questions about the ART SPLITMix4 Passive Mixer / Splitter?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway