0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Focal Spirit Professional Closed-back Reference Studio Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 97 customer reviews
Questions about the Focal Spirit Professional Closed-back Reference Studio Headphones?

Questions about the Focal Spirit Professional Closed-back Reference Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The Focal Spirit Professional headphones are lightweight and sound as good as you would expect a set of Focal speakers to sound! I've A/B'ed them against most of the major brands in the same price range and they are the most accurate for mixing. Amazing sound at a great price!

  • Scott Augustyniak

    The Focal Spirit Pros have really changed the way I feel about mixing with headphones. I can trust my mixes will translate using the Spirit Pros and love the comfort of the memory foam ear cups. These offer the perfect balance of highs, mids, and lows and don't fatigue my ears as quickly as other high-end cans I own.

  • from Chicago April 11, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist / Vocalist

    Awesome

    Sound is incredible and very comfortable to wear - very pleased with this purchase

  • from New Jersey March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Label owner, rec engineer, performer, composer

    exactly as Focal describes them

    These are exactly as Focal describes them: very well calibrated and absolutely neutral. The manufacturer warns that the drivers are fragile, so I never take them on location (wish I could!). I find I want to listen to everything on them; the fidelity is amazing; so natural sounding. Run them in for 72 hours before you use them - and include piano in your play list because that really wakes them up.

  • from Mableton, GA March 20, 2017Music Background:
    Musician, producer, freelance sound designer

    Worth the $

    Having gone from some tascam's that died on me to having to use earbuds, Anthony recommended these for what I was in need for. Late nights when people are sleeping, in the hotel room, and so on ect. After a couple of days of use, I am in love with these headphones. Suites my needs very well. The tone and clarity is outstanding. I can get decent volume without everything sounding like a Merzbow record. The clarity is so good I am able to pick a part things that are involuntarily obtrusive. The bass response is decent, you know it's there. Can't wait to pair these with the subpac. Thanks to Anthony and the Sweetwater team for the advise!

  • from Los Angeles January 19, 2017

    Absolutely Amazing

    These headphones are VERY uncomfortable at first but GIVE IT TIME. Within a month or so, they break in, as well as the drivers, and there is nothing better. Stretch the headband a lot and massage the earpieces and I promise they will fit well soon. I've had mine over a year and they are ridiculously comfortable now.

  • from Rapid City, SD September 14, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    All a round good

    The cans are the best I have ever had. They sound just right the word are clear. I use them for recording, uses them for TV.

  • from Los Angeles, CA September 1, 2016Music Background:
    Dj, Producer, House Music, Ableton

    Great choice!

    These are my go to cans when I have to work on headphones. I'm definitely happy with my purchase. But what I don't like about producing music on headphones, is the lack of bass. I'm into house music, which is bass heavy. So I had to step up my headphone set up by adding some low end I can feel. I purchased a SubPac, look into it. I don't think it's available here at sw. I got the chair version. In short, this works with your headphones to give you that vibration a bass speaker would. Alowing you to feel the bass. I thought it was a gimmick, but after using it, I love it. I would not be happy working on headphones without it. I also wanted to be sure that I can trust my mixing and producing decisions on theses Focals. Meaning that I wanted a flat an uncolored signal. So I purchased Sonar Works headphone calibration software. It's a plugin that I use within Ableton. And it helps to get a flat signal coming out of these Focals
    For bass heavy music, this is my set up using Focal Headphones. Is it a technical or a proper set up, I can't say. This is just what I use and works for me.

  • from Utah August 3, 2016Music Background:
    Home Audio engineer/Musician

    All I can say is DANG.

    These things are so transparent and true to life. Just got them today, and I couldn't wait to hear. If you are thinking about it and have the money, get these. They are in my opinion some of the best pieces of gear you can get.

  • from IL July 22, 2016Music Background:
    45 year musician/tech

    Perfect for me

    I will start by saying I have a relatively small head for a guy - 7 1/4, I believe. I have no problem wearing these cans for 3-4 hours. I can see where folks with larger craniums would not appreciate this aspect of the Focal Spirit's.

    I have a small studio I record and mix myself and others in. I got these on a Thursday and left til Monday on a mini vacation. I cranked em up with a huge loop of varied material running the whole time I was gone. That put nearly 100 hours on them. I' was pretty happy when I started working between these and my CMS 50's. I'd say it was around 150 hours I felt that they were really broken in and had me making mix moves that sounded just like my monitors when spot checking against them. I can set my low end with these accurately. They are very accurate. If you use Focal monitors and trust the information they preset, you will be shocked at how well these cans replicate that accuracy - once they're broken in. Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from Chattanooga, TN April 30, 2016Music Background:
    Live music recording hobbyist

    Simply remarkable

    Great gear. Transparent, responsive sound..

  • from North Hollywood April 28, 2016

    The absolute best

    I have Focal CMS monitors and a pretty insane Focal car stereo system. These were a natural choice when I needed headphones. The sound is absolutely amazing - like anything Focal. Out of the box, they are very uncomfortable but they DO BREAK IN with time, I promise. When they do break in they are extremely comfortable. Take about a month of constant wear.

  • from Woodbridge NJ January 15, 2016

    Don't be a procrastinator!

    Scott Augustyniak told me about these as they were coming into existence, and then again later on after we had discussed some headphone options. Being an AKG701/702 fanatic, and making due with 171's for tracking... I skipped over the Focals. Pulled the trigger in anticipation of the upcoming Apollo Twin USB purchase, warranting my 4th set of godly headphones on "well now I really need some amazing closed back cans". Opened the package and not even 5 minutes in, I'm sold. Since I use Focals CMS65's, translation is almost completely perfect. I've already cut so many hours of mixing out of the equation just from the CMS monitors, this is going to be huge. Don't be a procrastinator, if your thinking about them, just do it.

  • from Smryna,Ga December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Urban Music Producer

    These headphones ROCK!!

    Like many reviewers have stated over and over again, these headphones are AMAZING! I purchased them because I started to get frustrated with the way my mixes were coming out of my room. Not that they weren't good, they just lacked "DEPTH". Depth comes with a level of confidence that you use to only be able to get within an acoustically treated million dollar recording studio. In an environment like that you know that what you hear is what you get. Well, these headphones do this as well!!!! I've owned The DT770s,Shure 840s, and a few other "monitoring" headphones and this one blows them out of the water!! Although not as comfortable as the DT's (nothing is really. lol) they give you the dead frequency response you need in order to make a 3hr mix job turn into child's play. They are also very convenient for those times when you have a mix to finalize, but it's late at night. I've had these things on and paired them with the now discontinued VRM Box by Focusrite and I literally thought for a sec that my actual studio monitors were on!! Do yourself a favor and get these!! They are my new secret weapon!!

  • from NJ December 8, 2015Music Background:
    Project studio, worship music.

    Smooth transition between my monitors and these!

    My work space is located in my bed room, so when my wife needs to get some sleep, I need to switch over to headphones. Most times I can just find something to edit or arrange, but many times I would love and need to continue mixing.

    Picked these up after doing a ton of research in this price range, open vs closed back, and ended up purchasing after a recommendation by Jared @ Sweetwater.

    Sound is phenomenal. Clean, transparent, and I haven't felt any listening fatigue.

    As far as all the reviews about the cans fitting too tight, I haven't experienced that (I wear a hat size of 7 1/4). They do isolate nicely. The memory foam cushion is comfy. Maybe the only thing that can bother me is after wearing them for a while I feel that my ears just feel like they could use some air and I'll take my breaks accordingly.

    I was doing some A/B with these and my Dynaudio BM6 mkIII and felt the Focals were pretty darn close when it came to representing the same sound my monitors were giving me. Close enough that I feel comfortable to continue mixing late at night and not worry about messing anything up too bad before referencing my monitors the next day.

    I'd recommend these to anyone.

  • from Reading, MA August 13, 2015

    Focal is King - Best headphones I've ever owned

    These are by far, coming from an audiophile and musician who engineers - the best headphones I've ever heard. Great for all stages of recording - post, tracking, mixing, editing/post production and mastering. The only headphones I can confidently say reccomend to anyone looking for just amazing headphones [audiophiles] for an ourageously low price, or musicians and engineers that are looking for the cleanest - what you're recording is what your hearing, headphone. Unlike most commercial speakers, adn even some higher end monitors for studios [headphones or speakers] the signal is pristine - there's not a bit of coloration, so you can be confident what your hearing, is what is going to be in the take; or what you doing is going to sound exactly like that in the mix - not be skewed because of a speaker thats colored in certain frequency spectrums to sound better - which throws off the precision of your whole mix.

    After owning two lesser head phones, one from sony - one better model from KRK and heard many regular monitors - FOCAL is the King of Speaker technology, hand crafted - their own drivers, and care about what we've gotta say. A national company thats run it seems atleast more like, your local pub where everyone cares about everyone, and every staff member puts their all into every peice of handmade gear. I love it - wish I could afford the Solo6's but sheesh, even without a subwoofer it'd be the most expensive piece of equipment in my studio - which doesnt even have that much space, isnt permanent nor does it have any acoustical treatment lol. So those will have to wait for a few more upgrades in the studio that are more pertinent.

  • from Boise, ID July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Multi-Instrumentalist

    Just What I Was Looking For

    Snagged a refurb deal on these after having had them parked on my wishlist for at least a year. I mix on a pair of Focal CMS40s (staggeringly good), but given the space constraints of my studio, there's not always a good way to soundcheck my mics on my monitors. These headphones are just the ticket. Similar enough in sound to what I eventually mix on and very well isolated so I can hear what my mics hear with little to no direct source. As for comfort, I find the clamping pressure totally acceptable. My head and ears are pretty average size, I guess, and I don't have any of the issues some reviewers have spoken of. I have glasses, too, and the headphones don't drive them into my head or anything like that. I have a pair of KRK KNS8400s, and I'd have to say they're more comfortable, but that's not really to complain about the Focals. The KRKs are just that comfortable.

    And, of course, the sound quality on these things is incredible. Since the CMS40s only go down to 60hz, it's really nice to have a set of headphones that do the work of a perfectly phase coherent 2.1 monitoring system. Really, I've never heard such tight, defined bass from headphones.

  • from May 28, 2015Music Background:
    Mixing, Mastering, Production

    Focal Did It Again

    I sat in my favorite coffee shop, and mixed 80% of an entire album mix on just these. The results held up both in the studio, and on real world systems. I can't name a single headphone that allows you to do this. I would have never dreamed of mixing on headphones in the past, and here I am now, I just did, and it worked. Worth the price of admission? This is a steal. Can't afford a pair of Focal studio monitors? Well now you can, and they will fit right in your backpack.

  • from Chicago April 23, 2015Music Background:
    Music academy

    Focal spirit

    Amazing sound!

  • from Queens, NY April 1, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Mix Engineer/Artist

    I CAN MIX WITH THIS CANS

    I was having lots of issues with my room due to it being super small and even with treatment sounding awful so I went the headphones route until I can resolve that Issue and I have more success mixing with this cans than my monitors. Definitely game changers!!!

  • from Phoenix, AZ USA March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Electronic Music Producer

    Not Beats

    If you are look for the beats sound, don't buy these. These are too pure for you. Amazingly flat and uncolored response. All of my headphones before added too much boom/bass/highs so it was hard to gauge what my music productions really sounded like. I have a fully treated room, but with mediocre monitors, so when i mix on these headphones it comes out amazing. These headphones made me realize how not up to par my monitors are. If you are a producer on a budget and cannot afford room treatment and decent monitors, get these and trust your ears. Focal will not let you down.

  • from Wnlively March 27, 2015Music Background:
    I do it all

    You will not be disappointed !!!!!!!!

    $349 for a set of head phones ? I thought to myself " you must be insane"
    .
    Until I got them and used them . It is one of the best purchases I have made.
    The ear cups are small but the do fit my ears. Other reviewers have said that the headphones are uncomfortable and to tight , that has not been my experince. I feel they fit very well.
    As far as sound goes I love them very transparent.
    I have already done a mix with them and the resulting print was true to what I heard through the phones.
    I would love to have a set of the Focal solo 6 be monitors . I just can't swing it at this time,but I belive these are the next best thing. One last point I would like to make is my opinion was never mix on head phones . That was until I got these. As Tony the Tigrer says " They Are Great"

  • from NH March 26, 2015

    These deliver... period.

    I bought these and a day later I called Alan at Sweetwater to report that they were defective. I was hearing a distortion on the left side at low volume, (which I told him did not make sense to me). He wisely suggested I try a couple other signal sources. He did not think they were the problem and he was right. The sound card in my iMac was the cause of the distortion. I tried to hear the distortion using my old pair of DT770 Pros but I could not hear it. I put my Spirits back on and I could hear it clear as a bell. So, THAT is why I say these things deliver the goods. They will let you hear EXACTLY what is in your mix. The good, the bad, and even the ugly. Couple these with an interface that has a true high resolution headphone output, (like the Universal Audio Apollo Twin I just added to my studio), and you will be able to hear what you are mixing like never before. I know it can be tough to spend this kind of money for a pair of headphones, but you really do get what you pay for. If you are mixing music in a less than acoustically perfect room then these puppies are the right tool for your job.

  • from brooklyn, NY March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/ Engineer

    Excellent Purchase

    I was looking for the cleanest/ most uncolored headphones I could find to use primarily for mixing. I was willing to spend a lot more, but Yuval from Sweetwater suggested these very quickly when I gave the short list of headphones I was considering. They deliver exactly as promised and I am very impressed. The detail present in playback is far beyond what other headphones offer. Very well built and I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

  • from East Rutherford, NJ March 5, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter/Musician

    Crystal Clear!!!

    I've was looking for high end headphones since I track in an apartment. I've found them!! My mixes stand out and are pretty much the same on multiple stereos. I grew up with the belief "Never mix on headphones"... but times have changed! These are outstanding and block out 95% of outside noise. Well built and comfortable! I'm very pleased with Sweetwater and my sales engineer Derek. I've slowly moved away from shopping anywhere else for my music needs!! Thank You!

  • from Miamisburg, OH February 1, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Engineer/ Mixing and Mastering Company CEO

    A must buy!

    In my option these headphones are a must have! Fist let me say, Focal does not make crap...If you don't known about the company do your research.They are grade A, and mostly hand made! These had phones are true to your sound, clean, little to no color and the fit/ padding is great. I purchased a pair for personal use in my home studio. After a few months of use, I quickly brought more for the my main studio. I have not used the blue headsets yet, but those would be the only ones I would even look at after getting the Spirt Professionals as competition.

  • from Florida January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Singer / songwriter

    Focal spirit pro headphones

    The best headphones I have ever owned - sound wise they are very "real" that is to say true to what I hear from my monitors - after wearing them for a couple of hours they get a bit heavy but my ears don't seem tired - there have been times when I think I have left my speakers on
    Wearing these headphones but when I remove them my speakers are muted - I wish I had a couple of pairs

  • from Tiffin Ohio December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mix Engineer, Instrumentalist,Vocalist

    When I heard how great these were for mixing I thought that they would get me in the ball park close to what i would on my monitors but man are they spot on! Worked entirely on mix in them, took them off and listened on monitors, sounded great! Bounced, sent into other devices and thats when I knew they are for real awesome! Trust them as much if not a little more than my monitors! I use Yamaha HS8's btw and these 2 actually go pretty good with each other. If you need headphones for mixing then skip other choices because anything else is a waste even if cheaper. Get these and get it right.

  • from United States December 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Artist

    Still impressed after months of use!

    I've been using the Focal Spirit Professional headphones for months now (upgraded from a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-M50's) and I have to admit that I am still blown away every time I use them. The first thing I'd like to make clear is that these headphones are not for the casual music listener who just wants to hear thumping lows and over-bright highs.. These are, in my opinion, a perfectly suitable replacement to a set of high quality studio monitor speakers. These babies are flat as can be, and I mean that in the best way possible. The way I am able to pick out each individual instrument track in my mix has really sped up my mixing process and improved the initial quality of my mixes.

    In the past, I would mix all of my tracks using my pair of ATH-M50's and often found that once I created an mp3 mixdown of my track and took it for a listen on a quality set of speakers (home theater setup, car audio, etc), I was generally disappointed in a couple of respects.. I typically had a hard time getting the bass frequencies correct (not blown out), as well as ensuring that I had enough brightness on other tracks.. I think the frequency response of the ATH-M50's was "making my mix sound bettter than it truly was". The Focal Spirit Professionals have such a flat frequency response that I am able to give enough boost or cut to the areas of my mix that really need it and get a quality mix the first time, without using a pair of monitor speakers. It's also a nice added bonus that these cans REALLY block out the room. One time I couldn't hear my wife standing right behind me trying to tell me dinner was ready (added bonus for some?)

    tl;dr - The Focal Spirit Professional headphones are a fantastic set of headphones for the recording engineer looking to work on their mixes through the lens of an essentially perfectly flat frequency response with the added benefit of isolation. If you're hesitating, stop it. Give Ryan Wiltermood a call ( (800) 222-4700 ext 1390) and get yourself a pair of these fantastic cans today!!

  • from Ypsilanti MI November 22, 2014Music Background:
    Chief cook and bottle washer.

    Wow! Just what the doc ordered!

    Tyler turned me on to these. "Not for listening". How right he was. The most boring cans I have ever heard. And that's the beatitude of these wonderful headphones. Flat and true from bottom to top! Face it, few of us can afford the real estate for a perfect listening room. These cans will tell you exactly where everything fits, from the 30 hz bass tone to the the ring on the China. Do you still need near fields? I think so. My near fields now confirm the " wow" factor of my mixes. The translation is dead on. These babies are clinical. I doubt I will ever use them for tracking as the do not ensure if you get my meaning. They have taken my mixes to a new level, as well as my confidence factor. I can't recomend these enough. They are now critical to my small studio.

  • from Michigan November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Bluegrass Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Sound like my near field monitors!

    Finally headphones that sound like my near field monitors! I can mix with these headphones and take them off and play the mix back in my near field monitors and the mix actually sounds the same. The fit can feel pretty tight after an hour or so and if your ears stick out these may permanently pin them back to your head saving you money for cosmetic surgery. Seriously though, I find the minor discomfort of the tight fit to be well worth the results of being able to mix with these headphones. Absolutely the most accurate sounding headphones I've ever had! I don't think that you will be disappointed with them either.

  • from Miamisburg, OH October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, sound and mixing engineer for J~Will Productions LLC

    Nice set of professional headphones/personal

    These are the first set of Focal Headphones and to that fact, speakers that I have heard. Our sales rep Kevin Scott, recommend these to our company, as we wanted to upgrade all the headphones in the studio. Since we were not able to get up to the Sweetwater location to demo multiple set we had Kevin order one set. These bad boys are nice! The owner of the company told me to use these as if they were my personal pair in and out of the studio. I have had them own since we got them! The sound is so clear it’s really breath taking. I have done soft mixes were I am just trying to level the sounds. To my surprise I was dead on. No more AKG's or Sony's, I can tell you that. I even did a remix on our new Event 2030 monitors and was close to dead on. The base was just right. The only thing I needed to do was EQ a few of the frequencies in the low mid range and the low high rang. Which should be expected. You cannot mix down a whole track correctly with any pair of headphones, but these bad boys will get you in the ballpark! They give you an honest play back. If the bass sounds bad then the bass rang is bad visa versa. The high, mids and low range are clear. I am not sure what if anything I could have asked Focal to do better. Great headphones, Google search them and read/ watch reviews they are well worth the time and cash. They can be worn for hours at a time. The extra cord was a great idea. I did not get it at first! However, now that I use them everyday leave one cord plugged into the headphone receiver and one in my carry bag to check my mixes on either in the car or by phone. The boss heard them and saw me use them a few times. He is a believer now as well and told me that he would be ordering more at the beginning of the year.

  • from SoCal, USA October 20, 2014

    Sound is amazing, they have held up great so far.

    These babies are crazy good. They're all I listen to anymore.

    I am an aspiring producer/mixer and I bought these to use in my apartment while I'm in the military. My reference monitors are in my computer cabinet and the sound is heavily colored but that, so I needed some good headphones I could mix with. The Sweetwater guys definitely didn't steer me wrong! Very flat response, nothing is exaggerated which makes me tend to turn up the bass in my mixes because I am used to mixing with headphones that bump the bass (very unprofessional, I know).

    They may be expensive, but they are worth it. I also haven't had any of the structural problems some of the other reviewers complained about. They haven't cracked, they are comfortable, and they fit my ears well, though I don't have giant ears, I would say I have... normal ears? I have had them for several months now.

    I love them and use them for everything , we will see how they hold up on my upcoming deployment (you better believe they will stay in a Pelican case)

  • from Georgetown, Texas September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Home Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Holy Cow these are GREAT

    Got these after reading many reviews about them. I bought an open box set, so they seem broken in already. I put them on and pulled up a mix I had been working on and was near finished with (So I thought). With theses cans, I heard several things sticking out with such obvious presence, I would have spent several hours going back and forth between systems just to realize each one needed fixing. Long story short, I was able to wrap up my mix in a little less than an hour. And for the first time ever, I was not just giving in to the "Good Enough" voice in my head. These really are worth every penny and more. I am without a doubt, completely blown away.

  • from Saginaw, MI August 29, 2014Music Background:
    Lifelong audio enthusiast, songwriter, live performer, studio engineering for classical piano, string ensembles, and vocalists.

    Great Presence

    These are amazing.
    It is almost unreal!!
    After using Sennheiser 280 Pro's for years, I did not expect how much better a headphone could sound.
    I'm listening to some old Fred McDowell recordings, and I can't believe how good they sound; I can hear the mix with a clarity that an earlier reviewer probably describes as "objective".
    That is exactly what I want.
    The articulation of every sound is distinctly present.
    I don't know how else to describe it.
    I am blown away.

  • from Waxhaw, NC August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Drummer

    Focal Spirit headphones

    Sweetwater is just the best! I called Ryan Wiltermood for a recommendation for "exact replication" headphones for mixing. Once again, his advice was dead-on and the price and delivery time were great. For all engineers and advocates of great sound; ch Eckert these out!

  • from Pasadena, CA August 16, 2014

    Worth triple the price.

    What you hear in these is what you will hear everywhere.
    The bass is a bit shy at first, but after you get used to them everything in these headphones is spot on for translation.
    It's unbelievable.
    If you had let me unknowingly use these for a week and then asked me what I thought the MSRP was based on the quality and company name, I'd have easily said around $1000.
    EASILY.
    Listening to pro mixes in these is another bonus as the overall clarity is such that you can actually spot errors and learn techniques to get the sound you're trying to achieve.
    The cups are a tad smaller, but they fit well enough to wear for hours (for me) and I haven't noticed any ear fatigue.
    A standout product for Focal and the new standard and bellwether for headphone monitoring.

  • from Boca Raton, FL USA July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Producer.

    WOW .. TRUE PROFESSIONAL CANS

    THE PROS:
    Amazing Range, build, packaging, sound quality 100% AMAZING

    THE CONS: (NOT REALLY)
    I read before about the cups been to small… and i have ears on the bigger size and yes the first time you try em they might seem tight but it was because i was used to the same old big cup set…

    after 5 min of use i totally LOVE THEM…. they fit great and sound absolutely amazing….

    Your mixes will translate beautifully ….
    I will be doing a lot of mixing on this bad boys, can't wait.

  • from Northwest Iowa July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A big step up

    They say Never mix with headphones ! Well guess what, Now You Can! These babys represent your mix extremely well and will make those late night mix downs sessions in your home studio more pleasant for the neighbors as well as the wife and all those other folks that like to sleep at. They did require a break-in period as some other reviews have said ( I think it's more of a retrain your ears time period). Perhaps a little pricey for those on a budget but these are worth saving your jingle for. I haven't slammed them into a wall or drove over them with a car yet to test their durability, but they do seem to be pretty well built !

  • from United States July 15, 2014Music Background:
    Home Producer

    Crystal Clear

    Amazing headphones. Very clear flat sound. Ideal for anyone serious about making music.

  • from Grand Haven Michigan July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Went school at Michigan State and play all kinds of inst.

    Focal headphones

    Real good high and low Sound very good. More depth

  • from Tampa,Fl June 19, 2014Music Background:
    recording artist, mix engneer

    clean sound

    i bought this with a bundle off other product ..all i can say its a clean headphone is good for recording and good for mixing but since its closed it very good for recording it fits tight on the head it press very close on your on of the solid products that i have in my home studio love love love ...and yes i recommend it big time ...go focal everything .

  • from Pittsburgh, PA June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer, Producer, Composer, Lover of Sound

    The Best

    Two thumbs up to Focal!

    These cans are exactly what I needed. Build quality and packaging are first rate.

    The sound is, in my opinion, what all headphone should strive for. The drivers are high quality and have a very quick response in the time domain. This allows for increased clarity across the spectrum as well as more definition in both transient attack and reflection information.

    They are "expensive", but you get what you pay for. I believe these headphones are just as good as a pair of Solos or Twins, which will cost you a few thousand dollars. So price is a matter of perspective, and with that in mind, they are a good deal.

    They blow all competitors out of the water. It's truly confusing to me why all studios don't have at least one pair of these beauties.

    I see that Focal is now producing entry level speakers and while that's great, but I hope it doesn't signal a decline in the commitment to quality that is evident in the BE monitors as well as these wonderful headphones.

  • from Beaumont, TX June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Studio Owner, Musician, Enginner, Producer, Executive Producer

    Awesome

    I got these this morning and plugged them into my board and my head exploded with the clarity of wonderfully PERFECT reproduction of sound. I cannot reccommed these highly enough. they would be worth it at 3 times the price.

  • from North Canton OH June 5, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur

    Focal Spirit Professional Studio Headphones

    This pair of phones may seem a bit pricey; however, the response range and amazing sound is unparalleled in any phones for any price anywhere! Every pro needs a pair of these!!!

  • from Cocoa, Florida May 29, 2014Music Background:
    non professional guitarist, vocalist, composer

    one of a kind

    Sweetwater is the best company I have ever dealt with, and I don't just mean music companies, I mean any company, ever. Their customer service and integrity are second to none. Nick LaMendola is the best, most knowledgeable sales rep ever. After discovering Nick and Sweetwater, I simply quit dealing with anyone else. I cannot pile on enough praise.

  • from Texas May 27, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Great Headphones

    Just received my new Focal Headphones and they sound incredible. I have been using Sennheiser HD 600 Headphones that were top of line in their day, but are no comparison for the clearity & detail of the Focal's.

  • from United States May 6, 2014

    Incredible

    Enough said.

  • from Youngsville, LA April 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording, Studio Engineer

    Focals are the closest thing to perfect sound

    These are no doubt the best headphones I've ever heard. They are true and sound awesome. I have a home recording studio and I use these for mixing. They sound incredible. I highly recommend them to those who are looking for a great set of cans.....

  • from MD, USA March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Project Studio

    Super Accurate!

    I had been looking for a good pair of headphones for a "zoom" tool, and to remove my room from the equation when having mixdown troubles and, of course, for quieter times around the studio. I thought I was looking for an "open" pair for the mixing side of things but I couldn't decide on any one pair. Nothing really grabbed my attention and I had researched for months and months, nearly just picking up some Sennheisers and calling it done.

    Then Matt, my rep, sent me an email about these. By the time I got home from work...I was ready to buy them.

    I couldn't be happier with the way the decisions I make in these headphones translate to the real world. I'm actually making sound (pun? :) ) decisions without stabbing in the dark like I would do many many times before due to the very poor (untreated) acoustics in my studio.

    If you're unsure, just grab them...you'll be glad you did.

  • from Mount Pleasant, SC February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Piano, horn, occasional monitoring.

    Focal Spirit Pro - a great headphone

    I'm working on a long review, but I'll summarize it here: The Focal Spirit Pro not only sounds good, it sounds right. What that means to me is this: If I didn't have it handy for any particular length of time, and came back to it at some future date, I know it would be just as good for my purposes then as it is now. The sound is near-perfect top to bottom, but when I hear bass lines in recordings I'm already familiar with and they sound better than I can remember, that's when I know it's right. Thanks to Sweetwater for getting this out on a rough-weather day - much appreciated.

  • from United States February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Jantelis.com

    10/10

    ACCURATE , FLAT, the perfect studio and mix check headphone

  • from Corvallis, MT February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Fantastic

    I was looking for a good pair of headphones, read some reviews, Purchased the Focals, what I ended up with I feel are great headphones, for my Studio these sound as if I'm listening to my main monitors only more detail (not hyped) feel very confident mixing on these if I had too. Now when I do location recording I'll know what I'm getting will translate to the studio.

  • from Jacksonville, FL January 24, 2014Music Background:
    musician, producer

    Focal Spirit Pro Headphones

    These headphones are by far the best sounding headphones I have ever owned. Chrystal clear with perfect frequency balance. I highly recommend them to all musicians, engineer and producers.

  • from Palo Alto, CA November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Amazingly Pure Sound

    I've been using the HD280's for about 5 years now and have always loved them. I decided to finally check out what was hot these days. I wanted a closed back design to track and mix. From all the reviews and my budget, I decided to try the Focal Spirit Pro's.

    When I first got them I was too excited to wait until after the 24 hour break in time. I did a bunch of A-B tests and was very surprised as to how little difference I could hear between the 280 and the Spirits. But, with patience, I waited. Well, it was worth it. Once broken-in, the Spirits completely changed. The imaging opened up so much, the bass tightened, the vocals came into my head. The overall clarity was amazing.

    After a week of listening I started feeling that they were losing their "amazingness", so then I decided bring out the 280 again and A-B them again. Holly, crap! My 280 now sounded awful. After a week of listen to the Spirits, they retrained my ears as to what sound should be. Neutral.

    I still use the 280 to check what "normal" people will hear on their iPod, but the Spirit Pro's are now the only thing I record with. They are so good that after a while you forget you're using headphones.

    Now the downside. They are not very comfortable. In fact, the 280's are 10 times more comfortable. The Spirits have small ear openings and I would consider them closed/on-ear. Also, I wear glasses and they are very uncomfortable. The Spirits also do not block out ambient sound even remotely as well as the 280's. I can wear the 280's all day. But, the Spirits do require ear breaks periodically.

    As for sound quality they are perfectly neutral, pleasant and non-fatiguing.

  • from Brooklyn, NY November 15, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician, occasional engineer

    Great for reference

    These are great and trustworthy headphones. I needed something I could use for mixing and mastering while I sort out the dreadful room acoustics in my new apartment. I first bought a pair of Sennheiser HD-600s but was unhappy with how they sounded on all but one of my headphone amps (not surprising - they are high impedance and require a powerful amp). Yuval recommended I try the Spirits instead and it was a good move. I've been happy with the sonic detail, tonal separation, they way they reference with various speakers, and that they are low impedance and sound great even hooked up to an iPod. Plus, they're closed-back which makes them more useful in tracking sessions. The Senns were really comfortable and fun to listen to but all in all I think the Focals are a better for critical listening, and are more like listening on good monitor speakers. I would however warn you to burn them in well first. Out of the box I found them harsh, fatiguing, and nearly painful in the high end but after letting music play through them for several nights they mellowed out and opened up nicely and have now become comfortable and suitable for extended use. They are making it seem much less urgent to go fix my room acoustics.

  • from Northeast October 21, 2013Music Background:
    M.M., former professional musician

    Buy These Headphones

    I'm not one to post reviews of products. I honestly think this is my first one, but I had to share my experience with these headphones. I had already purchased and returned AKG Open-back reference headphones when I bought these Focals. I had read that these Focal headphones were considered "monitoring" headphones. Prior to this purchase I would never consider mixing and mastering with headphones. BUT, since I've owned them I work with these more than with my monitors. The sound is so neutral and revealing. I hear things I'd never heard before. I work so much more efficiently and effectively. It's like hearing music for the first time. When it comes to music I'm very hard to please, and when it comes to these headphones I'm very, very pleased.

  • from Charlotte NC October 19, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter and producer

    Hear The Music Not The Headphones

    My first impression of these headphones...pure honesty! No hyped highs and lows, just pure sonic quality! They remind me of what my solo6 monitors sound like! Although they're closed you get a sense of great stereo imaging! They produce a nice even natural tone! I give this product a thumbs up!

  • from New Jersey October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Mastering Engineer

    These phones are amazing, Amazing!

    After breaking these in for 25 hours I was more than happy. They sound amazing. Better than any other phones I've ever tried or owned. I was Mastering a song and I looked up and noticed my left focal twin six was not on, I looked right and that was off also. As confusion set in, I remembered I had these Focal Spirits on my head. Amazing! Nuff said!

  • from Fort Lauderdale, FL February 15, 2017Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    They sound great!

    I purchased these as my introduction to Focal products. They're very comfortable, even after a while in use. They also sound very nice.

    Included are all the cables and adapters you'll need for just about any application. Isolation is very good as well.

    For very critical listening and mixing I find them a little full bodied in the low mids. Enough that you will tend to mix bright if these are you're only reference. Not a bad thing, but good to know.

    I use a plugin to flatten out their response and that combination gives me a very accurate monitoring setup when I'm out of the studio and just editing on my laptop.

    If I had one complaint it would be that they don't fold up as small as some others but the good outweighs the bad.

  • from Maryland March 17, 2016

    Nice!!!

    Awesome headphones. Tight on my ears so I hearing everything. Price is steep but well worth it! Thanks Nick keep doing what you do!!!

  • from January 23, 2016

    Darn good! Sounds like CMS range...

    Sound amazing...pretty much exactly like my CMS65...and my Focal car system.

    *A TIP - a lot of people say these are uncomfortable - and unfortunately, they ARE out of the box. However, take some time so stretch out the headband and some time to roughly massage the foam pads with your fingers to break them in and it gets a LOT better.

  • from Villa Rica, GA September 5, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, piano player, and composer...sort of.

    Focal Spirit Pros

    Bought on a recommendation of my sales assoc, Ben Porter, and I am not disappointed. I had previously just bought the AKG K271mk2s as I really didn't want to go over $200. I had been using my 2 pair of Sony 7506s for years now, but the AKGs were a huge step up, and now the Focal Pros are another step up.

    I only have about 20 hours of break-in on them, but by next weekend will hit the 100 hour mark and expect them to be all everyone says they are. They are smooth, uncolored, and I can see why people even use these to mix music with them. I only have decent headphone amps; and Art and a PreSonus, so an upgrade will be needed to get the most out of the Spirit Pros. Do wish the ear cups were larger, but that is my problem with bigger ears. For me they are on the ear cans.

    Thanks to Ben for the heads-up.

  • from Texas, USA February 27, 2015Music Background:
    Inspiring Recording Engineer

    No Hype Or Coloration

    You can trust these headphones. I compared them to the Audio-Technica ATH-50 and I could hear the colration. The Focal headphones has very little if any colation. Yes I know they are on the pricey side but to truely hear what the mix is doing you can't go wrong with these headphones.

  • from Brooklyn, NY February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician/Composer, Record Label Owner

    Excellent Headphones

    These are great headphones. I was looking for lower impedance professional headphones to use on my MacBook pro when I'm away from my studio. I first bought the Blue Mofi cans, but had to return them because they were very uncomfortable and heavy, although the sound was great. I bought these Spirit Pro cans soon after and have been very happy with them. They have a very flat response and are perfect for mixing/tracking on the go. I highly recommend them.

  • from February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer, Producer

    If you hear it, it's there!

    These headphones don't hide anything, if there is something wrong in your mix or master they will tell you (Feels like I'm listening inside of my control room, minus the sub). The comfort at first was not good (felt like someone was trying to smash my head with their hands), but after time the memory foam forms to your head and when they do there very comfortable (I have fallen asleep with these on listening to reference mixes/masters in bed). I was a little concern about the built quality from the reviews I read on focal website, but they are built well. The only issues I have is that they don't have markings or level indicators when extending the headband and you have to put them on a certain way (putting the top part of your ear inside the ear cup first), but that is more personal preference (use to the DT770 Pro, LOL). Other then that I love these headphones I can connect them to anything, iPhone, laptop or interface and have a reliable monitoring source (my DT770 Pro need an amp [250 ohms] so they stay in the control room).

  • from New Jersey, USA January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, sound designer, post production audio, recording engineer, live sound

    No fatigue. Transparent sound.

    First of all, sweetwater is the greatest audio retail store in the world in my opinion. It's not just because of the two year warranties or the free tech support (which is great), it's because of the knowledge each sakes engineer has and their willingness to help. Matt Kreager has been my sales engineer since 2009, and he's made every purchase a good experience. After looking I to these headphones for almost a year, I wasn't let down when I started working with them. The have all transparent "flat" frequency balance that you would expect from an acoustically treated room and a decent 2.1 setup. I've only been using them for a few weeks, so I can't give them 5 stars until They've stood the test of time, but my ear fatigue is low, the weight is comfortable, and the ear cushions don't quite close around my ears like " true" closed back headphones. Which is great because a slightly open back usually produces a truer frequency response and less bass boost. I would recommend these to a friend.

  • from Lansing, MI December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Tracking Engineer, Mix Engineer, Live Keyboardist

    A+++ 10/10 would recommend

    So I originally got these based on the rave reviews and the high standing of focal... I was not disappointed. The sound is accurate & tight. Everything I mix on these translates very well to any other system I listen on. As some of the other reviewers pointed out, if you have a larger head/ears, they aren't the most comfortable for long term wearing. That aside, these are great headphones and very well made. Weather you are a home studio person/laptop producer who can't afford full studio monitors yet, or a pro looking to check mixes, these are a great set of headphones.

  • from United States, CA July 30, 2014Music Background:
    project studio

    good sound

    Sound is awesome although, some difference in phones vs monitors.
    I can definitely hear issues that need attention. That is why I bought them.
    I like the tones and it does help very much with mastering. Pricy and very tight fit on the ears. Otherwise a goid choice and would recommend for tonal choices.

  • from Chandler, AZ May 24, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Hobby engineer

    Best headphones I've ever used

    I have a pretty detailed ear and have been struggling to find a pair of headphones I've been satisfied with. Either they sounded awful or were uncomfortable to wear. (My usage is for critical listening and mixing.) In frustration, I finally broke down and decided it was worth spending more money to try to find something that wouldn't be offensive to my ears. My rep recommended the Focal Spirit Pro headphones to me. After comparing them with others in that price range, I decided to go ahead and get them, though I was still nervous. $350, afterall, ain't chicken feed. To make a long story short, I will say that these are far and away the best headphones I've ever used. The clarity and detail I can hear with these is just astounding! My only gripe is that I wish the cups were wider--everyone seems to be going small these days and I don't get that--and the headband allowed for my somewhat larger than average head. So they can be a titch uncomfortable on extended wear but that's the only complaint I have. I also have to guard myself against adding in too much bass but you have that problem with pretty much any headphones, especially a closed ear design. These things are without a doubt worth every penny I paid for them.

  • from New Orleans, LA January 20, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer, musician

    Does it get any better?

    Not much to really say here...These headphones are exactly as they are advertised. Studio quality, reference headphones. Very flat sounding cans (which is exactly what you want). After about 50 hours of listening these things are at their "broken in" stage and they are as accurate as my near-fields. Obviously mixing on headphones is a bit dodgy, so you still wouldn't want to depends on the cans and the cans alone. You are still going to want to check bass/sub on a larger system with accurate low-end response. For this price range, I can't imagine you finding a better set of reference headphones though. They are also VERY comfortable. I have a large head and these things fit me great. The memory foam is awesome.

  • from United States October 11, 2013Music Background:
    Performing/Recording professional musician.

    Focal Professional are the real deal

    I love headphones and i use headphones every single day not only to listen and enjoy music, but i also use them to mix and master music, so, if you are reading this to find out if these headphones are hype or actually worth the money, then let me assure you that they are worth 3x the money.
    I own Sennheiser 600s , AKG 702s, Beyers, as well as the Focal Spirit One's and i can tell you honestly from the standpoint of critical listening experience using cans that these Focal Professional cans are audiophile accurate.....The clarity is outstanding, the balance is perfect between frequencies, they are easy to drive, generally comfortable, and if you want to use them to record and mix your music, then they are the way to the truth wrapped around your head for $349.99 delivered.
    I use mine with a $2500 Headroom Max , a $900 Sound Device USB Pre 2, a Arcam r-pac, as well as a very nice Marantz CD player, and assorted music making higher resolution USB interfaces.

    There is a an abundance of sonic accuracy and fine detail within the sound they deliver that is a beautiful thing to hear......its a professional sound, an expensive sound, a musical sound.
    If you are looking for hyped bass, strident mids, and sizzling hyper-treble, you wont find it within the sound of these headphones.
    If instead you prefer a flat frequency response combined with clarion accuracy and musicality, then get out your Visa as you are home.

  • from April 21, 2016Music Background:
    Prog,Classical ...

    Good but not exceptional

    These headphones are good but you are not blown away when you hear them for the first time. They were made to record or mix but not for pure listening. They are cold but not too much. The Shure SRH 940 are much colder and less pleasant to listen to. For pure listening I usually prefer the Focal Spirit S with their delicious huge bass ! I'm not saying this headphones lack bass because they absolutely don't, trust me. The bass being less strong they are less emotional than the Spirit S. However you would be wrong saying they have no bass because on some songs you can't believe this wall of massive bass you suddenly hear. Full of surprises ! As I am having them on my head now ( NOT uncomfortable ! ) listening to an IQ album, I find them dynamic and I really like the bass and the highs. Perfect on "breathtaker". The voice is here too.
    It seems that the more I use them the better they are. I like the bass, I like the mids and the highs. I cannot say more for the moment. Now I understand why the WOW effect was not there. Their neutral character may be the reason because unlike many headphones they are almost perfectly balanced !

  • from Houston July 29, 2015

    Good but could be larger around the ears

    I have a pair of open back seneheisers that fit around my ears and I can wear them all day. I was hoping that's the kind of fit I would get from the focals but instead they squeeze right against the ear. Also the wet-metal looking headband is plastic, not metal. Aside from that, the headphones are top quality. Even the quality of the box it comes in is top notch. The box alone could go for $50. I've successfully used the phones while overdubbing drums, and they fit snug enough that there's almost no sound leak from outside. the detachable cable is a huge plus
    as well.

  • from Sf January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    They sound great...... But

    These headphones sound fantastic. I like the cord options with the microphone so you can use them as walking around headphones. The downside is the cups are too small as stated in the other reviews.

  • from big island , hawaii May 6, 2014Music Background:
    songwriter

    Focal spirit

    Sound pretty good, but these headphone are so uncomfortable to wear for more than an hour. No way to adjust the headband, it squeeze my ears.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Veteran musician and recording engineer.

    Nice Phones

    Being totally obsessed with headphones and the pursuit of the ultimate truth. Naturally these immediately caught my eye. After 6 months of drooling over these and reading limited reviews, I went ahead and ordered a pair.

    The Good.

    Very clear crisp sound. Excellent for picking out any flaws in your mix. Clicks, pops, etc...

    They seem to have a fairly steep roll-off at the low end and very detailed in the mids and highs. Detail is there at the low end too but not quite what I expected. They actually seem to attenuate the lows to a point. They have a quality that seems to isolate frequency ranges and allow you to pinpoint overlaps and places where frequencies are fighting each other. No mud or loss of definition anywhere in the spectrum.

    I read reviews where folks said they could mix and master with these. Sounded too good to be true. And yes, I don't see that happening. They're very detailed and clear, but don't come close to replacing near fields.

    The Bad

    One thing that really bothered me was the fit and build. If you're unhappy with the tension, you're pretty much stuck with it. The band is plastic. No metal band to offer an adjustment. It is what it is.

    I also find it hard to keep a good seal around my ears due to the extremely small ear opening. They were designed for very small people with tiny little ears. The seal is very important on these phones because if there's a slight compromise in the seal, the sound balance is thrown off and you lose your frame of reference.

    The build and design are not what I expected from a high end closed back phone. Ergonomically unsound, no metal band "all plastic".

    I was so disappointed with the build quality, that I decided to return them. Made arrangements and received the RA and instructions for returning them in an e-mail.

    But I just couldn't let them go!

    They are special. Actually painful at times, but very special.

    Alternatives

    For the ultimate in comfort and soundfield consider the Sennheiser HD600s. I own both and use them both. A nice complement to each other. The open back of the 600's is not as leaky as you might expect. Not good for tracking but for mixing, there's awesome. As far as tracking in comfort, BeyerDynamics DT770's are a great choice.

    Hope this was helpful.

  • from March 1, 2014Music Background:
    producer

    focal 6 be in headphones size oh yeah!

    i have been used on alot kinds of headphones like akg 242,beats pro studio,and now the focal pro.
    i will start and say they really remind me my focal solo 6be just on littile a size :) they realy nice and flat ,the bass and the low end are tight
    and the good for mixing very recommended

  • from November 10, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Good sound. Poor build quality.

    I think the headphones sound great but are very fragile. The plastic cracked within a month after purchase. Not too impressed.

  • from NYC May 27, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/Mixing/Mastering

    Sound Quality: 5 Stars / Build Quality: 2 Stars

    SOUND QUALITY: 5 STARS
    I used these cans for producing/mixing/mastering a wide variety of music from 60's-style soul to hardcore DnB/Dubstep and I'll tell you right now: The sound quality is absolutely amazing.

    The frequency response in the low to mid-low were exactly what I was looking for and allowed me to 'feel' my sub-level frequencies without impeding over the rest of the mix. The vocals + high-ends were genuine and pure. Translated well in every studio, car-speaker, and club that I encountered.

    BUILD QUALITY: 2 STARS
    With that being said, the build quality is no where near what you would expect for a pair of $350 headphones. I had to return two pairs of them over a 20 month period.

    The first pair of Focal's I received had uneven volume levels in each ear. My immediate thoughts were, "Am I going crazy? Are my ears damaged? Why does this song sound so much different when I flip the right+left ears?" So I loaded up a bunch of signal tests, experimented with different auxiliary inputs, and came to the conclusion they were just faulty. First time in my life returning any musical equipment, but Sweetwater made the exchange a breeze because their customer service is just the awesomesauce.

    My second pair were going strong for about 18 months until I noticed that my ears felt uneven again. The plastic band connecting the earpad to headband had somehow snapped and there was now a large gap between my ear and the speaker. Sweetwater of course came to my rescue once more, but by this time I was finished with the Spirit Pro's.

    OVERALL:
    They are plastic and rigid. They are snug to the point that you have to remove them every hour. They are ugly and cheap-looking... but DOGGONIT if they aren't some of the nicest sounding headphones you will ever wear! 3.5 Stars

  • from San Diego September 28, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Designer

    An Honest Pro Con After 1 Month of Daily Use

    Pros:
    The headphones have a simple adjustment mechanism and seem quite sturdy.
    The headphones are suitable for on the go use due to their low impedance (i.e. you won't need a headphone amp).
    The headphones live up to the manufacturer's claims of accuracy. They reproduce the claimed spectrum and are incredibly nuanced. Some of the most detailed headphone monitors in the price range.
    Neutral:
    The headphones sit sort of hybrid on-ear/cup-ear. I think they're very comfortable, but it bothers quite a few reviewers.
    These headphones are incredibly revealing in the high end. It can make it difficult to hear the bass, but it does make the engineer work harder to tame the spectrum.
    These headphones are closed backed so you won't be able to hear much outside of the cans.
    Cons:
    The headphone swivel point is the only thing that seems delicate. Haven't personally had any problems, but I wouldn't risk sitting on these.
    The spectrum isn't really all that neutral. It favors highs and abhors mids. I have to monitor a little louder than I'm comfortable doing when I want to mix and eq, or use neutral filters to isolate different parts of the spectrum. Each bin of the audible spectrum is independently represented incredibly accurately but the attenuation will not be to the liking of a mixing or mastering engineer.

    Suggested uses:
    For me these headphones really do the trick. If I have to mix/master, I generally just slap a band isolation vst on the master channel and start tweaking away. But, my main use of these headphones is late-night/laptop/on-the-go sound designing. They're comfy, lightweight, closed back, don't require a portable amp, portable, accurate, etc. And they're not TOO expensive for what you get.

    Not suggested uses:
    If you want headphones to sit on the desk in the studio these are not your bet. They just don't reproduce the spectrum accurately enough to warrant buying them for long mixing/mastering sessions. Go buy slightly more expensive cans and a preamp. These headphones are not for audiophile type listening. They're too revealing to make listening to music all that enjoyable.

  • from south portland ME August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Audio engineer

    Good But

    I have had these headphones for about a month and burned them in with about 24 hours straight of pretty loud music, then I started to listen to them. As a point of reference I have been an audio engineer since the 1980s (that makes me old) and I own (and have used extensively): Sony 7506, Sennheiser 280, Sennheiser 497, Grado SR 60 and SR125, Monoprice (!) MHP839, Klipsch S4 II in ears and now the Focal Spirit Pros. Just in terms of sound quality alone the Focals have the "most neutral" response of the bunch, altho I don't know what exactly to compare them to. All the press and reviews I have read say they are the most flat so I guess that means they are the benchmark to which other headphones must be compared. I will say that they are not exciting to listen to, but instead I will call them more clinical - which I guess is a good thing. The Focals are very efficient (32 ohm) and they are loud and their isolation is very good. They are not particularly bright, which surprised me, but are more forward in the mids, and the low end is solid as opposed to booming, which is a good thing. They remind me of a good acoustic suspension (sealed) speaker ( which is my personal preference) as opposed to a ported one. I will say that they did not make me say "WOW" when I first listened to them, the Grado 125s did just that and they continue to be my favorite listening headphones. The Grados are open back instead of sealed like the Focals and, while they sound quite similar the Grados are much more fun to listen to, which makes them dangerous to mix on. I'm still getting used to the Focals and how they relate to the outside world.

    Now the less than good part. For the cost I expected the build quality to be better, these guys are all plastic and not very flexible. The isolation and seal are very good but they feel like large visegrips on my head. I read one review that said they could be worn all day, I can barely make it for a couple of hours before my head needs a break. Even my $50 Sennheiser 497 phones are more comfy. I'm hoping that they will relax abit as they age. The cables really bother me, unfortunately. I dislike coiled cables and these are no different. I sit some feet away from my headphone jack which means the cable stretches and hangs in the air and I can feel the extra weight. They come with a straight cable but they have a trrs connection with a built in mic and I don't trust the audio quality - I don;t have an IPhone. Also, they have 1/8" connectors and need an adapter for a 1/4 " jack. Who knows of a professional piece of equipment that uses an 1/8" headphone jack? The cables detach and can easily replaced, but the 1/8" jack on the headphones are molded in such a way that a normal 1/8" plug will not fit - this means you have to go to Focal to get a replacement cable.

    I'm getting a bit long winded so I will sum it all up by saying that the price will get you good and neutral audio, mediocre build quality, and the fit may or may not be kind to your head. If possible, try before you buy

  • from Park City, UT September 5, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great sound, eh build.

    Okay so first of all, I do love the sound of these headphones. I use them in the studio to record/mix everything from metal, to rap, even orchestral film scores. I don't really need to add anything on the sound, there's plenty of other reviews that describe exactly how I feel. But, unfortunately there is a but. I'm on my third pair in less than two years. Right above the cup, the plastic snaps very easily. I'm not rough with them, I literally only use these to mix at my computer. Otherwise they are sitting in the case they come in (which is an awesome case). I don't use these while playing any instruments (I use my Audio-Technica ATH-M40x's for that), yet I'm still on my third pair because the stupid plastic snaps so easily! I just feel like that shouldn't happen on $350 headphones. That being said, Sweetwater has been extremely easy to get along with on the matter and hasn't hesitated once to make sure I have a perfectly working pair and that I'm happy. I've been using the third one for about 3 or 4 months now so hopefully these ones last longer than the last ones. Awesome headphones, I wouldn't mix with anything else, but I'm really disappointed in the reliability.

  • from May 13, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer, Engineer

    Great Headphones, But.......

    These are the best headphones you can buy but the after two years of careful use the plastic on the lower part of the headbands disintegrated. To have both sides I was charged $200.00. I have a pair of SONY Professionals that have lasted 20 years with any visible sign of wear.

  • from March 18, 2016

    Focal Spirit hdphones

    I own a pair of the FOCAL PRO'S CMS 65, I thought the "Spirit" phones would be a good compliment to the 65's. and they are.
    Thanks.
    Daniel

  • from CA November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and Recording Engineer

    Close, but flawed.

    Firstly, these are fantastic sounding headphones. They aren't quite as flat frequency as you would hope, but well within the range to make good informed EQ decisions. Great sound quality for sure. Problem is, they aren't built to last; the plastic components used in the extension/sizing portion frequently crack and break even with extreme care (better believe at $350 I take extreme care). I'm on my 3rd pair of these due to the same breakage problem since they were released. They sound great, but I'll be looking for a different headset since my 3rd pair broke in the same fashion. A very unfortunate design flaw, but it prompted this review.

  • from Los Angeles, CA September 22, 2015Music Background:
    House Music Producer

    Good But Not Great

    Ive been using these for month now. I trust them for the mid's and high's. But not happy with the low end. I have to use another pair of headphones to hear the low end.

  • from November 7, 2014

    Sound great, but...

    So, I had a pair of these for a week and the sound quality is really great. My issue with the Focal Spirits is that the ear cups are quite small and sit on your ears, not around them. This is an issue for me as I wear glasses and I just didn't find them comfortable at all. I ended up with a pair of Sennheiser HD650s, which are very comfortable.

    If Focal made a bigger pair, I would get them in a heartbeat!

  • from September 2, 2015Music Background:
    Composer/ Engineer/ Studio Propereitor

    Good sound, Worst make. Breaks very soon. Cheap plastic.

    i bought spirit professional headphones, the construction quality is very very very worst,the plastic used to build the headphone is very cheap, it actually broke within few days of wearing it, and it is not repairable.though the sound is really good, it is something similar to ath m50 x which is much cheaper and the build quality is incomparable with focal spirit professional.bayer dynamics DT990 pro is another fantastic headphones with unmatched build quality which lasts longer than any headphones. Focal should not only concentrate on selling an exorbitant prices but also must match the build quality for that price.i hope that focal will focus more in these lines, because there are many headphones which matches the sound quality , and supersedes in build quality. my bucks got wasted in buying focal spirit professional

    i will give 4 stars for the sound and 0 star for the build quality.

  • from Miami, FL May 11, 2017Music Background:
    10 Years of DJing, 4 Years Production, 3 Years Record Label Management

    OK Sound, High Fatigue.

    Owned these for I think almost 2 years now and I really liked them at first. I started using them for reference between my Samson SR850 Pro headphones (which by the way sound a lot better for it's $40 price tag). They're really good for recording and the creative process when producing a track, but there's always been something a little off by these. It seems like the low-mid frequencies are drastically exaggerated and it's always been hard for me to get a decent soundscape because of that. It is almost impossible to even get a quick reference mix out of these.

    They're closed back headphones, but the design is very poor. The cuffs are way to small, at least for my ears, and whenever you shift your head even the slightest, the sound becomes filtered, colored and/or muffled. You would literally have to sit in a steady position for the time you're working in the studio. To add, there's virtually almost no low end, seems to start cutting around 60hz.

    Overall, I give these a 1.5 because of the eye candy visual design and it's packaging. These headphones just aren't designed well enough for prolonged studio use or accurate mixing/recording (unless you're willing to sit like a robot). It had the potential, but didn't quite cut it. Not going to lie, I was quite disappointed, specially with the steep price range.

    In the end, you're better off with the $40 pair of Samson SR850 Pro headphones or go in with the BeyerDynamic DT990 Pro.

  • from February 14, 2016

    Not really translate to all systems

    I have been using it for 1 year now and I just don't agree what people saying about quality of sound. I can't mix or master with these, it seems lack chunk of bass frequencies. So all the mixes end up either bass heavy or little. It is good for checking mids and highs.

  • from Encinitas, CA January 1, 2016

    Sound great, but the cable shorts out

    Very neutral sounding headphones with good quality. My 2 stars is for the poor quality of the cable. I've used these lightly only in my studio through my interface. They are virtually never moved. After a few years of very light use, the cable is shorting out at the jack and the sound goes in and out. I can't use them any more because of this. You would think for the price point that Focal would have designed a better cable connection. Very disappointing.

  • from MD March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer

    Ok

    These headphones are good but not what I expected. The bass response is not the best.

  • from Old Hickory, TN June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer/Engineer, Musician

    Um...

    Cool headphones. They look nice. But the ear cups are TINY. I don't think most ears could fit into these things. And they hurt after 30 minutes of wear. I have to take them off for a breather. They don't get that loud either. Very disappointed. I love my Sennheiser HD280 Professionals much better and they're like 1/3 the price. I would not recommend these.

  • from Las Vegas, NV September 20, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz pianist/keyboardist

    Focal Spirit Pro

    Very clean and uncolored, as one would expect from headphones designed for mastering. However, was disappointed in that they are quite heavy, and not up to par in terms of comfort. Not good for long hours of listening. The fatal flaw, however, is the plastic frame, which broke in about nine months. Not suitable for road use, unless you want to carry them in the original box, which is quite bulky. Ended up replacing them with a pair of Beyer DT 1770's, and now I'm in hog heaven!

  • from WAGONER, OK June 26, 2016

    uncomfortable

    they didn't fit my head or ears and after a couple of uses the ear piece broke leaving the headset almost unusable. I am very disappointed in this product considering how much I paid for them. sorry guys but very unhappy with product.

  • from San Francisco, CA May 11, 2017

    Great Sound, Cheap Quality

    These are great headphones audio-wise, but the plastic extenders on the sides are horribly made. Cracks in two different places on the left side eventually made them unwearable. I've read that this happens fairly frequently from reviews on the web. Unacceptable for something that costs $. I'd be skeptical of ever buying anything from Focal again. Extremely disappointed with the construction.

  • from Chicago January 16, 2017

    Myabe I got a bad pair but...

    After reading all these great reviews I purchased a pair of these. Compared to the ATH M50X set I have now these were terrible. I didn't want them to be. I was looking for something better. They seem sturdy. I wanted to use them to help mix but these Focals were so far off I laughed in disbelief when I listened to where I had the mixer set on playback through the monitors after mixing with these. With the ATH M50's it's usually a matter of tweaking but not these. It was like a train wreck. I found the low end on these really low as in muddy low. The mids...eh! The highs cut off at a weird frequency and I found that lacking. The ear pieces are small. I don't have big ears but I had trouble getting my ears comfortably in these and that in itself wouldn't have been very comfortable at all for extended periods. I sent these back and spent more money and went with a set of AKG K712's. Night and day for sure between the AKG's and the Focals but for my money these aren't even anywhere as good as the M50X's. I don't know. Maybe I received a bad set? I'd like to think that but I'm not the kind of person to spend this kind of money and go try for a second time. I'm already out the shipping and insurance to send these back so these were a huge dissappintment for me.

  • from Philadelphia April 19, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Don't Buy: Worst Headband Design!

    The sound overall sound is flat and the bass response seems to be lacking.

    Fact #1 I can guarantee if you purchase these headphones, you will need to have them replaced in less than 30-days. The headband will start to crack even under the lightest use of putting them on and taking them off.
    Fact #2: These headphones don't care about comfort.
    Fact #3: Without looking hard, there are far better options. The ATH-M50 are better in every category.

Questions about the Focal Spirit Professional Closed-back Reference Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway